The radio helps making it exiting.

DSC_0001

Did You know that cross-country skiing actually is nasty exiting when listening to it on the radio and You can gear that Your country is placed third in the women’s relay, 26 seconds behind the leaders and then hear they the Swedish skier is coming closer and closer and that she pass the two in front of her just before finish line and actually wins the gold🙂 We all know the Norwegian team was going to win this, well we knew they were going to win all cross-country skiing competitions in the Olympics and the only thing the other countries were going to compete about was the silver and bronze medals.

DSC_0005

DSC_0007

DSC_0006

The Norwegian team have collapsed totally on both the male and female side. I wonder if this is the beginning of the end of an era? It’s so long since they didn’t win everything when it comes to skis so it sort of feels strange when they don’t🙂 The Swedish female hockey team won against Finland’s team today as well and now they’ll meet the team from the USA in the semi finals. That’s a tough one, I think they’ve only won against USA one time before but anything can happen in the Olympics!

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

DSC_0011_redigerad-1

The storm has arrived and so far the winds are pretty strong but they’ll be worse they say. Sometimes it snows, sometimes it rains and every now and again nothing falls from the sky🙂 But it’s so warm that there’s no risk the snow will stay, it doesn’t even seem to reach the ground because I can’t see any white spots anywhere on the fields or spruces. I’m not sure from what direction the wind comes but it doesn’t hit my cottage, so it’s quite calm in my garden. But I refuse to go out to the fields (to be honest I would rather stay indoors all day with this kind of weather🙂 )

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

DSC_0017

I’ll try to download Mahjong again today, I tried several time a week or so ago but nothing happened. I’m a bit tired of the different games of solitaire I have on the computer by now. I’m not a video game person because I just get to stressed while playing those games🙂 but I do like those slower games like solitaire and mahjong. 

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

It’s time to make a pot of tea and then I’ll stay close to the radio just in case any more swede will start in something. I know curling is one and it looks good for both the male and female teams. Curling is a tiny sport in Sweden, except when the Olympics are on🙂 so it is strange that our teams belong to the best in the world. 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “The radio helps making it exiting.

  1. Wow! Congratulations on the great showing in the Olympics! They are all amazingly dedicated athletes. They should all win. We don’t generally think about the athletes, but they are out there, day in and day out, eating, sleeping, and drinking their particular sport, year after year. And now they have technology going for them, it gets very complicated too. And every four years we sit on our couches for two weeks and have a good time watching them!

    I am the same way about game apps on my computer, they shouldn’t stress you out! I also play solitaire as part of my relaxing games, the stressful ones get deleted! Too old for that crazy stuff! Life is stressful enough!

    Well, keep warm and dry!

    • Hi Wendy!

      It’s fun that they finally won something. I heard that thge last time our ladies won a gold in relay was 1960🙂 But I agree, all athketes deserv a gold medal. They live their sport and even if I might not understand the sport they do deserv my respect!

      No luck in downloading mahjong from Windows so I’ll try another one instead, there are a few in the appstore that’s for free. I hate stress and had enough of it when I lived in Gothenburg (our next biggest city). I wasn’t just stressed I was mostly quite nasty too🙂 I became a much better and calmer person when moving here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Congratulations to Sweden on the X-country gold.

    I find that most sports are actually much more interesting when I listen to them on the radio. It’s because the radio announcer has to actually describe what’s happening on the field. When I watch on TV, all I hear is a bunch of guys yapping about everything else except what’s happening on the field. They don’t have to talk about that because the viewer can see it. But a lot of viewers like me don’t watch sports all that often and don’t always know what the hell is going on. We’d like a clue.🙂
    When I used to follow baseball, I would watch it on TV without the sound and have the radio commentary instead.

    I play games on Facebook. They don’t stress me, (usually) because I accept that I suck at games. I play stuff like Monster Busters and Bejeweled Blitz. Match three and things explode. Great!
    Games where the character has to run through obstacles or fight things are a waste of time. My guy usually gets killed in the first three seconds.🙂

    Another big storm is bearing down on us for tonight and tomorrow morning, another one due in Tues and maybe more on Thursday. This winter is getting really tiresome.

    Stay inside near the radio and the warmth and out of the stormy winds. Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      They do deserve it, they have been struggling for so long now but I sure hope the Norwegians will come back again even if they don’t have to be that dominant all the time🙂

      The sports commentators can be a bit too educational over here, they tend to explain the rules several times during what ever competrition it might be and it can be a bit too much in the long run🙂 But the commentators on radio are always better than the ones on tv.

      I can’t help it, I get stressed even if I know I suck🙂 But I didn’t manage to download windows mahjong so I’ll try another one from the app store.

      Unusually many storms this winter or has it just been one long one🙂 The wind turned again so now I only can hear it and it’s absolutely calm in my garden🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Congratualtions to Sweden on their gold metal win!! That ‘s wonderful!
    These are some of the most beautiful photo’s of the forest that you have ever taken. Gorgeous!!!

    • Hi Mona!

      It was fun, we’re not used to get that many and it looks like they already have reached the goal on how many medals they would be happy to reach🙂

      I’m glad You like them🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christe.

  4. Christer,
    Lots of snow here, and I’d be more than willing to share with you. They are saying blizzard conditions here because of the wind. I just hope we don’t lose electricity.

    I watched the US beat the USSR in hockey today. It was an exciting game won by shoot-outs. It wasn’t a score they shared on the top of the dome where they have been putting the other scores. Poor sports!!

    Have a great evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      It snowed on and of all night here but it was so warm (41F) that it melted as soon as it hit the ground🙂 I do hoipe You don’t lose power! I remember how bad it was last winter!

      That was a tough game! But I’m glad that USA beat the old bear Russia🙂

      Have a great day iun the storm!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      This is my kind of winter🙂

      I like these big games but otherwise I rarely care about sports exept for Ski Biathlon.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

