Same same but different.

DSC_0002

My little home feels cold, chilled out by the nasty strong wind that has been blowing for more than 245 hours now. It isn’t that cold here to be honest but I don’t care what the thermometer says, it feels cold no matter what🙂 My cottage is protected against the wind in all directions than one and it has been blowing from that direction since it started yesterday.

 

DSC_0003

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

 

I needed more deer food so instead of driving to my usual super market I drove to Falköping and that super market instead. Same company but different in most ways. This place is divided in two different stores so instead f having food, fire logs and building materials in one big store they’ve separated the food from the rest. A bit annoying since they don’t share entrance and I need to swap cart before going in to the other. This had the result that one of the carts tipped over when it got stuck in the snow and the sunflower seed bag got a big rip in it. There are some happy birds in Falköping today🙂

 

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

The deer food however isn’t sold at the super market and that’s why I need to drive to Falköping even if it means I must drive much longer. Normally I buy that in a store called Granngården (The neighbor farm) and even if the quality is very high on everything they sell it is a bit expensive. What many people don’t know is that there’s a similar store just hundred yards away and that place is usually cheaper even if they sell the exact same things. They didn’t have the reindeer food I usually buy but another brand called Wildlife food instead🙂 Smells exactly the same but is sold in 15 kg ( 33 pound) sacks instead of 25 kg ( 55 pound) sacks and the price was only 2/3’s of what the usual brand costs. I’ll keep on going there instead from now on.

 

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

DSC_0015

 

This store is much smaller though so perhaps shop is a better word for it. They have most of what they sell at Granngården but most of it is placed in the big cold storage, well it’s only cold in winter to be honest because there’s no insulation in the walls. In the small shop they mostly have things for pets like cats and dogs but they also have loads of things for horses, this is after all the most horse dens county in the entire country.

 

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

 

It’s time to make some cocoa and a couple of sandwiches. I’ll have ciabatta bread with cheese, ham/wild hog sausage, blue cheese and sliced tomatoes. Tonight they’ll show another Star Treck movie, The first Contact on channel Six and this one I’m really looking forward too🙂

 

DSC_0041

Bertil a really nasty cat sometimes. We were on our way out and I was tying my shoes when he wanted to go to the cat litter box. The door was closed and I couldn’t help him straight away, so without warning he them jumped in to the basket behind him and peed in it, very well aware that it is his brothers favorite place to sleep! He is a truly nasty cat!

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “Same same but different.

  1. Hi Christer,
    What a little stinker that Bertil is. But, when you gotta pee, you gotta pee. Besides, a basket is sort of the same as a cat box. It’s got sides and a hollow place in the middle big enough for a cat. It smells like a cat. It’s conveniently placed. Bertil needs to pee and Bertil pees in a box sooo…Bertil can pee in basket. Win!
    Cat logic is unassailable.😀

    I love the icicles on the creek. They look like racked wine glasses hanging upside down at the bar.

    Is the deer food really 2/3 cheaper per lb. than the expensive food or is it 2/3 the price because 33 lbs is 2/3 of 55 lbs?
    I have to find some place that sells wildlife food in bulk. My local big box hardware store sells it in 15 lb bags which is a pain because one of those bags is gone in two days. It’s more expensive per pound to buy it in those small bags, too. I’d prefer to get 50 lb bags though I probably can’t lug those all that well. No matter. I will drag them.

    Today is sunny and not quite as warm as they said. The wind is a bit nippy. I came in from walking the dog and thought it was awfully warm inside. The thermostat said it was 75ºF in the living room. Too warm! I turned the heat down.

    I’m going out to the farmer’s market for whatever they have there that looks interesting and tasty. Enjoy your movie and the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      He truly is! He knew we were about to go out but still he had to pee in his brothers basket! But that sure is cat logic🙂🙂

      My thoughts too when I saw them🙂

      No, it is 1/3 cheaper :-)If I break down the price to just one pond I pay 1/3 less per pond🙂 and it was easier to carry two smaller sacks to be honest. So this was a win win situation for me🙂
      Now days they sell 50 pond sacks with sunflower seeds even in the smaller grocery stores here, like You say those small ones only last a coupleof days and will cost a fortune in the long run. Those sacks can take draging but not dropping as I learned today🙂

      Eastern winds here and they are always truly nasty cold. I so hope that high pressure will die soon up there in the north.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. oh no bertil..that is a nasty thing to do! we hardly got any snow last night but they are predicting more for tonight so i am wishing. your sandwiches always sound so good. i think i could live on sandwiches. i find them to be a perfect meal!

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it is and that’s the kind of cat he is.

      I’m holding my thumbs for lots of snow falling over You🙂

      I could live on them too but I guess I would miss all that other tasty food that’s out there🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. LOL I’m sorry, I know it’s wrong of me to laugh! I think the “worse” he is the better I like him. He is a cat with an attitude… Come on..I know he can be bad..but what is it they say?? When ya gotta go…ya gotta go. That’s all I’m going to say about that! LOVE BERTIL!!! 🙂

    • Hi Mona!

      Don’t be, I would most likely found this very funny if it wasn’t my cat🙂🙂 But isn’t always like that, we like the bad guys in the movies because they are the interesting ones and Bertil sure is interesting🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes that was just nasty and to his own brother as well!!

      Most of the seeds stayed in tha sack though but it is annoying when they don’t shovel away the snow in fron of a super market!
      That is a very true saying🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

