You know it’s time to go to work when You feel bored at home.

DSC_0001

I never feel bored at home while being sick so when I do I know it’s time to go back to work again. I’m not totally back to normal though, that sort of screaming sound in my ears when I talk is still there but it’s not as bad as it was before. The day passed fairly quickly and tomorrow is a work day like Fridays always are. This week will pass quickly🙂

I thought I saw something big and black in the Birch tree one day.

I thought I saw something big and black in the Birch tree one day. It was a Black Grouse rooster. Normally they are so shy they fly away as soon as they suspect someone is near. The photos aren’t esåpecially good and it’s because I had to cut away most of the photo to make the rooster bigger.

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

The days are getting longer and longer now. I would lie if I said we had daylight when I come home but it’s at least not pitch black any longer. It was just enough light left so I could see where the icy spots were when I went out to feed the deers and birds, still I managed to do some acrobatic moves worthy a show on Cirque de Soleil🙂

DSC_0036

DSC_0044

DSC_0046

My car started to hack on my way home from work last week, only when I wanted to accelerate otherwise it behaved like normal. It got a bit worse every day and I hate when things like that happens! I thought it might be the car fuel filter that was clogged but wasn’t sure. So I opened the engine compartment to see if I could find the filter, which I of course couldn’t. But I did find lots of mouse shit all over the engine (now I have an explanation to why the car smelled odd after driving🙂 ) so I drove to the store and bought new ignition wires. Once mice had chewed off all the plastic on the cables in another car I once had.

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

DSC_0054

It feels like magic when swapping those and the car once again behaves as it should🙂 There were a few bite marks on the cables and that was enough to make the engine work strangely. Still I’m going to the garage next week to fix the brakes on the back wheels because they don’t work as good as they should. The garage owner said he’ll have a car that I can borrow so I don’t have to take the day off🙂 I’ll go a bit early though because they close at the same time I stop working and I never mind going early🙂

DSC_0061

DSC_0062

DSC_0063

I’ve bought more tea because I drank the last I had yesterday and I’m out of coffee too. I’ll make a pot or two and I guess I should make something to eat as well, I’m not especially hungry even if  I feel ok. That’s a sign that I must be ill because I’m always hungry🙂

DSC_0058

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “You know it’s time to go to work when You feel bored at home.

    • Hi Joyce!

      It is our next biggest fowl, only the Western Capercaillie is bigger and that bird very big and aggressive too🙂

      Yes and I guess they like the heat on the engine after I’ve been driving but why do they feel the need to chew on everything?

      I’m happy as long as I don’t feel nausea, not being hungry is just a bonus I think🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Christer,
    I had a mouse who electrocuted himself by biting into my electrical wires in the cellar. He cut electricity to the back half of my house, but there wasn’t any smell like in your car.

    I too have noticed that the days are getting longer. I’m going to have to reset my outside lights to come on later as it is light out now when they come on in the yard.

    Keep feeling better!

    • Hi Kat!

      It’s nasty when they chew on cords in the house, so many fires ghave been started that way. Thankfully I only feel the smell around the engine while it’s still hot and not isnide the car but I gyess both mouse pee and shit gets boiled on that engine🙂

      It’s so nice to see some daylight when I go outside the factory, it gives me a feel of hope for a warmer furure🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Awesome pictures! Love those dogs! My auto mechanic said that if you put those smelly dryer sheets, that people put in their clothes dryer for softness and static cling, in your car and engine compartment, it will keep those nasty mice away. I would imagine you should find a way to secure them or they may become a problem, but, hey, it might be worth a try…

    • Hi Wendy!

      I’m glad You like them🙂

      I’ll see if I can find those dryer sheets, I know I’ve seen them for sale somewhere and I guess it’s the super market.

      Yes best to secure them so they don’t start burning in the engine compartment🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Cars! I don’t understand anything machicanical. If something stops running..I walk..to the nearest service center for help.
    As far as what rats or mice eat..it’s amazing. I once went to a feed store for birdseed and was amazed at how they had to store anything of that nature. Now this was the most shocking thing..there was a metal door to the shop and the corner of the door was nearly chewed away from rats attempting to get in! They chewed on metal!
    Not at all surprised that they chew through cables in your car.
    Your dogs look SO happy to be out frolicking in the snow with one another! What a great sight!!🙂

    • Hi Mona!

      I’ve built almost an entire car when I worked at Volvo, still I have absolutely now idea how things work🙂🙂

      Yes they can eat through almost anything, I’ve seen them trying to chew through glass. Not such a good idea because theyt had been bleeding quite a lot. I once had a tame rat called Hamlet, the kindest animal in the world and thankfully he only chewed on things I gave him🙂 Those teeth are strong and keep on growing all their lives.

      They do love to play in the snow🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christter –
    Sorry to hear you have been sick again, but hopefully you are on the road to recovery. I saw that you finished Doctor Sleep and liked it. I ordered the book this morning and should have it in 5-6 days. I read King’s Under the Dome last year and it was good too. It is a much longer book which I like because I tend to read books like tend to be a fast read for me.
    I have never heard of a Black Grouse Rooster. It looks strange to see a bird like that up in a tree. even though it is a larger bird, the thin branch it is perched on barely bends under its weight. Is it a game bird that people hunt? The dogs sure do seem to like to chase & roughhouse.in the snow.
    That is not good that rodents are getting up in your car engine. Red hot mouse crap does not sound very appealing. Here people have a bad time with squirrels eating through all their wiring & cables. That happens mostly in the city. Last year people were really angry because they would pay to have their cars fixed and a couple of days later the same thing had happened. I guess they thought that when the squirrels saw the new cables they wouldn’t want to do more damage? I think if someone invented something that could rodent proof cars they would be rich very quickly.
    We are about to get a big snow storm. It has done from 55 degrees to 5 degrees with the wind chill..The major freeway that goes from Canada to Mexico is about a half mile from my house and it closed this morning about 30 miles north of here because they got the snow first and there is a 30 car pile-up and another multi-car accident 5 miles from that one and now cars are backed up for miles and the snow plows cannot clear the lanes. I cannot imagine having thousands of car in this weather and there is nowhere for anyone to divert traffic. We should get 8 inches today and more tomorrow. I do not mind the snow at all since I don;t work or have any appointments.We are also going to get freezing rain before it warms up and we usually lose power when that happens, No heat when it is so cold would not be my idea of fun. The snow that is causing white out conditions
    I am totally out of cat food. I will have to make a quick run to the neighborhood store because I do not want to be snowbound with a hungry & angry old cat. Toby has gotten so picky about what she eats and she is so thin now with old age that I am trying all kinds of cat food to her to eat a few bites a day.
    Feel better soon.

    • Hi Ellen!

      I had hoped my stomach would be a less easy target now when I drink that medicine but I guess a sensitive stomach gets it anyway🙂 But I’m better now and the awful sound in my ears are better as well.

      It was a long time since I read anything new by King, I did however re read Salem’s Lot and it’s still pretty nasty🙂 But I feel I’ll order more books written by him now. If I’m patient and wait 5-6 days I don’t have to pay the shipment costs and that I like. The books tend to be cheaper if I buy the English wersions too.

      Black Grouse’s are very beautiful if one ghet the chance to come close in spring when the roosters tries to impress the hen. Otherwise it’s just a big black bird🙂

      I’m hoping it was just the cold weather that made the mice climb up in the engine compartment. It was even worse when I had my car in the garage so I had to have it outside instead. Now my garage is a big storage place for garden things🙂 I agree, that person would be very rich indeed!

      I’m so glad that I can say it’s too warm for any snow storm here right now but winter’s far from being over yet. We had rain today with a few snowflakes mixed in it but that’s it. Freeze rain is very unusual here thankfully and so is power loss too. But I have my faithful stove to keep me warm and to cook food on even if i wouldn’ty have any electricity.

      My cats only accepts only one brand of dry cat food so they rather starv than eat anythibg else, Cats!

      Have a great day and I hope that power stays!
      Christer.

  5. It’s amazing but I don’t have mice anymore, now that I’ve cleared my backyard and the ravine. There must have been mice down there and they must have moved to a yard with more foliage? But I haven’t seen one forever…or maybe my cats are just taking care of them all. Hmmm.
    The days seem longer, much longer but only when I am at work.😉
    I’m at work right now and I’m thinking of leaving early because I’m still very sick.
    I won’t have come in at all if I had any sick time left. I won’t have any until the end of March and then it’s only 24 hours for the whole year…oh well.
    Lucky for me, I only have 4 dogs boarding here today. If it was a full house, I’d probably die.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Well I have my garage and the spot I park on just beside the bog🙂 But I think they climbed up in the engine compartment just because it has been cold lately and I hope it will end now when it’s fairly warm again.

      Today was slow as melasses even if it only was a half day🙂 I’m glad we have another system when it comes tl stay at home due to being sick. But still, it’s one day without pay and that can hurt sometimes when the bills keep flowing in🙂

      Have a great day and get well!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    When I worked I had that same feeling. If I was bored at home, it was time to go back to work. Since I’ve retired, though, I never get bored at home. I don’t know why that is.

    I spent the morning clearing away snow. We got about a foot. Maybe more. It’s weird but I don’t mind clearing the steps and the walkways and Rocky’s business area but I really, really hate doing the driveway and the frozen barrier that the town plow leaves. What I shovel must be about as much as the driveway and plow row but it seems much less somehow. Probably because it’s several small areas instead of one vast expanse of white crap.🙂
    By 10 AM this morning I had done the shoveling, done the laundry, made breakfast, fed the dog, cleaned off the car and washed some dishes. I think I have accomplished enough for the day so I will goof off for the rest of it.

    Glad that you are feeling bored enough and well enough to go back to work even with metallic screaming in your ears.🙂 The weekend is near, though, so it won’t be too bad.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes, when one is ill there’s no risk of feeling bored🙂 and I can’t really go out to have fun while being home sick🙂 I do long for retirement🙂

      No snow here, just rain. Well there were a few flakes in the rain but it’s to warm rioght now fore any risk that it would stay🙂
      I think You deserv a big bowl with ice cream after all that shoveling🙂 and a nice nap🙂

      The wekend is here and now >I don’t care about that strange noise in my ears🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

