I can see how the days are getting longer.

DSC_0001

We would have had a rather nice day here if it hadn’t been for the wind. It doesn’t matter where we go the wind reach us anyway and it eats its way inside the clothes, so our walks haven’t been especially long today. The good thing is that it has changed direction some so it doesn’t hit my cottage any longer. But it reaches the chimney so the fire burns hard no matter how much I close the chimney damper.

 

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

DSC_0006

The sun did actually show for almost half an hour today and I can’t remember the last time it showed for so long🙂 But the days are getting longer now, today the sun went up at 8:37 am and it will go down right now at 3:56 pm. That’s 25 minutes more day light than last Saturday. Soon we’ll have almost no night instead and that I do like🙂 At midsummer we’ll only have a few hours with darkness at night. Even further north the sun won’t go down at all.

 

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

 

I actually think I only have four deers here at night. I poured out extra food both yesterday and the day before and there was still lots of food left the next morning. Well at least I know those four won’t starve. But I guess that if this weather continues more will come later on. I do wonder what have happened to Rune, Longhorn and Doris.

 

DSC_0019

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

 

It’s time to feed the dogs and cats and perhaps I’ll do something for me as well. I will make more tea that’s for sure though. Perhaps I’ll even make some coffee🙂 I’ve put in a few more photos in my Natinal Geographic album. Here’s a link to it if You like to see them: National Geographic.

 

DSC_0013

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “I can see how the days are getting longer.

  1. it is cold here!!! we are going into another polar vortex. i just can’t seem to warm up no matter what i do. i think i will soon get into a hot shower to try to warm up. i have noticed the days getting longer too.

    • Hi Joyce!

      I hope it doesn’t get as bad as the last time!
      I hate those days when nothing one do helps getting warm but I guess a hot shower is the best chance to get that cold feeling out of the body.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Love your pictures, crazy dogs playing in the snow! I didn’t realize how far north you are, I am not sure I would like such long days in the summer. We are considered long day here in the US in NY and get about 14-16 hours a day. Probably closer to 16. Does that much daylight affect your growing plants? In Alaska they grow giant cabbages and some other short season vegetables, is it like that there?

    Shame about your missing deer, I too used to feed the deer (before they made it illegal) and had a bunch that I gave names to. Then one year, they just don’t come back. It’s gotta be a pretty tough life out there, especially with the hunting pressure. I hardly see any now, guess they were only coming for the food. You should look into a trail camera, some rechargeable batteries and a memory card, then you’ll know what is going on at night!

    • Hi Wendy!

      Sweden and Alaska are placed abouts as for north but our climate is milder because of the Gulf stream. It dopes affect the plants, for instance the further north one comes the bigger and stronger perrenials become. They can grow almost 24 hours per day up there. But of course the growing season is much shorter so anything that grows there must grow fast and use that daylight as much as it can.

      Short season vegetables is a must here unless one has a green house. For instance, very few tomato varieties can grow outside a green house if one wants lots of tomatoes. I have mine towards a wall heading south., I don’t always get ripe tomatoes. Last summer however was perfect, no rain, sunshine all the time and very warm🙂 Summers here are usually short, cool and rainy.

      We are still allowed to feed animals but never take care of them if they are injured. If we find an injured animal we must call a licensed care taker. I can’t find any near here so if I find an injured animal and believes I can help it back to health I will, no mastter what the law says🙂 I do hope they all are well but I haven’t seen any of them since last summer.

      I have been thinking about buying a trail camera since I don’t have to have a license for using it in my garden.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • That must be wretched trying to have a veggie garden. There is a website, BigPumpkins.com, that has grower diaries of people trying to grow giant vegetables, especially pumpkins, and there are several that live in Alaska! They do grow them in greenhouses however. A few years ago, there was a grower from Sweden. Actually several. Have a look on there, some fun reading! With pictures!

        Amazing how the Internet can take us anywhere in the world.

      • There are more vegetables to grow than You might thiunk🙂 But very few grow pumpkins but we have one in the most southern parts of the country that is famous for his giant punpkins. But we need to start those plants early indoors or the pumpkins won’t become as big as they can.

        That is the good thing about internet, I can see places I’ll never be able to go to and I can have a real time conversation with someone on the other side of the world🙂

        Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    My what big white teeth Sune has.🙂 And Nova looks so sweet and innocent in that last photo.

    I hope Longhorn, Rune and Doris are out in the forest feasting on whatever it is that deer feast on in the forest. Maybe they have moved on to new territories.

    The snow pictures look so pretty.
    We got snow today as well which was rather annoying as the forecast said rain. It was only a couple of inches but it was heavy wet snow. The street plow had been down my street so when I got home there was a frozen lumpy barrier across the end of my driveway. I put the jeep in 4WD and drove over it. My plow guy came later so all is cleared now.

    We have about 9 1/2 hours of daylight now. The lengthening day starts to be noticeable around January 8th. Always assuming there aren’t clouds and snow and freezing rain blocking the sun and making the day seem like twilight.🙂

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes don’t they look dangerous🙂 That photo of Nova was taken just before she ran after Sune again attacking the poor little dog🙂🙂🙂

      I don’t think Roe deers move around that much but I guess they will if they feel threatened, perhaps the lynx’s got a bit too successful?

      I’m glad that our snow at least was dry and fluffy, perhaps impossible to shovel but noneed to either since it blows away for no wind at all🙂

      I rarely notice the change of daylight until it still is light outside when I stop working🙂 So that will happen sometime in February I guess🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. When I was a working person, I hated February. To me it was just extra winter that we didn’t need.
    Then I moved my horse to a barn without an indoor riding ring. It was also a 35 minute drive from my workplace. From November to the beginning of February there was not enough daylight at the end of my shift to get there and ride.
    February became my favorite crappy winter month simply because there was enough day left to ride, maybe a whole 10 minutes, but it’s really cold in February so 10 minutes was enough.🙂

    • Yes February is just a pain in the a..🙂 Itä’s our coldest month too so I really don’t look forward to it. When March arrives hopes of a life rise again🙂

      But as Yiou say, there is daylight after work in February so it forgives the month some🙂 I’m hoping that high pressure in northern Finland will move away so all the warm and rainy low pressures will come back again🙂
      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    What great pictures of the dogs playing in the snow, and that last picture is stunning. I know it stays lighter a bit more every day, but it is still winter no matter how much we try to console ourselves.

    Nothing worse than the wind in winter. It bites right to the bone! That is when I am happy to have the huge yard. Gracie can run and use up her energy, and I stay warm.

    Have a great evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      I do like those photos🙂 and For once Nova stood still long enough to get a good photo of her🙂

      I know people that starts talking of spring as soon as the temperature is above 32F, even if we still are in December🙂🙂 I don’t even start hoping for it until late March.

      The wind is really nasty! It really eats its way through the clothes but I have a looong scarf I got from Joyce and that keeps me warm because I wrap it several times around my head and neck🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Beautiful pictures on the National Geographic site Christer! I couldn’t help but look through all of them🙂 You have a good eye🙂 I especially liked the ones of your dogs running and playing and the spider shots are great too!
    Stay warm – we have another cold snap coming in Toronto!

    • Hi Alice and welcome to my blog🙂

      I’m glad You like them and I have to admit I got a bit surprised right now when I looked at my inbox at NG🙂 Nothing much ever happen there usually🙂 I’ll check out Your album later tonight🙂

      We got a new cold record in northern Sweden today, -42C so no busses or trains worked there today and it will stay nasty cold up there. In a way I’m happy we only have the nasty wind down here🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

  7. I also enjoyed the snow photos with the dogs obviously having a grey time. Seems they do enjoy the white stuff a bit more than you do, Christer. We had a few flakes here on Sat morning amid a dramatic sky as a cold front passed through the area. Now the temps have warmed a bit for the next couple of days and then colder ones return. We are getting longer days as well.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      They do love that white garbage but Nova is happy with just a short while in it🙂 Her fur is much thinner than the others so she prefers to stay indoors on really cold days.

      The warmer weather they’ve been showing sort of always keep the same distance and never come closer it seems🙂 I’m tired of this now and want warmth and rain again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

