Today is just impossible.

Just before the snow started to fall.

Just before the snow started to fall.

I’m not in the best of moods today, my body aches everywhere and it looks as if it is an unfortunate combination between too much shoveling with a slight cold and a touch of rheumatism. I can normally handle the rheumatism when it comes by itself but this combination is just disgusting. I can fix the ache in my neck and spine but the pain in my legs from the bend of the knees down to the feet is impossible to fix it seems.

In a red little cottage by the edge oif the forest, that would be a good start of a fairy tale wouldn't it?

In a red little cottage by the edge oif the forest, that would be a good start of a fairy tale wouldn’t it?

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

I have even used pain relieving salve which isn’t good for me because it hits my stomach even if I put it on my skin. You know the commercials for those salves? They can’t do a thing and then they use the salve and life becomes wonderful and they can do just about anything for the rest of the day? It doesn’t really work like that🙂 One needs to take it easy the rest of the day if it is going to work especially well🙂 I can’t say it didn’t work but I would lie if I said my pain was gone🙂

Soon it will be impossible to see that there once stood a barn here.

Soon it will be impossible to see that there once stood a barn here.

DSC_0013

DSC_0016

The night was unusually cold here, it sank down to -18,4C (-1,1F) but it got warmer fast in the morning when the snow came. It has snowed all day and it just keeps on snowing all the time and I can’t say I’m happy about it. The wind is rather strong as well but nowhere near to what it was when Sven passed. Still, they have been warning us from driving around since it is very slippery on the roads today. I’m soo looking forward to driving to work tomorrow, especially if I have to shovel away snow around my car to be able to get out at all🙂

The snowfall just got worse by the minute.

The snowfall just got worse by the minute.

DSC_0023

DSC_0029

I had to use ISO 500 this morning so close shots look a bit gravely I’m afraid.

This will all start to melt away already on Tuesday so this was just a big waste of garbage weather. But on the good side my poinsettia’s are still alive and still have all their leafs, that’s unusual🙂 It’s getting dark outside and it’s not even 3 pm yet, so I better go outside to fill the bird feeders and give the deers some food as well. I still haven’t seen any bucks here, just that one I think might have been one early in the morning. I do hope we at least have some left here.

The wind and snowfall were even worse on our second walk :-)

The wind and snowfall were even worse on our second walk🙂

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

After that I’ll start the fire in the stove again and make a pot of tea. I’ll try to sit in a reasonable comfortable way and watch a dvd or two. I feel that today is a Life of Brian day🙂

DSC_0041

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Today is just impossible.

  1. Sorry, days like this really suck. When we feel rotten and still have to do what needs to be done.
    It would be nice to have someone pamper over us and do our chores and give us something warm to drink and tuck us in and…leave! hahaha! Oh the price of wanting to be left alone.
    I hope you feel better soon. Your photos, while “look” nice, do fill me with dread that that “garbage” will soon be here.😦 Personally I wouldn’t mind it at all..if I didn’t have to leave the house! LOL!
    Stay safe and take care of yourself!

    • Hi Cindi!

      I hate when people pamper me🙂 and today I’ve done nothing at all besides taking my dogs for walks and that didn’t do any good with my aching body. Well that’s life I guess.

      I’m soo tired of winter allready and it has just started🙂 But like You I wouldn’t mind if I never had to leave my home🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! we should exchange homes for the winter. i would love your weather! i would hate it in the summer with the bad flies, but winter is my idea of perfect! we are in for snow and an ice storm here again. i hope you feel better soon! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes I’m pretty sure You would love our climate as long as insect season haven’t started🙂 I think You would like our cool summers too if it wasn’t for those flies.

      I hope You’ll get this storm since You like it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Your little red cottage looks very welcoming. It’s good to have lights in the windows in dark and stormy climates such as ours. It makes the world seem a tiny bit safer to see that there is warmth and light somewhere nearby.

    No snow here. It all melted away but it got cold so the remaining puddles turned to ice.
    We’re due for wet snow tomorrow and Tuesday.
    I took Rocky to day care to run off his excess energy because, unlike you and your dogs, we do not go out in garbage weather if we don’t have to.
    By “we” I mean “I”.🙂
    Your photos of the blowing garbage are really lovely but they inspire me to stay right here in my cozy living room.🙂 If I want pretty pictures of blizzarding weather, I will stand in one of the doorways and shoot what’s right around my house.

    I have no advice for rheumatism relief. A massage would help most of the other aches and give some relief. You’d have to leave the house to get one, though, which would counteract the benefits.
    Maybe take a shower and alternate the water temperature from hot to cold and back again. Drink lots of water/tea to flush the system. Might not help the rheumatism but it will help the cold especially if you put some lemon and honey in it.
    Of course if you add enough whiskey or rum, after a while you won’t care about the rheumatism or the cold or the shoveling aches🙂

    Stay warm and try to get comfortable.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I have to work tomorrow otherweise I would have taken lots of whiskey in my tea🙂🙂🙂

      That cottage is inviting and even more so when coming closer.

      I would have prefered not to take a walk in that weather but if we wouldn’t have my dogs would have had so much energy left that they would have tore down the cottage🙂 Running around in snow is exhausting🙂 Thankfully the forest owner had driven both his tractor and huge car there so I could walk in the tracks🙂

      It depends on what kind of rheumatism I have at the moment, I’m not sure if both can hit at thge same time but it felt lkike that today. My back, neck and shoulder are was easy to fix by just stretching and moving around a lot but my legs seems to have the other one where nothing helps. I can’t take the pills I have because my stomach can’t take them and the pills I can take don’t help🙂🙂 I’ll use the heat pad and go to bed, I’m not sure it will help anything but at least I’ll feel warm and cosy🙂 The cold is almost gone now thankfully🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer…do you HAVE to go to work in weather like that?? I would think you wouldn’t have to go. I ‘ve been retired now for 12 years..so..I guess I forget what it’s like to HAVE to go somewhere. I love being retired. It LOOKS cold in your pictures. Bertil and Teodor get to come inside when it’s like that..right? 🙂

    We had 62 acres of forested land right on and near the ocean in Maine and a two story cottage. We just sold it because in weather like you have there..we couldn’t take care of it being so far away.
    PH knew some time ago that it was all going to become a bigger and bigger chore. So..it’s gone now and the burden is lifted. The pictures that are sent from back there by relatives look like your photo’s. I love snow, I always have but I have only lived in it when I was a child and didn’t have to do all the work it took during those storms.
    Stay warm! Let Bertil in…:) Just teasing you!🙂
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Not if it’s a risk of loosing ones life and I would say it was last Friday. I wasn’t the only one not going to work🙂 They told me thay had warned all day in the radio that it was dangerous out there and said we all should sat ay home. I might have driven to work if I had had a bigger car, my little Mazda would only have been tossed of the road🙂🙂

      Yes both Bertil and Teodor was indoors when the storm blew as hardest but as soon as it calmed down some they went out again. Strangr really since both of them dislike deep snow.

      It is better to sell than feeling the property is a burden, not fun I know but it’s still better. That’s why my neighbors (those I bought my cottage from) sold their property and moved to town instead.
      I always stay warm🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. That’s what it looks like here today, in my little part of southeastern Pennsylvania. So pretty, but the cars are just crawling so the driving must be wretched. It’s supposed to turn to rain by tomorrow.ormally I would not care and would say “Let it Snow” but I have an appt. with the rheumatologist at 1:30 tomorrow for lab results and sure hope I can get there. Beautiful to look at though. I am sorry you aren’t feeling well. I know that neck and leg ache all too well. Can you soak in a warm tub with some Epsom salts?

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      It wasn’t fun being out on the roads today but it sure wasn’t boring either🙂 I would probably love this weather if I didn’t have to drive around in it all winter. I hope the roads were fine when You went to the doctor!

      I’ve been lucky this far, normally I can deal with the pain without even have to think about any pasinkillers but yesterday was just awful. But it did help when I used a strong liniment, had trousers on and a thick blnket during the night. It was awfully hot but I could walk around today without too much problems🙂 I would love to soak in a tub but I don’t have any in my tiny cottage.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I hope this finds you feeling much better. I did get to the doctor without much problem other than for some slush in the parking lot. Wwe got rain at the end of the storm which washed most of the snow away but more is due tomorrow. The news from the doctor was that I must have bilateral knee replacements, sooner than later, because of how badly deteriorated they are. I had hoped to put this off but I do not want to wind up in a wheelchair, or have the damage start to affect my hip joints and make more problems. So, sometime in the spring, I will have to get “spare parts”. Nancy

      • Hi myroseindecember!

        Wel my legs feel a bit better but now my hands and right shoulder acts up.

        So new knees for You rather soon then. So far my knbees are ok but I know that they sooner or later will break down. I’ve just started to get problems with them and I hope it won’t get worse for long. I would’t want to end up in a wheelchair either, would be hard to live here in the cottage if I did. Well I’m already planning for the worst🙂 So I already know what to do when it comes to adjust my home just in case. I’m straying here until they have to dig a hole in the ground🙂

        Let me know when it’s time!

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  6. Christer –
    Sorry you are still feeling bad, but at least your cold is easing up. The older I get the more I notice the cold weather making my arthritis feel much worse. No matter how much cortisone I am on, the when the barometric pressure drops or cold hits, it really aggravates the inflammatory process. I used to think that older people were imagining things when they said they could predict the changes in the weather by the way it made their joints ache. Now, that I am getting old, I feel like I should apologize & admit their were right. My titanium knees and 18 inch metal rods in my thighs seem to conduct the cold and radiate the pain up through the hips & down the legs. Do you think your artificial hips are causing part of the pain in addition to the rheumatism? I so wish I had a hot tub, or better yet, one of those deep soaking tubs for your bathroom. The kind you open a door & step into as I don’t think I would every be able to hoist myself of a regular bathroom tub with my rotten joints. I find heat to be the only thing that really helps & my rheumatologist says it is not good for arthritis that is caused by inflammation rather than osteoarthritis. She says that adding heat to an already inflammed joint just adds fuel to the fire. I say – if it decreases the pain & let me walk then I will continue to use heat on my joints in cold or damp.

    One of the best things I have done to relieve my joint pain was to buy one of those Sleep number beds. They are really nothing more than an expensive air matress that you can adjust the firmness depending on your physical condition. It made a hugh difference in getting rid of the metal springs on a conventional matress & the air does fill in all the negative spaces in the small of your back & around the waist. The second thing is I bought a heated matress pad. I turn it on 10 minutes before I get into bed & the warmth coming from underneath relaxes all your tight muscles & ligaments so you relax and fall asleep quickly. I like that the heat is warmer by your feet and decreases as it moves towards your head. Even the cats loved the Sleep Number bed. When Cosmo was alive he would demand that I set his side of the bed to 45 which was soft enough for him to have a dip in the matress so he could sleep in a little nest. Those cats are smarter than people think.

    It look like your snow fell fast and have quite a few inches that piled up. I feel sorry for the steer in the photo up to its’ thighs in snow. Bertil must be really unhappy that his usual routes are covered in deep snow. Are Bertil & Theo friendly enough to cuddle together in the cold weather or not so much? It is too cold & dry here to snow, but this is now the second week of very cold weather for us on the West Coast. Last night it was -5 degrees C and it did not go above 12 degrees all day. It is such unusually cold weather for us that many peoples furnaces are breaking down because they are not made to run so hard. We are supposed to warm up around Thursday, but will have ice & snow as it transitions. I miss the usual 47 degrees. The weather reporters say that many 40 year old weather records have been broken this week. Just a few miles away they got a foot of snow, so at least we missed that. Winter is still a couple of weeks away, so I wonder if this Winter is also going to be a rough & cold one.

    I wish you could take a sick day tomorrow, especially when I think that you may have to shovel the car & driveway(again) before even getting on the icy roads to work. Do the stores in Sweden sell those heat patches that you stick on the most painful areas & they give off heat for about 5 hours? They might give you some pain relief while working, but I remember you saying you worked in a pretty hot environment already. I hope you have a better day no matter what you end up doing.
    Take care

    • Hi Ellen!

      Better today after a night with lots of liniment, long trousers and a thick blanket. It was awfully hot but it helped. Normally my pain comes with high preassure so I got a bit surprised when it hit now. I’ve been lucky this far because I normally don’t get hit that hard. Well I have hip implants in both hips but still🙂 But my hips is the one place that never hurts any longer🙂 So I don’t feel it the way You do but I know several that agrees with You.

      I would love a tub like that but I’m afraid the floor in this old cottage would cave in if I bought one🙂 and it’s a bit cold in the cellar🙂

      I haven’t heard about Sleep Number Bed before, I really must see if I can find any info about it here, sounds wonderful! But I guess that only Nova would like it and the cats of course🙂

      Yes we got all that snow within one day and even more the next, now I think we have inches. Teodor and Bertil is usually the best of friends,but like all brothers they do have the occasional argument🙂 I know they team up if one of them feel threatened and they always lick the difficult parts, like the ears for each other. No use really since Sune tends to do that for them too🙂

      It was actually even colder her that night than I thought, I looked at the car thermometer and got really surprised. Yes they do sell those heat patches here too but as You say, I work beside a huge oven🙂
      I didn’t care to shovel this morning, I just drove through it all🙂 The rest of the way outside the village was a nightmare to be honest but I made it to work just before I was punching in🙂 It only took minutes more than usual to get to work🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer, first just want to say that I do hope your drive into work on Monday goes well with no mishaps, especially after looking at the photos in this post and recent ones. Aches and pains in miserable weather just seem to be even worse. We have had rain all day and while I do like snow, right now it is Ok with me if it holds off awhile longer. Getting even a few inches is very big weather news here. Take good care.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It went welkl but the roads were nasty, the only place it was good was here in the village🙂

      Bad weather doesn’t help but I think it would have been just as awful if it had been warm and nice. Long time since it hit me that hard. So far I’ve been lucky because usually it is something I can handle. But it is better tóday thankfully.

      I think I would like snow if I didn’t have to go out into it, only if I wished it myself. Now I hate it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Forgive me for telling you twice about my knees. When I saw your reply to this, I remembered I had told you yesterday. I guess the snow affected the old mind. How are your joints today? I so hope you have some relief. It can really wear us down. Tiger Balm is wonderful, if messy (and very hard to get out of one’s clothing). I agree about staying somewhere until it is time to be “planted” although I have often considered moving back to Maine. I so loved it there, a few doors from the water, where I was on the crest of a hill and could see most of the bay. Prettiest place I have ever lived. Nancy

    • No problem, I do just the same all the time🙂

      I still feel some in my legs and the neck and shoulder is just as bad really but I can work anyway. I’ve been rather lucky so far that it hasn’t hit that hard especially often. But You are right, it wears us down in the long run.

      I love the ocean I grew up by but I never want to return to my old home town to live there again. I feel that this is the place I want to stay at for the rest of my life.

      Lots of my clothes smell Tiger Balm now🙂 It spreads when I do the laundry🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

