It has turned to the dark side now.

DSC_0035

There’s one more person in the entire county that has the same name as I do so I think it wouldn’t be that difficult to not send his mail to me, we don’t even live close to each other. I only read the name on the letter and one time I opened up a letter from the bank and got a huge shock, I thought someone had taken a nasty big mortgage in my name. The amount was so big that I knew I never would be able to even take such a big one🙂 But then I looked at the address🙂

DSC_0036

DSC_0038

DSC_0046

The same thing happened today and this time it was a bill from the store I buy deer food from. I got a bit confused because I always pay cash there and the bill said horse food and tallow balls for the birds. So I checked the address and it looks as if he has moved to a new place. Once I got a text message on my phone that my car stood in a town very far away with the headlights on. Very odd because my car stood just outside my garage🙂 So I called the person leaving the message and he had only found my phone number when he checked with the car register what name the oner of the car had and had hoped I was the right Christer🙂

DSC_0047

DSC_0048

DSC_0050

The weather has turned to the dark side now🙂 It both rains and snows but the weather forecasts says the temperature will stay above 0C (32f) all night so I’m not surprised that it just went below that here🙂 It will stay like this until tomorrow night when it will start to become colder and colder. I wouldn’t mind the cold as much if it wasn’t for the snow. I guess it’s a good thing the temperatures drop now so it can kill lots of ticks, mosquito larvae and horsefly larvae too.

DSC_0083

DSC_0017

DSC_0085

It’s time to make a pot of tea and a couple of sandwiches too. The fire is already burning in the stove and I can hear the wind howls in the chimney. I guess it just was too much to hope that the winter would stay nice and warm.

 

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

 

Have a great day!

DSC_0091

18 thoughts on “It has turned to the dark side now.

  1. I used to go to the same doctor as did the other woman in my area that has the same name.
    The receptionist would always ask if I was the single one or the married one. :p
    and once I went on a date with someone whose previous girlfriend had my first name
    and her last name was “Miers” and mine is “Myers”.
    kinda freaky

    it warm up a bit here, I think it’s 14 degrees today
    and my van is NOW in the repair shop.
    IT apparently wasn’t just the battery but also the “Alternator”?😦
    oh well.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I was worried that it might be the alternator but hoped it just was the battery. I hope it doesn’t cost much to get it changed.

      It’s strange sometimes🙂 My name isn’t that common but not that unusual either but I don’t like it when I get someone elses bills. What if he is late paying it just because of this? but it does explain why I sometimes don’t get mail I expect🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Kom precis in efter att ha gått en runda – eller rättare sagt försökt gå en runda – med Santos. Det blåser och det regnar så hemskt att det t.o.m. är vattenpussar på parkeringens grusplan. Har vi aldrig haft tidigare!😦
    Santos ville inte alls gå ut. Så fort han kom utanför dörren så gick han precis utmed huset och sen fick jag dra runt honom i kopplet på vägen innan han till slut lyfte på benet. Inte kul alls…..😦😦
    Vilken otrolig skillnad mot igår då vi var till Gotlands sydligaste udde, Barshageudd. Det är alltså inte Hoburgen som dom flesta tror. Där tog vi en lång skön och ljummen prommis vid havet.🙂
    Ja, ja – snart ska det visst bli kallt här också. Usch vad trist!😦😦😦

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Snön har lagt sig här nu, men jag hoppas att den smälter bort under natten. Det var kanske inte kul att dra omkring med Santos på det sättet men det var bra roligt att läsa om det🙂🙂🙂

      Här har varit i stort sett samma väder sedan i höstas, varmt, blåsigt och regnigt. Kan inte påstå att jag ser fram emot kylan men kanske tar den död på framtida bitande insekter och fästingar.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    I got a call yesterday from a woman looking to find the Kathleen Ryan who was a physical therapist. I wished her luck on her search.

    The day has gotten warmer as Gracie is staying outside for so long I go and check to make sure she is okay. The last time I checked she was just standing on the deck looking out into the road. Not much activity here for her to watch.

    I am looking forward to this weekend and the warmer days. Sorry for the cold coming your way!!

    Enjoy your evening

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes what else vcan one do🙂

      The snow seems to stay on the ground but I hope it will melt away during the night. They are warning us about slippery roads tomorrow morning. How I have wished that the warm weather had stayed untl spring.

      Sune and Nova had most likely been in the garage all day but the old ones had stayed outside all day in the rain and snowfall. I wonder why they never go inside the dog house when the weather is as bad as it has been today🙂 But they have lots to watch here, cows, deers and neighbors coming and going.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Looks like the arctic vortex is slumping in your direction now. It’s warmed up to 29ºF and it will get warmer over the week end. That will be a nice break after this bone cracking cold.

    There is a street in my town that is almost the same as my street. I get that person’s mail a lot. Once I got a package of prescription drugs. I always have the post office resend it. I’m pretty sure they have gotten my mail and at least one package too, but they don’t bother forwarding stuff.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It could have stayed on Your side throughout the winter🙂
      29! almost summer temperatures🙂🙂 around 32 here now and the snow refuses to melt.

      I don’t know how much of my mail that end up in his mailbox but it happens that I never get mail that I expect. I’ll put this in the mailbox tomorrow and I hope they send it to the right place next time.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. strange that the call came to you about the car, the car plate should have directed them to the proper owner, well on the upside, maybe he will win big and the cheque will come to you!! lol, take care in the cold, we are still in a cold way, too much snow, blah blah blah, lol

    • Hi Laurie!

      The messenger only took the name and county but never the address. So he checked any with my name in this county and only found my phone number.

      Nowdays we don’t get checks if we win anything, they pout it straight in to our accounts, too bad it would have been nice to get one🙂

      I had hoped the cold weather would have stayed on Your continent🙂🙂 Well I hope at least will kill lots of nasty insects and ticks🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’m not fond of them either. What if he is late paying that bill now?! and how much of my mail has ended up in his mailbox?

      I had hoped we would have this warm weather for the rest of the winter, now it will be colder than normal instead!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer! Isn’t that just odd that the only other person with your name and you get his mail!!! We are finally in a warming trend (-8 celcius) today….it will last for a few days but winter on the Canadian prairies is not done yet! We usually warm up by end of May. Have a nice evening!

    • Hi Dianna!

      It is🙂 Why can’t tyey just read the address and not just the name?

      Still above -8 anyway🙂 But it will drop on Sunday they say. Oh how I wish they are wrong🙂

      It usually warms up in April here and sometimes, very rare, it happens already in the middle of March. I had hoped on February this year🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I see you posted another picture of Mr. Perfect Tom Cat! 🙂 It is cooling down in Riverside. Got into the 40’s last night and stayed at between 58 and 60 all day. The wind chill was really felt.
    Stay warm, Christer. Would you believe there could be another Mona Duffy? Yep…neither could I!
    Stay warm…and I hope they stop trying to bill you. 🙂

    • Hi Mona!

      Yes I thought it was time to show the angry little one🙂

      So You’ve had the same temperatures as we’ve had🙂 Well we didn’t have it that warm during the days though, it stayed around the 40’s both night and day here.

      I wouldn’t guess that there would be another one with Youyr complete name, what woulkd the odd be for that🙂 We’re not too masny with my name either and especially if I use my first name too, I think I’m alone with that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer –
    This week is flying by so fast, it is hard to believe that the weekend is almost here again. I feel like a day has passed since last Friday. So strange that your life would intersect with the only person in all of Sweden who shares your name, There are only 6 people in the US that have the same name as I have and I have never crossed paths with any of them. One was born in the same year even, It must have really been strange to get the text about the car,
    You are right about wanting the cold to kill the bugs. We had what the weather idiots call a Pineapple Express come through yesterday. That is when a warm from blows across the Pacific from Hawaii, It warmed up tp 50 degrees and sure enough I found a semi-comatose stink bug staggering across my bedroom floor. He was flushed down the toilet immediately. Then last night I felt something bite or sting my arm and I turned the light on & saw one of those damn fake lady bugs. Rotten thing had taken a bite out of me.. We are now getting all the rain we are so behind on. The skiers are skipping work to go skiing since the mountains got 3 ft of new snow yesterday. Tonight on the local news they showed a 5 year old girl visiting from Australia. The family took her up to Mt. Hood to play in the snow. Since she had never seen snow in her life, but she had the best time playing in the snow & sledding down the hills. I guess when we grow up with snow we take it for granted and someone who has never seen or played in it thinks they are in heaven.
    We are getting our 1st big Winter storm this weekend. Tons of heavy rain & high winds with gusts up to 75 MPH.
    Just East of Portland is what is called the Columbia Gorge which is high bluffs on either side of the Columbia River which flows out to the Pacific. There is a scenic visitors lookout at the highest point and the winds were 115 MPH yesterday and they show the few people crazy enough to go there being blown around the parking lot. One reporter tried to walk down the steps of the visitors center and she got lifted up by the wind blown about 12 ft before the wind landed her on her butt. She only weighed about 100 pounds so she is lucky she did not get blown over the guard rail. People are crazy.So Saturday we will likely lose power when lots of tree branches fall on the power lines. There are very tall grove of Fir trees across the street from me and I can always see all the branches breaking during the wind storms. Most of the larger branches stay caught in the branches of the trees. I am surprised they don’t fall on the people who use the walking trails around the pond
    I have a doctor appointment tomorrow and then I will force myself to go to the grocery store since I haven’t gone since the week before Christmas. I am out of everything. When I was younger I used to like grocery shopping, Now I put it off as long as I can. I have been thinking of trying the service where you email your list & it gets delivered to your door. The store lets you try it for free the first time, so I should try. That would stop me from making any impulse buys too.
    Well, have a good weekend.

    • Hi Ellen!

      I have to admit that this week has passed rather quickly!

      We are two in the county, not country🙂 But we are only two people if I add my first name too in the entire country. I live here in the south and he lives way up in the north🙂

      But only six people in the entire USA! Impressive, after all You are around 250 million people I think. We’re only nine million here.

      Yes it did feel very strange since I actually looked at the car. My first thought was that someone had false plates on their cars and that I would risk problems if they broke the law🙂
      No pineapple express here I’m afraid but I would have liked it🙂 But the coming week with very klow temperatures will kill off lots of nasty bugs. We have thankfully not Your stink bug, we have relatives to it but they are harmless. We call them berry farts because they often live on berry bushes.

      I guess it looked cool on tv but she could have lost her life! But I have to admit that I loved doing things like that when I was younger. Now I prefer to sit at home and enjoy the heat from the stove and a nice cup of tea. We rarely lose power here becausae we’re getting it from two different sources. So when one fails the other one jumps in after a few seconds. I rarely notice it except when I look at my stereo with a digital clock on. When it shows nothing I know we had a short power break.

      We have a similar service here but we can’t chose what we want, we just order food for a week and they put together something nice. I think if I am prepared to pay I also should be able to choise what I want to have! But I have American blog friends that use that service and they think it’s great! I pass a great grocery store on my way home and it never takes any longer period of time, they are really fast evven if they always chat with every customer.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

