I can’t say I’m bored driving to work after snow storms.

Even Magpies are allowed to feed by the feeders even if they tend to scare all small birds.

Even Magpies are allowed to feed by the feeders even if they tend to scare all small birds. The photo is taken through a window so it’s edited a bit too much🙂

I didn’t care about shoveling around the car this morning, I just backed straight through the low wall of snow the plow guy had made🙂 I have to say that even if he almost made me cry last time🙂 he’s just fantastic when it comes to keep the road clean. If just the rest of the way to work had been just as good as it was here in the village! The road leading to the highway was reasonable good and that’s unusual. Normally that’s the worst part🙂 But the highway was truly nasty!

DSC_0044

DSC_0046

DSC_0047

They had scraped the road but I don’t think it had been done since Sven passed here, all the snow that fell yesterday seemed to still be there but not as white and fluffy any longer. I started ten minutes earlier than usual and came to work ten minutes later than usual. The biggest problem was a lorry from Germany, it obviously only had summer tires or perhaps all year round tires (illegal here in Sweden now days, even lorries need winter tires on the wheels that drive the lorry. Sometimes the driver drove so slow that I could have walked and passed him🙂 The problem was that when we didn’t meet anyone the road was terrible and the few places the road was good we always met someone🙂

DSC_0012

DSC_0014

DSC_0016

But as soon as we passed to the neighbour county the road got better so I could pass him, otherwise I still would have been on the way to work right now🙂 They day at work passed rather painless because last night I put on liniment (called Tiger Balsam) over my legs, wore thick track suit pants and slept under a thick synthetic duvet. I sweated like a pig all night but it helped🙂 I probably stank a lot at work but who cares🙂 So I’ll do the same tonight because I feel it’s coming back again.

DSC_0017

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

It was even colder than I thought the cold night this weekend, my house thermometer showed -18,4C (-1,12F) but when I looked at my car thermometer this morning it had actually fallen down to -22,9C (-9,22F). That’s very unusual this early in winter, especially since it just started properly. But already tonight it will turn towards warmer again and the roads will now be even worse since much of the snow will become ice when it flows out on the roads. Oh how fun.

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

DSC_0028

It’s time to make that pot of tea and perhaps something to eat as well. I’m not really hungry so I might skip that. I’ll also open up that jar with Tiger Balsam🙂

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “I can’t say I’m bored driving to work after snow storms.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Tiger Balm was my favorite for a long while. But it sure does smell. I think I bought it mostly for the cool containers it came in.
    I use Biofreeze now. It smells like mint taken to critical mass but the smell goes away after 30 minutes. It’s hot for a while and then it gets cool. My pain needs the cool though I’d really rather curl up with a heating pad.🙂

    Your weather looks like mine except much worse. It snowed last night and it’s been raining since this morning. The tiny, stinging kind of rain. The snow is still on the ground but it’s very juicy. It will freeze solid tonight.
    I’m so glad I don’t have to drive to work in this garbage anymore.

    Rocky flatly refused to go outside this morning. When I opened the door he came to a screeching halt on the threshold, turned around and ran back inside. I put his blanket on and booted him out to do his business. He was not pleased.

    Keep warm and enjoy the evening as best you can.

    • Hi Caryn!

      They don’t sell the original Tiger Balm here any longer, I don’t know why but it’s most likely something the Eu has decided. This one is called Tiger Balm white or something. Works fine but the old one was better. It’s always nicer with a warm treatment🙂

      Like always the photos I show during the weeks now in winter are photographed during the weekend. I think it mostly was cloudy today and I did see a few snow flakes. But it will all melt awy now. Can’t say I’ll miss it🙂

      I soo understand Rocky🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. What a beautiful magpie! One visited my backyard and took the solidly frozen raisins that the squirrel had rejected. Too funny. I think our deep freeze is softening up, Sunday night was -10F (-23C) but today was warmer.
    The solstice is almost here and the long slide into Springtime starts! Stay warm, have some cocoa…

    • Hi Dee!

      They are really beautiful and besides intelligent also very funny🙂 They’ll eat anything edible and love fruit no matter how frozen they are🙂

      Warm here again so all snow is melting away again, can’t say I feel sad about it🙂

      Yes soon it will turn again, thank god🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Here I am wishing there was at least snow in the mountains..but I took a drive today and didn’t see one bit. All that rain and now and it was gone in three days! Not at all fair. Great pictures, Christer. Good luck with your Tiger Balm. I hope it works and keeps you comfy!
    Drive carefully!🙂
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Almost all snow is gone here too now and I like it🙂 but no rain here, we’ve gotten warm winds again🙂

      Tiger Balm is a little savior and I’m never out of it.🙂

      Have a grerat day!
      Christer.

  4. We have only a little bit of snow here but starting late tonight and throughout tomorrow, I think we are supposed to be hit with quite a bit.😦
    I have my van weighted down though so I should be able to drive ok.
    I have that metal shed in a box that I never took out of my vehicle. That thing weighs a ton! LOL!
    I’,m sick of winter too.
    Hang in there!

    • Hi Cindi!
      I hope You don’t get lots of snow! and I hope You have good tires on that van of Yours. I have studded tires nbow but last year I had winter tires without studs in them. The difference is huge and I’ll never have winter tires without studs again🙂 I also weigh down my little Mazda🙂 I leave most of the fire logs I buy at the end of the week inmmy car so that the back of the car gets heavier🙂

      I’m happy as long as the snow don’t fall🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

