He’s back!

DSC_0021

The wind blows harder than it has for a long time and it has blown hard for a long time now. I think it’s too much to call it a storm but it is very close. The roads have been polished by the drifting snow and the winds so they shine so nice when the headlights hit them and the car slides so nice when the wind hits it. I can’t understand why I didn’t like driving home this afternoon🙂

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

 

One-eyed Rune is back! I saw him yesterday but it took a while before I understood it was him and not one-eyed Lotta🙂 He seems to be very late growing antlers this winter, last year around now he had rather long fur clothed antlers but this year they’ve just started to grow. I’m just happy he’s back again🙂

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

 

I have to say that they were pretty fast sending me Dune from the business I bought my books, I found it in my mail box already today! Now all I have to do is to send back that boring thing I got instead of Dune🙂 I’m reading “The Night Eternal” now and so far it’s just so so. The hero is of course an alcoholic and of course his son is kidnapped by the Master, the head vampire. This is all reviled already in the beginning so I haven’t spoiled anything if You like to read it later on. The only forgiving thing about the book so far is that the vampires at least aren’t just more beautiful and fit humans🙂🙂🙂 They are actually quite ugly and seems to have both telepathic abilities as well as some magic ones too.

 

DSC_0118

DSC_0120

DSC_0121

 

Bertil is a bit grumpy because the fire has problems burning as we all want it too and he wants to sleep close to the heat from the stove. He sits close to t´he stove looking grumpy at me for not being able to make it burn better🙂 I need to buy worming pills for all of them because I think I saw worms when I cleaned the litter box. I hate those nasty worms and I do hope he stays away from me until I have dewormed them all🙂

 

DSC_0073

DSC_0074

DSC_0075

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat as well. I doubt there’s anything good on tv so I might turn in early and read the book. I’ll give it a few more chapters before I decide if it’s worth the time or if I should read Dune or Doctor Sleep instead.

 

There was somethings not right if this would be one-eyed Lotta.

There was somethings not right if this would be one-eyed Lotta.

j

Look at his head and You can see the beginning of antlers🙂

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “He’s back!

  1. those antlers are so cute! i am glad he is back. i wonder if your mild winter has something to do with the antler growth? your dogs look like they play rough. do they ever hurt each other? warm that fire up for bertil! he should not be grumpier than usual. haha!!!

    • Hi Joyce!

      They look so soft and nice now in the beginning.

      I have no idea why they are so late, I must check when they are supposed to start growing. Perhaps he was early last year?

      They do play rough but never hurt each other. Sometimes I wonder how they manage not to🙂

      The fire is finally burning good and Bertil is now sleeping close to the stove🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Yay for the return of One-Eyed Rune.

    Your deer grow antlers at a weird time of the year. Here the bucks start in early spring, I guess, grow them all summer, use them to beat the snot out of each other in fall and shed them for the winter so that other critters will have something to chew on for salt and calcium.

    I would read Dune right away. But I don’t know what Doctor Sleep is about so I can’t judge if Dune is better. I just think it probably is.🙂

    It’s raining. It’s way warmer than yesterday, maybe 30º. The wind is blowing so it doesn’t feel as warm as it could. We’re back to Pluto again tomorrow, though. 51 days until spring. Sigh.

    Enjoy the evening. Hope the stove starts living up to Bertil’s expectations pretty soon or he may swat it.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes yay for that :-9

      I guess there would be no time to get those antlers ready in time if they started growing them later on. Our summer season is so much shorter here. I’ve only seen one real fight between the roe deers here and that was just outside my kitchen🙂 One-eyed Rune had no problems at all winning the fight with Longhorn.

      I’ve only heard good things about Doctor Sleep but both will be read so it really doesn’t matter which one I chose. I will however give The Night Eternal a few chapters more🙂

      The wind is really stromng and my little cottage trembles every now and again. Thankfully it seems like the wind is changing direction so it happens more less now. I can feel it indoors too since the heat from the stove spreads more easily.

      Bertil sleeps deeply close to the stove now🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. A friend of mine that is a deer hunter (which I am against) told me that the females can have antlers a well…….but everyone else disagrees. But, I could see something else that looked like that was a male deer.
    Yesterday I looked in our yard and I swear at first I thought it was a cow. All alone this poor deer was. He looked at me for a long time. I told my husband that I just knew that he wanted to come inside for awhile. My husband said it would be okay if he would just sit and rest but he knew he’d be running all over inside the house. HAH. Thispoor deer had a bad leg. It looked swollen and he wouldn’t put weight on it. He ran with a limp. He could have bee shot or hit with a car….but it is still sad. ahile back I came around a curve and right in my lane of the road there was a deer just sitting in the road. Perhaps it was the same deer.
    Stay warm and I’m glad you got some tea.

    • Hi Debby!

      Yes they can but it’s only because if they have hormonal problems. The antlers on females are usually very thin and short. Normally though only reindeers have antlers on both sexes.

      Yes there wer a couple of things that made me reaklise it wasn’t Lotta🙂🙂

      It is sad when they hurt their legs but if they don’t have massive bleedings in the wound or get infections the legs often heal good. The leg might look a bit iodd but they don’t seem to be much bothered by it.

      I was lucky and found a some tea yesterday evening🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Ahh..Bertil! I understand completely! I need the heat of a cozy stove on a cold day to get any sleep and curl up nightly in front of the fireplace to watch Downton Abbyy (Sunday night) any of my other programs..usually I am asleep before the news is over. Probably because I’m trying to escape some of the awfulness life. 🙂
    Christer..what happens to their eyes? Poked by underbrush? What? Stay warm and keep that fire going for Bertil. He is not one to put up with ineptness!! LOL

    • Hi Mona!

      I too understand him so well🙂 He’s been under the weather for a while and I guess it has to do with the worms. So I’ve just given him his pill with only a little struggle and no bites🙂 After that I tossed him out in the night🙂

      Latewst season Of Downton is over here and I have to admit that I missed a few episodes this time.

      It can be some kind of disease but I think in this case it’s a stick or something that poked them in the eye. If it would have been a disease they would have slowly died but both look just healthy.

      The fire is burning so it will be warm when he’s back indoors again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer –

    It sounds like the driving on the slick roads is lots of fun waiting to see if you will start sliding into one of those shiny ice glazed embankments.I would hate to have to drive in all that ice especially when it is dark. It does seem to be staying light out much earlier the past few weeks. It didn’t get black outside around 5:30 PM tonight and last week it was 5PM so I will be very happy when the days have more light. Being home all day and needing lights on to do anything is not my idea of fun. It was great last week when we had sunny blue skies, but fog & darkness has returned and I feel like someone flipped my energy switch off.
    Poor Bertil starring death rays at you for not keeping the fire stoked for his comfort. I would do what I could to get it burning as he commands you. He doesn’t seem like a cat you would want to fool around with about his need for a warm nap.

    I am so happy to hear that you finally saw Rune. Maybe I am imaging it, but he seems to look like he has aged a lot & looks pretty thin. I can’t really see if his haunches (where they carry fat reserves) are shallow. I started thinking it would be quite a coincidence fro both Rune & Doris to have lost an eye to accident, so I did some reading about Roe deer in Sweden and the common diseases they can get that can affect the eye. The eyes damage could be due to parasitic disease that can destroy the eye or possibly viral disease could be responsible.. Parasitic disease is more likely to be the culprit. There is also a type of tumor that can destroy their eye. but it is not very common.
    When I was doing my research I became sorry for all the gross diseases & infestations most of these deer live with. The worst was called Bot and they showed dissected photos of a roe deer’s’ nasal passages filled with large larva from bot flies. Some as big as a caterpillar. The most common cause of death for Roe deer, other than hunters or cars, is starvation between January – March, It is a nice thing that you are willing to provide food for local deer since it can make the difference between living & dying for them. I read that this species of deer was almost driven to extinction in the 1800s in Sweden.

    The vampire book you are reading sounds interesting. I don’t know if you ever rent streaming movies to watch on your computer or rent DVD’s, but if you have any interest in vampire movies that have good acting and interesting story-lines I have a couple to recommend for you. Both films are fairly recent and the 1st is actually a 2008 Swedish film called “Let the Right One In”. About a 12 yr. old boy is bullied until he meets a strange girl who moves into his apartment complex & helps him get revenge on his enemies. Meanwhile strange murders are happening in the town. Have you seen this movie already? I have watched it a couple of times on Netflix & really enjoyed it. An American version was made a 2010 and it was such a disappointment after seeing the Swedish version. The 2nd film is “Stake Land” is the other movies I liked that has a vampire theme, Stake Land was also made in 2010.. This film is based in a post apocalyptic US where some sort of vampire zombies (similar to The Walking Dead, only the zombies are vampires) have killed off the majority of the population. A man turned vampire hunter meets an orphaned teen boy & as they travel they meet a few other survivors they decided to allow to travel with them as they search for a reported community where other survivors have created a protected community where they are safe from attack. It is part vampire tale and partly a story of the boy as he grows from dependent kid to independent vampire hunter himself using the skills the older man has taught him as well as what life experience has taught him too. Dark & unusual story and with interesting characters. I’ve watched this twice and enjoyed the 2nd time as much as the 1st which is unusual for me.

    I hope your work week goes by quickly & that you do any sliding on the icy roads. Take care – Ellen

    • Hi Ellen!

      It’s still black outside around 5 pm here buit the weeks get hslf an hour more dayklight per week now and soon it will go even faster🙂 The roads were much better today and it was much warmer than predictred tioo but the wind just keep on howling!

      Yes deers can get lots of nasty diseases but those around here have been very healthy. Active lynx’s helps with that and the foxes takes many sick ones too. I don’t think it’s any diseases that have hit these deers because they look very healthy (well Rune does look a bit scrabby this time of year🙂 ), none loose weight and they have an healthy apetite. So my guess is that they have been chased by either the lynx’s or huntingdogs and injured their eyes. Stragely enough it doesn’t seem to disturb them especially much. Almost all deer species were driven to the edge of extinction here during that time but they managed to rescue them and now they are so many that people get tired of them🙂

      So far the vampire book is rather boring but I’ll give it a few more chapters before I start another book. I haven’t read Let the right one in and I missed the movie when they showed it on tv. I’ve heard that the America vesrion was a flop. I need to see if I can find a dvd so I finally can see it.I haven’t heard about Stake Land before but it does sound interesting. Need to see if I can find it over here so I can see it. Most movies no matter what quality usually turns up over here too🙂

      Today went on rather quickly, at least the first half of it🙂 and the roads were rather good to drive on fior once.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Kul att Rune är tillbaka – men är du verkligen säker på att det är han!? dom är ju ganska lika, om man säger så!!🙂
    Här har det varit ett uschligt väder sista dagarna, man kunde knappt gå ut igår. Santos nästan drunknade i snön som drivit ihop i dikena där han skulle sitta och göra ifrån sig. Mitt på vägen var det så halt att man knappt kunde gå där och sitta där är inte populärt!😦
    Trodde att det skulle vara bättre idag, men det blåser fortfarande nästan storm – och idag måste vi till antingen Klintehamn eller Hemse och handla. Det är bara att hoppas att vägarna plogas HELA TIDEN – det brukar dom faktiskt sköta rätt bra här så det är nog OK.

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jo Rune känner jag igen lätt på ögat och hans lite skabbiga utseende🙂 Enda gången han ser vacker ut är när sommarpälsen är ny, ett par veckor senare ser han lika skabbig ut igen🙂

      Här blåser hårt igen men tack och lov har vi sluppit undan snöfall! Vägarna var också välskötta så det var inga problem att köra hem alls🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. Happy to hear Rune is back!
    What makes them lose an eye? Hopefully nothing happens to the other one!
    The dogs sure look like they are having fun🙂
    Have a great day🙂 I sure hope you enjoy Dune!
    Alice

    • Hi Alice!

      Yes it was nice to see him again🙂

      There are lots of diseases that affects the eyes but in this case I think it is injuries from when something have been chasing them, like huntingdogs or Lynx’s. The two look very healthy and have a healthy apetite so I don’t think it is any diseases this time.

      Those two love playing anytime but snow is even funnier. A bit strange since Nova doesn’t like cold weather and snow fall🙂

      I’ll let You all know what I liked Dune as soon as I’ve read it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes it was nice to see him again🙂

      I think I’ll start with Doctor Sleep tomorro night, the one I read now just don’t get any better it seems.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

