This is my kind of winter.

DSC_0009

We’ve had almost sunshine a big part of the day and when the temperature went up to 5C (41F) one could think it would be rather wonderful outside, after all it is still winter and usually we have way much colder than this in February. But the strong wind has once again returned so it was only nice when we could walk in the forest. I love walking there but I feel that the only thing I take photos of now is the creek or the bog 🙂

 

On our way to the creek.

On our way to the creek.

DSC_0081

DSC_0082

 

It looks as if all plants but one that I’ve placed down in the cool cellar has survived so far and that’s a good result. It’s always tricky because how much water should a sleeping plant have? too little and it dries out and too much and it rots. The greenhouse lamp makes it warm during the day and when it shuts down it gets cold rather quickly, not easy for a small plant to adjust to that. It never knows if it is time to start growing or if it just should continue to stay asleep.

 

DSC_0084

I wasn't sure if the ground here was still frozen enough to walk on. I did sink down a lot in some places but it worked mostly well in the middle of the road.

I wasn’t sure if the ground here was still frozen enough to walk on. I did sink down a lot in some places but it worked mostly well in the middle of the road.

DSC_0088

 

I have a wireless internet connection, my laptop is like a giant mobile phone so I can send text messages without any problems to any other mobile phone but today I wanted to send a photo from my computer but it seems impossible to do so. Strange that my mobile phone actually can do thing my much more powerful laptop can’t? For a while I got some text messages from Bosnia wishing me happy holidays when ever there was a Muslim holiday going on. They dialed the wrong number every now and again until I texted them (with the help of Google, thank You) that they came to me instead of the one they wanted. I miss those messages in a way 🙂

 

DSC_0097

DSC_0099

DSC_0100

 

Channel Six will show the second episode of the third season of Grimm today and the first one was really good! So I’ll watch that show and after that it’s the second program in the Swedish Eurovision Song Contest. Last week was so bad that if it wasn’t for the fun text messages my sister and I send each other during the contest I would have gone to bed. Normally they have the best songs in the first show so I dread what might come this time 🙂

 

DSC_0103

DSC_0105

DSC_0106

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. It’s an hour left before I give all the dogs and cats their food but I’ve already given the deers their even if they won’t come for yet another hour or so. I’ve heard we’ve gotten our first silver medal in the Olympics, Yay for us 🙂

 

DSC_0072

DSC_0076

The hole is well used and I wonder by whom. A fox?

The hole is well used and I wonder by whom. A fox?

Have a great day! 

14 thoughts on “This is my kind of winter.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Your area looks a lot less wintery than mine. Somehow that doesn’t seem right. 🙂
    I have cold temperatures, brilliant sunshine, bright blue skies and blinding white snow all over everything. Most water is frozen over. Bah!

    Bertil looks very alert. Wild hogs up ahead, perhaps?

    Rocky is still looking to climb the snow mound. I put him where he could get to it on his own but he didn’t like that idea either. He is perfectly able to get through the snow and do whatever he wants up there without my assistance. And he isn’t going to get it. 🙂

    Didn’t we just have the Eurovision Song contest not too long ago? It can’t have been a year gone by so fast already.
    Oh well.
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes it does and I can only say I love it 🙂 But the wind keeps howling out there and I wonder how it can have all that energy all the time?

      I’m not sure if it was hogs or moose. I didn’t see signs of either but it smelled of moose in many places so I guess there are a few out there now. We didn’t have moose here for years but it looks as if they have returned again.

      I guess Rocky feels You should climb that mould and place him at the top and doesn’t he deserv it 🙂 🙂 🙂

      The Eurovision never seem to end 🙂 now we have all those sort of semifinals for four or five more weeks and then we have the Swedis final. After that we have the European semi finals and after that the big finale finally comes 🙂 From what I’ve heard this night will be even worse than last week 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • No Rocky does not deserve it. He climbed the stairs and pooped in the upstairs hallway. Several times. The anti-poop beeper is now on the top step.

      • Hi Caryn!

        I have to agree with You on that! Why on earth are some dogs so picky on where to do it? Sune and Hector doesn’t care at all, Nova can sometimes be just impossible if she can’t reach that perfect spot and Orvar just walks arounds and poos at the same time, heä’s especially proud if he can spread it where everybody walks 🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  2. It was actually 47 degree’s this morning on the patio. Nice. But of course it is already in the process of warming up. I think over 60 today. It’s been an even 60 during the day every single day.
    Yep..Bertil has that “Whaaaat..was that..did you hear that..shhhhh…” look on his face. 🙂 The snow, the water, there tree’s and interesting stumps.. Wonderful!
    I love wind…not sure why, but I always have. Seems to give tree’s a special living movement..and everything else too. 🙂
    Take good care, Christer.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      That cool? Well for us it’s spring temperatures and almost warm 🙂 🙂 Long time since we reached those temperatures here.

      I have an even better photo of Bertil taken just a sacond after this one but I won’t show it until later next week.

      I liked the wind so much better when I had my sail boat, because I didn’t hav an engine 🙂 It’s fun really, it never blows on days one wish it, like hot ones. It only blows when it makes it nasty to be outside like now in winter 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • No they sold the rights to a company hat only can reach almost 80% of the population. I could of course prescribe to those channes but why? They usually only show crap the rest of the time and I would most likely have to have it for a year or two. I like the olympics but not that much 🙂

      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    You looks less like winter than we do, and it is cold. It only got to the 20’s (F) today and will be in the teens tonight. My house is cold so I turned up the heat 1 degree which actually made a big difference. We won’t get near the 40’s until next Thursday.

    I am watching the worst movie, King Kong vs. Godzilla. It has people speaking English to other characters who respond in Japanese. The movie was made in 1962 so you can only imagine the special effects. I love the trains. They look so fake.

    I watched some of the Olympics today and some tonight. I like watching them in real time on the computer. Tonight I got tired of the ice skating so I figured I’d watch the movie.

    Have a great Sunday!

    • Hi Kat!

      I like that a lot 🙂 But this is the exeption to the rule, this time of year we’re normally down below -20F or worse so I am enjoying this so much 🙂

      I’ve seen that film when I was a child 🙂 They had a period here when they showed all those Japanese movies on national tv. They are so bad that they are hilarious 🙂 One of my favorites, can’t remember the name, is when Godzill fights against a giant spider and if I remember right Godzilla also had a baby it protected. I think it was a bad en for all of them 🙂

      No Olympics here, I even forgot to listen to the radio. I’ll read what happens during the day on either my computer or the text tv.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I have wireless internet but I can’t text from my laptop.
    or can I?
    hmmm, I am probably not using this to it’s full potential.
    oh well!
    my cell phone now is just a Tracfone where every single thing uses at least a 1/2 minute. if I send a pic, it’s a full minute. I barely use it any longer.
    Suddenly I find that I carry on a lot more conversations via Facebook and private messaging.
    I have long conversations there and I still can flip through other posts as i do so.
    Jeez, how did we survive without all the technology before?
    I’m jealous that you have such good weather. But then again if it was that warm today I would be forced to go outside and scoop poop and I’m still too sick and have no energy to do that.
    So, I guess I’m glad it’s cold? what a paradox.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I think You should be able too, do You have 4G? It might be that You need that to be able to send text messages. But then again I could do it when I had 3G internet.

      My mobile phone sends a photo within seconds and it’s three years old 🙂 Facebook is great that way, isn’t it amazing that I can chat with You on the other side of the ocean in real time! Most I have conversations with are pretty slow though and that sort of annoyes me 🙂 🙂

      I did my scooping last weekend so I put a blind eye to the new that’s there now 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a comment