Good Yule!

DSC_0012

So today it’s finally here, they day we all been waiting for Christmas Eve (or Julafton as we Swedes call this day). Well that is if You are a Swede, the rest of You are most probably waiting for tomorrow instead. But for some reason and I can’t find that reason anywhere we Swedes have our big Christmas day today. This day is ruled by two things, the Yule Gnome (or Jultomten as we call him) and Disney. You might think that it’s a bit odd that Disney actually is the BIG thing here but we have actually been celebrating Julafton together with Donald Duck and his friends since 1960. Every year they show more or less the same program and we all know what all characters will say and most of us say our favorite lines out loud as they are shown on tv🙂 Here’s a link that will tell You more about this slightly odd but oh so loved tradition🙂 Sweden’s Bizarre tradition!  But they have censored the old racists parts now days and I think they might be wrong that this tradition not might stay for much longer. You see we brainwash our children🙂 Most of them are forced to see this with us oldies and even if they might be rebellious in their teens they always come back to watch it when they et older, if not earlier so at least when they have kids of their own so the brainwashing can continue🙂

DSC_0011

I think I’ll let the photos talk for themselves. Lots of yummy sthings here🙂

DSC_0013

I’m having two of those brown cookies right now🙂

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

There are some things I’ve never seen before like this in the front. My dogs love their treat!

We don’t have Santa here either, we have the Yule Gnome (jultomten), he’s now days sort of a mix between Santa Claus and our House or Homestead gnome. He used to be a grumpy little man most likely dressed in grey, perhaps with a read cap and he came to the homes to visit the families to bring presents. Back in the days he had a goat that pulled a small sled. Later on the goat was replaced by a horse and the gnome became nicer and wore read clothes. Now days he seems to have reindeer instead, like Santa has. But the goat isn’t gone, he’s still one of the most important symbols, actually before Jultomten gave away the presents it was the Yule Goat (julbocken) that came with the presents.

DSC_0016

I’ve never had Pumpkin Soup before so I’ll have this after Yule!

DSC_0017

Isn’t it beautiful! It now hangs on my door and now I just hope that at least one of my dogs get it so the other will understand after a while🙂

DSC_0018

Those Rocket Coffee, I’ve never seen anything like them. Is it a bonbon that is supposed to be eaten as it is? Or….?🙂

DSC_0019

I love honey!

Julbocken is actually a remain from the old Norse religion and was one of the goats pulling the Norse god Thor’s wagon. So the goat has been with us for quite some time now. They even build the biggest julbock in the world in the Swedish city Gävle. The only reason it’s known outside Sweden is that it is burnt down almost every year🙂 I’ve heard that it now days even is possible to bet on when it will burn down🙂🙂🙂 The habit of having Christmas tree or Julgran as we call it (Yule Spruce) is fairly young amongst the common people but they had it already at 1741 in a mansion in a part of Sweden called Södermanland. But there was a tradition of having a Julträd (actually Christmas tree🙂 ) earlier than that. It was usually a small spruce or a Crabapple tree (well bush is most likely more true) and they hang apples and perhaps paper decorations in it. They could have burning candles in it if it was a spruce they used but never if it was an apple tree (don’t ask me why, they don’t explain why You see🙂 ) If it was an apple tree it was called Julapel (Yule apple), easy enough to remember🙂

DSC_0020

So beautiful! It now hangs on my entrance door.

DSC_0021

For a while there I did wonder if Joyce had sent me some cheese🙂🙂 I can tell You that it is Italian confectionery.

DSC_0022

Well I did write a lot of things for letting the photos speak for themselves🙂

Rainy and stormy here again today, just like it always was when I grew upby the ocean. This is Christmas weather to me :-)

Rainy and stormy here again today, just like it always was when I grew upby the ocean. This is Christmas weather to me🙂

The traditions vary slightly but mostly we have our Yule board around noon so we are finished before Donald Duck and his friends wish You a Merry Christmas. That program is way to important to be disturbed by something so common as food🙂 After that program the tension starts to build up, the Yule Gnome is on his way! Unfortunately there’s a custom to give the gnome a schnaps after his work is done and if one belongs to the last families to see him the gnome can be very jolly and nasty drunk🙂 So now days it’s quite possible that it is his wife that comes instead, Tomtemor (The Gnome Mother)! It seems that women are much better on saying NO! to that schnaps and the children are just as happy if she comes. Not only is she sober she’s also much easier to like than a loud, fat, drunk man🙂 I was terrified when he came and was so relived when I realised the he wasn’t real, just a man dressed in red with this horrible mask over his face🙂🙂

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0031

I have been Jultomten several times and people wanted me to come because I can say no to schnaps and isn’t that loud towards small children. I mean this is a day that should be something nice to remember, not a day to fear🙂 The stories I could tell about those times🙂 If I post anything tomorrow it will be about the House gnome, a very important being in the old days.

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

My ham is done and it’s not the best ham I’ve had but far from the worst one. So now I’ll fry the meat balls and the Prince sausages. Unlike 99% of the Swedish population I can’t stand pickled herring or Salmon which is either smoked or cured so that’s nothing I’ll have ever🙂 But I think I’ll have most of everything else. I also have all the yummy things I got from Joyce🙂 I opened up all the packages this morning and both my dogs and I are very happy🙂 Thank You Joyce! I love it all🙂

DSC_0037

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

DSC_0042

I wish You all a Good Yule!

DSC_0041

20 thoughts on “Good Yule!

  1. Happy Yule Christer! Wishing you season’s greetings from Canada! We are waiting for tomorrow as that is our big day. Hope your day was happy and keep blogging those wonderful pictures! Dianna

  2. Hi Christer,
    Lots of yummy things in that package. My eyes lit up when I saw the Sky Bar. I haven’t had one of those in a long time and thought they didn’t make them anymore. If Joyce found them, they must be out there so I will have to search.
    The Italian candy looks like toblerone which I also like but I can get that easily.

    I love the dog bell. It’s different from the one I bought which is a nylon strap with bells on. Before that I used a French cow bell on a string and before that I used a leather strap with bells that was part of a horse harness. Anyway, the point is to ring it each time you let the dogs out. Eventually, one of them should figure it out. Rocky did and he’s only smart when sufficiently motivated.🙂

    I wonder if adults make things like Santa and the Yule Gnome ugly so that when we tell the kids it was all a lie, they will actually be relieved and not upset. My Santa did not smell like mead and brimstone, though. He mostly smelled like cigar smoke and whiskey.🙂

    God Jul and happy Duck watching.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Donald Duck is over so Yule has started🙂

      Soo much candy🙂 But I think those Italian things are more like cake, I’ll need to try one tonight🙂

      Nova has understood she must do something to the door but hasn’t understood that she needs to hit the bells. She keeps on hitting the door everywhere but on those bells🙂🙂🙂 She’ll et there soon enough I guess🙂

      That might be the case🙂 I was at least very happy to find out he wasn’t true🙂🙂 I think mead and brimstone would have been better than pure liquor🙂 Hopefully a santa smelling like brimstone at least would be able to talk properly so one could hear what he said🙂🙂🙂

      Have a Good Yule!
      Christer.

  3. good yule christer! the coffee things are chocolates to be eaten like candy. the italian wedges are nougat and are really yummy! glad the pups liked their treats. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I guessed it was something like coffee tasting chocolat but one never knows when it comes to candy from the other side of the world🙂

      So It’s nougat! I just love nougat🙂 So it couldn’t have come to a better place🙂🙂

      Thanks again!
      Have a Good Yule!
      Christer.

  4. It is already Christmas where you are..so a very Good Yule to you, Christer! Ours will be in the morning and it is only 6:49 pm on Christmas Eve here. Your Yule gifts came from one of the most giving and generous women I know!! She sent you some really lovely things goodies to munch on!
    We adults in every country can find so many ways to scare little children. Here in America I grew up being afraid of the “boogy man” and still am ’til this very day. I leave lights on all over our home and I always have. My children are the same way. Night lights everywhere. When I was raising them there was always a lamp left on in the living room at night. I laughed when I found that they all do the same thing! The only scary masks are at Halloween..the witches, of course!
    Enjoy this day.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Christmas day here now (6:23 am) and today is often the spare day when one goes to the relative/ relatives one missed yesterday. Boxing day tomorrow is most likely the day most pewople will relax on and try to just enjoy the day. Christmas day and Boxing day are (payed)holidays here but most of us have Christmas eve off and payed too. But I won’t go back to work until January 7th🙂

      Now days they make so much better masks but I never had one. I nice false beard and a friend that knows make up very well is a better choice🙂 I never scared a single child🙂

      Thankfully we don’t have the boogy man here but we all have mosnters under our beds🙂
      No lights on here, sort of no use when I always have had at least one dog🙂

      Have a Good Yule!
      Christer.

  5. Good Yule, Christer,
    There are such wonderful goodies. You will be eating like a prince for days. I’m glad the dogs will have their Christmas treats too. Gracie has already eaten an iced Christmas tree from the dog bakery. She has more tasty treats for tomorrow. I have a roast beef tomorrow and with it I’ll have mashed potatoes and honeyed carrots which you’d love.

    It is still Christmas Eve here, and I am watching A Christmas Carol with Patrick Stewart who makes a wonderful Scrooge with that commanding voice of his.

    My friend, I wish you the best of everything.

    • Hi Kat!
      I just had too much Christmas food and candy yesterday so it feels like I’ll never need to eat again🙂 I was planning on making a bit bowl with rice porrodge but I’ll skip that and just have a cup of tea for breakfast🙂

      I don’t think we have a single dog bakery in the entire Sweden! Strange really since it would work well in at least the three big cities. That would have been something to buy for my dogs as Christmas presents.

      I haven’t seen Patrick Stewart in that movie, just heard about it yesterday actually. He is a very good actor and his voice must be perfect for Scrooge.

      Have a very Good Yule!
      Christer.

  6. Merry Christmas & Good Yule Christer –

    Yule Day has arrived:) It looks like you got all kinds of goodies & treats . Your beautiful stocking looks great hung on the wall. I have never been one of those people who eat all kinds of candy, but I couldn’t help but notice that you have a Planter’s Peanut bars. That is my absolute favorite candy bar & you are so lucky to have one, I haven’t seen one in quite a few years, so I thought they didn’t make them anymore. The Coffee Pockets are squares of very good quality chocolate with a espresso syrup in the center. A friend gave me a package of them for my birthday & they are delicious.

    I am just finishing the last of the goodies that go into the gift baskets I make for a few friends & neighbors. I will be delivering them the day after Christmas since some of the people are away visiting family today. There are a few things that I want to be really fresh when they go into the gift baskets. I made little eggnog tea cakes baked in mini-bunt pans, They are shaped like snowflakes & look very cute with icing drizzled over them. I love eggnog and use it many of the things I bake this time of year. Then I become sad because there will not be anymore in the stores until next Christmas. There is something wonderful about the smell of fresh nutmeg & rum. I tried making caramels this year and they were much easier & tastier than I thought they would be, I didn’t try too many since my dentist is always saying that with a big smile that candy & nuts are responsible for 90% of the business, Actually, the caramels I made are not sticky at all and melt quickly.

    Last night I was baking cookies until 2 AM, which is not so strange since I usually go to sleep around 3 AM. When I stopped working a few years ago, my internal clock changed dramatically. Anyway, I was taking the cookies out of the oven and the parchment paper flew off the pan taking all the cookies with it down onto the floor. What a waste of time, pistachios & dried cranberries, each cookie carefully edged in sparkling sanding sugar.- all lying in a hot pile of buttery crumbs on my kitchen floor. I have learned that baking is not a task to be doing when you are tired. I hate it when things like that happen. At least I didn’t grab the hot pan with my bare hands’.

    Your photo showing what your Yule day weather looks like is exactly what Christmas day looks like here in Oregon. We may not have had a White Christmas, but we don’t have to shovel snow either,

    It is my hope that you & all the creatures in your care have a wonderful Yule & that the coming New Year brings you good health, a pleasant work environment & solid roads beneath your feet as you go on your daily walks.
    .

    • Hi Ellen!
      Yes all kinds of treats for me🙂 Yesterday I ate so much food and candy that I only have eaten some yoghurt today. I still feel full🙂 So I’ll save that peasnut bar some more days before I try it. Even the coffee bars will have to wait🙂

      Eggnog isn’t that big here, we love Gluwhine instead. Nothing wrong with eggnog though, quite tasty to be honest. But isn’t it typical to drop the cookies like that, the time one really mustn’t drop them.Long time since I tried to make caramel and like always they came out like some kind of fudge🙂 I don’t know why but I’m never successful when making caramel. But they are quite tasty as fudge too. Perhaps I’ll make some next Christmas.

      I’m so gklad I don’t have snow and I have this stupid wish it won’t snow at all this winter, stupid because we still have our coldest month, February ahead of us and spring normally don’t start here until the middle of April if we’re lucky, early May if unlucky.

      Yule has been pretty good so far, this morning the wind didn’t even blow the least, not so now though, a new storm is on its way with more rain. I’m glad I don’t live close to any bigger river right now because most of them are flooding right now and lots of houses are filled with river water. Our creek is more like a river now but so far away and much lower than here that the road now is totally gone. Photos will come tomorrow.

      Have a good continuing of Yule!
      Christer.

  7. Happy Yule to you too, Christer. Looks like you will have plenty of treats to enjoy when the miserable weather keeps you indoors.

  8. I’m late wishing you a Good Yule here.
    But I’ll be early in wishing you a Happy New Year.
    Whoa, you really got some really great things from Joyce!
    Looks yummy!😀😀😀

Leave a Reply

