A bad movie can be hilarious but a bad book is just bad.

A male Yellowhammer.

A male Yellowhammer.

The sun is shining and it’s around 2,5C (36,5F) outside, even the wind seems to have calmed down some but I’m indoors and really can’t enjoy it. I woke up in the middle of the night after having problems falling asleep at all with stomach cramps. When it stopped I started freezing instead and so it kept on all night. The nausea is gone now but that’s perhaps because I haven’t eaten anything, I’ve only had some sour milk. I’m still freezing though even if it is 25C (77F).

 

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

 

So I’ve spent most of the day reading Doctor sleep. I started yesterday evening and have now read through half the book. I can’t even find where I placed The Night Eternal and that says a lot about how bad it was🙂 I’m not even trying to remember it🙂 Doctor Sleep however is a book just in my taste and I got hooked already after thew first page, perhaps because I already know the main character, the boy from the Shining. I’m afraid that I’ll have read the entire book already by tonight so it’s a good thing I still have Dune to read.

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

 

It’s days like these that I’m glad I have a garden for my dogs to run around in but I need to keep an eye on especially Hector since he now days likes to take walks by himself and jumps the fence. Strange really since he sometimes look as if he can’t walk at all, especially when we’re heading towards some place he doesn’t care for, usually where they have electric fences. All dogs also have a tendency to eat all sunflower seeds on the ground, birds really make a mess when they are eating. Those seeds seems to work as a laxative for dogs and it’s enough with me at the moment🙂

 

DSC_0033

DSC_0035

DSC_0037

it’s time to make another pot of tea and go back to that book. I’ll let the dogs out for a while first, You can’t even imagine what four dogs with lots of energy will do to a home if they can’t get rid of it🙂

 

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “A bad movie can be hilarious but a bad book is just bad.

  1. Feel Better. I was down with a stomach virus last week. When you have other stomach issues I think it takes longer to bounce back. Also you have to be careful that you don’t have secondary issues. Mine this time was just a regular bug. Ugly and short lived.
    Enjoy that book.

    • Hi Debby!

      We have different stomach viruses going around here too so I’m not surprised I got one of them. The nausea is gone but now I’m hotter than h… and something has hit my hearing. Everything sounds a bit strange, like I was in another room trying to hear what’s happening in the real world🙂

      The book is really good!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!

      The stomach problems are gone I think, now I have a headache and fever instead🙂

      The night will be a bit cold but it’ll be warmer again tomorrow during the day.
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I agree, a bad movie you can just lay there and watch, maybe even appreciate the backgrounds but a book, if it’s bad, forget it! Sounds like I am going to have to read Doctor Sleep! I hope they have it on CD at the library. I enjoy listening to a good book too.
    I’m sick too. Not the stomach but more of the sore throat, ache all over, headache and slight cough kinda thing. I got it this weekend and didn’t get a thing accomplished so of course, that upset me.
    If my tummy hurts and is cranky, the only thing I want to eat is usually a Poptart! do they have Poptarts over there. They are made by Kellogg and the imitation ones are never as good as the real thing.
    Get well soon!

    • Hi Cindi!

      And if one’s lucky it’s so bad it’s fun🙂 But boring books have no chance of becoming anything else than boring🙂

      Yes I think it’s a really good book! I had to force myself to stop reading for a while, the heac ache helped with that decision🙂

      The stomach problems seems to be gone but I have a fever and a head ache and my nose is semi stuffed🙂 I have seen poptarts here too but I can’t say they are popular. We usually have cardamom crusts and tea when the stomach is unwell.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    It’s so awful waking up in the middle of the night and feeling gross. Spoils the sleep that you did manage to get. I hope you feel better soon.

    I have several books that have gone the way of The Night Eternal. They’re around the house somewhere but I’m not overly motivated to seek them out. Maybe if I decide to send a load of books to the used book store I might go looking for them.

    It’s snowing out. Big difference from yesterday’s warm temperatures. It’s around freezing. There is a bigger storm coming in a couple of days. Spring is so not close.

    Enjoy the book.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It was anything but nice and as You say, even if I slept in between I still was so tired when going up.

      I really need to pack all my books I don’t reador wnat in boxes and drive them to charity. I have loads of them, many half read, in bags and pikles all over the cottage🙂

      A bit chilly this evening but from what I know we won’t get any storms here. The wind is strong enoúgh as it is🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer.. sounds like you had a bit of stomach flu. I hope you are better. It’s still nice here..but at least it has cooled down a bit. A drop or two of rain..and I mean that. A DROP OR TWO. Probably two! So dry. I think Hector is like many people when they don’t want to do something. 🙂
    I am in the middle of a book that was made into a movie. Sense and Senseability. It’s billed as a classic. When I came across the book at a yard sale I grabbed it up..but..I got a surprise. It’s written in the Queen’s English. 🙂 I get so tickled sometimes at how they say things that I read it out loud to Howard. He actually bursts out laughing. I wonder if they do that when they read books written by America.
    The movie was and IS wonderful. I have watched it many times and don’t mind at all reading a book over many times if it is good. The same goes with movies! I love to watch them two, three or four times..if they are good. I see something different that I miss each time. It’s great!
    Stay warm. Don’t get any more ill than you are now.
    Oh..and try having seven children, in the house all day in rainy weather..I do NOT have low profile children..romping with each other was their favorite pastimes. THANK HEAVENS we had a television at times..it helped. Back then there was The Micky Mouse Club. They loved that…at least the older ones did. 🙂
    Yep..try seven young children all 13 and 14 months apart..and then a new baby. 🙂 Ah yes, those were the days my friend!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Well it’s something but it feels like there’s a cold hanging around as well. My nose is runny and my head is aching.

      I’m so glad it finally cooled down but too bad You didn’t get more rain.

      I’m one of those that can’t stand Jane Austen and her books🙂 We are few I know🙂 I’m never able to see through any of the movies made from her books no matter how great the actors are and lots of great actors have had parts in those movies.

      Queens English is what I speak and I have to admit I never read in American English when reading American books🙂 So all through Doctor Sleep they all spoke the Queens English🙂 I’ve tried to speak American English but it just soiunds very strange and odd🙂 I might get a word or two right but that’s it🙂
      I do re-read books too and it doesn’t matter how many times I’ve read them they are still as funny or scary as they were the first time🙂

      Suddenly it sounds quite ok to only have four restless dogs running around in my cottage🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    I’m sorry you’re not feeling good. It sounds like the flu which is an annual event here. I get a shot so I am generally lucky in not getting it, but I had it so badly one year I ended up sleeping on the bathroom floor to be close when I needed it.

    I have that book and haven’t started it yet. I’m in the middle of another book so I’ll start the King novel based on your liking it so much. I do the same thing as you with a book I like-read it constantly doing nothing else. Sometimes I read all night.

    Gracie would also be a jumper. She jumped the 6 foot fence when she was little and last summer jumped from the deck to the ground, two stories below the deck. She is also a runner if she gets out. I could kill her when she takes off on me. Luckily, though, she’ll go to anyone else and I’ll call my neighbor to whom she’ll run right away.

    Stay warm and feel better!

    • Hi Kat!

      I actually thought I’ve missed all the diseases this time but this one, what ever it is hit me when I wasn’t looking. It feels like I have both a cold and something stomach wise at the same time. Could be the flu, I’ve read that it can have these symptoms, if it is I have to admit it’s kind of kind one so far. I’ve taken one flu shot in my life and ended up just as sick anyway🙂

      I did like it a lot and I think we two have much the same taste when it comes to books (and movies). I have finished it now so today I’ll start with Dune🙂

      Thankfully all my dogs come back when I call, even Nova unless she’s spotted a hare🙂 Well she returns too but runs very fast inside up to my bed waiting to see if I’m angry🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

