I have problems even standing on skis.

DSC_0043

It is as bit cold today but we have actually seen the sun for a while and that was quite nice. It was only -12,4C (9,7F) when we went out for our morning walk and the wind was so nasty that I refused to go out on the fields. So we walked down to the big creek because the road goes through the forest and the creek runs through it too. I was a bit surprised that the water lever still is rather high, after all it is cold and most water is frozen by now. Well to be honest, the ground is fairly soft in many places so I guess the water still flows down to the creek.

 

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

 

I couldn’t see any tracks from the beavers but since the water level still is high I guess they just don’t need to do anything outside their burrow at the moment. Besides our walks I’ve mostly been napping and watching downhill skiing and the X games. It’s amazing what they can do with a pair of skis on their feet now days🙂 Jumping high, do a lot of turns and flips and god knows what🙂 Most of the participants are very young so I guess they haven’t figured out that they can die, even if some actually do every year.

 

DSC_0047

DSC_0050

DSC_0051

 

There’s absolutely nothing I want to watch on tv today. Channel Six shows Rambo 3 as tonight movie and I’ve seen one of those, I think it was number two and that was more than enough for me🙂 How on earth could he be a film star after that?? Well Schwarzenegger became a star after Conan the barbarian so I guess anything can happen really🙂🙂 So firstly I’ll watch some episodes of Big Bang Theory and after that I’ll read The Night Eternal.

 

DSC_0057

DSC_0058

DSC_0060

 

But first I’ll make a pot of coffee and a few sandwiches and I will of course keep the fire burning in the stove until late tonight, it’s getting as cold or even colder tonight as it was last night.

 

The water level is actually a bit higher now than it was a few days ago.

The water level is actually a bit higher now than it was a few days ago.

DSC_0065

DSC_0068

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0070

DSC_0071

DSC_0041

18 thoughts on “I have problems even standing on skis.

  1. hi christer! those sky photos are fantastic! so, you are finally getting close to us with the cold weather. i just can’t seem to stay warm. it is blowing like crazy today and snowing too. i sure can’t complain about this winter. it is the most ‘wintry’ winter we have had in years and years. we are about to get really cold in the next few days too! stay warm christer! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Finally we got some color in the sky🙂

      Yes temperatures are a bit cold now, I wouldn’t mind it that much if the wind finally could stop blowing. A wind still day with thgose temperatures are actually quite nice. Still this has bee an unusually warm winter so far and I hope that stubborn high pressure could move away so we got those warm and rainy low pressures from west again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I can’t stand on skis anymore either and I could never jump or spin in the air.😀
    I used to X country ski back in the 90’s. I only learned to do it because I thought it might make me like winter a little. Also it didn’t cost lots of money apart from the initial cost of the skis unlike downhill skiing. I could X country ski for free out behind the barn in the wildlife reserve. Just me and the coyotes and the hunters.🙂
    I ruined 2 pairs of skis before I learned that normal X country skis were for groomed trails and that was not where I was. Rocks and logs buried under the snow are bad for skis.
    I never learned to ski down hill. If the trail went down hill, I slid down on my butt. It was a controlled descent but it did get a bit cold and damp after doing a few of them.

    The temperature is much warmer here today. It’s 37ºF which is about 20º warmer than yesterday. Downside is that the wind is really blowing hard so it feels just as cold. We’re due for snow later on today as well. When it finally decided to be winter this season it didn’t fool around. We have a week of roller coaster temperatures ahead.
    53 days until spring.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’ve never really liked skiing that much but did it as a child. I stayed on paths and roads though🙂 as You say rocks and logs are bad for normal cross country skis🙂 I’ve always prefered sleds going down hills even if I have used skis too but that was even worse than on flat ground🙂🙂

      WE had storm gusts here for a while tonight and my cottage trembeled when they hit. Now the wind has turned again and I can only hear the roar from it and that’s good enough for me🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    I am surprised that the water hasn’t frozen. All our pond were frozen until today when it got so warm, 40 or more. The snow is still here, but there is less of it. The cold will be back by the end of the week.

    Today was a great day for touring except by the ocean which was freezing. The wind was so cold I took a couple of pictures and ran back to the car.

    We’re going out to dinner to a Brazilian restaurant in a bit.

    Enjoy your evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      Brazilian restaureants are great! Love their food!

      Tghe smaller creeks have ice on the surface now but I thiunk it’s the snow that insulates the ground so good that the water in the ground still floows easily and therefore the creeks do to, so fast that the ice doesn’t get a good chance to cover the stream yet.

      It snowed and snowed for days and nothing really happened on the ground🙂 I do hope this is all we’ll get or if more snow comes it wil be the same kind that never builds up anything on the ground🙂

      It’s alwways worse by the ocean in winter, still I miss it.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I have never tried to stand pn skis and the closest Inhave gotten is using a Nordic Track fitness machine at the gym. The sunset photos were beautiful and a nice chance from snow scenes, although I do like those as well.
    We are always glad not to subscribe to any dish or cable services to watch TV as there is. Othing that I would even want to see. netflix is enough ror me and less costly as well. i would mich rather have a good wi-fi connection than watch TV.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I can’t say I’ve ever liked those skis but I did use them when I was a kid.

      It’s actually sunrise photos🙂

      I only have the free channels here and the only other I would liked to have doesn’t exist here any more, it was BBC Prime. It showed all great programs BBC send and also their news.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. So..does this mean that the Beaver are still around. They haven’t been driven off.. sort of concerned me..
    It looks COLD! It does sound as though it’s colder in the U.S. right now than where you are. Poor Joyce..I have never heard her complain of Winter in any way until now. So it must be REALLY, REALLY COLD!

    • Hi Mona!

      I habe’t heard that they have done anything to them and unless they have moved downstream to thgeir old home thwu should still be up here. They have small ones now so they wouldn’t have gone far.

      It is cold but less so than in many places in the US and Canada. Cold enough for me though since the wind is constantly blowing. Joyce got more that she could hope for this time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Här är det “bara” – 5 och har varit så länge nu, men det blåser inte idag så det är riktigt behagligt ute!🙂
    Njae, eftersom jag har problem med art överhuvudtaget kunna stå på fötterna utan att ramla nu för tiden när det är halt, så tror jag inte att jag skulle kunna åka skidor precis! *fniss* Men som barn så åkte jag både skidor och kälke med stor förtjusning – men det var alltså då det!🙂🙂
    Tänk vad glad man blir när solen visar sig några minuter nu på vintern – och bilden ovanför rådjuret var så snygg! Solen piggar genast upp en….man kan känna att vi går mot trevligare tider!! 🙂🙂🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      -3 här just nu men med den eländiga vinden ihärdigt blåsande. Den känns inte så mycket här vid stugan men ute på fälten är den bra jobbig.

      Ja sådan skillnad det blir när solen visar sig, hoppet om ett live efter vintern bryter fram🙂 Men än är det långt kvar tyvärr.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. I love that weathervane!
    I tried skiing a few times when I was younger, I hate being cold but I had a boyfriend that insisted that I try it.
    I hated it and eventually kinda hated him too! hahaha!
    Back then I only hated being cold and falling down but now I’d be worried that I’d break a leg or hit my head into a tree!
    We get Big Bang Theory reruns here, I’m lucky that I get to see it all the time!🙂

    • Hi Cindi!

      It is a nice weather vane but it is rysting away now.

      I fully understand how You felt about skiing and him too later on🙂
      I’m more worried breaking a leg or hitting my head now days, That never bothered me as younger🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Greetings Christer,
    I haven’t visited in awhile so thought I would catch up…I had to laugh at your comment about Schwarzenegger becoming a film star…what’s more baffling to me than that and I’m sure to alot of other people too, is how he became govenor of California. Yup…anything can happen…whether it makes any sense or not!🙂

    • Hi Chris!

      Both facts are amazing in my eyes🙂 But he did one funny movie, don’t remember the name but he pleyed a police under cover as an kindergarten teacher🙂 I think that’s the only one I like of all what he has done🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

