It’s warmer again.

This photo was almost pitch black and I let photoshop edit it all by itself. Turned out quite well.

This photo was almost pitch black and I let photoshop edit it all by itself. Turned out quite well.

It’s warm again and I have to admit that most roads are much better already, for once  it’s the village road that is the worst one. Since this is farm country tractors drive a lot on our gravel road and the melting snow has nowhere to go since the ditches are full of snow already. So now it’s more or less 20cm (8 inches) of slush on our roads. I really don’t want to get stuck in that but nearly did🙂

DSC_0018

DSC_0020

DSC_0025

I mean what on earth are two people doing taking a walk in that mess when it is pitch black outside? I had followed a tractor and turned left when suddenly two people just stood there to my left on the road🙂 I didn’t drive fast, that’s impossible when the road is like this but it would be fast enough to injure them if I would hit them. I managed to avoid them and hit the snow wall on my right side instead and since I really didn’t want to get stuck there I just continued to drive not turning to hard on the steering wheel because that would only have made it worse🙂

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

DSC_0034

It all happened so fast that I never got the chance to see who it was but since I didn’t hit them it doesn’t matter. I think it might be my newest neighbors since they have a tendency to take walks in the most horrid weather all hours of the day🙂 I’m not the one that says no to a walk but not even I would have walked on that road when it is as bad as it is today. I slid down the small slope to my garage and when I had parked one of the castles tractors came and scraped the road. I guess they have been driving on every road today to feed all the cattle and perhaps they have moved out cattle to the fields further in to the forest as well.

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

My legs feel better today but instead my fingers and right shoulder are a mess instead🙂 Easier to handle though but I’ll use a lot of Tiger Balm tonight again. Nova is the only animal that still wants to sleep beside me in my bed now🙂🙂🙂 It’s time to make that pot of tea and something to eat as well. I would love some rice porridge but it takes some time and I’m not sure I have enough with milk. Well, a sandwich with Yule ham and a strong cheese isn’t that bad either🙂

DSC_0068

DSC_0070

DSC_0083

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “It’s warmer again.

  1. Christer,
    Your pictures in the darns always look so cold even if it is a bit warmer. I would not be walking along the side of a road filled with snow. Luckily here they plow the bike path so people have a place to walk after a snowstorm. The snow is still falling here but isn’t amounting to much. Gracie is content to stay inside as am I. I feel bad for the birds.

    Have a warm, wonderful evening. Enjoy that ham and cheese!

    • Hi Kat!

      Well when these photos were taken this weekend it was cold🙂

      I wouldn’t either, especially when it was mostly slush and very slippery. I guess they got just as scared as I did🙂 But we don’t have bike paths in the village, the side walks in towns are usually shoveled quite good. I think we might feel more badf for the birds than they do themselves🙂 Birds close to feeding stations like ours are probably rather well of to be honest🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!
      I sure hope so🙂 Who in their right mind walks around in 8 inches of slush in the middle of nowhere🙂 especially since I couldn’t see any reflexive vests or flashlights.

      Only Nova still wants to stay close to me🙂🙂 I guess Tiger Balm just smells way to strong for them🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Doe eating under Yule lit apple tree? Lovely.

    It’s been snowing to one degree or another all day. It wasn’t accumulating until now but it’s snowing moderately heavily and starting to pile up a little.

    I did go for a short walk with Rocky but we only went up the dirt road a few hundred feet and then through the church parking lot and back to my house. After that we went for a short ride just to give the jeep some exercise, too.
    All in all, it’s a messy day and a good one to stay inside and warm.

    Enjoy the evening, with or without porridge.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!

      That could also be a good start of a fairytale🙂

      It is thattime of year but it doesn’t mean we need to like this weather🙂 If I was in charge (I like to believe that I am but my dogs know better🙂 ) I would never go out when the snow falls or rain pours down. Don’t mind a cold and crisp sunny day though🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. All of your photos are wonderful, as always, but the first and last ones are beautiful enough to use on Christmas cards. Love the little bird, too. Is that also a bullfinch? I think Photoshop did a fabulous job of lifting that first photo enough to give it a magical look. So lovely. The one of the thawing creek is pretty too. I always feel so bad for the animals I see out in the snow but imagine it does not bother them at all. We did get more snow today but I don’t think it was the inch an hour that was called for. There was enough brine on the roads that they are perfectly clear. I saw the rheumatologist yesterday and he told me that I now have no choice but to have both knees replaced, sooner rather than later. I imagine the soonest will be May as the surgeon is very busy, but that will allow me the time to get to my 50th high school reunion at the end of April. The package I mentioned in a private email may be a little delayed due to my recent admission but it will get there eventually. Not to worry,.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      I hate it when my answers just vanish! I don’t know why this happens every now and again!
      No that little bird is a Big tit, if I would translate it directly from Swedish it would be Tallow ox🙂

      Yes I was amazed that photoshop did that good work on that photo, I have one more that got just as good.
      I think You are right abóut the animals, as long as they have food I doubt they care about the weather especially much. The good thing during winter is that they are tick free! and no flies bother them either🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer,
    just popping in to say Hej!
    love your photos as always, wish I had the camera and the time to take such shots….
    daft people to be walking on the roads in the dark without reflexive jackets, it was lucky for all of ye that nobody got hurt.
    Only about 10 days left till we get to the shortest day, then it will turn, thankfully and the light will start coming back.
    keep well and stay warm!
    regards
    liz
    ireland

    • Hi Liz!
      So nice to see You again🙂

      I’m glad You like them🙂

      Yes what on earth were they doing out there on roads like that and without any reflexive vests🙂 Well I’m glad I missed them🙂🙂

      Yes only ten days left!!! Just knowing it will turn makes life so much easier🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. The roads were a bit icy here in places so there was a warning to all drivers to be cautious. I have to laugh at California drivers. If they are FROM California, they have no idea how to drive in bad weather. I think I pretty much get my fill of snow just looking at the beautiful pictures. Still…It’s so beautiful to be where snow is falling. I miss that. Living in it and dealing with it can be a chore, I know. Sorry you are having those aches and pains. You sound a bit miserable. 😦

    • Hi Mona!

      Icy roads in California?! That must have surprised everyone there🙂🙂
      I could live a life just seeing photographs with snow🙂 But I think I might like it better if I didn’t have to drive around in it,especially early mornings.

      I have been feeling miserable but it is turning towards better now, just my shoulder and neck still argues with me🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Ja, det är läskigt när man kommer och åker i mörkret och det helt plötsligt uppenbarar sig något oväntat som en person utan något som lyser upp dom. Eller t.o.m. på dagen när man kommer runt en kurva och möts av ett jättefordon som tar upp hela vägbanan. :- ( Det har hänt här och jag lovar att man är snabb på bromsarna, vilket inte är så kul i vinterväglag. 😦😦 Men nu är det barmark här igen, kom just in efter en liten prommis i kohagen med Santos och det var underbart! Så hoppet om en “grön vinter” har återuppväckts…..🙂🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Ja gode tid så rädd jag blev🙂 När jag dessutom visste att sörjan kunde driva bilen precis hur som helst.
      Barmark på stora ytor här också och vägarna har blivit riktigt bra igen. Jag hoppas alltid in i det sista på en grön vinter🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. I can relate. Today as I drove up the very winding road to work there was this guy riding his bicycle in the snow. Every once and a while I end up behind him. He has a fancy bike and actually moves very fast for a bike but very slow for a car. I was so mad because I could have hit a slick spot and hit him. Grrrr.
    I’m also upset because today they start allowing deer hunters in the city for a month.😦
    But I love your photos!🙂

    • Hi Cindi!

      It is nasty to be that surprised🙂 Why on earth are they out in road conditions like that🙂🙂

      At least the deers live free and not like the cattle. They won’t know what happens to them and if the hunter knows his job they won’t feel a thing before it is over. But I do understand how You feel. I do miss the old bucks that used to hang around.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

