They would have been in big trouble if it wasn’t for the fact that I need them.

DSC_0054

My cats comfortable life is hanging on a thin thread, very thin! My cottage reeked of cat pee the other day when I came home and that smell sort of totally destroys the entire sense of smells. But after walking around a while I located the source of this awful odor to two places. In the kitchen and up in my bedroom.

DSC_0055

DSC_0056

DSC_0057

The kitchen was easy so after mopping the floor there I went upstairs. It turns out that someone of them had peed in one of the dog beds. It was the kind that is said to be indestructible🙂 Well it isn’t and the dogs had dug a big hole in it so the pee had run through it and down on the floor.  One or perhaps both of the cats had also peed beneath my bed! It took a while but all smell is gone now and the cats were banished for over 24 hours from the cottage. My guess is that it is Teodor because Bertil always goes to the shower if his brother has used the cat litter. Teodor seems to think I should be punished if I don’t do anything to the cat litter if his brother has been there, even if I am at work🙂 Thankfully this is nothing that happens especially often. During summer they never go indoors at all.

We went down to the creek this morning, they had been working there yesterday when we were on the other side of the creek.

We went down to the creek this morning, they had been working there yesterday when we were on the other side of the creek.

DSC_0061

DSC_0062

The only reason they still are allowed to come in is that I have an intruder in my home. A nasty little food thief called a mouse! In my pantry! The pantry is a place I often visit🙂 So I saw it the morning after it had been there. So everything edible that I didn’t have a container for now stands on the kitchen counter. After that I let the cats in again and opened the pantry door over night. I haven’t seen any new tracks after that🙂 But I won’t place anything that isn’t in a jar or tin until I know for certain that the mouse is gone.

We were on the other side yesterday to see how much th water had sunk and if it was possible to walk there at all.

We were on the other side yesterday to see how much th water had sunk and if it was possible to walk there at all.

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

Even though I am a bit tired of the rain and constant wind I still am very happy that we don’t have any winter to talk about on this side of the ocean. I’ve heard about the snow storm on the American continent and I’m glad we don’t have it over here. But still, it would be nice if it rained a bit less🙂

It was a bit muddy and the banks were a bit unstable but looked much the same as always otherwise.

It was a bit muddy and the banks were a bit unstable but looked much the same as always otherwise.

DSC_0043

DSC_0045

Have a great day!

I have been waiting for these persimmon seeds (Diospyrus virginiana) to germinate for almost one year. Four months in the fridge, four outside and then four in the fridge again. Now, a bit earlier than I had hoped they started to shoot a root. Persimmon seeds actually works better with the paper cloth method than in soild. They almost always root when sown in soil.

I have been waiting for these persimmon seeds (Diospyrus virginiana) to germinate for almost one year. Four months in the fridge, four outside and then four in the fridge again. Now, a bit earlier than I had hoped they started to shoot a root. Persimmon seeds actually works better with the paper cloth method than in soild. They almost always root when sown in soil.

DSC_0053

Now I’ve sown one seed in each pot and can only hope I haven’t placed the pots too warm or too col🙂

22 thoughts on “They would have been in big trouble if it wasn’t for the fact that I need them.

  1. hi christer! that is a bummer about the cats. that is such a nasty smell. i recently saw mouse poop on my floor so i am keeping my eyes open for mice! they come inside when it gets this cold. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I hate when thet happoens but thankfully it rarely does. I once had a cat that peed in my shoes if she was unhappy with something I’d done🙂🙂

      Mice in the home isn’t nice either, I know they always are here during winter but I don’t want to see proof of their existance in my pantry🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    It snowed all night and all morning and there is a crapton of the white stuff on the ground. It is also colder than midnight on Pluto even without the windchill factor.
    I have been a good dog mom and shoveled out Rocky’s main bathroom area and his back up bathroom area. He has been out 4 times so far. He has even been for a walk up the street. He has peed many times. He needed to poop but would not no matter how many times he went out because apparently I did not shovel out the exact poop spot of choice. So he pooped in the dining room underneath the table. I came upon him just as he was finishing and I was not happy.
    I sympathize but am glad that I don’t have the cat pee smell to deal with anymore.

    No mice up in the living space of the house at the moment. There are probably some in the cellar but I don’t mind that. There’s not really any good way of keeping them out that doesn’t involve checking traps every day or leaving poison pellets down all the time and I don’t want to do either of those. As long as the mice stay in the cellar, I’m okay with it.

    What are they doing to the road? That pipe looks like it needs to be a better idea.🙂

    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Pluto is a bit chilly tis time ofyear so I can fully understand You don’t like that🙂🙂🙂 They showed how bad it is over at Yours on the news last night and I’m so glad I live on this side of the ocean this winter🙂

      Nova is much like Rocky, she must find the absolute prfect place to poop or she won’t do it. Thankfully she’s so much bigger than rRocky so she can jump arond herself to ind that perfect spot🙂 However, anything is better than the smell of cat pee🙂

      I know they are living in the walls during winter but this is the second time in almost 14 years that they have come in to my space and I don’t like it at all. But no more signs since I left the pantry door open🙂

      Those concrete things are stillthe old ones so I think he might have been there to remove a new wall built by the beavers. My guess is that they will keep it open until spring arrives. I must go down there more often to see if the beavers are active and renovates their wall or if they perhaps no longer are there.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    It amazes me that we have all the snow, and you have none. It seems wrong somehow.

    I am the queen of mice. There were even a few last winter that found a way into my fridge. I ended up cleaning all the kitchen cabinets and drawers. This year I haven’t seen any evidence of mice. I still have 2 have-a heart-traps should I need them as my cats aren’t great mousers. They used to be.

    I used to have two Siamese cats. The female loved everyone, and the male hated company. He used to pee in suitcases on clothes and such. My mother was always a target. I found the perfect stuff to eliminate male cat pee odor. The same company also makes a de-skunk smell product which works great. Here is the pee stuff on Amazon:

    http://www.amazon.com/Natures-Miracle-5125-Remover-32-ounce/dp/B0002ASLMW/ref=sr_1_2?s=pet-supplies&ie=UTF8&qid=1388776409&sr=1-2&keywords=nature%27s+miracle

    I buy it at Agway and always keep the skunk one in the house.

    Have a great afternoon!

    • Hi Kat!

      No, I think it’s just right🙂🙂🙂 But it is a bit strange to be honest, normally we have snow from now on to at least early March. It has something to do with the winds above the arctic and it has sort of locked on to Your continent so far and they say it looks like it will continue to be like this for the reat of the winter.

      I was surprised to see or even hear mice thgis winter since it is as mild as it is. Normally they don’t show any signs of being here until tye snow arrives. I couldn’t find my have a heart trap and they are hard to find inthe stores. I did however find one but it was rediculusly expensive so I’ll keep on looking. I might have to cave in and buy it anyway if I can’t find any cheaper ones🙂

      I love Siamese cats but have never had one. I’ve had a couple half Siamese though and they behaved much like real Siamese🙂 I recognised that product so I know we have it over here too. I’ll get it if this happens again. Thanks for the tip! Thankfully I won’t be needing the skunk product here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • You might want to get the product and apply it to those spots you think you have already de-odorized. My cats could always smell where they had gone before even though the people could not. I will put in another plug for this stuff. Works on dog pee, too.🙂

      • The odd thing is that they have never returned to the same spot again these few times this has happened.
        Dog pee doesn’t smell that nice either🙂🙂🙂

    • Hi Jim!

      Thankfully that rarely happens🙂 I hardly see them indoors until winter begins and that’s when the litter box is interesting for them🙂 I once had a cat that peed inmy shoes every time she was upset about something I had done🙂 I had to have my shoes on the hatrack all the time🙂🙂

      Have a great day my friend!
      Christer.

  4. Lycka till med fröna! Själv ska jag inte så någonting i år…tror jag!!🙂
    Det där med kattpiss är inte kul. När jag hade katt som barn så hade vi en stor farstu med en stor tung dörr, men på somrarna hade vi den stora tunga dörren öppen.
    Vår katt tyckte det var väldigt praktiskt, så förutom att han bar in tusentals stora feta daggmaskar och la på golvet så pissade han på samma ställe varenda natt – till slut var korkmattan uppfrätt! Och så luktade det apa…..😦😦
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag har dragit ned ordentligt på frösådderna numera. Nu blir det bara det jag absolut vill testa. Jag undviker att köpa plantor numera eftersom vi inte har den spanska skogssnigeln här än och risken att få med någon är alldeles för stor om jag köper i handelsträdgårdar eller någon annan stans.

      Tack och lov är detta något som sällan händer här hemma. När det gör det så är det på vintern när katterna är hemma mera. På somrarna ser jag dem knappast i stugan förutom när de äter. Hundkorgen är däremot helt slut nu och utkastad🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!
      It’s one of a kind when it comes to smells🙂🙂🙂 But I have to say that badger pee is rather haunting too🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Vinegar works well for removing kitty litter odors. Either sprayed directly on the floor and offending spots, or diluted with water and then mopping or wiping up the spot. The vinegar odor fades away rather quickly. Cats are interesting creatures, aren’t they.

    • Hi AnnieMouse and welcome to my blog🙂

      Yes vinegar is fantastic in removing nasty smells and as usual I don’t have that at home🙂 Vinegar smells like roses compared to kat pee🙂 so I wouldn’t mind that smell🙂

      I’m not sure I would go with interesting at the moment🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

  6. I put up with a lot from my pets. Everything I do has them in mind BUT
    I can NOT stand cats peeing where they should not.
    Some of my little dogs pee and poop on potty pads during this bad weather and while I don’t really like it, I can at least dispose of it easily enough and it’s gone.
    Cat pee seems to last forever.
    I had a cat that peed in my back bedroom and although I cleaned it with everything, including Nature’s Miracle, I could seem something when the weather was hot and humid.
    That cat eventually went to Heaven.
    The cats I have now, always use their litterboxes and this summer, after many scrubbings, I painted the bedroom floor with special Kilz primer, the one that blocks odors and the smell is GONE.
    I have several litter boxes in the basement for my cats so if they don’t like one, they can use another…and not anything else.
    I also had problems with mice but since I cleared the ravine in the back of my house, I seem to have less problems.
    Crazy mice. They never lasted long in this house!

    • Hi Cindi!

      This is fortunately something that rarely happens here but that doesn’t make me happier when it does happen🙂 I use chlorine when this happens and now I can’t feel anything.

      My cats doesn’t like to have to go when indoors, they always shout by the door when it’s time to go but it’s hard to hear when I’m not at home🙂

      I can always hear the mice in the walls of my cottage and as long as they stay there I kleave them alone. BUT! they are doomed if they enter my pantry! Well ddomed is a hard word. I catch them and release tem in the forest far from home🙂 Perhaps I should buy a cage and have one as a pet🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Hi Cindi!

        Always and so far I haven’t died🙂 I mix it with lots of water before I use it so the concentration isn’t that strong to be honest, just enough to remove that nasty smell.

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  7. Christer, I can understand how upsetting cat pee can be to smell in the house. Years ago, i adopted a young male cat and he was so affectionate,even used to know when I had arrived home from work as he would hop up onto the kitchen window ledge. But, Charlie, had this nasty peeing habit if I was away for too long. The vet said he was stressed and suggested drugs, which I would not do. Reluctantly, I had to return him to the shelter, but it broke my heart to do so. But ruining the house was just not acceptable. Hope that Bertil and Teodor lose this habit soon.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I once had a cat that I had totake long before she was ready. It was either that or she would die. So she became so attached to me that when I went to work she punished me by peeing in my bed. So I had to have her in a very small space when I had to leave home. She was even smaller than Bertil is and always sat on my shoulder when I went out for a walk🙂 It didn’t matter if we went to a crowded place, she sat there and was admired and spoiled by all that we met🙂

      This rarely happens, only in winter time when they aren’t outside as much as in te summer. I’ll just check that they never are indoors when I go away for any longer period of time.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

