Tomorrow reality returns.

DSC_0006

The wind is blowing and the rain is raining so it’s much like it has been this winter but things will change, colder weather will arrive on Friday and it looks like all weather forecast site agree on this I’m afraid. I know it was too much to hope for the winter to continue like this but hope is after all the last thing to go🙂 Today is my last day of vacation since we have a holiday here today. Can’t say I’m longing to go back to work but since the Lottery gods didn’t care to let me win the big winning off I go tomorrow morning.

We went down to the creek this morning.

We went down to the creek this morning.

DSC_0010

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

I would like to take a nap but I think that might be a bad idea since I really need to go to bed early today. I would most likely be just as tired when it’s time anyway but sometimes I actually doesn’t get tired if I take a nap and that’s not a good thing since I’ll get up around 4:40 am tomorrow🙂

DSC_0015

But instead of taking the usual path since we can't cross the creek any longer, we walked in to the forest on the othger side of the creek.

But instead of taking the usual path since we can’t cross the creek any longer, we walked in to the forest on the othger side of the creek.

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

So instead I’m boiling rice, both for me and my dogs,. I think they’ve gotten too many treats so they are a bit wobbly in their stomachs right now. Nothing really bad but wobbly enough to get some rice in their food. I’ll have the rice for dinner but I’m not sure what I’ll have with it. I forgot to pick out something from the freezer so I think it will be fish buns today.

We haven't walked in there for years since´the thinning. Before I always had the feeling this was the place where one actually could meet a troll or gnome :-)

We haven’t walked in there for years since´the thinning. Before I always had the feeling this was the place where one actually could meet a troll or gnome🙂

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

I tried to see if I could find some tracks from the beavers since this is the place they usually walk around. I saw one print and I think it must have been done these last few days.

DSC_0023

I have watered all plants down in my cool cellar and it looks like most if not all still are alive. I always lose some plants during winter down there but so far it looks promising. My black walnut outside is ok too, this warm winter was probably exactly what it needed as a first winter. The magnolia I planted at the same time however did get a bit damaged that horribly cold weekend we had in the beginning of this winter.

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0028

This one has been in the water a bit too long. I wasn't sure if it would hold my weight when I had to walk on it.

This one has been in the water a bit too long. I wasn’t sure if it would hold my weight when I had to walk on it.

It’s time to check that rice and then to heat up those fish buns. I’ll see if I can find me something to read otherwise I’ll watch some more Big Bang Theory instead🙂

We walked back over the fields and it was hard to find places to walk on because the ground is so full of water now. So I can understand why they wanted to let the water flow again.

We walked back over the fields and it was hard to find places to walk on because the ground is so full of water now. So I can understand why they wanted to let the water flow again.

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

As You can see the wild hogs had worked through the entire field.

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Tomorrow reality returns.

  1. hi christer! ugh…back to work for you. at least you had pretty good weather while you were on vacation. we are just waiting for the arctic blast to blow in here. the wind howled and the stow flew all night and now the temps are plummeting. the weather is so strange. we will be in the mid 40’s by this weekend with sunshine. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes the lottery gods didn’t look at my way so back to work it is🙂

      I’m following Yopur weather on the news here and it sounds nasty cold. Our cold weather will start by the weekend with partly sunny and around 25 as coldest. But it usually gtet colder here but as long as it doesn’t snow I’m happy🙂 I hope however it will get warmer again pretty soon🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. have wild hogs always lived in your country? They have never lived this far north although there was an island in our Province where they put the hogs to breed and then hunters paid money to come hunt them, I think its horrid to do that.They say we are too far north for wild hogs that its too cold but you are further north than we are according to the map, not much but still,

    • Hi Laurie!

      Yes they have but have been extincted twice I think. First in the early 1700’s and later on in the late 1700’s. They did however have them in fenced areas and many escaped in the 1940’s and now we have them all over the southern parts of the country.
      Yes we live further north than You do but the Gulf stream make our climate rather mild and our hogs are another species that can take our long dark winters better. Our winters aren’t colder than Yours but longer.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I was thinking that you couldn’t be going back to work just yet because you had two weeks off. Then I realized that it has been two weeks. Another case of time going somewhere without my realizing it.🙂

    Today was interesting. Very foggy. I couldn’t see anything out my windows this morning. It had gotten warm overnight and all the snow was steaming off. The sun did peak out a tiny bit but disappeared again and then periods of rain would march through. I managed some quick walks with the dog but they all had to be cut short as the rain would start up again just as we got far enough away from house or jeep to ensure getting soaked before getting back.

    Hope you had a good day at work. It’s crappy to come back from vacation and find a mess.
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It sure didn’t feel like two weeks🙂 but I have to admit that today passed fairly quickly too.

      We’ve had unusuallty little fog here this winter and last autumn, I guess it just has been too warm. Foggy days are much better than just cloudy even if it basically is the same thing🙂 Well as long as I donä’t have to drive around in it when it’s dark outside.

      They had cleaned up the place during our vacation so I just had to start up the machines and use the right program when I came to work🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    We are getting the polar weather starting tonight. Today was so warm it is difficult to believe that the cold is coming so quickly. The Midwest has temperature at ten and twenty below zero. Schools were called off for the first time in 20 years in some places.

    We never had sun today, and it has started raining again. That doesn’t make me happy as we could have black ice on the roads just as kids are riding to school and people going to work. Gracie stayed in most of the day. She isn’t a rain loving dog.

    I hope work isn’t too bad, but I know how difficult it is to go back after a vacation.

    Have a great evening!!

    • Hi Kat!

      It will be much the same here this weekend, it will stay round 45F until Friday when the temperatures will drop rather drastically. But still it will be nothing compared to the worst places in the US.

      Isn’t it typical that it rains just before the temperatures drop! Why can’t the road be dry when it happens🙂

      The day passed rather quickly so I can’t complain.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. catching up my reading again.
    Last few days have been Hell.
    Finally today, I have a vehicle. After missing work all day Monday (and of course no pay) I was outside in 40 below winds trying to get my van started. Finally we did and I drove to work on Tuesday, only to have it die there. My sister had to drive me home and back to work today. A friend finally got my van started by jumping it again and then it died and she started it again and I started to drive up the hill and it died. So my sister drove me to get a new battery nd when brought it back and Doc put it in for me.
    So, I am really envying you the nice weather you are having.
    I’m so sick of snow and cold weather.

    …..I am thinking of getting some seeds but I think it’s too early.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I followed Your struggle on FB and I’m glad it was nothing worse than the battery, it could have been something so much more expensive!
      It’s when things like that happens it’s nice to have friends that helps.

      The nice weather is on its waý away from us, right now it rains and snows and soon we’ll have lots below here as well.
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

