DSC_0028

The weather predictions said it would be cloudy and -9C (15,8F) here this morning and how wrong they were, The sky was clear and it had fallen down to -19C (-2,2F). That’s not even close!! and like always it was much colder here where I live than anywhere else. One of the car doors is now frozen to the car and can’t be opened at all but the lock works. The other one can be opened and closed but the lock is frozen and I can’t even put the key in it🙂 This always happens when it rains heavily just before the temperature falls below 0C (32f). It’s a good thing that the door that can be opened is the one I get in to the car🙂

 

These photos were of course taken before the latest snowfall.

These photos were of course taken before the latest snowfall.

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

I also get another problem when the temperature fall this much, the oil pressure in my cars has problems reaching its levels and that is my fault because I haven’t changed the oil this year as I should have. If this had happened in a sitcom we would probably have laughed so much🙂 The character’s problems are usually normal ones (not always of course) but sort of twisted insanely much. So I came to think of what I have been reading in different blogs about problems we’ve had now when it is cold everywhere.

 

 DSC_0044

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

 

People in sitcoms usually never have enough money so they try to fix the problems by themselves. In a sitcom I would most likely have tried to warm the old oil in my car by placing an electric heat pad close to the oil and the heat pad would most likely start to burn and set my car on fire🙂 An alternative would be that there was something wrong with the extension cord and my garage would burn down instead🙂 But firstly I would have struggled with the doors for a few hours of course🙂 Cindi had car problems too now when it was as coldest in the US, her alternator broke down. So in a sitcom she most likely would have had all her dogs with her in the car (and they would be bigger than most of those she have. She would most likely have used her dogs like sled dogs so they would pull her home🙂 An alternative would be that she called a towing company and then have to get all her dogs in to the towing truck to get home again🙂

 

DSC_0047

DSC_0053

DSC_0055

 

Joyce have had freezing problems with her pipes but everything went well but in a sitcom it most likely wouldn’t. I can see how she would try to heat up the pipes with a blowtorch🙂 A pipe would burst and her home would be flooded or the alternative would be that she set fire to her home🙂 But like all sitcoms we all would have a happy ending somehow🙂 Naturally we all would write about our accidents in our blogs so the sitcom could be called Friends by blogging🙂 To be honest, life in sitcoms seems rather terrible to be honest so I’m very happy life isn’t like that🙂

 

DSC_0056

DSC_0057

DSC_0058

Nova looks as me suspiciously every time I call her or comes close to her, she really doesn’t like me right now. To be honest, the other dogs don’t see me as especially nice to be around either. Nova has one of her ear infections again and now I must drop those drops in her ear every day and she really doesn’t like that. The others just have filthy ears so I have cleaned them too and now they all keep their distance to me🙂

 

These were taken before ths snow started to fall.

These were taken before the snow started to fall.

DSC_0027

 

The fire is burning in the stove and will continue to do so all evening. It will snow all night they say and at the moment it’s the same kind of snow we had yesterday so I don’t think we’ll have much on the ground tomorrow. I don’t mind the snow as long as it doesn’t get as cold as it was last night. Now it’s time for a cup of tea and a couple of sandwiches.

Have a great day!

22 thoughts on “

  1. I hope your temperatures stay on the mild side, its milder here at the moment, if your dogs are anything like ours they will soon forgive you, our Buck trembled everytime he saw the medicine bottle, but he was a drama queen!

    • Hi Laurie!

      As long as it stays around -5 I don’t mind. But I really don’t like when it falls down to -19!!! Thankfully the wind didn’t blow at all so there was no chill factor to count in to it.

      Sune, Orvar and Hector forgave me rather quickly but Nova still look at me sith suspicion🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. i don’t understand why our dogs make it so hard to take care of them. teddy needs eye drops twice a day every day and she never gets used to it. and god forbid when i have to give her ear drops!

    • Hi Joyce!

      No why do theyt rather have problems🙂 Thankfully all my dogs just look as if I’m trying to kill them. They come slowly, slowly when I call for them with their tails between their legs🙂 prepared to meet their end🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. What beautiful photos of snow-kissed ground. Just gorgeous. Thank you for sharing them with us. I can join you in your car woes. My brakes failed on the way home from the doctor’s last week and I had to stand on them to stop. Probably a brake line . I am so sick of the de-icing brine that is put down on the highways. My last car had not only a disintegrated brake line but eventually, the whole undercarriage was destroyed from the brine. Now this car too. It just does not seem right that something so destructive should go down on the roads. Who knows what the runoff does to fauna and flora. When I lived in Maine, only certain melting products were allowed because the snow was always pushed into the bay unless contaminated. Do the highways there put brine down? Oh how I remember door and lock problems when it was fiercely cold,. I always had a blow dryer to try to thaw them out. One day the hinges on the driver’s side door locked up when I opened the door and nothing would close them. My then husband had already left for work and it was just me at home. I had no idea where the WD40 was so I got mayonnaise and smeared it on the hinges. Worked like a charm! I I do remember seeing a product that you could spray on a key and then insert into a frozen lock but I cannot remember the name of it. Oh, the poor dogs’ ears – the pangs of all dogs with ears that flop down. How they hate them cleaned but love them rubbed. I got away with the drops because I would then sit and massage it into the base of the ear and my Beagle would just keep leaning into my hand more. That worked so long as the infection was not too bad. When really painful I would have to take him to the vet who would lightly sedate Ripley so he could clear the ears well and get antibiotic in there. On one of the animal vet shows I saw an episode about a cocker spaniel who had the worst ear infections I had ever seen and had not been cared for by her previous owner. The only remedy was to remove or destroy some portion of the ear canal which rendered the dog deaf, but stopped any further infections.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      That’s nasty when the breaks fails!! That happened to me once and even though the car stopped in time I really don’t want to go through that again!

      Yes they use that here too but only on the high ways now days. It destroyes the ground water so now they have started to mix it with sugar. Sugar works just as good as salt but is a bit more expensive. But it will cost us all less in the long run since sugar doesn’t destroy our cars like the salt does.

      We have those products too but they all seem to stop working when the temperature drops as much as it did yesterday. But my doors are defrosted now🙂 It’s much less cold today so the heat from inside the car fixed the ice🙂
      It’s so annoying when the door won’t close again but I’ll remember mayonnaise next time it happens to me🙂

      Personally I think it feels nice when I clean out my ear but dogs don’t see it that way🙂 I had hoped that Nova wouldn’t get ear problems since her ears are semi standing but the vet said her right ear is built to get infections. So this happens rather often I’m afraid but she doesn’t seem to connect me dropping this medicine in her ear to that the ear get better🙂

      I’m just waiting for Sune to get infecions too but even if he really has hanging ears they still seem to avoid infections. So far so good as I say🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. PS: Most of the products are just called De-Icer with a company name preceeding. Several people stated that WD-40 helped but others said the best thing is a de-icer followed by graphite. I was looking for reasons the inside of my windshield froze last week when it was 7 degrees F here. Lots of chatter about snow on one’s shoes, humidity from defroster, etc. Several people said to get large sticks of chalk like teachers use for smal children and put one piece on each door pocket and they all swear most interior moisture problems will be solved. I once knew a lot about cars, when I had my 1971 Mach I Mustang. Not so much anymore,.

    • It’s impossible to know anything about new cars today unless one is a computer technician🙂 I’vce never known anything about cars even if I have built them from scratch and painted them too🙂🙂🙂

      Everyone have their own idea how to get rid of those problems. I’ve never heard about the chalk before but I have heard about the graphite. The problem is gone for the moment but I better prepare for next time🙂

      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    When sitcom things happen in real life they are seldom very funny at all. And they are usually expensive, too.🙂

    I was at the photography store the other day and asked about getting the dust cleaned out of the inside of my little camera. The cost was $200.00! $80 more than the quote I got 10 months ago. I know there is inflation but I doubt it’s that bad.
    Anyway, I went home and used my vacuum cleaner on the poor little thing. I was afraid I would suck something important out of it because the vacuum is strong. But I got most of the dust off the sensor, I think. What’s left is on the edge of the frame and I can work around it. Yay, me!🙂
    Still playing with the new lens. I tried to take a picture of the moon but it was not that successful. Too cloudy.

    I wish dogs would be amenable to applications of logic. Convincing Rocky that dog teeth need to be brushed because if they are not, they will fall out would be so much easier.🙂

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      So true so I guess we laugh because we’re so happy it happens to them and not us🙂🙂

      Yes the trustworthy old vacuum cleaner🙂 I use it to clean out my mobile phone (and also my ols point and shoot), works great every time and one saves a lot of money🙂 Isn’t it strange that when we don’t have inflation but the opposite those services never cost less🙂🙂

      Adjust Your camera to ISO 100 and 1/300 in time and You’ll probably get a great photo of the moon. The camera might protest and say it’s too dark but just ignore it🙂

      Teeth jobs are no problem with any of my dogs, they just sit there patiently. But try to clean their ears and they run as fast as they can🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. hello Chirster –

    Our pets are so unappreciative of our efforts to to keep them in good health. Toby has to have ear drops once a week because their are so oily. I don’t know which she despises the most – the drops or me for holding her against her will. I don’t like putting them in either because as soon as I release her she shakes the medicine all over everything within an 8 ft. radius.nails clipped once a month. Toby is such a drama queen whenever she thinks I am imposing on her personal space. She will start screaming before I even touch her when she knows I am going to clip her nails. Although, if I give her some pieces of ham afterwards, she forgives me. No ham = death stare. .
    Funny that your teacher was so fond of beavers of all the animals she could pick from in the World. Here in the US, each State has a State flower & State bird and they also each have a kind of logo they print on the license plates. For example Idaho is the Potato State & Nevada is the Silver State. Oregon is the Beaver State & there is a beaver in the design of the State flag & seal.. The university I attended for my B.S. degree had a beaver mascot named Benny, So beavers are part of the culture here and the Indian tribes here have many stories that include beavers with mystical powers. The funny thing is I saw more beavers in the wild when I was a kid growing up in Upstate NY than I have seen in my adult life here in the beaver State.
    Since you know where the beavers’ den is located, it would be fun to get one of those all weather trail cameras that have a motion detector on them. That may be the one way to catch sight of a mostly nocturnal animal. I have a friend who lives in remote Alaska and they have placed a few of these cameras along their trails and they have gotten pictures of everything from bears to porcupines at night. Are the places you usually walk when you take the dogs out traveled by many other people or mostly just you & the dogs?
    You sure had a big drop in temps. you had. I’m glad I don’t have to deal with finding the car locks & doors frozen. Do you have to use a special kind of battery in such cold weather? I enjoyed your comparison of real life and what it would look like as a TV episode. TV episodes may be funnier than real life, but real life is often stranger than what happens on the comedy shows. It would be nice if our situations got resolved in 30 minutes like they do on TV shows.
    I order a lot of books from eBay, they have such good auctions & really cheap used copies that look like brand new. I ordered a copy of Sleep Doctor a few weeks ago and was looking forward to reading it. When it arrived in the mail I could see that the package was too small to be a hard cover book. I opened it an it was an ebook. I went back to look at the listing and, sure enough, I had missed the tiny print all the way way to the bottom of the page saying it was an ebook. It would have cost me more than I paid to return it, so I donated it to the local library. Let me know what you think after you read your copy and I can know if it is worth buying. I have thought about getting a Kindle, but I think I would miss the feel of a real book and you lose your ability to buy the books where you can get the best price. Maybe when they work out all the bugs in them. I do think the newest kindle is pretty close to having the kinks worked out.
    Take care & have a good week.

    • Hi Ellen!

      She’s much like my dogs when it comes tothe ears then🙂 But they never mind nail klipping, I’ve been lucky with that with all my dogs. Even if I have cut a bit too deep they never protest when I do it the next time. But all my dogs have had hanging ears, well old Erna some years ago and Nova now hav semi hanging so I had hopes she wouldn’t have ear problems but oh how wrong I was🙂

      Back inthe days when I went to school beavers were still very rare and I guess she had been lucky to see some. We too have flowers and animals for each region or Landskap as we call them. Here in Västergötland we have Heather as our landskaps flower and the Crane is our Landskaps animal.

      I would love to have one of those cameras put up by their den but there’s a huge problem with that. We need to get a license to put up that kind of camera (outside our own gardens). They have this rule to protect our privacy so that no one will be photographed without knowing it. It would seem a sign would be enough but not here and those licenses are very difficult to get, especially if we only want to take photos of beavers. I can however have it in my garden as I please but I have very few beavers here🙂

      We are a few that walks these trails, Beside me and my dogs it’s two neighbors, the land owner and his son in law.

      Living ones life like in a sitcom would probably be terrible🙂 but as You say it bwould be nice to have those problems solved within 30 minutes🙂

      I love opening a new book and would miss it so much that I won’t buy an ebook, the smell from any book is reason enough to keep on buing paper books. I’ve only heard good thing about doctor sleep but I’ll tell You as soon as I’ve read it!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. First, What an imagination you have! LOL! too funny.
    I’m going to post something on Facebook for you that you might find funny…
    right after leaving this comment, I will post it.
    My Blue had chronic ear infections. The vets put a syringe deep into his ears and squirted this very waxy mixture that had to stay there for 2 weeks, no washing it out. It seemed to help but not completely. Then I tried very expensive holistic food which was financially hard on me because he’s such a huge dog and has large meals. Finally I gave up and started feeding him Pedigree which is a regular dog food, nothing fancy and he seems MUCH better.
    The fact that he’s deaf doesn’t make any difference about his ears irritating him. When I used to clean his ears, he hated it and I had to have help. Good Luck with your Nova!😀😀😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      I had so much fun thinking out the plkot while driving home🙂 I think I had at least three episodes done in my head🙂

      So Blue has the same problem as Nova,the vet said her ear is built to get infections. We haven’t tried that waxy thing though. I guess Nova would like it as long as I stay away from her ears🙂

      I’ve never even been thinking about food being a problem for the ears, I’ll talk with the vet next time we go there. Thankfully all my dogs allow me to clean their ears but they really don’t like it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Sometimes I think life IS a sitcom! We just don’t know it. NO freezing problems here. Springtime weather..but the flowers know it’s not really Spring. Sometimes they get fooled though and a tree will bloom early..not happening this year..so far.
    Mele is like that because I was forcing pills down her throat. Now I ‘ve found a way to get her to eat them in her food.
    She seemed suspicious at first but now I think she is used to the taste. I love pic’s of snow. You had a lot more last year I thought.

    • Hi Mona!

      So true and sometimes we have fun while it is like that🙂

      Oh how I wish I lived in Your climate! We’ve only had winter for a few days and I’m already so tiured of it!

      Strangely enough none of my dogs care if I put pills down their throat?! But they would spit it out if they could🙂 It’s only the ears they hate when I clean or drop medicine in them🙂

      We did have more snow last year but not much, two and three years ago however was terrible, more than 1,5 yards of that white garbage🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Ja du, det är många sätt att stå ut med vintern – att hitta på tokiga historier runt den och bilar är ett! *fniss* 🙂🙂🙂
    Just nu vräker det ner snö här och eftersom vi redan hade c:a 3-4 cm så börjar det bli rätt mycket – vilket naturligtvis ställer till en del problem. 😦
    Men vi brukar inte ha så stora problem med bilen, min gubbe är ju van och brukar vara duktig på framförhållning. Men under årens lopp har det väl hänt ett och annat galet förstås. Jag vet ett år när vi bodde i Älvsjö, Stockholm och det var otroligt med snö och så tinade det lite och sen frös det. Vi skulle in till firman på morgonen och satt oss i bilen och åkte iväg på den oplogade vägen, inga problem – första kvarteret! Sen kom vi till nästa där det inte heller var plogat, men där det kört någon typ av större fordon. Så det slutade med att vi halkade ner i dess frusna spår och satt fast!!😦😦 😦
    Där satt vi som två fån i bilen och kom varken framåt eller bakåt. Men som tur var så hade vi ju bara kommit 1,5 kvarter så Rolle fick springa hem och hämta spadar och en hacka – sen fick vi hacka is och gräva fram bilen tills vi kom iväg igen. Och bråttom var det också naturligtvis, vi skulle ju öppna firman!😦
    Det var tyvärr alltid så att vårt område, mitt emot Älvsjömässan, ALLTID plogades sist – om dom över huvud taget hann. Och dessutom körde dom ALLTID ner billaster med snö och tippade på ängen utanför, vilket gjorde att den såg för jävlig ut på våren.😦😦
    Här plogas vägen utanför ett par gånger efter varje snöfall och vår infart plogas av grannen! UNDERBART!!🙂🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Här har snöat mest hela dagen idag men det blev inte så mycket på marken ändå och jag klagar inte över det🙂

      Jag har fastnat i spår på väg upp för den lilla lutningen från mitt garage och då åkte jag i diket🙂 Det slutade med att jag inte åkte till jobbet den dagen alls🙂 Jag lyckades ta mig ur diket med hjälp av en gammal matta och nedförslutningen till mitt garage. Tack och lov är han alltid ute tidigt på morgonen och plogar här och om han har tid över breukar han ploga upp framför mitt garage också🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  10. Christer,
    I suspect you have a sort of winter fever which makes you see the world askew, negatively. I had to chuckle, though, at how you amplified every scenario and everything went wrong.

    My locks on the car used to freeze so the key wouldn’t work. I’d use a candle to warm the key and usually that helped. One time I had to hold the door all the way to work. It had been frozen and I got it open but it wouldn’t shut.

    The only weather problem I have is when there is torrential rain. It trips the outside plug which is attached to the plug for the microwave which is also tripped. I need to have the whole outside plug replaced, but I hate to call muy friend as he never charges me.

    Raining now.

    Have a great evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      I always see winter that way🙂 I had so much fun when I thought of those sitcom situations🙂 I think I could have material for three episodes or even more🙂

      It’s so annoying when the car door freeze and even though I have had similar problems like You when You couldn’t close it again🙂 I was more lucky so the heat from the inside melted the ice so I could close it rather quickly🙂

      I might have that problem too since the fuse popped when it rained, that plug is connected to the entire upper floor with the exeption for the plug where I have the tv plugged in. So I didn’t notice anything until I was going to bed🙂

      Snowing now!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

