What a nice mistake.

DSC_0039

So I went to the postoffice in Gudhem yesterday after work and start to wonder why the package is so small, after all there should be two thick books and one thin in it. So I open it as soon as I come home and realise they have missed to send me Dune!! Instead they have sent me something thin stapled by George Orwell called “Politics and the English language”??? George Orwell is a writer I like but this is not what I wanted🙂

 

DSC_0067

DSC_0069

DSC_0070

 

So I picked up my mobile phone and dialed the number without checking if there was a number already there, which it really shouldn’t because I had turned of the phone earlier yesterday. So to my big surprise I didn’t reach the business I bought the book from but a friend I haven’t talked to in a long time🙂 I had written down his new phone number and did a mistake so for a reason I don’t know I dialed him instead🙂

 

DSC_0004

DSC_0006

DSC_0007

 

That mistake made my day, well my entire week to be honest. we were like peas and carrots back in the days and did everything together but then we moved to different places far away from each other and didn’t get many chances to meet. Well we have had contact via mail and text messages every now and again but it has been two years since we last met and actually talked to each other. It’s strange how one never really understand how much one miss another person until one hear his or her voice.

 

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

 

Anyway the books, I did send them an email yesterday and the automatic replay said they most likely would answer within 24 hours.  24 hours had just passed so I called them instead and they’ll send me the missing book and I’ll return what I got instead already tomorrow. It’s so small that I can put it in to an ordinary envelope.

 

DSC_0020

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. The fire is burning in the stove and will keep on doing so for as long as I’m awake. The night is going to be cold but I guess that’s nothing compared to some of You have it in Canada and USA.

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “What a nice mistake.

  1. it’s so nice that you got in touch with your old friend! it sure is freezing here. i love winter but this sub zero weather is a whole different story!

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it was so fun to have a long talk again🙂 We decided we must meet this spring, he and his family lives on an island in the archepilago outside Gothenburg and I love the ocean🙂

      They say it will falldown to 15F hare tonight but it usually gets colder, still so much warmer than You have.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Well that was a nice mistake indeed. You are right. You don’t know how much you miss someone until you hear his or her voice.
    Not sure that George Orwell would be a nice mistake especially if it was the substitute for Dune.

    The second to the last photo is my favorite today. It has a lovely balance of reflected sun on water mixed with the grey and white of trees and snow.

    It’s colder than midnight on Pluto here even though it has warmed up to 18ºF. Tomorrow will be even colder and next week is supposed to be colder than that.
    Rocky and I have been out twice for very quick walks to the end of the road and back. That’s about how long it takes before he starts to limp from ice balls in his feet. I use Musher’s wax on his feet but I have to keep putting it on which is literally a pain in Plutonian temperatures. I haven’t been able to find boots to fit him.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      But I do wonder how that number managed to stay in the phone after I had turned it off? No matter, it was a reaslly nice mistake🙂

      This Orwell thing does look really boring as well🙂🙂 But Dune will arrive some time next week🙂

      I tried to get that reflexion several times, especially when it was tuned is a pink color but failed every time.

      So the cold weather will continue for that long!!!

      My dogs never have any problems with ice or snow on their feet and I’m a bit surprised about that since all but Nova have lots of fur between their toes. Only one of my dogs have had that problem and it was a pain in the a.. Too bad You can’t find boots for him, life would be so much easier for him when You’re out walking in icy temperatures.

      It’s only cold as the backside of the moon here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer! What a lovely surprise to talk to an old friend! You are right, once you hear their voice you only then realise how much you miss them and their friendship. We are currently having a mini blizzard so the Canadian weather just keeps coming! Have a lovely day!

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes we always think we’re goiing to call or meet and time goes by and nothing happens but as soon as one hear that familiar voice again it’s impossible not to miss them🙂

      It seems our weather is fairly steady, doesn’t get any colder and it doesn’t get any warmer either🙂

      Have a greatd ay despite the cold!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer!
    How lucky to call a friend by mistake – I think sometimes these things happen when we need them🙂 Sometimes I call one of my sisters when I didn’t mean to and we end up on the phone for an hour!
    I hope you enjoy Dune – it is one of my favourite series! I have all the books, including the ones written by his son more recently, and they are good too. I think I will re-read them again this year🙂
    Have a great day & stay warm!
    Alice

    • Hi Alice!

      Yes it was🙂 and this was the right week to do it🙂

      I’m pretty sure I’ll like Dune but that book will havev to wait until I’äve read at least one of the others🙂

      Have a great day too!
      Christer.

  5. I agree about the old friend thing.
    I saw a good friend this last summer and it had been years and years, so many that I can’t even count and she brought back memories of when we were young and crazy and didn’t realize how much fun we were actually having at the time! sigh, yes I missed her right after she left more than I had originally!

    • Hi Cindi!

      After tha phone call I missed him even more🙂 I just need to be bettr calling every now and again🙂
      We did have lots of fun and we also have the same name so his father was the one that started to call me Olof, my favorite nickname🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Just recently the same odd thing happened to me. I called the number in mynphone thinking it was one person’s but then turned out to be someone different. And since I had planned to call this person but never got around to it, this mistake was a good one as well. Hope you and your friend continue to reconnect in the future.
    Yes, it is still cold here in VA and the snow we got last week is staying around along with the bitter cold temperatures.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I sure got surprised when he answered instead of the business I thought I called🙂

      We are both rather bad in keeping contact but I hope we’ll hear from each other more often than we’ve had so far🙂

      We’ll have much the same weather next week as we’ve had so far so it will stay cold I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

