Now on the the next book.

DSC_0003

I’ve finished the book Doctor Sleep and I must say I liked it a lot! But as You all know, taste is very personal so it might not be that You like it as much as I did. Fo me it’s a re-reader perhaps already this year. So today I’ll start reading Dune, a really thick Scifi book with over 580 pages with small text.

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

DSC_0017

Looking out the window it looks like we’re going to get a day almost as nice as we had yesterday. I went up to the mailbox this morning because I had forgotten to do so yesterday, who knows there might be something fun in it even if I don’t expect anything. There was nothing fun in it, just a letter from my insurance company telling me a new season had started and that they will redraw money from my account every month. It wasn’t that nice outside but then the sun hadn’t shown, it tries to look through the clouds now though so I’m hoping it will melt away even more of the snow we still have left.

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

As You understand nothing much is happening here so I’ll just go upstairs to have a nap and perhaps start with Dune just before that. The fire will be burning in the stove and tea will be made all day.

DSC_0055

DSC_0057

DSC_0059

Have a great day!

By the way! I think it was Longhorn that came for a visit yesterday but it was so dark it was hard to see.

DSC_0023

12 thoughts on “Now on the the next book.

  1. That was fast reading! I find Stephen King too scary🙂 Especially since I only have time to read before bed…
    I hope you enjoy Dune – there are plenty to follow if you do!
    Have a great day; I am off to work😦
    Alice

    • Hi Alice!

      I always read fast if I like the book🙂 But normally it’s bedtime when I get a chance to read as well. Some of Stephen King’s books have scared me so badly🙂 Especially Cujo and it wasn’t the rabid dog that scared me, rabis dogs can be taken care of. IOt was the monster in the closet I have a rather fun but slightly embarrasing history about something that happened while I was reading Cujo, I might write about it again later on🙂

      Have a great day at work!
      Christer.

  2. small print and sci-fi? doubt if I could even start that!
    but I will have to get a copy of Doctor Sleep!
    Yes! please post about your embarrassing history!😀 I would probably enjoy that.
    I’m sick right now. Everyone at work is sick too. I want to go home but I need the cash…
    I might just go home anyway. Darn it!😦
    It’s supposed to snow 3 – 5 inches tonight, so maybe I can beat the snow if I leave early?
    really, I just want to go.
    love that Bertil.

    • Hi Cindi!
      🙂

      Yes Doctor Sleep is a must if You like Stephen King.

      It seems many of us have one thing or the other now, the blessing of winter🙂🙂 What ever I have it has now moved to my ears. Everytime I say something it sport of shouts in my ears, very odd!

      It’s always a dilemma when feeling sick. Stay and perhaps give it to all You work with or go home and lose money. I chosed the last this time and getting home before the snow starts to fall is a reason good enough🙂

      Have a great day and take care!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    There hasn’t been anything fun in my mail for awhile either. I must remedy that soon.🙂
    Dune is a large book. It’s one of the old style sci fi books that tells a long and involved story with lots of character development. I loved it. If you like it too, don’t bother reading any of the sequels. I tried. Bad. Very bad.

    I’m glad to hear that Longhorn might still be around. I can’t remember if you said you’d seen Doris or not.

    It sounds like your ears or sinuses are blocked up. When that happens to me my voice sounds very loud but everything else sounds muffled. It’s as if my voice sound waves were trapped inside my head and couldn’t get out. Not pleasant. I usually put some muscle rub on the side of my neck behind my ears. One of those rubs that warms up after you put it on. I have no idea if it has any therapeutic value but it makes me feel better and that’s all that counts. A heating pad would work, too, but it’s not as portable and doesn’t have the added benefit of keeping people away because of the awful peppermint smell.😀

    It’s sunny here and right around freezing. The snow from yesterday has melted off the car but not from much else. Storm number 2 comes before dawn tomorrow and it’s supposed to be a biggy. 10 to 12 inches maybe. I’m glad I don’t have to go anywhere.

    Enjoy the day and rest up.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I did however get a reminder that I haden’t looked at an e-mail card Kat sent me. The problem is that I never got the original mail telling me she had sent me one🙂 So It was a new years card, the Chinese new year so that was a really nice surprise🙂

      Yes Dune seems to be the War and Peace of the Scifi literature🙂 So far I like it a lot but perhaps I should have bought it in Swedish, it would have been easier at least in the beginning🙂

      It is Longhorn, he came early yesterday but ran away like crazy as soon as I went outside with their food. Rune and his lady however just jumped outside the fence and waited until I was around the cottage until they jumped right back in. Longhorn has always been skittish. Doris isn’t around it seems. She used to be with Rune but he has another lady with him now.

      It’s more like a metallic sound in my ears, every time I say something this metallic sound sort of screams in my ears. I’m not disturbed by any other sounds, just my own voice.

      No more snow here for a while but no sun either according to the predictions. Well, as long as it’s above F I’m happy🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I’ve heard of the books you are reading but I am not a huge fan of science fiction. Biography’s, Historical novels are probably my favorites. I do like fiction..thinking I should maybe try some Sci Fi and see what it’s like.
    Super natural books interest me a lot..mostly if they are of ones actual experience. Documentary’s..those are great. Same with films.
    And…:) I see you posted a picture of my cat. :):) LOVE that cat!! He has that “Don’t fool with me..” look on his face.🙂 Never fails to make me grin.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      I’ve always loved scifi books and movies, to be honest I like most styles but as Yopu know by now not books like the ones Jane Austin wrote🙂🙂🙂 Not much of a fan of romantic books at all I’m afraid🙂

      Yes I had one with Bertil and thought You all would like it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    I love Dune and some of the sequels though others I didn’t care for and two of them I never finished. One of the Dune movies, the one made for TV, is pretty good, but the other, made for the movie theaters, is awful.

    I need to start a new book so now I’ll start the King as I have had it for a while.

    More snow coming starting overnight into tomorrow, but we are getting the least amount. My sister in Colorado had a temperature of 4˚ F today. This winter seems to go on forever.

    Have a great night.

    • Hi Kat!

      I rarely read sequels unless it has been made clear thge story is a triology or what ever they intended from the beginning.

      I do like Doctor Sleep but I didn’t think it was especially scary but very interesting. The carachters fascinated me and I really wanted to know how it all would end.

      No more snow on its way to us they say and they also say temperatures will be above 32F during days so I hope most of the snow will melt away before the cold weather returns again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Guillaume!

      I’m glad You like them🙂

      Everyone loves that cat and it’s just because You don’t ever have to meet him🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

