I feel so sorry for myself :-)

DSC_0008

Every muscle fiber in my body aches and have done so all day. I’m hoping it is because I was out shoveling both yesterday and early today but I’m freezing as well so I’m fearing it might be a flu. I fell asleep around six pm yesterday and woke up at one am. My neck and shoulders were aching already then so I put a lot of liniment on, so much that my dogs refused to stay close🙂 and went to bed again.

DSC_0006

DSC_0005

DSC_0009

I woke up at five am again and finally the wind had stopped blowing. So I thought it would be a good time to shovel some snow away from my car and as soon as I was finished the plow guy came🙂 Well he was kind enough to lift the shovel where I had already freed the ground from this white garbage. I would have started to cry if he hadn’t because it was tough enough doing it once🙂🙂🙂

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

DSC_0021

There’s nothing much to do on a Saturday morning in winter and I had no good book to read so I watched Spunge Bob Square Pants on tv🙂 One can’t but love that figure🙂 At 7:30 I drove to the super market to buy more fire logs and food for my cats, they had food but like all cats they are picky🙂 The roads were pretty bad even if they had shoveled them so I can just imagine how bad they were during the storm. But I think we were three persons out there so I could drive as slow as I felt without annoying anyone else.

DSC_0053

DSC_0059

DSC_0060

We have been outside for a couple of walks but I have mostly been indoors keeping the fire alive in the stove. It’s going to be a cold night so I’ll keep it alive as long as I’m awake. We’ll get more snow tomorrow and it will stay cold a few days but some time next week warm winds will come and melt all this crap away again. The storm was pretty bad at some places, hurricane winds were recorded and a giant wave hit a restaurant close to the ocean so all the guests had to flee in panic. Why on earth were they out partying on a day when they knew the winds would be very strong🙂🙂🙂

Looks easy enough to walk there, doesn't it? 30 cm (12 inches deep snow made it a bit harder :-)

Looks easy enough to walk there, doesn’t it? 30 cm (12 inches) deep snow made it a bit harder than it looks  :-)

Most times it was even deeper but here we were saved by the help of the wind :-)

Most times it was even deeper but here we were saved by the help of the wind🙂

DSC_0071

It’s time to make a pot of tea and head up to the tv to see the rerun of yesterdays Startreck movie, The Wrath of Kahn. I’ll also complain all the time about how my body aches, not that my pets will care but I think it will make me feel better🙂

Sune was the one leading us and we all followed in the tracks he made.

Sune was the one leading us and we all followed in the tracks he made.

We didn't follow all the detors he did though :-)

We didn’t follow all the detors he did though🙂

DSC_0076

Have a great day!

The snow was way to deep for <Bertil, so he stayed at home today.

The snow was way to deep for Bertil, so he stayed at home today.

20 thoughts on “I feel so sorry for myself :-)

  1. Hi Christer,
    The light in those opening photos is beautiful. I love the first one and the one with the swans.

    Following Sune’s side trips would make your walk about three times longer than normal.🙂

    I would have cried, too. The frozen, compacted dune that the street plow leaves is the thing I hate the most about shoveling that crap.

    We got a dusting of icy snow last night. I woke up around 3AM and saw it through the window. Rocky woke up an hour later and started growling at something outside. I looked out and saw a couple of deer wandering through the yard. Possibly they came to eat the bird seed that I scatter on the ground or perhaps they were heading into the woods to bed down.

    I hope you don’t have the flu. Sore muscles from shoveling and flu on top of that is a miserable idea.

    Sponge Bob Squarepants? Really?😀

    Enjoy!

    • Hi Caryn!

      Sponge Bob is the best🙂 I just love those programs but they send them so early in the morning that I mostly miss them. Both my pets and I are out walking or eating when they show them in the weekend🙂

      Yes our walk would have taken so long that the sun would have gone down long before we would come home🙂 That dog just loves winter and snow🙂

      I’m not sure if I would have coped mentally if I had been forced to shovel that place again🙂🙂🙂

      Not even Sune reacts any longer when deers wak in our garden🙂 But he can become crazy if humans walk on the road🙂 The deers emptied the bird feeders before I started to feed them their own food, now they won’t touch the sunflower seeds at all. I’m spoiling them rotten🙂

      I really hope it isn’t the flu but I’m afraid it might be. I’m coughing and it hurts when I do it. Well I have one more day to just rest but it will snow tomorrow so I gyuess I need to shovel there again!!!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. well, most of the storm missed us again. i can’t understand these weather people. it’s much colder now. i sure hope you don’t have the flu.

    • Hi Joyce!

      Too bad You didn’t get Sven, You would have loved him🙂🙂🙂 But the Scandinavian weather men isn’t any better to be honest, the Swedish ones are so bad that even the government has reacted and demands better predictions🙂🙂🙂

      I hope this just is a small cold and not the flu, I really don’t want to get that now!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Well…I WAS feeling sorry for myself too. I don’t feel good and I have to paint some paintings for a baby shower that i have to go to TOMORROW. I’ts very very cold here today. like 6 degrees or something BUT we don’t have snow, so I feel worse fro you.
    Tomorrow we might get snow and then I will feel bad for myself again.
    and I might not go to that baby shower and just give the paintings (That I haven’t even started yet) to the girl at work on Monday!
    Brrr.
    Stay home and hope you feel better!

    • Hi Cindi!

      I saw that on FB and I do feel so sorry for You!
      Well if You feel bad You shouldn’t go to that baby shower, not nice to give whatever You have to all the others🙂🙂🙂 Better send those paintings with someone else instead.
      Temperature is dropping here too and right now it’s down to 12,2F but there’s no wind so it doesn’t feel that bad. I’m wondering if I should go out with more deer food but it’s just too cold and too much snow.

      Stay at home tomorrow if You don’t feel ok and just rest, that’s something I feel You do way to little of🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      He’s never happy but he’s in a period when he’s kind of kind🙂 He actually allowed me to lift him up witthout getting angry🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer –
    Sorry to hear you are feeling awful & hope that it is not the flu. I get my flu shot every year & have never gotten itso far, I try to stay away from hacking & coughing people in crowded places. I think I don’t get a lot of respiratory viruses because I don’t work in a large office anymore. Everyone used to come to work no matter how icky sick they were to show how brave they were. All they did was make everyone else ill. No common sense.
    I can’t imagine how it felt to see the snowplow coming after you had just shoveled out to the road. At least the driver was nice enough to lift the plow and not ruin all your hard work. The dogs look like they really enjoyed their romp in the snow. We have been in an unusually cold Arctic freeze here all week with snow, ice and this morning it was 13 degrees C. Burrrrr…. When I looked at your photo of Bertil all puffed up and not looking thrilled, I thought if I were a cat I would look exactly like Bertil does – cold & displeased with the snow.
    Your photos today are great and I especially like the cute robin you found. I hope you start feeling better and get a lot of rest this weekend.

    • Hi Ellen!

      I just have a slight fever so I doubt that it is the flu, more like a bad combination of a small cold, shoveling and rheumatism. We Swedes are a bit sceptical towards those flu shots since after the swine flu pandemic. The authorities really wanted us all to take that shot and now we have more than half the cases of narcolepsi in Europe. Mostly young kids have gotten their lives destroyed but also older people. So we rather die from a bad flu than take any flu shot now days.

      We have a policy at work that says if You feel sick, stay at home! Like You say, it’s just stupid to go to work and give it to everyone else there!

      I was prepared the first time he came around, the second really made me tuired, the third desperate and the fourth I thought I couldn’t take it🙂🙂🙂 But I understand that he had to come several times, it was that bad with all the wind and snow. Usually he plows where I have my car and the place I tuyrn around too, when I’m not at home so I will never complain to him about this time🙂

      -1,12F here as coldest tonight but clouds are moving in again (with more snow) so now it’s around 10F. It’s almost warm🙂🙂

      My dogs love this weather but Nova gets tired of it rather quickly. My cats doesn’t mind the cold but all this snow makes life difficult for them. So this is the time of year I actually see a lot of them, during summer tyhey just pop in to get some food and then they’re out again.

      It isn’t a Robin, it’s a male Bullfinch. His colors are a bit dull now during winter I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I am so sorry you are not feeling well and pray it is just muscular. As always your photos are wonderful. I especially love the one of the swans (superb lighting) and the one of the little bird. Is that a robin? As far as reading material is concerned, my favorite read is Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series. From her recommendation list I found Sara Donati’s Wilderness series which is also wonderful. Each series is best read in order. I just finished Dean Koontz’ “From the Corner of His Eye” which was very good, but also recommend his “Darkest Night of the Year” which includes a golden retriever. Feel better and thank you for all the beauty you share with us..

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      I’m pretty sure it isn’t the flu, I have too little fever for that so I think it’s a bad combination of a light cold, shoveling snow and rheumatism. Not especially fun that either but I know how to handle that.

      It’s a Bullfinch but his colors are a bit dull now during winter season.

      I can’t say I have a favorite author at the moment, anything goes right now🙂 But I just found an old Koontz bokk the other day and I think it’s the one You mention, “Darkest night of the year”. I might reread it already today🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Howdy! Once again I jumped over here from Joyce’s blog…SO handy! 🙂 All of your pictures are just beautiful! Of course my favorite is of MY cat, Bertil~!! I am always so grateful when you get a good one of him..even if it’s of his behind headed up the road! He is just the greatest cat. I love his “DON’T MESS WITH ME!” attitude..his face always says it all!
    Take good care, drive carefully and stay warm!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      I thought You would like that photo of Bertil🙂

      No driving today and tonight we’ll get more snow but thankfully not with a hurricane as companion🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Jag älskar bilden på Bertil, man kan se på hans uttråkade min att han inte gillar snö alls. *fniss* I alla fall inte i den mängden ni har. Men…jag såg också på Facebook att ni hade det hemskt kallt idag! Hur gillar hundarna och katterna kylan?
    Här kom det MASSOR av snö på kvällen när vi var på middagen – och så blåste det hemskt – så man var lite orolig när vi åkte hem. 😦 Därför blev det ganska tidigt så vi hann hem innan elavbrottet, vilket kändes bra. Sen satt vi oss framför TV´n för att se nyheterna kl tio, men då kom det – naturligtvis. Fast den här gången fick vi tillbaka elen efter bara 10 minuter, otroligt!🙂🙂
    Hoppas du mår bättre, du får väl ta och dricka lite riktigt het glögg! då tar du säkert kål på baciluskerna…..

    TREVLIG 2:A ADVENT
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Katterna kan nog stå ut med viss kyla, men jag är glad att bägge två var inne i natt. Snön gillar de inte alls inte ens om det är trunnare lager än vi har nu.

      Skönt att ni kom hem utan problem och att strömmen bara var borta så kort tid.

      Kan inte påstå att det är så mycket bättre nu, men jag har använt voltarensalva så att det blir uthärdligt i alla fall.

      Trevli advent🙂
      Christer.

    • Hi Debby!

      My legs are reasonable fine again but my nexk and shoulder still gives me some problems. It seems this was a short but very intense attack and I hope it takes a long time till it happens again🙂

      My furry pets never seem to care about me being sick🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

