I can live without it.

DSC_0012

I was watching some episodes of Big Bang Theory yesterday evening and got many god laughs and never noticed that the lights in the apple tree went out. I also never realised that the lights upstairs went out either because the electricity to the tv and dvd player worked as it should even though nothing else electric worked upstairs. It wasn’t until I was going to bed that I realised all that because I couldn’t see the way to my bedroom🙂

DSC_0022

DSC_0017

Bulls can be best friends too.

Bulls can be best friends too.

The storm was howling outside and the rain was pouring down sideways towards the wall where I have one of my two fuse boxes, the other one is down in the cool cellar so I hoped the fuse or fuses that didn’t work were placed down there. Of course they weren’t, why should they? Life isn’t supposed to be that easy is it?🙂 One good thing was that I when going down to the cellar that the timer that keeps the light on there for the few plants I have there during winter must be corrected, The big lamp shone even if it shouldn’t.

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

Hector is not a happy guy here, the electric wires has hit him one to many times now. He doesn't seem to understand that if he just avoids the fence there's no problem. So he usually walks just behind me at this place.

Hector is not a happy guy here, the electric wires has hit him one to many times now. He doesn’t seem to understand that if he just avoids the fence there’s no problem. So he usually walks just behind me at this place.

They made this cottage a bit bigger when they once upon a time renovated this cottage and for some reason they then placed another fuse box on the outside, they also gave me three new main fuses, so instead of only having three I now have six🙂 and no one knows why🙂 There was no way in h… that I would go out in to the storm to change fuses so I found my tiny flash light and went to bed instead. I could live here without electricity since I have my fire heated stove to keep me warm and cook my food.

DSC_0001

DSC_0002

DSC_0004

The storm was still blowing hard this morning and it was pretty dark when I went outside to check those fuses but at least it didn’t rain until I controlled all fuses🙂 I found one directly (I have that old kind of fuses that needs to be replaced) but the second was a bit tougher since it was a main fuse and all looked to be intact. I really dislike those tiny colored metal lids that are supposed to fall of if the fuse break but never does.

DSC_0005

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

I managed to break one of the main fuses by not turning of the power completely and it turned out that I only had one more of those at home, so I had to place the new one in one socket and move the one I had replaced to the Finally I have power in my entire cottage again and tomorrow I’ll buy new fuses and throw away all the others I have at home since I’m not sure if they work properly. They have been placed in the fuse box outside for more than thirteen years now🙂 This rarely happens here, one time in thirteen years before yesterdays fuse meltdown.

DSC_0034

DSC_0038

DSC_0041

Soon I’ll start the fire in the stove again, noo need really since it is so warm outside and I already have had it burning this morning. I’ll make a pot of tea and something to eat and then I’ll go upstairs. There’s most probably nothing to watch on tv so I think I’ll watch some episodes of BBT again, is it possible not to love those people🙂

DSC_0031

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “I can live without it.

  1. Hmmm. I wonder if I have fuses? I have breaker switches. In the past if EVERYTHING was on and running and then I’d turn on the vacuum cleaner or something, a switch would flip but every since I had the electricity updated I’ve had no problems…because believe me, I could NOT live without electricity. (well, ok I have, during a bad storm and for a few days afterwards, that was a couple of years ago and I was NOT happy!)😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      You don’t have fuses if You have those breaker switches. I wish I had them but since my fuses seldom break there’s no use in paying lots of money to have them replaced to swtiches instead. But isn’t it strange that they always tend to break when it is as most troublesome toreplace them🙂

      I would have very little problems living without electricity but I must admit that life is so much easier with it :-.)

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! most of your photos are really tiny today. yesterday and today i had trouble with photos on my blog too. but you use wordpress and i use blogspot so it can’t be related. it has been pouring here too and we have a high of 74 degrees. it feels like summer. and the winds are awful! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I had huge problems getting my photos in the right size but I can see them as they should be when I’m looking at my post. How odd that You only can see small ones when I see them at the size I want them??! But WordPress behaved very strangely today in everything! I hope it’s just a passing thing!

      74 is summer temps here🙂🙂🙂 We have around 44 here🙂 I wouldn’t mind if the wind stopped for a while now and the rain can fall somewhere else for a change too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I’m so glad I have breakers and they are all inside my house.
    My mother was good for tripping the downstairs breaker. She could never remember which one it was so would shut all of them off and turn them all back on. All of the electronics in the house would have flashing lights. I finally wrote “It’s THIS ONE” on the breaker box cover and drew a thick black arrow to the breaker she always tripped. It didn’t work. I think she didn’t bother to read it.🙂

    Your pictures look the same size as always on my browser. Lovely light in them, too.

    It’s grey and drippy here today. The nice warm temperatures have gone away and it’s back to just above freezing. The balmy days were a nice treat for solstice and now we have to get back to regular winter crap, I guess.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It would be much easier to have switchers but since my fuses rarely break there’s no use in paying all that money to cghange. Especially since I have two boxes🙂 I can’t for my life understand why they didn’t put all fuses at the same place and why I have six main fuses instead of the normal three🙂🙂🙂
      My mother would do just the same, why bother to read🙂🙂

      Good to know that my photos are as big as they should but WP did behave very strange today.

      I’m hoping that winter won’t arrive this time, I’m perfectly happy having above freezing temparatures all winter long🙂 Could stop blowing and raining though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Har inte en aning om hur, när, om och framförallt var vi har reservsäkringar – sånt sköter alltså min gubbe. Fast jag vet var dom sitter i alla fall; i tvättstugan inomhus. Det är skönt att – numera – bo i ett riktigt modernt hus!!🙂
    Idag har jag hållit sig inomhus så mycket som möjligt och lagat en jäkla massa julmat (bl.a. är skinkan helt klar, men ej avsmakad). Så man får sig väl en chock av vädret när jag ska gå ut om en minut, för i morse när jag var ute var det riktigt fint. Solen tittade t.o.m. fram en stund…..🙂🙂
    Men gubben min har ju informerat mig om läget, så det gäller väl att dra ner mössan långt över öronen om den ska sitta kvar. Det både regnar och blåser…..😦😦
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag gör färdigt min skinka imorgon. Men det är viktigt att veta var man har extra säkringar och jag har ju i alla fall hälften av säkringarna inomhus🙂

      Solen kikade fram här också att bra tag, men molnen kom tillbaka och sedan dess har det regnat mest hela tiden. Vinden har dock lugnat sig lite tror jag, svårt att veta när man bara hör ljudet av den🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. What a pain in the rear to have to try & deal with 6 different fuse boxes. I could understand the need for a couple of them because of the house being 2 stories plus the cellar, but 6 sounds like the electrician didn’t know what he was doing or the separate boxes were on sale really cheap. You are right to throw those old fuses out. I seem to recall that dampness & moisture degrade them quickly, so the ones stored outside in the box are likely worthless. When you go to the store for fuses, don’t forget your mustard for your Yule ham. Funny, I can remember what you need at the grocery store, but not my own list.

    Yesterday, there was a channel that ran a marathon of Big Bang for 24 hours starting with the 1st episode. They were fun to see since I had not seen them in a long time, probably when they originally aired. Hope you are enjoying your DVDs.

    Poor Hector living in fear of the electric fence. He is taking the “Better safe, then sorry” approach when he gets near the electrified fence. I liked the photos with the steers giving headbutts to each other. I can’t tell if that is a cow’s version of a kiss or just a way to get your head scratched. I would not want to mess with those two, they are huge. One time when I was about 13 I had to walk past a field of cows on the way home. I stopped to look at them and mooed at them. Instead of ignoring my attempts at cow-speak, they all started charging towards me. For big animals they can pick up a lot of speed quickly. I started running and they kept coming. I made it home in record time . The next day, the farmer was out doing something and I saw that the cows chasing me had not stopped before running into the fence and had broken some of the wires & pulled a couple of posts up out of the ground. I tried to look very innocent as I walked past and for a long time I worried that the farmer would figure out I had caused the cows to charge the fence. After that I made sure I never made eye contact with any of those beasts.

    Another dreary rainy day. I am going out early tomorrow to get a few things at the grocery store and a couple of errands I want to get done before everything becomes too crowded. I hate driving at Christmas as much as I dislike going into stores. There are so many people driving around distracted by all they need to get done that they do not look at where they are going. Parking lots are especially dangerous as it is like playing Russian roulette as to whether you will be hit in the knees when they quickly back out of their parking space not bothering to look & see who is walking behind them.

    Toby is doing better today with her hurt leg. She did not need pain medication at all yesterday & seems to be getting around OK., That is a good thing because I hate to wrestle an injured 7 pound cat just to get a few drops of medicine into her and most of it being spit out on me. I think she had a really bad strain and must have fallen trying to get up to the sink.. She gets so indignant when I lift her up onto the bed or try to help her get where she wants to go.. My bed is pretty high, so I put a step stool next to a chair that I put right next to the bed, so now she can be independent and take smalls hops rather than a death defying leap off the bed to the floor.
    I am off to finish my cookie baking and call my Aunt to wish her a Merry Christmas. Enjoy your day.

    • Hi Ellen!

      Thgankfully it’s not six fuse boxes, I have six mani fuses in two fuse boxes and besides those main fuses I have at least 20 fuses to everything in my cottage, a three room cottage smaller than many appartements🙂 I guess that’s why my fuses last so long, there’s really no risk of over leaoding them at all. I had only three fuses besides the main fuses in the cottage I rented before moving here and those fuses popped all the time🙂🙂🙂

      I do enjoy my BBT dvd’s🙂 Especially since there are no commercials in them but then again without commercials they do pass so quickly. I’ve now watched two thirds of the first season🙂

      Yes cows are so curious🙂 Thankfully they all stop just by the fence here🙂 But it happens that they break out and those times the best thing to do is to watch ones feet🙂 They are usually very kind but really don’t care if they walk on my feet. However if I have my dogs with me I try to get away as quickly as possibly because cows tend to try to kill dogs if they have calfs.

      The storm is still blowing out there and it rains slightly too but the wind isn’t as strong as it was before, the gusts however hits my cottage and shakes it a little every time :-)I’ll go early to the super market to get those last things UI need.

      I’m glad Toby is doing better🙂 Cats does tend to dislike being helped but I have to say that both Bertil and Teodor actually allows me to give them medicine. Bertil never likes to be touched but when he’s sick he allows me to help him. I hope she continues to improve!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. beautiful photos but you need some snow, I’ll send some, i have lots to spare, terrible ice storms to the south of us but we are getting it in snow this far north ,

    • Hi Laurie!
      No no no, keep Your snow🙂 I’m so happy to live without it🙂 But it’s sure better than ice storms that’s for sure!

      Have as great time in the snow🙂

      Christer.

  7. I haven’t lived anywhere with fuses for a long time, just circuit breakers, but I do remember fuses from when I was little. My Dad always mumbled a lot under his breath when we would lose power. I think he hated changing them, even though they were inside. It is good to know that even if you do lose power, you still have a way to provide heat and someplace to cook. I remember one weekend when my youngest and I were alone when my then husband had gone hunting. I swear, the minute he left, the power went out. It was a wicked storm. Fortunately, we had a fire place and a kind neighbor who brought us a lot of logs for it. So, my son and I, and the two dogs, snuggled down in front of the fireplace for almost the whole weekend. FInally, by Sunday, I had to get out of the dark room and go into the living room so I could at least read – as possible as that is wearing gloves, a coat and a hat!! Within 10 minutes of my then husband coming home from his hunting trip, the power went back on! If the whole street was not out, I might have thought he did something to the breakers. It was always so frustrating when our street would be out but the street behind us had power.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      For some reason the system with switchers wasn’t seen as safe over here for quite some time, all new homes have it from the start now days though. I don’t mind changing those in the cellar but no way that I’ll go outside in a storm to change them🙂🙂

      I used to rent cottages without power when I was younger so I’m pretty used to it and since they saved the fire heated stove here (the wife threatened to leave him if he removed the stove and she meant it! ) I can live without electricity. But it’s sure nice to have it🙂

      It is fun though that the power came back so soon after Your husband had come back🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Big Bang Theory has become one of Pat/Grenvile’s favorite shows. he watches it online and I admit to becoming a fan as well. it really does have some funny episodes.We did have fuses years ago in my parents home and my dad was an electrician if we ever had a problem he would correct it.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      So far I’ve gottenb at least one loud out layúgh in each episode, mostly more though🙂

      All new hoses have those switches but since my fuses seldom break there’s no use in changing to switch breakers, that would be just too expensive to what the use it would do.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

