I’m not fond of high pressures in winter.

DSC_0001

High pressures during winter usually means sunny and really cold weather unless one is at the border of it as we in southern Sweden are right now. For us it means very windy and only cold weather. Cold enough together with the wind that at least I prefer to stay indoors even if the sun might be shining. Unfortunately my dogs don’t care and drags me out of the cottage anyway🙂 These high pressures during winter also tends to stay very long at the same spot but finally it looks like it will move south-east and perhaps leave us late next week. Oh how I long for warm winds and rain again :-) 

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

DSC_0005

Normally we walk in to the village on Sundays during hunting season since they tend to hunt in the forest on Sundays. But the wind made it impossible and I guessed that no hunter wanted to go outside today anyway, they tend to be a bit comfortable those guys🙂 So we walked down to the creek and walked upstream’s towards the place where we met the wild hogs last time. I talked loudly to my dogs all the way since I didn’t want to be surprised or to surprise those pigs again. I doubt I would be that lucky one more time🙂

Should I go dowm stream?

Should I go down stream?

Or upostream?

Or upstream?

I walked upstream, despite the ´chance of meeting hogs too close.

I walked upstream, despite the chance of meeting hogs too close.

It’s too bad that the snow fell before it got cold because the ground was even more soft today than it was last time we walked there. But I could walk in the foot steps the land owner had made just a few days earlier, the snow layer was thinner there and the ground had frozen at least some. The wind didn’t reach us in there and I couldn’t see a single new track from the hogs but a few older from deers. With the wind goner the walk turned out to be quite pleasant.

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

I think I might have more deer visitors now because all the food I had put out was gone this morning. The new rather skittish hinds have already been here, they ran away rather fast so I’m guessing that Lotta and Tiny might be close or perhaps a neighbor was outside scaring them away. Not intentionally but they are smokers and only smokes outdoors.

DSC_0016

DSC_0022

No hogs resting here today.

No hogs resting here today.

I didn’t win the lottery this week either so I’ll drive to work tomorrow as usual. I don’t know what higher power that controls who win the lottery but I can say that I think they are incompetent🙂🙂🙂 It’s time to make some tea and to give all the furry ones their food soon. Orvar has a bad stomach again so the rice is boiling on the stove.

DSC_0028

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “I’m not fond of high pressures in winter.

  1. Christer,
    At least the water is still running and not all ice. I’m with you in wanting warm weather again, but the opposite is on its way. By Wednesday we will be back in the teens for temperature. It is still a long way until spring.

    I just shut the back door because I could feel the cold coming in through the sides of the dog door. It’s not like Gracie wants out. She makes quick trips then comes right back inside to the couch.

    Stay warm!

    • Hi Kat!

      That’s true but even the big creek will soon be frozen if this continues.

      We won’t get spring here until late March as best so I’ll take it step by step and I’m just happy that we’re gettiung moire daylight🙂

      I can’t have a dog door here since both Hector and Orvar tends to take walks by themselves🙂 I’m thinking of putting up a higher fence so I can let them out by themselves.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Christer,
        Gracie is famous for taking off and won’t come to me at all. She’ll go to strangers but not me. My yard has a six foot fence around it so she can no longer get out. She did manage to get over it when she was younger but is now too muscular and is stuck in the yard.

      • Hi Kat!

        >Thankfully all my dogs comes as soon as they hear me, well that is as long Nova hasn’t seen a hare🙂 I want a fence that high but I’m afraid I have too many bushes and trees that needs to be cut down if I should be able to place it around my garden. I’ll need to think about how I can solve that problem without chopping down my trees🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  2. I hope Orvar’s tummy is better.
    I had cut back on Blue’s food and I think I saw him eating some poop outside!
    He’s never done that before, I guess he was really hungry.
    So I upped it again and I hope that does the trick.
    I just thought that since he just sleeps all the time, maybe he should cut back.
    I haven’t been taking the dogs to work because of the awful weather
    and all my van problems so they haven’t been as active.😦

    • Hi Cindi!

      I have given up the fight whith Orvar and Hector when it comes to poop eating. I sound angry still but they don’t really care🙂 I doubt it has anything to do with hunger though, they eat it just because they like it and there’s still lots of nutritions in it.

      We do take fewer walks now when it’s dark all the time and it’s so cold But as soon as the daylight comes back we’re out all the time again🙂 Sune is a bit chubby now but I know he’ll run it of as soon as it gets warmer and lighter again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Well, I looked at all the photos and read all the words and then forgot to comment.🙂
    The creek is lovely with all the snow around it.
    I found myself wondering what the red dot was in the 12th photo from the top. I blew it up until it was nothing but pixels but still couldn’t tell. Possibly it is a rear light on that machine that you photographed.

    Hope Orvar’s stomach has settled down.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!🙂 Happens to me too sometimes🙂

      I only wish I could have walked down to the creek so I could have gotten better phoitos but the snow copvered all the muc and I really didn’t want to slide down in to the creek🙂

      I’m amazed that You saw that red dot🙂🙂🙂 it’s a plastic ribbon to show where they are supposed to cut down trees. I thgink they are old , at least from last winter because they haven’t been around this winter.

      Orvar’s stomach has settled down, at least until he finds something else on the ground that he eats🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • It’s amazing how red birds like Cardinals manage not to be seen in the trees but red things that people leave there stand out like a sore thumb.🙂

Leave a Reply

