It’s harder for them now.

 DSC_0008

Life is a bit easier, my car doors are defrosted and I can now lock it when ever I want to🙂 I usually never lock it here at home, people can’t even find my cottage when they have a map🙂 It’s so strange, I can be standing on the upper floor looking at them from my window and my cottage is clearly visible and even if I’ve clearly written that they should drive down the road that looks like it goes in to the farm next door they never do🙂 They just keep on driving hoping they will find the road somewhere else🙂

 

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

 

The deers came running just two minutes after my dogs and I had went in to the cottage after placing the food by the apple tree. All the snow, that isn’t as much as one would believe since it has been snowing for two days now, must be stopping them from reaching their normal food in the forest. It was too dark to see which ones that came but I could see two of them. I must buy two sacks of food for them next time since the cold weather will continue for quite some time they say and it looks as if we’ll get more snow as well.

 

DSC_0012

DSC_0017

DSC_0023

 

Novas ear look a bit better already but she doesn’t come willingly when she knows it’s medicine time🙂 All the other come though, they know it’s treat time after medicine time and they know everyone will get something even if it isn’t they who got the medicine🙂

 

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

 

The fire is burning in the stove and will keep on burning all evening. It’s much less cold today but I don’t care. Even the sound of the fire sort of make the day better. I think I wouldn’t mind winter if I didn’t have to drive to work in it every day. So my only hope to ever liking winter is to win the lottery🙂 The chance of doing so is slim to none but I sort of like hoping for it every week🙂

 

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0037

 

it’s time to make lots of cocoa and some cheese sandwiches. There’s nothing better than cocoa and cheese sandwiches on a snowy winters day.

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “It’s harder for them now.

    • Hi Kerry!

      I started feeding them when the one doing it before moved away. I thought since they come here anyway and eat all my plants I might as well feed them so that they perhaps leave my plants alone. They don’t🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I can tell you from personal experience that you will like winter only a little better when you don’t have to go out in it. You will still have to shovel the white filth. I pay someone to do my driveway but I do the walks and hate every shovelful.🙂
    We are having warmish weather and lots of rain today. It’s windy too so the rain blows in your face and drips down your collar.
    Not much else going on today for me. I’ve done the groceries and the post office run. Now I just want to curl up on the couch and do nothing. Maybe read and watch some tv or knit. Or nap like Rocky. He’s very good at nap.🙂

    Enjoy the sandwiches and the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I had hoped I would :-)I would however take many more naps🙂 I have very littkle to shovel here, it’s only four yards from my door to the gate and as long as I wouldn’t have to shovel to get to my car that’s all I need to do. However, if I need to reachg my car and even to be able to drive away I would have to shovel so much more. I would start ordering my food via internet so I wouldn’t have to leave at all🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I have less than that from my front door to the street and maybe 15 feet from the front walk to the car. The plow guy takes care of the driveway although I do still have to clean off the car and move it out of the way.
        Peapod delivers the food so I don’t worry about that either.
        I do have to shovel a space for Rocky to do his thing and inevitably it is never the exactly correct space.
        Anyway, once all that is taken care of then I am free to enjoy winter. Shoveling it is not as bad as shoveling it and then having to go out and drive to work in it followed by shoveling it off the car again, driving home and shoveling it again and again.🙂

      • I don’t need to shovel for my dogs🙂 Nova knows exactly where she wants to go and no matter how much snow we have she gets there without my help. Sune doesn’t care where he does it so I can just toss him out into the snow and he’ll be happy🙂
        Christer.

  2. cocoa and cheese sandwiches sound good even if it is warm and sunny here. teddy has another ear infection. i saw her ear drooping and looked inside and sure enough…gunk! so, i am back to the ear drops which make her hair messy and she hates the drops too. it seems like it is always something! i am hoping we get some snow sometime soon!

    • Hi Joyce!

      You’re absolutely right, cocoa and cheese sandwiches are perfect any day🙂

      Too bad she’s gotten an ear infection too! I had hoped winter would calm down those bugs that gives ear infections but it looks as if it is the opposite.

      Yes take all the snow so we won’t get any🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer, I really like cocoa and cheese too, but never tried them together. My preference is for peanut butter sandwiches with hot coffee. We had all day rain which if it were snow would have been quite some accumulations. Perhaps we should trade locations?

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Have You never had cocoa and cheese sandwiches at the same time? It’s the standard meal here when kids are out with the school or just out skiing for the day. I grew up on cocoa and cheese sandwiches🙂 Swedes love peanuts but not peanut butter strangely enough. Even at the super market we usually only can find one brand of it🙂

      It sounds like a great idea🙂 I never mind rainy winters🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Ja inte gillar man vintern precis! Fast nog är det lite lättare nu när man är pensionär – men framförallt lättare för att man bor på landet och slipper ge sig iväg in till en saltig och moddig stad!!🙂
    Igår kväll ringde “poolkillen” och talade om att det ska bli lite varmare, så i slutet på nästa vecka kommer han hit med vår badbalja som är färdigplastad. Han räknar med att kunna sätta igång och gräva upp för den också den närmaste tiden. Vår jord fryser ju aldrig och han ska inte gräva speciellt djupt, poolen ska ju vara upphöjd – så det ska nog gå bra.🙂
    Nu håller jag alltså tummarna för att det ska hålla sig under -3 grader hela vintern, då kunde han snickra också sa han. Det känns som man fått lite vårkänning redan faktiskt…..🙂🙂
    Min träd- & buskorder till B´ströös på Öland har också gått iväg och det verkar som om det mesta skulle kunna ordnas. Sen ska vi bara hämta alla 20 exemplaren i slutet på april och så är det full fart. Vi kommer få massor att göra i trädgården i år också. Först återställa runt den nya pooldelen på altanen på baksidan och sen markbereda och få ner alla växterna på yttertomten. så någon trädgårdsvisning kommer det inte bli tal om i år – riktigt skönt faktiskt! 🙂🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      De flesta vägarna här plogas bara men de stora saltas också. Idag var 47:an riktigt bra för en gångs skull🙂

      Så kul att poolen är på väg🙂 Här har marken redan frusit på många ställen. Ja inte där det varit riktigt blött, men här uppe där det mest är sand och vattnet runnit undan.

      >Jag kanske sätter igång med att gräva ut dammen igen, sorken bet ju hål på den och om jag nu ändå måste ta upp allt kan jag lika gärna göra den större också och så har jag ju inte börjat på växthuset än🙂 Men jag tar ungefär fem år på mig för att få tummarna ur🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Christer, you don’t have to win the lottery. Once you retire you can stay home all the time and enjoy Winter to the fullest. It comes quicker than you expect and one day you won’t have to drive to work..you will only have to go out if you want to. Not because you have to! It’s wonderful. Cheese sandwiches make any day special…as does hot cocoa!
    Enjoy!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      And how I long for that day🙂 But it’s still way to many years until retirement so I’ll keep on hoping for that lottery winning🙂

      More cocoa and cheese sandwiches today🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I love that you feed the deer.
    I have not seen my deer forever. I choose to believe that she’s found a good food source closer to the wood she lives in.
    I would love to win the lottery, the only problem is that I have only played maybe 5 times total in my whole life.
    Maybe I should buy a ticket each week?
    Wouldn’t that be something!
    If you won, where do you think you would move to?
    Some place warmer of course.
    I actually am not sure where I’d move.
    Some place not too cold but not too hot. Not to the west coast where there are earthquakes and not kinda west where there are forest fires and not where there are hurricanes….maybe I would travel for a bit until I found where I truly would want to live.
    Maybe out of the country!
    But it would be someplace with lots of land for horses and lots of cats to round up any snakes.
    Hmmm…so much to think about! Ha! ha!

    • Hi Cindi!¨

      Of course I feed the deers, they are my pets now🙂 Your deer most likely stays close to where she knows she will find food enough, she’ll return when spring comes again.

      I play the lottery every week but it only costs half a dollar/ lot so I always buy four ones and I can choose the numbers myself.

      I’m not sure I would move, not totally anyway. I would love to have a cottage somewhere in England but one has to put ones pets in quarantine for six months so it would be useless to pick them out just when one is about to move back again🙂 But I could live in Portugal during winter too or even better the Canary Islands🙂

      But I think You overestimate cats ability to catch snakes🙂 A rattler would only see a cat as dinner🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Christer,
    There might not be much snow but the trees still look lovely. The only problem with that snow is the cold it brings along with it. I stay home mostly and Gracie doesn’t go out all that much. Yesterday when It was warm, she was out a good part of the day running round the yard.

    Our snow is finally gone from all the rain a couple of nights ago. It will stay warm the next couple of days then winter will come roaring back.

    Enjoy your cocoa and cheese sandwich.

    Have a great evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes the trees look nice but I would rather have them green🙂 It has been rather warm here for two days, that’s below warm🙂 But today is windy and nasty.

      I think I would stay at home mostly as wqell if I could stop working I would of course take those walks with my dogs but otherwise I would hibernate most of the time🙂

      Winter will stay they say and I can’t say I like that.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

