They are still here.

DSC_0003

Almost as warm today as it was yesterday but the sun has only appeared for a tiny short while. The wind however is as strong as it has been for a couple of weeks now. I guess I shouldn’t complain about the wind now when it brings us warmer weather. Almost all snow is gone now, only the big piles created by the wind drift is still left and some on places the sun didn’t reach while it was here. The sun is up 33 more minutes today than it was one week ago, too bad we see it so little.

 

DSC_0007

DSC_0010

DSC_0012

The song contest was even worse yesterday and it’s amazing that from all those over 3000 songs people have sent in these are the best they could find🙂 It looks as if they have found one song that is a clear winner each time and the rest of the songs are just filling to make time pass by🙂

 

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

 

The laundry is done and that was all I had to do today so I’m thinking of a nap time and some dinner making, after that I’m not sure what to do. I have the feeling I’ve forgotten something but I guess if I have it will turn up in my head sooner or later. The fire is burning in the stove and I guess I’ll keep it alive all day. The wind chills out everything even if it actually is rather warm, I guess it’s the humidity that is to blame for that.

 

We went down to the creek to see if the beavers had started to repaire whewre the water flows and it sure klooks like it. I couldn't say but doesn't that look like a big tree trunk?

We went down to the creek to see if the beavers had started to repair where the water flows and it sure looks like it. I couldn’t say but doesn’t that look like a big tree trunk?

DSC_0038

DSC_0040

 

But first I’ll read the news if we’ve won any more medals in the Olympics today, one silver medal in cross-country skiing again but I think we might have the chance in some other sports too today. Of course I’ll make myself a pot of tea too, can’t live without it really🙂

 

At least I know the beavers still are around because this is made very recently.

At least I know the beavers still are around because this is made very recently.

DSC_0043

DSC_0044

 

Have a great day!

 

I wonder if the flag is up because of the silver medal?

I wonder if the flags are up because of the silver medal?

14 thoughts on “They are still here.

  1. I can’t believe that the water isn’t frozen!
    Everything here is inches deep of pure ice.
    I’m starting to think that it will never be warm again.😦

    • Hi Cindi!

      It’s so nice and warm here now and I just love it🙂 But we can have bitterly cold winter here all the way to May so it can turn any day still.

      Spring and summer will come soon enough and then we can complain about how hot it is🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I had 6 deer in the back yard this morning. I knew they were back there because my vacant lot which had been an unbroken expanse of snow at 9AM this morning suddenly had lots of big drag trails across it. They started at the street and headed towards the woods. What mystifies me is that the deer had to have crossed the street sometime between 9AM and 11AM when I next went out. And they had to have gone leaping right by the window where I was sitting.
    They don’t sell deer food around here so I can’t put any out for them and I can’t get way down back where they like to feed anyway. They seem fairly healthy looking and are having a great time nibbling the twigs and buds on the bushes down there so probably they don’t need it.

    It does look like the beavers are making an attempt to repair the gap. You’ll know for sure if that birch log they chewed suddenly shows up at the pipe.🙂

    It’s partly cloudy and a balmy 27ºF here. Rocky and I have been for several short walks this morning. He is still trying to conquer the snow mound.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Six of them and You didn’t notice them🙂 Well they are masters of walking very quiet. But if You do want to feed them even if it sounds as if You really don’t need to horse food works fine too. I buy something we call horse müslie when they are out of deer food. They say it’s almost as good and it’s actually slightly cheaper. But if You start feeding them You must continue until they can find their normal food again.

      I think they are and I was so glad to see signs that they still are around and alive🙂

      It is odd that it’s warmer here now but I feel we deserv it after some really nasty winters. For once I feel that the arctic cold has flown down on the right side of our globe🙂

      Poor Rocky🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Bertil looks so..intelligent! Makes you wonder what goes on in his head.
    I am pretty unhappy with our media here! They keep belaboring that silly glitch in the opening ceremony with the Olympic rings. It’s embarrassing!! Such bad manners! To point out short comings of ones host country..is…just a terrible way to behave.
    Ok..that said..about that tree trunk! LOL :):)
    Some beaver has definitely been at work at that little log..what a great area to live in..so pretty. I think your Winter missed you and went to the U.S.
    If I remember right..you had a LOT more snow a couple of years ago.

    • Hi Mona!

      I think he’s planning to take over the world🙂

      I hadn’t even heard about any problems with the olympic rings🙂 But anything can happen during the opening ceremonies we all know that. We are more conserned about getting more medals than Norway wich we won’t since Norway is amongst the big countries when it comes to winter sports🙂

      I’m so glad I finally saw signs that they still are around🙂 I’m pretty sure that tree will end up as a repare piece where the road fell appart🙂

      Yes we had loads of snow two winters ago and I’m so glad winter decided to visit the American continent this time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. it is snowing like crazy here right now. i am really enjoying the olympics. it looks like norway might win a bunch of gold medals. the athletes are all so impressive. those beavers take their job seriously!

    • Hi Joyce!

      More snow! I’m happy for You!

      Yes Norway will take loads of medals like they always do. They are not even five million people in that country and still they take almost as many medals as the USA and Russia🙂 They are truly amazing when it comes to winter sports! I admire any athlete that makes it to the olympics!

      Yes they sure do and I’ll go down there next week to see how the work is progressing.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    We have ice on the ponds, and I have snow in my backyard still. It hasn’t been warm enough to melt it all. Next week we’ll have a few warm days. The half metal barrel I keep outside filled with bags of seed is under a part of the grill and the grill cover. I mustn’t have pushed all the way back when last I filled the seeds as it is stuck in the ice and won’t move. I had the hardest reaching under the grill to get at the seed. I hope the birds appreciate my effort.

    The sun didn’t stay long today, and we’re back to clouds.

    Have a great evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      I can’t remember when it was this warm the last time. I wouldn’t be surprised if I still lives by the ocean but here it’s really rare with warm winters like this.

      I hate when things like that happen! But I have a sledge hammer I usually use in situations like that🙂 I have both the seeds and deer food in my cottage but then I risk the dogs easting much of it🙂 They love both sunflower seeds and deer food🙂

      No sun today but still above 32🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Lustigt att det finns snö kvar hos er men barmark annars? Skuggigt hos er kanske?

      Finns inte mycket kvar av det någonstans här längre och vad jag hoppas det kunde förbli så!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

