I can see signs of cataract.

Blackbird.

Blackbird.

I haven’t much to say today really, I think it was a buck I saw in the garden when we woke up. I know some of them are here every night since the deer food is gone every day. I haven’t seen much of the day but I think it was cloudy and that the wind was blowing hard.

DSC_0004

DSC_0005

DSC_0007

It is still blowing hard and with it snow will come later on. It might be a lot but it can also come as rain mostly they say. But all predictions seems to show cold weather afterwards. I’m not sure what’s worse, slippery icy roads or slippery snowy roads🙂 We’ll know better after it has fallen down on Thursday I think it was.

It has been so warm here that spruces produces ny shoots.

It has been so warm here that spruces produces ny shoots.

DSC_0009

DSC_0013

Today I saw the first signs of cataract in Orvars eyes. His mother and grandmother both got almost totally blind from it in the end. They didn’t mind much though since their nose worked as it should. They also became totally deaf rather early but that seemed to bother them even less since they never listened to me anyway🙂 I used signs when I communicated with them but that got a bit tougher in the end when the cataract came. But they never walked away especially far anyway.

DSC_0016

DSC_0051

DSC_0053

Nova doesn’t like me any more. I’ve had to clean up her ears and that is something she really doesn’t like🙂 Not even a treat made her happy🙂 The vet said her ears are made for getting infections so I really need to clean them up rather often. I guess she has forgiven me tonight, I really hope so because I need to go through those ears again tomorrow morning🙂

DSC_0056

DSC_0057

DSC_0059

It’s time to make that pot of tea again and something to eat as well. The wind is howling outside and I always sleep as best when it does🙂

DSC_0046

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “I can see signs of cataract.

  1. hi christer! teddy just got over an ear infection and i think she is worse than nova. it was quite a battle to get to her ear each day. and twice a day too. we are in the 60’s here but a big cold front is on the way. we will be frigid by this weekend. hey, can you send me your address again? i looked but i can’t find it! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes I can imagine that Teddy is a bit worse🙂 Nova just stands there looking miserable with her tail between her legs. As soon as we’re finished she runs away and hides beneath the kitchen table🙂

      It will turn colder towards the weekend here too but I hope it won’t be that bad.

      I’ll mail You now!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    My old dog Tegan was deaf, blind and senile by the time she died. Deaf and blind weren’t so much of a problem but senile really was. She would wake up sometimes and not know where she was and then she would start howling. It was very sad. I had to go over to her and touch her so that she knew she was not alone.

    Your little trees are confused. I suppose that tender new growth will get nipped in the bud by the cold.

    The past few days have been dreary here but today was warm and almost sunny. Rocky and I went for a walk with the neighbor and her little dog. Later on we went for a walk at the lake. It was almost spring-like. I’ll take it.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      My old Virean was also totally senile in the end but she didn’t seem to mind at all. It was during the time I had my garden center so she was with me all the time. She never had an accident indoors until she got senile and she just stood there so happy peeing all over the concrete floor🙂🙂🙂 So as long as I coulds take her out regularily that wasn’t such a big problem either🙂

      Almost all smaller spruces are confused now and I think frost will destroy all that new growth.

      Rainy all morning, sunny after that and now below 32 and black ice on all roads, not fun to drive home but not boring either🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Det är lite jobbigt när ens hundar blir gamla. Dövhet och blindhet är – precis som du skriver – något man kan stå ut med, men när dom dessutom blir senila och vilsna som Caryn berättar om sin hund – då är det väldigt svårt.😦
    Vår tax Brasse blev döv och när man var ute och gick med honom så kunde han bara sitta och kissa för han var så vinglig efter en hjärnblödning (men levde efter den i tre år).
    Men det värsta var sista halvåret när han blev riktigt senil och inte hittade grindhålet in på tomten när man var ute och gick med honom….. 😦 😦 Och Pennys sista år ska vi inte prata om ens, det plågar mig fortfarande!
    Men Brasse blev 18 och Penny 16,5 så man kan nog inte vänta sig något annat!!😦😦😦

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Gamla Viran var helt borta men tog det med jämnmod eftersom vi var tillsammans hela tiden då, jag hade handelsträdgården vid den tiden. Annars hade det varit bra jobbigt.

      Nej blir de såpass gamla får man kallt räkna med att seniliteten kommer och vara glad om den inte gör det. Man får försöka att bara minnas det roliga annars blir det allt för jobbigt.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Det ofrånkomliga åldrandet på sina älskade fyrfota familjemedlemmar är jobbigt att inse😦 Vi har nu ingen av våra älskade katter kvar😦 Från april till oktober miste vi alla tre:( 19,17 och 16,5 år blev de. Vi valde att avliva dem eftersom de inte mådde bra det sista. Det är oerhört tomt men det är som det är. Träffade en helt blind hund i Danmark som verkade klara sitt handikapp suveränt bra🙂 Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!

      Men gick alla tre bort så tätt! Jag har kommit överens med min veterinär att när mina hundar inte längre tycker det är roligt att gå på promenader eller träffa folk, då skall jag åka in med dem. Orvar och Hector har ju aldrig varit ifrån varandra så jag oroar mig för att om den ena går följer den andra efter rätt fort. Men ingen idé att oroa sig förrän det är dags.

      Blindhet och dövhet och bägge ihop är inget jätteproblem för en hund så länge nosen funkar bra. Mina körde på för fullt ändå🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Hope Orvar doesn’t lose his eyesight, but aging can create problems for humans as well. Nova should be thankful for your attention to her infection and hopefully will not stay upset. I think that both road conditions are bad if you have to be driving in them. Thankfully, being retired with no place to go in any hurry is a good thing, but the. We do ‘t have any real winter weather on the horizon, just rain coming and colder temperatures.

    • HI beatrice!

      Blindness in dogs isn’t such a big problem, as long as they can use their nose properly. Dogs trust their nose more than the eyes anyway.

      Nova will never be thankful for that🙂🙂🙂

      The roads were pretty nasty on my way home yesterday so it took some time to come home but as long as I come home I’m glad🙂

      THey say winter will arrive tonight with our first snow storm but they aren’t that good in their predictions🙂 The wind seems to blow rather hard alrady though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I don’t find deafness a problem at all because of Blue. He usually “listens” the best out of most of my dogs.
    But he HATES having his ears cleaned. He would even show me his teeth which of course made me angry. He used to have ear problems but I changed food and it seems better, or at least I think it was the food ???
    I noticed that my old Rosie (the Papillon) has a cataract on one of her eyes just the other day and I also realized that she’s lost all her teeth except for 2!
    Then of course there’s Button. Blind in one eye and probably very limited vision in the other (due to that incident with Blue) but she doesn’t let that stop her from being bossy.

    I prefer snow to ice any day.
    Stay safe!

    • Hi Cindi!

      No deafness in dogs is not a big problem for most of us but some just never understands how to communicate with a deaf dog. I guess it’s the same kind of people that never understands how to raise a dog anyway. You know those people that laughs loudly when their dog attacks and they just say that “Piff” just loves to protect mommy or daddy🙂🙂🙂 Too many of those around I’m afraid.
      I’ve never heard that the food can be a source for ear problems but why not?

      Blindness is never a problem for dogs either to be honest, just as long as their nose works as it should. I think the loss of smell in dogs would be a huge problem though.

      Yes snow is always better than ice but al this snow willbecome ice later next week when we’ll get warmer weather again. I’m not happy at all.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

