I managed not to get bitten.

DSC_0103

The temperature predictions for today was -4C (24,8F) all day and I thought it could be worse, so it was a nice surprise when it actually went up to 0C (32F) instead. It’s rare they predict wrong that way, usually it gets much colder instead🙂 I thought this would make the roads very slippery but I must admit that they were pretty good instead. Tomorrow they predict 1C (33,8F), can I hope for much warmer then🙂

 

DSC_0105

DSC_0107

DSC_0110

 

I went to the grocery store to buy some dog food and they were out of the brand I usually buy. So instead I bought a small bag (4,5 kg, 9,9 pound)of one of the really expensive brands and I have to say my dogs loved it! Too bad it is so expensive that I can’t but it every week, my dogs eat over 10kg (22 pond) every six days and that’s expensive as it is. This brand would cost three times as much but I have to admit that it is very good.

 

DSC_0113

DSC_0114

DSC_0115

 

All dogs and cats have now been forced to take the de-worming pills I bought today. The dogs are never any problems but I did fear the cats🙂 I got lucky with Teodor because he slipped when he tried to start a fight and by pure luck I pressed the pill down his throat. Bertil however was a bit more tricky. I had to go to the bathroom (because I didn’t know if he would start peeing as a protest) and sit down on the toilet seat, place him on his back and force open his mouth. He did try to bite me once but I managed to keep my fingers away from his sharp teeth🙂

 

DSC_0083

DSC_0085

DSC_0087

 

The wind is still howling out there but it has changed direction so tonight my cottage won’t tremble when the gusts hit. It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. After that I think I’ll go to bed, I’m really tired today and so was all at work so I guess we’re coming down with something.

 

DSC_0112

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “I managed not to get bitten.

  1. Nice to get some warmer weather for a change!

    Would love to have seen you pilling all those animals, especially the cats! LOL! I have four cats and one dog, I would rather pill the dog any day! I always wonder, how did it come about that all your dogs are black? Do you choose them intentionally, or is it a coincidence?

    I love the pictures of the mossy stumps, looks like a little fairy landscape…

    Keep warm, summers a comin’!

    • Hi Wendy!

      Yes it was even though it wasn’t especially warm to be honest🙂

      It was much less dramatic than it could have been🙂 My dogs never complain even though Nova looked as if she was meating death🙂 I was worried about Bertil though, he is nasty as it is even when he’s in a good mood🙂

      I’ve only had one dog in my life that wasn’t black and before I got Sune I had decided that I wouldn’t have a long haired, long eared black dog and came home with a dog that had all of those three things🙂🙂🙂 Orvar’s and Hector’s mother liverd here and she was black and her mother who also lived with me was black and their father that lived here when his owners were away was also black🙂 so that’s the reason they have their color. Nova came here as a rescue so I didn’t care about her color and Sune was so charming that I ´really couldn’t care about what color he had🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    My dogs were always much easier than the cats. Heck, even the horses were easier than the cats and they had a lot more weight and height to work with.
    My last cat, Monster, was the worst of all of them. I had to wrap him up in a towel like a baby in swaddling cloths just so he couldn’t get me with the claws. The teeth were a different problem but I managed not to get bitten either. He could be nasty.

    It’s 17ºF now, up from 11ºF. The sun is out but, as the weatherman said, it is an ineffective sun. Not warming anything very much. This deep cold is very wearying. It takes a lot of energy to go out in the cold and function especially when all you want to do is curl up in your warm fuzzy blanket, read books and sip tea.

    Enjoy the evening and get some rest.

    • Hi Caryn!

      All my dogs have been easy to give pills but most cats have been difficult. Well Mafalda would eat anything, even pills so she was never a problem🙂

      I think the wind is worse, I can take cold weather, especially if I don’t have to work. But I can’t stand thgis wind any more! But I do prewfer a warm blanket, a good book and lots of warm tea🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. haha…you are a braver man than i to give bertil that pill!!! it is really freezing here! i went up to the mountains today and froze my butt off up there. however, i heard we will have rain by the weekend. strange weather!

    • Hi Joyce!

      I had to put aside my fear of getting bitten and scratched by Bertiland give him that pill since he’s the reason they all need de-worming🙂 But I have to admit I was worried🙂

      I avoid mountains now, both cold and windy up on a mountain is nasty🙂

      It will be warmer here too soon they say and we all know how often they are right in their predictions🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,

    Be glad for the surprise. We are freezing here and they are now predicting 2-5 inches overnight.

    Cats are horrible taking pills. They say to wrap the cat totally in a towel and then give it the pill.My sister had a cat who had to take a pill a day so she used to hide it in a cat treat, and he never caught on to the ruse.

    Have a great evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      I am but it only lasted one day🙂 Now it’s back to cold again.

      Yes they are but it was much easier than I had feared. We used to have one de worming paste that my cats loved, it tasted liver so it was so easy to give it to them. I don’t know why they stopped selling it. It was a bit more expensive but I would pay twice if it was easier to give it to them🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Ha, ha! Jag kan se dig sittandes där på toalettstolen alldeles kallsvettig inför uppgiften!!🙂
    Hitintills har vi inte haft några problem alls med att ge Santos hans mediciner, jag kommer inte ens ihåg hur det gick till – så enkelt var det tydligen.🙂🙂
    Men med Penny var det en helt annan historia, hon var ju en riktig liten tuffing. Fast var man bara bestämd och körde ner tabletten i halsen och sen masserade den, då gick det. För bitas det gjorde hon inte. Men att lura henne med att lägga medicinen i leverpastej eller så…..det gick hon inte på, utan tabletten kom upp direkt!😦
    Här är vädret hemskt, så igår var jag faktiskt inte utanför dörren en enda gång.😦😦
    Rolle gick ut med Santos alla gånger och sen åkte han dessutom till Hemse och handlade, så jag slapp. Han passade nämligen på att skotta varje gång han var ute, för vår ingång blåste igen hela tiden. Det är urjobbigt med den här blåsten.😦😦😦 Sen behövde han några sista smågrejor till traktorn från järnaffären så han kunde göra den klar. Så jag hade en härlig dag igår! *fniss*🙂🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det gick faktiskt enklare än jag trodde det skulle men visst fruktade jag de där tänderna och en eventuell blodförgiftning🙂

      Jag har haft tur med hundar när det gäller piller, det brukar gå utan problem.

      Blåser något vanvettigt igen och jag är så trött på det nu! Jag är ju tvungen att gå ut vare sig jag vill det eller inte så det är bara till att bita ihop och le🙂 Skönt att du inte behövde gå ut själv i ovädret🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. I did not have to envy your snow photos today, Christer, as we had our own overnight snowfall and photos will be posted Thursday. Glad we don’t have any pets currently, even though we have each had them in the past. Giving meds to humans is difficult sometimes, especially children and pets would seem much harder. Nice to reacd in the relier post that one-eyed Rune is back again. Hope you are not catching anything and catch up on rest.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I’ll pop over later today so I can see those photos🙂

      We got some more snow during the night and more this afternoon but not enough for the plow guy to go out.

      I can’t say I enjoy the pill giving🙂 But the dogs are easy, they’ll eat anything🙂

      Yes it was so nice to see Rune again! I did worry that he had passed this autumn but here he is🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. It’s been my experience that you only get one shot with pilling an angry cat! LOL! After that they are ready for you and you have a hazardous battle. They sell “Pill Pockets” over here where you can put the pill in this soft “pocket” treat and squeeze it closed. Sometimes that works.
    I understand about the food. At work they had this just expired allergy food that they couldn’t sell so they gave it to me. My dogs LOVED it so I was going to buy more and found out that even with my discount it would be $100 dollars!
    OMG! yep, they will have to be happy with their regular food.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I have to admit that I’ve never heard of pill pockets before so I had to check it on the net🙂 Seems like a smart idea! I wonder if we have them over here too?

      Their regular food is good too but this one is like luxury good🙂 One bag half the size of the regular costed three times as much🙂 They’ll get that one again when I win the lottery🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

