So they are another kind of wolf?

DSC_0043

I just read something interesting on the internet about the origin of canines. So far most scientists have believed that they descend from the grey wolf and that some, perhaps by the help of a mutation, adapted to humans. Most likely they lived on what was left over when the humans had fed. But now they have checked the DNA on three different wolves. One from Israel, one from China and one from Croatia. They also collected the DNA from an Australian Dingo, an African Basenji and they already had it from a Boxer.

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

DSC_0047

They chose wolves from these three places because scientists have believed that the domestication of dogs might have started in Middle East, Asia or eastern Europe. The reason they started this was to try and find out where domestication started and when. They got a result they hadn’t counted on. It turns out that the three different dogs actually were closer related to each other than to any wolf! So now they have started to believe that our dogs might descend from a now extinct wolf. They have however bread with our wolves every now and again but it seems clear that they not come from our wolves of today.

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

Still no work done by the beavers.

Still no work done by the beavers.

Perhaps that wolf they descend from didn’t live in packs like the grey wolf because dogs doesn’t behave like wolves especially much to be honest. For instance, they can’t hunt like wolves do. They have seen in feral dogs that they might hunt in packs but they can’t organize the hunt. They all sort of play their own game with no organisation at all unlike wolves where every member knows its role in the hunt. Alpha dogs really doesn’t exist like in wolves, any dog can get puppies in a pack. They also tend to follow the nicest dog and perhaps not the one most suited to lead a group. Aggressive dogs tend to be lonely dogs that all other stays away from. I wish more people read articles like these so that they could understand how wrong it is to hit the dog they have!

DSC_0016

DSC_0018

DSC_0023

It’s time to make some tea and something to eat. Tomorrow I’ll get the books I ordered last week, the package was too big for my mailbox so I need to go to the grocerystore in Gudhem. I could have brought them home today but I thought since I won’t write any blog tomorrow it would be better to go there then instead.

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “So they are another kind of wolf?

    • Hi Joyce!

      I can’t understand that either. But there is this old idea that they think a dog owner need to be tough to be the alpha mail in the pack. It seems as most people nelieve that especially pitbull owners must hit to have contol of their dog when in fact pitbulls are very sensitive and need just the opposite! Just plain stupid! and it’s a good thing they now know a dog follows the kind one and not the aggressive. But some people are just åplain evil.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I read that post on Facebook. Of course dogs are going to be more closely related genetically to dogs than they are to wolves. They are all dogs.
    Maybe they should do a complete genome on North and South American wolves and coyotes and then compare. If they turned out to be closer to dogs than the other wolves, wouldn’t that raise some interesting questions?🙂
    Still, wolves, coyotes and dogs manage to interbreed with each other very easily and produce viable, fertile offspring, a fact that argues for a close genetic relationship.
    If the wolf species that dogs came from hit an evolutionary bottleneck somewhere, perhaps the only survivors of that population were the animals that humans had taken to breed for their own purposes?
    So many questions.🙂

    It’s very cold here and very dingy out. Snowmageddon will be happening again tonight. I have chocolate, pizza and ice cream. I am set.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      The thing is that if they were descendants to our wolves they should be just as related to them as other dogs. They aren’t especially closely related to the other wild dogs in the world.

      That sure would be interesting if they were closely related to the North American wolves🙂 But they believe that the blck wolves in North America actually is hybrids with dogs, From what I know black wolves only exist in North America.

      I think You are right, the wolves that became our dogs most likely died out everywhere but in places where they had formed allianses with humans. But why did they die out at all, as You say they tend to mate with any other relative nearby🙂

      No snowmageddon over here and it isn’t that cold to be honest but the wind blows even harder again. I can’t understand how it can manage to blow for so long!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • So another question would be why are black wolves only found in North America if they get their black coloration gene from dogs? I’m sure there were plenty of black dogs and wolves living close together in Asia many thousands of years ago. Black coyotes also get their black coat color from dogs.

        Here we used to have a native wild dog called by some Carolina Wild Dog and by others American Dingo. They lived wild and formed packs in the Southeastern US until about 1970 when someone noticed that they weren’t like regular feral dogs. Genetic tests showed that they don’t have the European markers of normal feral dogs and so are much more primitive types. It is thought that they are related to dogs brought over by the first Native Americans.
        Most of them were removed from the wild in the 80’s and have been bred in captivity, sold as pets and now have a breed standard. Possibly because they were considered dogs, they were no longer protected under the Endangered Species law.
        Maybe we don’t really want to know that black wolves, black coyotes and dogs are all the same thing. It wouldn’t be healthy for the coyotes and the wolves.

      • Yes that’s a tricky question🙂 I don’t know if black wolves exist all over the continent or just a part of it. It might be that hybridisation happened more opften in one area and since it would be a smaller area the chance of getting black puppies would be bigger? But to be honest, I’m not so sure black dogs were that common before humans started a more active roll in the breeding. If I remember right black wolves are fairly new and the hybridisation wouldn’t have started until the Europeans came. Need to find out more about this🙂

        I think it was You that told me about the Carolina wild dog, strange that they didn’t want to protect it since it must be unique. Must read more about that dog too🙂

        Perhaps itä’s best not to know, I do like how those black wolves look🙂

        Christer.

  2. I love training my dog and all the dogs I’ve ever had. Aggressive behavior with dogs..you are right. NOT a good idea. Many dog owners should not be dog owners or cat owners or owners of anything alive for that matter and certainly not even a parent…but alas…it happens. I don’t like to think about it. Still having 80 degree weather here in Southern California. No break in sight.🙂
    Love your pictures today, Christer!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Too many get dogs that shouldn’t even think of having one. I can’t understand people that get a dog and then chain it outside 24/7?? Dogs are social animals and need lots of attetion. It isn’t strange that some of them just snap when they never get a chance to interact with any other living being!

      Send some of that heat over here and I’ll do my best to send rain to You🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. 7 degrees here.😦 tomorrow is supposed to be worse with windshield factors something like 30 below😦
    I’m SO SICK of this!
    I think anyone that beats a dog, a child, a woman…should be beat so they can feel what it’s like and then put away forever. This world is full of so many cruel heartless people, thank god for those who go above and beyond.
    I get depressed reading some many sad stories and I’m so thankful when I read a good rescue story.
    Enjoy your books tomorrow!

    • Hi Cindi!

      Much warmer here thankfully🙂 But the wind makes it nasty anyway and tonight it’s even harder than before.

      Unfortunately they wouldn’t understand anyway, they would only feel sorry for themselves and keep on beating as before.

      One book is missing!!!! Isn’t that typical!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Verkligen intressant läsning! Det är så spännande att man numera med hjälp av DNA kan kolla upp vad och vilka man eller det är släkt med!!😦
    T.ex. fick jag på ett möte inom Rosensällskapet lära mig att det man tidigare trodde var rosor som härstammade från någon gammaldags ros inte alls var det. Det visade sig att dom kom från helt andra sorter!🙂🙂
    Sånt här är ju alltid intressant – och för en gångs skulle riktigt kul att få lära sig. Annars är ju DNA mest omskrivet för att kunna sätta fast våldsmän och mördare – vilket kanske inte är så trevligt att läsa om, men desto viktigare!!🙂🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Ja otrolkigt intressant!
      Ja jag fick ju reda påatt jag är både ryss och serb ättling🙂 Ingen fick ju reda på vem min farfar var men det visade sig att han var från Jugoslavien i mitt DNA-prov🙂

      Det är många växter och djur som hamnat i andra familjer nu nbär DNA proven granskats🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Perhaps the domestic dog is descended from the now extinct dire wolf? I guess we will never know. It surely is hard to look at a chihuahua and think it came from a wolf. Much easier to see the connection with a husky. I think the alpha in a wolf pack is a female, at least from what I have seen on Discovery and other channels. I love to watch those shows that show us the origins of our beloved canines – at least what they think the origin is at the time of the show. Do you get a show called “The Curse of Oak Island? Really interesting.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      It would be interesting but I doubt it since the dire wolf only lived, as far as we know, on the American continent and they believe domesticated dogs most likely comes from the areas I wrote about in my post. But I need to find out more about extinct wolves now🙂

      I’ve met a few chihuahuas that I never would have doubt they were wolf descendents🙂🙂🙂 If they had been bigger they would have tried to kill me🙂🙂🙂
      There’s a alpha male and a alpha female in the wolf pack and somne packs are lead by the males and some by the females.

      Nope, haven’t heard about that show, so now I need to find out more about that too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer,
    I can’t begin to imagine ever hitting my dog. I couldn’t even yell at any of my dogs as they looked so sad when I did. Gracie is part of my family and has the best of lives and deserves it for the love she gives to me. She is also my watch dog, my playmate and my companion in the car.

    I would do to any persons the same harm they did to any animals.

    Hope your day was good yesterday. What books did you get?

    • Hi Kat!

      I have no problems yelling🙂 But then again I yell att people too🙂 Dogs are masters in using that sad look and suddenly foget what it was all about as soon as it pleases them🙂 But I never yell for long and forget quickly🙂

      Unfortuynately it doesn’t seem to help doing to people what they do to animals, well in some cases of course if they just doesn’t know better. But I’m afraid the worst cases nothing helps. Concrete around their feet and a deep river is most likely the only thing that will stop them I’m afraid.

      Yesterday became very good but I had problems with the books. More about that in todays post.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

