I didn’t expect that in February!

DSC_0001

I sat in the kitchen yesterday evening when I suddenly heard a kind of roar, something I at first couldn’t figure out what it was. It was a really heavy shower hitting the north side of my cottage. It went on for a while and during that time another sound could be heard, something that sounded much like what I guess a jet plane would sound like if it flew just above Your home. I have to admit that thunder was the last thing I thought we would have in the middle of February🙂

DSC_0002

DSC_0006

We almost had sunshine for a while today.

DSC_0007

It didn’t go on for long but a work friend of mine saw the lightning too. After that it started to snow rather intensely and I didn’t think it would stay for long since it was rather warm outside. It was like walking on dry corn flakes this morning because it had been raining some more after that and then the temperature dropped. But beneath this crusty layer the ground still was wet so the roads were a bit slippery this morning. We still have some left on the ground even though the temperature has been way above 0C (32F) all day.

DSC_0013

DSC_0012

DSC_0010

But I think the last of this snow will melt away this weekend because a rather nasty storm will, according to predictions and we know how much we can trust those🙂, arrive tomorrow and stay all weekend. Lots of rain and warm temperatures. Well warm for this time of year anyway🙂 I’m not sure if we need more water though, we have plenty as it is but nothing compared to how it is in England right now. Floodings everywhere and more rain is on the way to them. 

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

But I don’t mind some bad weather as long as it isn’t snow. I’ll just hibernate here at home with my books and dvd’s. I still have some episodes of Big Banf Theory I haven’t seen and lots of films. Too bad my dogs most likely will force me out no matter what weather we’re having🙂

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

It’s time to make that pot of tea and a few sandwiches too I guess. I haven’t eaten since 5am and now it’s 4:41 pm so I’m starting to feel a bit hungry🙂 I have no idea if there’s anything worth watching on tv and perhaps I shouldn’t check but instead go directly to my books🙂

DSC_0043

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “I didn’t expect that in February!

  1. Hi Christer,
    It looks like spring at your place. I’m jealous.
    It snowed all day here yesterday. Heavy wet snow that was a pain to remove.
    Today it snowed in the morning. Now the wind is roaring and the sun is peeking out sometimes. It’s not cold but the wind is making feel much colder than the actual temperature. The wind sounds like a March wind.

    Today is Rocky’s 5th birthday. He had chicken for breakfast. He’s happy.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      And sometimes it feels like it too🙂 Especially when the sun shows and I so hope it will staylike this until spring actually arrives🙂 No chance that will happen though🙂

      I just watched the news and they showed You snow :-)They also showed snow in Tokyo and it only crated lots of problems for them too.

      Happy Birthday Rocky! Nova will be five this september too!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! this whole area had thundersnow the last couple of days which is pretty rare. what a crazy winter. it is blowing hard here and bringing in 2 more storms. teddy has finally had it with winter. i can tell she wants spring to arrive. i was watching some of the sweden hockey match this morning. when i turned it off, sweden was winning. i’ll have to check back to see if they won. i wonder if your flies will be worse this year since it’s been so warm for you? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it is very rare, it must have been over five years since we had it last time.

      Normally we should have each others weather🙂 Snow and storms here and warm and rainy over at Yours! and I so understand Teddy!

      Yes they won by one goal, the only made during the game.

      We’re wondering that too, but we’re all hoping the draught during spring and summer killed most of their parents🙂 I really hope so🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. The weather is really strange! Downstate NY had thunder last night also, temps in the 20’s (F) and snowing up a blizzard! Your weather though, so much warm and rain, that is just odd! We now have about two feet of snow on the ground in upstate NY, our long legged Labradoodle is having a tough time just doing her business! Kind of funny to watch though, she looks like a dolphin leaping through the water, but with snow flying everywhere! Makes you appreciate indoor plumbing! LOL!

    That picture that looks like a plowed up field, is that from the wild hogs? Between them and the moose and the unknown wood sprites, I’m not sure I would walk around there in those deep, dark forests…

    I feel bad for you that you cannot watch the Olympics, it gives me something to look forward to in the evenings, since there is so little else on…

    Stay dry!

    • Hi Wendy!

      Normally it’s the other way round, snow and cold here and warm and rainy over at Yours🙂

      I know about the jumping in the snow to reach the right place🙂 The old boys never jump, they plow through the snow🙂 But Nova has been doing the same thing and many of my previous dogs too🙂
      I’m so glad I don’t have an old outhouse🙂

      It would have been fun to see the Olympics but over here most of it happens during working hours, Sotji is only two hours ahead of us. I’m just waiting for the result of the Swedish figure skating guy, he’s on tenth pklace before the last run. Fantastic really, our normal standard is as best th place or so🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. freaky weather everywhere.
    Snowing here today and more coming for the weekend but the week after that it’s suppose to get to 50 degrees and rain….we will see! HA!
    Enjoy your Big Bang Theory! I love that show.🙂

    • Hi Cindi!

      I like that this is an unusual winter for us, You have the snow and we the warm weather🙂 But I doubt it will last until spring that normally comes in the middle or late in April🙂

      I just watch a few episodes at a time now because It takes a while until they release the seventh season over here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

