Christmas vacation!

Grey, rainy and dismal weather here today. But at least it isn't snowing :-)

Grey, rainy and dismal weather here today. But at least it isn’t snowing🙂

Finally it’s here! Winter vacation🙂 Most of the day passed so quickly that I really didn’t think of it but the last ten minutes felt like years passing by🙂 Today we had a course in CPR, I have already taken a longer course in CPR but it’s never wrong to get an update because they tend to change the recommendations on how to do it and for how long. The company I work for has also bought one of those handy little machines that gives electric chocks if the heart malfunctions at a person. It’s impossible to misunderstand how to use it because the machine tells what needs to be done to the one operating it.

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

DSC_0007

Normally I drive to the super market after the end of the work day on Fridays but today I needed to do more things. First I drove to the vet to get a prescription on the medicine Orvar and Hector takes every morning. The vet station was closed when I arrived and a note said they would be back at 1pm because they were out on a Christmas lunch. That sort of disturbed my plans but turned out to be rather good. I was so effective because of that so I actually got home earlier than I thought I would be🙂

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

DSC_0013

First I drove to the store where they sell fire logs and huge bags with sunflower seeds for the birds. It’s a store owned by the farmers association called Granngården (Neighbor’s farm) and is a bit expensive to be honest but You know You’ll get good quality on what ever You buy. I also bought some pigs ears for the dogs and they just love those🙂

DSC_0018

DSC_0015

DSC_0017

After that I drove to the tobacco and gambling store to renew my Lotto tickets. This was pretty early in the day so I went out almost at the same time I went in🙂 Then I drove to a smaller super market to buy the food I need for this weekend and the holidays. Naturally I forgot to buy mustard for the Christmas ham but I think I might have some here at home otherwise I need to drive to the store to get some on Monday. I really don’t like mustard but it is a must on the ham. One minute passed one pm I stood outside the vets office and got the prescription🙂

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

DSC_0026

The mail didn’t come until very late so I could just hope my dvd’s would be with the mail man when he came and yes they have arrived🙂 I’m very tempted to watch some episodes already now but I think I’ll wait until tomorrow, it will mostly rain anyway and tonight they’ll show another Startreck movie on Channel six. The fire is burning in the stove, I have a cup of tea by my side and fifteen days of Christmas vacation. Life is good🙂

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

Have a great day!

26 thoughts on “Christmas vacation!

    • Hi Dianna!

      Merry Christmas to You too🙂

      I will enjoy that ham, I always do🙂 and there’s no chance I won’t enjoy the vacation🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. hi christer! i got your card and just love it! glad to hear you have all this time off. a perfect way to enjoy jul! have you gotten into any of your treats yet? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’m glad You like it🙂 I feel it was especially good this year🙂

      I knew I had one week but the second was a bit more unsure if I would get.

      I have to say that I’m surprised about y character so far🙂 I will however use some of the maple syrup tomorrow when I’ll have pancakes🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Fifteen days of vacation! My goodness, I’ve never had a vacation that long here in the U.S. I wish more people over here would start taking long vacations though. More quality of life!

    • Hi kerrymac22 and welcome to my blog🙂

      All Swedes have at least five weeks of vacation every year and when Christmas comes in the middle of the week like it dioes this year most of us can take at least oneor most likely two more weeks with the help of compensation hours🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Här “leker livet” också!🙂 Testgjorde min nya julrätt “julkryddade kycklingfiléer” ikväll och det blev väldans gott. Till det testade jag också Susies Gosås (peppar och yoghurt samt lite annat) och så gjorde jag lite ärt & avakadoröra, men jag hade nog lite väl mycket chili i, så det får jag ta det lugnt med till julbordet. Våra gäster på julafton äter inte starkt alls….😦
    Sen hittade jag två burkar med inläggningssill i kylen, men efter att ha öppnat den ena – den yngsta – så var jag tyvärr tvungen att kasta båda. Sillen var inte fräsch precis!😦😦
    Men jag hade två frp 5-minuterssill hemma i reserv, så dom tog jag och hällde bort spadet på och så gjorde jag Susies Pepparsill (det är rödlök, purjolök, morötter, kryddpeppar, svartpeppar, rosépeppar och grönpeppar) och den verkar bli bra. Nu är det bara min dillsill och Rolles Gubbröra och…… Kolla min blogg får du se hela “körschemat”!🙂🙂🙂

    Jag ÄLSKAR att göra julmat, så jag trivs verkligen nu!!
    GOD JUL
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Kul att kyklingen lyckades, men jag älskar stark mat🙂 Sill däremot är något jag just vägrar att äta, stekt ja men inte inlagd. Bland det värsta jag vet🙂

      Måste erkänna att jag tyckte det var roligare förr att göra julmat, nu nöjer jag mig med skinkan och köttbullarna, resten kan jag köpa färdigt🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. well. have a good vacation!
    It’s crazy busy here at work and it’s raining ice.
    We are supposed to all meet after work for dinner and cocktails but I don’t think I will go.
    I would have to drive home in this bad weather and maneuver on the ice and try to make it up the steep hill to my home. PLUS I have my dogs with me. and I can’t be driving if I had some cocktails anyway.
    so…yeah, enjoy your vacation! :p

    • Hi Cindi!

      Thankfully all other companies (factories we have as customers that is) takes at leats one week vacation so even if we all are busy we still can take this vacation.

      I wouldn’t go either to that dinner with cocktails. We had our julbord (yule board is like a christmas variation of smorgasboard with insanely much christm,asfood🙂 ) in the evening too at a restaurant close to work. But people tend to get drunk and since I’m driving I just can’t stand them if I have to be sober🙂🙂🙂 Besides, we had that huge snow storm that day so I couldn’t even go to work🙂🙂

      I will enjoy every second of it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I never comment on your blog, but today I just have to. I always enjoy your pictures, but the one you took of the branches with raindrops on it is awesome! I think I will try to take one like that someday. You have inspired me. I hope you have a great vacation and a happy holiday.
    Wendy from NY in the US.

    • Hi Wendy and welcome to my blog🙂

      I’m glad You like them🙂

      I will enjoy every second of this vacation🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

  6. Christer,
    You will so love those Big Bang Theory programs. I still laugh no matter how many times I see them. I even laugh out loud.

    I hate the mud in my backyard though it is not as bad as the mud on your road. Gracie, the digger, comes in with paws covered in mud and her face covered in dirt from her digging and covering. I run and try to catch her before the kitchen floor gets filled with prints. I seldom succeed.

    When I do Christmas dinner, I alternate the meat from year to year. My friends who are my usual guests don’t like ham, and though I like it, I don’t serve it. Mostly it is a beef or pork roast, something special. This year I will be by myself, and I’m going to treat myself to a rib eye steak and roasted potatoes. I did just order some Spanish ham from on-line. It is a special ham: cured in spices and you eat it in thin slices. I saw it on-line with fresh figs as an appetizer.

    I’m glad for your vacation!!

    Have a wonderful eveing!

    • Hi Kat!

      I have the package with all the dvd’s beside me now🙂 The rain is pouring down outside so I think this will be a good day to start having fun🙂

      I have thankfully very little mud in my garden, only a few pålaces where Nova and Sune always run around is grass free. But the roads here are 100% mud now🙂 It doesn’t matter how much I try to clean up my dogs, I alweays have lots of mud prints on the bottom floor🙂

      Even though books and magazines gives us loads of new recipes for Christmas food we still tend to do it the old fascioned way here. The ham must have been in brine for at least two days. Some boil it for one hour/kilo and that liquid some then have on the Yule board and dip dark bread in it. Well I have to say it tastes anything but good🙂 I prefer to make it in the oven, it gets a bit saltier then.

      Tham ham sounds delicious, is it one of those air dried ones?

      I’m very glad for my vacation too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer,
    Hooray for vacation!

    I was thinking that your photos today look like Vermont in mud season instead of Sweden in winter.🙂
    We still have a foot or so of snow on the ground even though it’s very warm here today and the snow has been melting rapidly.
    It started to rain a little while ago. That will just add to the mix.

    While sunning myself on the front steps today I noticed that the crocuses that I had unceremoniously buried next to the steps have poked their heads up a little bit. They are right next to a 2 foot pile of icy snow. We shall see, come spring, what survives from this experiment.🙂

    Enjoy the first full day of your vacation. And all the rest of the days, too.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes Hooray!!

      Now I need to go to Vermont to see how it looks there🙂

      No snow in sight here so we’ll have a green Christmas here this year. Just like it almost always was when I grew up by the ocean. A real Christmas for me is when the rain is pouring down🙂

      Those crokuses will du just fine, it’s amazing what those little flowers can take when it comes to our winter weather🙂 I think I’ll go out and see if any of mine is showing up too.

      The rain is pouring dow, the wind is howling and this is a day best spent in front of the tv watching Big Bang Theory🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Just hopping over here from Joyce’s! You had a very full day! Just as I read you post I was thinking I needed to get out front and fill the bird feeder. They really go through their food. Most goes on the ground though. I like the bells better…they last longer. I see some mud puddles in your lovely country roads..I LOVE mud puddles!🙂

    • Hi Mona!

      Yes lots of the seeds fall down but there are plenty of sdmall birds that prefers taking the seeds there instread from the feeders. A few seeds will go unnoticed so with a bit of luck I’ll have sunflowers there next year🙂

      Mud puudles are never wriong except for when I have to clean up all the dogs🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. 15 days of Christmas vacation is just wonderful! Do you plan to do anything special, or just enjoy the time off? You certainly got a lot done waiting for the vet’s office to reopen. Do dogs in Sweden need protection from the dreaded heartworm, or do you not have the problem with mosquitoes that we do? My last rescue was heartworm positive when I got him and sadly, even though the vet treated and killed the heartworm, the damage had been done to his heart and he was gone a little over 2 years later. I know what you mean about being sure of getting good quality items at stores that charge a little more. I used to buy the black oil sunflower seeds for the song birds but I think the squirrels felt I was setting out a special banquet for them. We even took to putting oil in the pole of the bird feeder to keep them away, but they must have been a special variety of gray ground squirrel, endowed with Superman powers as they literally flew from the rhododendron bushes to the bird feeder. While I always make turkey for Thanksgiving and Christmas, ham does sound very good. I watched a cooking channel show the other day where one of the channel’s personalities, Guy Fieri (with the crazy, spiked blond hair), went to North Pole, Alaska to check out the restaurants there. One of the restaurants served ham with Alaskan wild cranberry basting sauce. Wild cranberries were cooked in water until they popped, and then simmed until the liquid reduced. Sugar to taste was added and then some of the mix was put in a food mill. Some of the popped berries were left and the two were combined and poured over the ham which had been scored into a diamond pattern with whole cloves where the diamonds intersected. It looked so good, I wish I had been able to get to North Pole, Alaska immediately. I have used a cherry glaze on ham so it makes sense that a cranberry glaze would be good too, and I do love cranberries. Can you get cranberries in Sweden? Another berry that I favor is then huckleberry but they get harder and harder to find here in PA, when they were very common when I was little. They are most like a small, wild blueberry and my grandmother used to make the best pies from them. How I miss them. Now I would have to order them frozen from Oregon state but the shipping is cost prohibitive. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas!

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      The only plan I have is to do nothing at all🙂 Wellk I will go down to a friend of mind, down by the big lake where I was a few weeks agao but that’s it.

      Thankfully we don’t have that mosquito that spreads heart worm and heart worm is rare as it is in Europe (sometimes it’s a good thing living in this climate🙂 ). I’ve understood it’s a nasty critter but if treated in time not leathal. Instead we now have a dwarf tapeworm that doesn’t do the dog anything but kills humans since we don’t notice we have it until we’re dying. The reason we have it it because they smuggle dogs from the continent up to us to sell as pets or they are rescue dogs that nevber was examined by vets as they should be.

      Our squirrels seems to be so much more shy than Yours🙂 I live only 200 yards from where they live but they never dare going this far🙂

      We tend to be very conservative when it comes to Christmas food here in Sweden. Newspapers and cook books gives us loads of new recipes every Christmas and we might try it but almost always go back to the old ways🙂 The ham must be placed in brine for at least two days, You must have that speciasl musturv sread above it and so on🙂 Very few have cloves in their ham here though and never have glace on the Christmas ham, that’s a NO NO🙂🙂 Cranberries grwo in the wild here but most people believes they are Lingonberries and Lingonberries is the berry here. People use Lingonberry jam to almost anything here, even pancakes and lingonberry jam is a must to things like meatballs, cabbage rolls and well just everything else too🙂

      I checked huckleberry on the net and it seems a lot of small blue berries are called that. But I think most of them grows here too. Our blueberries grows on bushes perhaps foot high and are deep red-bluish inside. So when ever one eats those the need of brushing the teeth are big🙂🙂 Very delicious though and we always went out piucking them when I was a kid. Now days I prefer the big blueberries from Your continent, so much higher, so much bigger berries and so easy to grow in the garden🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • In New Jersey, there are loads of blueberry farms but in my opinion, those berries are too big and too mushy. The wild blueberries and the huckleberries (cousins I think), are smaller, firmer and sweeter. I have never heard of lingonberries but will be looking them up shortly. It sounds like products from it are very popular there. I find it so interesting to hear about Christmas customs in other countries and just bought a wonderful Irish cookbook at one of our chain bookstores. For New Years, we generally had pork and sauerkraut, which apparently came to the area from the early German settlers (and it is supposed to clean up hangovers, but I never tried it). According to a garden book, true huckleberries are genus Gaylussacia while the blueberry is genus Vaccinium. When I was young, we often visited the coal regions in PA, to visit my grandmother’s sister, and we could always find huckleberries there, in the heavily wooded areas thick with rhododendron (and snakes, unfortunately). I once found someone selling them in Pennsylvania, right after we crossed from New York State after a trip to the Thousand Islands in Canada. Behind her house was the proper habitat for them – thick with rhododendron (and, she said, snakes, too many for comfort so she always wore “gaiters” of metal on her legs to protect them in that thick brush). It’s a shame they are not as easily harvested as blueberries. Cranberries are in bogs and to the best of my knowledge, are harvested in the water, floated if you would, and then gathered with big wooden things with fork-like tines. With so much building in the area around here, we can’t even find the wild raspberries and blackberries that used to grow by the sides of the road. Not any more, with all the housing developments (too many in my opinion). I miss the way things were. Nancy

      • Hi myroseindecember!

        That’s something we don’t have here, blueberry farms. Strawberry farms and blck currant farms is common here though. They have cross bread the “American blueberries” as we call Your high blueberry bushes with the kind we have ´growing here in Sweden and they have come ot rather good! They are like ours in taste and consitence (well some are a bit sour but many are just as sweet as ours) but they are white inside and the bushes can grow up to 1,5 yards high. So much easier to pick and I now have several bushes in my garden. But they struggle through winter here since this is on the border to what they can manage.
        Lingon is the most important berry here and grows in much the same places as cranberries and blueberries. But we don’t have rhododendrons growing everywhjere here🙂 We have two species and one grows only up in the mountains far north and the other one is are but grows on peat bogs. The bog I live close to isn’t a peat bog I’m afraid. Lingonberries are the most popular berry here when it comes to jam and we always have it together with meat and some even fish but I draw the line there🙂

        Raspberries and black berries grows in the cities here, they usually let them grow in parks and other green areas as long as they aren’t too invasive. I loved to eat them when I was a kid and it’s much the same for kids today🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

Leave a Reply

