Sven brought a friend, Jack Frost.

It's hard to see that the road was plowed not an hour earlier.

It’s hard to see that the road was plowed not an hour earlier.

The storm hit yesterday morning and kept on blowing hard all day but then suddenly early in the evening it stopped. It was unusually calm and I was hoping they had predicted the path of the storm wrong this time too. They had but this time the storm came more north than they had expected. The wind came back and it has been strong ever since.

 

DSC_0004_redigerad-1

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

I went out early to shovel away the snow from around my car pretty early but the wind and snow filled up the space I had shoveled as soon as I started on the other side of the car. The plow man came late as well and he helped to fill up all spaces I already had shoveled clean🙂 A work friend told me that it was tough driving to work so I decided it wasn’t worth risking my life in my tiny little Mazda. I’m pretty sure there are funnier ways to die that to freeze to death in my car. It ‘s cold enough as it is even if I wouldn’t drive off the road🙂

 

DSC_0007

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

My neighbors girlfriend came by taxi from Falköping around noon and she was almost forced to walk the last five kilometers since the taxi almost got stuck in the snow drifts, and that was one of the roads they really tried to keep snow free🙂 Now she only had to walk one kilometer🙂 It must have been awful because I and my dogs walked a short distance to the bog and it was exhausting. It’s hard to say how much snow we’ve really gotten because the snow drifts are meter high (yard high) but then there are lots of places without any snow at all. But in places the wind doesn’t reach it looks like we’ve gotten 30cm (12 inches) so far and I’m not happy.

 

DSC_0012

DSC_0015

DSC_0019

The wind never seems to calm down so no more walks today, I’ll just sit here in my cottage keeping the fire alive in the stove and drink lots of cocoa and tea. I think I’ll bake some cakes, I need something when the storm is blowing hard🙂

 

DSC_0020

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

 

12 thoughts on “Sven brought a friend, Jack Frost.

  1. hi christer! i know you don’t like it but i love it! i would be so happy to have all of your snow. i think it was a good idea to stay home from work. our cold front is just starting to move in. the don’t seem to know what to predict for us. i will have to wait and see. did you get my email? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I could have accepted this if it would stay cold but this will all melt away next week if the predictions are right. More snow tomorropw though.

      I was out on the roads this morning and they were pretty bad now so I can’t even imagine hw they were when the storm was as worst🙂

      I just went in and checked the mail🙂 I tend toforget that mail adress since it is an app of its own on this computer🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Jack Frost is a nasty guy but he’s beautiful to look at. Especially from my point of view where it is 50ºF and only raining.
    Old Jack will be smacking us pretty soon, though, and I’ll be sitting inside and not wanting to go anywhere. Thank heaven for the internets (as long as the electricity is working).
    I’m assuming the flurry of black and white fur and snow is Sune and Nova. Your dogs don’t seem to mind the snow and wind as long as they are on a walk.
    Stay warm and enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      We don’t have Jack Frost here, we call him Kung Bore (King Bore) but I guess they behave much the same🙂 I love photographs with lots of snow but I really don’t like to liver in it🙂 We’ll get more snow already tomorrow night and later next week it will all melt away again. This weather had no use what so ever🙂

      Nova like the snow for a while but the boys, especially Sune get hysterical happy when it comes🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Jag ser att det var några som gillade snön i alla fall! Men dom fuskar ju, dom har ju värmande päls på sig!!🙂
    Här har det blåst och regnat hela dagen – men konstigt nog inte varit några elavbrott!?🙂🙂 Vi börjar ju bli vana nu, så vi har alltid några ficklampor tillhands – och så alla mina värmeljus jag har utspridda överallt. För det är lite konstigt, men alla avbrott kommer på kvällen runt halvåtta-åtta.😦 Det är dock “lite” knepigt att läsa i fladdrande ljus och ficklampssken, men lösa korsord går bra så det får man roa sig med. Rolle – och Santos – som är bra på att sova, dom brukar ta en tidig kväll. Själv tycker jag det är extremt jobbigt att ligga i sängen 6-8 timmar och inte ens kunna glo i taket för det är kolsvart! Så då kommer en bok och ficklampan (med exrtra bastterier bredvid) till nytta!😦😦
    TREVLIG HELG – trots ert hemska väder! Här har det ännu så länge bara kommit lite snöblandat och dom flingorna smälter innan dom landat. Men…vi ska iväg på middag ikväll och det ska bli spännande. Som tur är så är det bara till våra vänner i andra änden av Eksta så i värsta fall. Men det är verkligen i VÄRSTA fall, som t.ex. om ett träd blåst ner över vägen, då kan vi kanske t.o.m. gå hem dom 2 kilometrarna!!😦
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Nova tröttnar rätt fort på snö och kyla dock. Sune å andra sidan kan inte få nog av det🙂

      Vi har sällan elavbrott här som tur är men jag har spisen så det är alltid varmt och gott här. Jag sov dock bort det mesta av stormen, sällan jag sover så mycket som jag gjort i två dagar nu.

      Jag hoppas det gick bra att köra till vännerna, vi fick mera snö längre in på kvällen här och mer kommer imorgon kväll och natt. Var ute på vägarna i morse och de var inte bra trots att de plogat dem. Kan inte ens tänka mig hur illa det var när det stormade som värst.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Such beautiful stillness in the world dusted white. Just lovely. (I can almost hear you grumbling). I am one of the odd ducks who just loves snow and winter in general, but not ice. It’s the heat I cannot stand. The dogs surely are having a good time, aren’t they? My Beagles always loved the snow, so long as they could navigate it. I always laughed when they would pick up their heads and their noses had a pile of snow. I am glad you are in and warm and toasty. Take care.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      It is beautiful, in photographs🙂 We’ll get more tomorrow evening and night and later next week it will all melt away agaion so I can just imagine how the roads will be then🙂

      My dogs love snow but Nova gets tired of it rather quickly. Sune just can’t get enough of it and the old boys loves to lie down in it🙂
      Always warm and nice in my cottage🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Oh my! And we thought it was cold here today. This morning it was 42 on our back patio. No rain yet but tomorrow is the day the cold from the North is supposed to reach us. It may hit freezing tonight..not sure. We can never trust the weather report. As much as I like to look at all the snow..I really don’t think I would like to live in it. Still haven’t had to wear a heavy coat. I have one but it hasn’t been worn in two years now. LOVE the shots of the dogs in the snow! Drive carefully!🙂

    • Hi Mona!

      The wind chlled out my little cottage rather much but I kept the fire burning and if I hadn’t fallen asleep I would have won🙂 It’s days like those when one feels how drafty the old windows are🙂🙂🙂

      Snow is very beautiful on photographs but that’s it🙂 To live with that white garbage is just a pain, especially since the ground didn’t freeze before it fell, this just makes the ticks and slugs survive so much better during winbter I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

