More will come I’m afraid.

DSC_0001

I’ve had the most awful headache today, well it originates from the shoulder and neck but radiates up in my head. I’ve overstrained my neck and shoulder while painting lots of lockers at work. I try to stretch after each time I’ve painted those lockers but I guess I haven’t done it good enough. So I’ve taken a long nap today and after this I’ll put a heat pad on my neck and shoulder, I’m not sure it will work but it’s better to try and know than not try at all.

 

So nice to see that most of the snow is gone.

So nice to see that most of the snow is gone.

DSC_0003

DSC_0006

 

Most of the snow has melted away🙂 but unfortunately more will come tonight and some tomorrow as well, together with the cold high pressure so this time it will stay. But the weather predictions have changed slightly and now it looks as if it won’t be that nasty cold as they first predicted but to be honest -12C (10,4F) isn’t that nice either🙂 It will stay cold for a week they think so this is just a high pressure that will allow the cold arctic air to come down and not a shift in the arctic cap that at the moment is placed above the North American continent. Personally I think it can stay on that side of the ocean🙂

 

DSC_0007

We went down to the creek to see if the beavers had done something but they haven't. I wonder if they still are around.

We went down to the creek to see if the beavers had done something but they haven’t. I wonder if they still are around.

DSC_0011

 

It looks as if a few of my orchids are about to give me some flower buds and that’s always nice. Todays orchid hybrids are amongst the easiest plants to have, perfect for us that rarely remembers to water our potted plants🙂 Unfortunately my vanilla orchid never show buds but it has suck itself hard to my window frames and is slowly climbing upwards the windows🙂 My poinsettias are still alive but one barely but I can’t remember thelast time I actually kept one of those alive for such a long time🙂

 

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

 

There’s nothing much on tv tonight so it will be a fun filled night with Big Bang Theory instead. I have plenty of dvd’s I haven’t seen yet but I’m not in the mood for a movie no matter how good it might be. Shirt episodes and fun is what I want after a day with headaches.

 

DSC_0020

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and then upstairs to watch those episodes🙂

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “More will come I’m afraid.

  1. Not so nice, getting older. I pay for any unaccustomed exercise much more than when I was younger. I hope the heat works for you. At the very least, it is very relaxing!

    I LOVE the picture of raindrops on branches with the dark forest behind it. I am saving it onto my computer for wallpaper! Thanks! Great gift!

    Hope you feel better,

    Wendy

    • Hi Wendy!

      Yes how much easier it was back when one was 20🙂 There was nothing that was impossible, now days very few things are possible🙂🙂

      I’m glad You like that photo🙂

      I’m better this morning🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Wow what bright orange wood that exploded stump has. Contrasts nicely with the green moss. Your forest is entirely too colorful for winter-time. I am jealous. All is shades of grey or brown here.

    Maybe the beavers don’t have to do anything to that breach because the water level around their lodge is still high enough. I think that is the determining factor. When it gets below the critical level, whatever that is, they go out to fix things but they only fix it enough to make the water level correct. Busy as a beaver is not at all what we humans like to think it is. It should be more like efficient as a beaver but that’s not alliterative.🙂

    It’s warm and raining here. The snow is sublimating and making wispy fog outside and the moisture is condensing on the porch windows so I can’t see out. All my downstairs lights are on because it’s bloody dark in here.
    I want some sun that doesn’t come with temperatures close to absolute zero. It’s not too much to ask for.

    Your headache sounds like strained muscles in the neck and trapezius. Try sticking your thumbs up under the bottom ridge of your skull where it joins the neck and massaging those sub-occipital muscles for a bit. Then do some shoulder rolls. A warm shower also helps. A sock filled with rice (or beans or barley) tied closed and warmed up in the microwave is nice to put on your neck, too.
    Hope the headache goes away quickly.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes it was shining like a traffic light🙂 Everything is so much more colorful when wet and above freezing point.

      Perhaps You’re right. My thought was that they maybe had moved back to the previous home for the moment. But Your thoughts are more plausible. They seem to have a food stach further down the stream so I doubt they have moved away too far anyway.

      Raining here too right now but the temperature is dropping so everything will be covered in thick ice tomorrow I’m afraid. I would love some sunshine too but they don’t predict any until next Thursday as best. I won’t see it anyway since I’ll be working🙂

      I’ve done that and it helps for the moment, so I’m using my heat pad. I know a sock with rice probably is better since it comes closer to the skin and I have one somewhere but can’t find it🙂 It’s better but not good yet.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I’m glad to read that the headache is better if not good.

        I just got back from purchasing a new zoom telephoto for my Sony. Whoo-hoo! 55mm to 200mm. I hope it works well. It’s new but you never know.

        I was on Flickr today and checked my stats for laughs. On Jan 9 I had 694 views. Huh? Who are these people and how do they find me and why do they disappear again? And why do they choose the particularly odd collection of photos that they view?
        I will never understand Flickr Stats.🙂

      • Congratulations to the new tele-photo lens!

        You obviously don’t understand that those photos must be brilliant in a way🙂 I can’t remember that anyone looked at my photos when I used Flickr🙂🙂🙂

  3. So sorry you are not feeling well. I know that kind of pain all too well. If you have a shower and an adjustable shower head, turn on the water as warm as you can stand, and adjust the shower head so it will beat/pulse on the sore areas. An osteopath told me about that method for relieving that particular pain and it does work some. Sure hope you feel better. That kind of pain can reallty get one out of sorts.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      It is better now but not good. The fun thing is that I probably will feel well again just in time to have to paint those lockers again🙂🙂🙂
      Unfortunately I don’t have one of those shower heads but I’ve heard that they are great! It’s amazing how that kind of pain can destroy ones mood.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! i hate it when i get those strained neck and shoulder pains. i get them sometimes if i sleep the wrong way. it takes days for them to go away for me. it is warm here and raining. i heard we might get really cold again next weekend. another polar vortex. i will be prepared this time so my pipes don’t freeze! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it dampens the mood quite drastically. I’ll probably get rid of thepain just in time to paint new lockers🙂

      It looks as if we will have cold weather for a week and then it turns towards warmer again.
      It’s awful to have pipes that freeze! The damages can become enormous when the warm weather returns again and the water starts flowing again. But now You’re prepared so that risk is gone thankfully.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hope the comedy shows cheered your spirits, Christer, and that the rest and heat helped with the neck ache too. No snow here, just lots and lots of rain and some gusty winds. Our back yard looks like a mud pit, especially when we move the cars.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      They sure did🙂
      I’m much better in my neck/head now and I do hope it will stay like that now.

      More snow has fallen during the night and now we have below 32F temparatures so this will stay for at least a week. Thankfully it’s mostly sand here in the grouynd so no mud in my garden🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Strained muscles are terrible! We take a tylona with codine for that kind of pain..usually. Recently it happened to from lifting something way too heavy and the doctor gave me something for that particular thing and it was amazing. You are probably better off just sleeping it off..IF that works..and a hot pad. I hope you get better.
    Still hovering right around 70 degree’s during the day. Drops to the 40’s at night and I know we are fortunate. The rest of the U.S. is freezing according to the news.
    Those tree’s are absolutely beautiful, Christer. And where are the beaver? Do you think something dread has happened to them? I hope not.

    • Hi Mona!

      They aren’t nice🙂 But my stomach is destroyed after using pain killers for my rheumatism so I can’t take most of them. But heat pad and stretching is a good alternative.

      Below 32F here now and it will stay cold for at least a week.

      No I don’t think anything bad has happened to the beavers, I would have heard something about it if it had. But I wonder if they’ll repair the wall when it gets warm again or perhaps move uopstream? But the grounds are so wet now that it is a good things that the water flows in the creek again. I wouldn’t mind if they had let the beavers have their pond though, the wild life would have gained a lot from it.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Igår regnade det hela dagen och var +5 grader, så vi passade på att åka till Visby och handla lite förnödenheter. Dessutom hann vi faktiskt med en miniprommis när det råkade vara 15 minuters uppehåll i regnet.🙂
    I morse när man vaknade var det helt vitt och +-0 . Fast snötäcket är inte så tjockt precis, men det ska ju bli mer tyvärr…..😦😦😦
    Hoppas huvudvärken är borta, sånt är inte kul att gå omkring och ha!
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det var lite av varje igår, men på kvällen kom köldgraderna och sedan snön. Det har nog snöat konstant sedan igår men det är små flingor så det blir inte så mycket på marken trots allt. Vi har kanske fått 5 cm.

      Huvudvärken är borta tack och lov men jag skall måla mera skåp i veckan så den kommer tillbaka🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  8. when I get headaches, it’s usually because my neck and/or shoulders are hurting. What I do is to put a tennis ball between the spot that hurts and a wall and push against it as hard as you can and hold yourself in that position to the count of at least 60, if not longer. If you can find that pressure point and do that, sometimes the pain goes right away. If you stick your finger into your neck or shoulder and that spot REALLY hurts to press, then that’s the spot. Good Luck.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I get headaches when I am dehydrated, otherwise I rarely get them now days. It’s a good technique using a tennis ball like thát but this ache originates from between the shoulder and my neck on the right side, it’s hard to even come close with the tennisball I’m afraid🙂 I’ve been stretching every hour at work and so far so good🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

