I could almost see daylight.

DSC_0010

It wasn’t pitch black when I came out after work today🙂 Well I can’t say that it was especially much daylight left but I could at least see some blue sky where the sun had gone down. It’s nice to feel that hope of a future again🙂 So I’m hoping that next Monday by the time I’ll get home it will look much like it did when I started to drive homewards today.

 

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

 

Two of the eight persimmon seeds that had started to germinate now show small stalks above the soil🙂 I can’t see the leafs yet because the old seed shell still sits on top of them. It is a bit early in the year but I hope I can keep them alive until spring arrives and I can place them outdoors. I took a look at my Black walnut in the garden the other day and I must say it looks very healthy. Other small bushes and trees got damaged when that first night that was so nasty cold came but the walnut looks fine🙂 Who knows, it might survive and give me some nuts in fifteen years or so🙂

 

DSC_0019

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

 

The wind still blows but I think it has calmed down some and it has changed direction so now I can’t feel it in my garden. The good thing to live in a slope like I do is that most times the wind never reach and it’s always a few degrees warmer here in summer. The bad thing is that it’s always many degrees colder in winter. Spring arrives two weeks later to my garden than it does at my neighbors up the slope  100 yards away🙂

DSC_0024

DSC_0023

  DSC_0026

It’s time to make a pot of tea and some sandwiches. I had hoped that the books I’ve ordered should have arrived now but it looks like I must wait a few more days. So I guess that means I need to find something on tv to watch but I doubt I’ll find anything interesting. Well I can always go to bed of course🙂

 

DSC_0037

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “I could almost see daylight.

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes I have and the strange thing is that I have plants from the American continent that shouldn’t be able to survive here but those warmer summers gives them the energy to cope with the poor daylight and long winters. But then some plants that grow here naturally dies their first winter🙂🙂

      I do like those mushrooms.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Åh vad busig – och söt – Nova ser ut på bilden!🙂 Hoppas alla dina frön och plantor överlever. Det är ju inte förrän i slutet på vintern – eller rättare sagt under vårvintern – som dom utomhus tar mest stryk.😦
    Här har det varit ett fantastiskt vackert väder idag, inte ett endaste moln på himlen men otroligt dragigt. Trots det kunde man ju bara inte sitta inne utan vi åkte iväg till Grötlingboudd och tog en prommis på strandängarna. Det var verkligen fint och vi var ordentligt påpälsade – som tur var. Det sas på TV-vädret ikväll att det var -18 här på Gotland beroende på vinden, trots att termometern bara visade -4/-5!😦😦

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Hon ser ut som hon är damen🙂

      Jag hoppas verkiligen jag inte har ihjäl mina persimoner nu när de äntligen grott🙂 Valnöten står som tur är så att morgonsolen inte träffar den, kyla verkar den dock klara bra. Men en magnolia tog rejält med stryk första natten vi hade -22 här. Nu kan jag bara hoppas att det som är kvar klarar sig.

      Tror att vi också hade riktigt bra väder igår och idag, lite svårt att veta när man är i en industrilokal hela dagen🙂 Men det är stjärnklart nu i alla fall så jag hoppas natten inte blir svinkall här. Vinden kyler ned rejält! Den har dragit på rätt friskt här hela tiden dessutom så det gäller att bylsa på sig rejält.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I think black walnut also has to reach a minimum height to bear nuts. I have a stunted one that is way more than 15 years old and it does not produce. It’s only 10 feet tall.
    There is another old one, maybe 30 years, that was growing against a stone wall. It was stunted and only about 15 feet tall until my neighbor took down a large maple to the southeast of it. It put on another 10 feet or so in the next few summers and was just starting to bear walnuts when I had it taken down. It was not in a good place for the house. Even so the 3 foot piece of trunk that was left has sprouted dozens of new branches. It looks like a walnut bush now. I’ll leave it there for awhile to see what happens.

    This morning the sunrise was orange and red. I took photos. This evening the sunset was red and orange. I took more photos. They look the same except that the color is on the other side of the sky.
    The weather saying goes “Red sky at dawning, sailor take warning. Red sky at night, Shepherd’s delight.” Supposedly the morning one means there will be bad weather in the next 12 hours and the night one means the shepherds won’t have to worry about sleeping out in the rain. I think. We are supposed to have snow. Technically, it’s not rain but I still wouldn’t want to sleep out in it.

    Enjoy the growing daylight. We will be in the arctic vortex for the next 3 or 4 days. Brrrr.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I need to see iof I can find any info about hight as well. It’s always something, I guess that with my luck and if the tree survives it will give nuts the year after I die at old age🙂🙂🙂

      Only the photographer knows when it is a morning or evening photo🙂 But I don’t trust those old saying any longer🙂 Too much dust in the air so every morning with sunshine is usually very colorful here🙂 But I agree, can’t be fun sleeping in snow either🙂

      I guess I should be happy we only have a common high pressure and not the vortex, can’t see much difference since both makes it cold🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I can’t hardly wait for Spring either.
    I want to start some seeds soon.
    I haven’t done that for years and I want to start a whole bunch of Morning Glories so that i can use them for a privacy fence of sorts.
    I’m feeling like that too…about nothing good to read, reruns on TV.
    maybe I will just go to sleep…
    goodnight.🙂

    • Hi Cindi!

      It would be so ice to have spring but it won’t reach us until the middle of April as best.

      I do like morning glory but I need to start them so early if I want them to flower in summer that I only will have problems keeping them alive indoors >:-) We do have relatives to them, terrible weeds that are impossible to get rid of though. I like them a lot so if they would turn up here I wouldn’t mind at all🙂

      I actually went to sleep🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

