Some are just programmed wrong.

A few places still have snow left on the ground.

A few places still have snow left on the ground.

The rain has been falling a big part of the day and even if there were a few snow flakes mixed in there was no risk what so ever that it would stay on the ground. It’s unusually warm for early February and I like it a lot. I got a bit surprised when I came home, both the old dogs had been in the dog house all day it seems because both were dry and clean! There’s a first time for everything I guess🙂

DSC_0048

DSC_0051

DSC_0052

The last seed order for this season arrived yesterday and to my surprise some of the seeds (Ranzania japonica) had already started to germinate. I don’t mind that but I have already some space problems with pots in my windows and this doesn’t help🙂 In also got a bit puzzled since they shouldn’t start germinate without a cold period. Some seeds are programmed wrong but this were a bit too many so I use Facebook to ask my fellow garden nerds how I should continue with the rest of those seeds. Amongst the seeds I ordered were also some Manchurian walnuts (Juglans mandshurica), I really want to have walnuts in my garden one day so I’m trying different species just in case any of them is hardy enough🙂

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

DSC_0055

I also checked the seeds I already have and all of the acorns that were left now have small roots and also some of the old magnolia seeds from last year had germinated now, more space problems🙂 But I’ll place them all down in the cool cellar as soon as they have started to grow some, if I place them beneath the green house lamp they’ll have it warm enough until I can place them outdoors.

DSC_0060

DSC_0063

DSC_0065

There’s nothing worth watching on tv tonight so I’ll watch the news and then I’ll continue to read Dune, if I don’t fall asleep in front of the tv that is🙂 So it’s time to make a pot of tea and perhaps something to eat as well.

DSC_0057

DSC_0068

DSC_0070

Have a great day!

DSC_0067

10 thoughts on “Some are just programmed wrong.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Your TV programing in Sweden must be very different than it is here. There TOO much to watch here..so I seldom watch anything and prefer a book, which I always have several going at one time, to watching a movie on my Kindle Fire. Do you have those in Sweden? I’m sure you do. I can purchase movies from Amazon for $1.99 an episode if I miss it on TV..but we usually record the good programs to watch later. Such as Downton Abby. 🙂 Have a wonderful, peaceful and restful weekend, Christer. Such beautiful woods you live near.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Well I only have the seven free channels, I refuse to pay for more since there’s usually only one or two programs that I want to see and the rest is usually just crap🙂 I don’t know how it works in the US but here we have to prescribe to different packages, that means that I get the chamel I want but I’m also forced to have several others I don’t want. I would gladely only prescribe to the channel I want and not have to pay for perhaps five or ten more I don’t want.

      But I did turn on the Knowledge channel and they show a few really good programs today so I’ve watched them instead of reading🙂

      I’m not sure I have Kindle but we have several similar here.

      I will have a very calm and relaxing weekend🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Looks like you’ll have a crowded root cellar for awhile. I hope all the seeds make to spring.

    Our snow has been replenished and it’s glittering white outside again. Wicked cold, too.
    One good thing about this last storm is that I discovered why I was having trouble with the steering in the jeep. I went to put the jeep in 4WD to move it for the plow only to discover that I had been driving around in 4WD since the last storm and didn’t know it. The steering has stopped doing the weird thing it was doing but I hope I haven’t screwed up the 4WD.

    Rocky was desperately looking for the door into summer this morning. He knows I have hidden it somewhere and can’t understand why I won’t put it out there for him. I keep telling him if I could, I would and I’d follow him through it.

    He asked to go out about 5 times in 45 minutes this morning though he’d done all his business. Each time he would turn around and come right back in. Once, when I sat down on the top step, he sat with me for a bit but then wanted in again. Once, we started out for a walk, got about 50 yards and he wanted back home again.
    On the 5th request for the door into summer I gave up and took him to day care. He can stay inside and play with other dogs or go outside and play with other dogs, as he likes.
    Part of his angst is that he wants to poop on the top of the 10 foot snow mound next to my neighbor’s driveway but he can’t get there through the deep snow. He keeps trying. He wants me to shovel a path for him. Sorry, but no. I will do a lot of things for Rocky but that isn’t one of them.🙂

    Weekend has arrived. Enjoy the news or the nap.

    • Hi Caryn!

      You cruel woman, of course You should wade through all that snow and place him at the top of that snow mound🙂🙂🙂 I have to admit that I’m rather happy that my dogs are so much bigger and don’t get bothered about deep snow, Nova might not like it but she will go out to do her business without my help🙂 I wasn’t that happy the other day when someone of them reached the bread I just had baked and ate it all when I wasn’t looking🙂🙂🙂

      I don’t think You’ve screwed up the 4WD, it should be able to take that for quite some time. After all if You need it for a longer period of time You just can’t stop because the 4WD wouldn’t take it after a while.
      If You find that door to summer please let me know! We’re desperately looking for it over here too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. i agree with mona…..i can’t keep up with how much TV there is here. there is way too much to watch. plus now the olympics are on which is fun! maybe it is time to build your greenhouse this spring?

    • Hi Joyce!

      I only have the seven free channels because if I want to prescribe for another I’ll also have to pay for several I don’t want. It’s a useless system we have over here. I would gladely pay some extra if I only got that one channel I want though but over here we prescribe to different packages of channels. But I found some good programs on thge Knowledge channel that I’ve watched now.

      My plans are always five year plans so I guess it’s close to that green house now but then again I have the pond to think of as well🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Jaså, det har regnat!? Här har det bara varit grått – grått – grått men trots det så tog vi oss 10 mil norrut på ön för att titta på en “leksak” till Rolle. Han har nämligen renoverat klart den andra traktorn, så nu måste han ha nått nytt kul att sätta fingrarna på.
    Det blev en riktigt trevlig utflykt och Santos fick det extra kul eftersom dom hade en 2-årig tik på stället vi var till. Visserligen var hon ungefär 5-6 gånger så stor och hög som honom, men hon var riktigt snäll. Så dom enda gångerna han blev lite rädd var när hon kom springande i tvåhundra rätt mot honom, men hon stannade precis innan hon puttade till honom (och han morrade) och sen jagade hon honom bara. Så han var rätt trött när vi kom hem…..
    TREVLIG HELG
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jo det regnade på rätt bra här ett tag, men än finns det snö kvar. Hoppas det smälter bort redan inatt!

      Är han redan klar med den traktorn!

      Kan tänka mig att han är trött efter att ha sprungit omkring så🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. I need to go get some seeds.
    sadly I don’t feel like getting up out of this chair.
    I want to start some Morning Glories. That’s my plan for this year, to have a zillion Morning Glories and to line all the fences around my house and block everyone out.
    Although I wish for retirement, maybe it’s a good thing I’m not there yet or I would just order stuff off of the Internet to be delivered to my door and never venture out. Hmmm. sounds heavenly.
    good luck with your seeds, too bad you don’t have that window/greenhouse finished! Ha!
    we had snow yesterday and today it’s sub-zero temps.
    I can’t wait for Spring when I can get out to the yard and work on my projects.

    • Hi Cindi!

      It would work with a green house a winter like this but a normal winter I would have to have extra heat in there and that wiould cost a fortune I’m afraid🙂 I would love morning glories too but I would have to start them now but not being able to plant them outdoors unbtil late May🙂 We get frost nights here until the first week in June and morning glories just don’t like frost, in fact they tend to die🙂 But I have a relative to them that I’ll sow in March.

      I can understand how nice it would be to just order things on the internet but I have thgis thing that stops me most of the time, I want to be able to see and hold the things I buy🙂 I only buy seeds and a few times plants on the net. I’m glad I am like that because that keeps me from spending lots of money🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

