And there they were again.

DSC_0024

I don’t know about You but I always get suspicious when I see something out of the ordinary, like this week when I bought apples all weighing over half a kilo, over one pound, each! It’s a variety I always have bought and even if those apples normally are a bit bigger this is almost ridiculous🙂 They taste fine and are just as any other apple except for the huge size. I get the feeling that they must be genetically manipulated in some way but they must tell us if they are. They are perfect though when I want to have a bowl with yoghurt and sliced apples🙂

DSC_0029

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

The wind blows steady and will continue to do so for a couple of days, we’ll have, with a bit of luck, sunshine between the rain showers here all day. It drizzled when we were out on our morning walk but since we walked in the forest it was quite nice. I could see newly made tracks on the ground when we were close to the bog, but it was hard to see what animal had made them. They were made while the animals where running. I could also see lots of marks from horse hooves, they used horses to remove the trees they had cut down the other week.

 

 

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

DSC_0042

 

Wild animals are mostly hard to see and most of the time we pass them without noticing them at all. But dogs might, so I leashed Sune just in case it was hogs running around there. Suddenly something caught my eyes, at first I couldn’t say what it was but suddenly they stood there, all three of them. Do You remember the photos I showed with a moose cow and her two calves? I must say those calves are very big now🙂 It was nice to see that al three of them had survived the hunting season🙂

First I saw these two.

First I saw these two.

and then I saw the third to the right.

and then I saw the third to the right.

I wonder if these are the ones we've bumping in to down by the creek too?

I wonder if these are the ones we’ve bumping in to down by the creek too?

Hogs had been there too because it was easy to smell them🙂 They don’t smell nice at all to be honest🙂 but I guess they went out on the bog long before the moose did. Our walk was otherwise quite uneventful. I love the silence out there and the air always feel so much fresher (well not when hogs have been around🙂 ) and sometimes I wish my cottage had been placed in the middle of the bog. But then I remember the mosquitoes, horse and deer flies and not to forget the moose flies🙂

DSC_0036

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

I now have mahjong in my computer. Yesterday evening when I started my computer it suddenly decided to download Microsoft’s (not windows as I wrote yesterday) mahjong. It’s strange how these things works sometimes🙂 There I have been trying to download it for days and when I decide I’ll download another one it suddenly works🙂 This one has three different levels, from beginner to expert. I’ve started with beginner because I do like to get high scores🙂 If You like mahjong try this one because I think You’ll like it. But I do turn of the sound because it’s a bit annoying🙂

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

It’s time to turn on the radio again, the men’s x-country  relay is on now and we’ll have a good chance to get a medal again today🙂

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “And there they were again.

  1. Christer..the apples you bought, I think, are natural. When I visited Hawaii..at a little country store I bought one. It lasted me for three days! I was still eating it on the plane back home. Delicious! I have never seen them here on the mainland though. Enjoy!
    I couldn’t make out the third moose. I only saw two of them. I enlarged the photo..but still couldn’t. Great photo’s of the dogs at play again! I always enjoy the photo’s of the cats and dogs (Bertil the most, of course!) Especially when his ears are laid back!! 🙂
    Every time you mention the “bog” …it bothers me. Probably because of all the bad Fairy tales I used to hear when I was a child. Somehow your bog ..just be careful when you step…I know you know the woods…but..be careful just the same. We can’t always know what is going on beneath our feet. Have you heard about the giant sinkhole that swallowed up some vintage cars in a museum here? Can’t remember which state… so…anyway.. LOL be careful.

    • Hi Mona!

      Look to the furtherst right in the third photo, the third moose is standing there🙂 They are tricky to see in a photo so just imagine how difficult it can be in the real🙂

      I’ve never seen apples as big as these before🙂 These are from Belgium and since they have even worse winter weather than us at the moment I’m pretty sure these must have been growing in a greenhouse. Tasty though so I do like them.

      I haven’t really been out walking on the bog this winter since it never really froze properly. But I always walk the same route so I know where to put my feet. I have no desire what so ever to fall down in to one of those deep holes🙂 I’m pretty sur I would be able to get up quickly since there are lots of trees there that I can grab on to. Sinkholes are very rare here thankfully so those are something I don’t worry about at all. But I did see photos of that in the vintage car museum🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! i have been buying HUGE honeycrisp apples.they are the size of softballs if not bigger. i’ve never seen apples so big in my life. they are very good though. i love the moose. i have only seen moose when i go to vermont and maine. our rivers are covered in ice and they are expecting ice jams when it warms up. another snow storm is on the way for today. it seems so weird to see your winter posts with no snow! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’ve seen one or two big apples like these before but this time they all were huge :-)and these are delicious too. One apple is enough to bake one normal sized apple pie🙂

      When I moved here we had moose all over the place, didn’t pass a day without some of them showing up. But suddenly they all disappeared. I didn’t see a moose here for several years but it looks as if they are coming back again. I like that but still, they are dangerous and tend to run out in front of cars too. Beautiful though.

      The strom will continue blowing here for a couple of days but it brings warm winds so I won’t complain🙂 Yes it is odd that we don’t have cold and snow but You do!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Without their antlers the moose look like serious, sad horses.🙂 They are beautiful and just as hard to see as our deer. Several years ago there moose sightings not too far from my house. The wildlife people figured that they were young moose looking for new territory by walking down the high freight tracks from Maine. Those tracks mostly go through marshes and wasteland so the moose could do it in relative safety.
    They ended up in Reedy Meadows which is the flood plain for the Saugus river. It’s also right next to the golf course and behind the hotel. The golf course owners were not pleased. Moose are bigger than geese.

    You may be getting our most recent storm. It blew through here yesterday and last night and now it’s heading out over the Atlantic as fast as can be. I got a few inches of snow but I suspect that Kat at Coffee might be buried. It was a southern storm. One town down her way got 15 1/2 inches of snow.
    The real issue is the frozen solid barrier of street plow leavings that is across my driveway and the walkway to the front door. I had to use an ice chopper to make an opening to the street so I could get my grocery delivery.
    Now the sun is shining brightly. It’s windy and cold but I can sit on my front door step and be relatively comfortable while Rocky climbs the snow hills and does his thing.

    Stay warm and dry and enjoy the giant mutant apples.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’ve never seen them that way🙂 But You’re right and I’m afraid of both of them🙂
      It’s amazing how these big animals can be so hard to see, this time I was expecting something though otherwise I’m not sure I would have seen them. Smarts moose to follow those tracks! Are they still there close to the golf course or did a hunter visit?

      I wouldn’t be surprised if that storm comes to us, they usually do but thankfully much weaker. As long as we don’t have a high preassure in the east it will most likely just give us rain though, 15 1/2 inches is a lot of snow🙂 I’m not sure the Brits will say the same though, it looks like Britain is sinking right now because of all the rain they’ve gotten lately.

      I hate those icy barriers! It’s almost impossible to get rid of them and sometimes the best thing is to use an ax🙂 It would be nice to get all the groceries delivered to the front door but it wouldn’t work for me since I get home pretty late in the afternoon. Perhaps on Fridays but then I still need to buy deer food and fire logs so I can just as well buy groceries too🙂

      Those apples do actually taste very good🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • If the moose were floating in the middle of the river, the hunters could shoot them, I guess. But on the shore is within several town limits so not allowed. For awhile there were a lot of moose sightings around here. I haven’t heard any for a couple of years so the ones here may have moved on or died of other causes.

        My grocery delivery service delivers up until 10PM and they deliver on Sundays. They also have fire logs and bird food. No deer food, though. Feeding the deer is not a big activity around here. The deer manage to find plenty in our gardens anyway even in winter.🙂
        The delivery guy was happy that I had cut an opening for him to the front door. I suppose a lot of his customers are elderly or infirm and can’t shovel at all.

        Plow guy finally came and removed the ice barrier. He had his girl friend in the truck this time. He was telling her how he liked to watch how I drive my little jeep out of the snow so he can clear the driveway. He thinks my jeep is cool.🙂

      • It sounds as if they have moved away otherwise many would have seen them. Or is it that peoplegot used to them pretty son and now don’t think about it?

        I doubt that they have that good service over here, service is a word unknown to most people in those kinds of businesses🙂 Perhaps I should check on the net to see how many of them that’s out there and what hours they have?

        It looks like deer feeding is quite common here though, all stores of that kind (mostly turned towards farmers and forest owners) have deer food.

        Jeep’s are cool, that’s a fact🙂

  4. Hi Christer,
    I envy you your running streams and clear ground. We are covered in snow, and it’s only in the high 20’s. Last night’s storm was too much.

    The picture of the calves is a great one. Good to know they all survived and look so healthy. Your woods are just filled with critters. Gracie would never be off leash or she’d be gone chasing whatever moved.

    Have a great Sunday and enjoy listening to the Olympics.

    • Hi Kat!

      I do enjoy this warm winter to the fullest🙂 This is how winters used to be when I grew up by the ocean and I love it🙂

      I’m surprised that they all survived! I guess they stayed in this area all the time, because there are bigger areas just beside this that most likely would be allowed to shoot all of them.
      Yes lots of animals here but I still haven’t seen a lynx or wolf. I’ve heard wolves though out on the bog but thereäs a limit to how brave I am🙂 As soon as I heard that howling I turned back home again🙂🙂🙂
      The old boys are no problem, Nova doesn’t care about anything else than hares and squirrels but Sune might get the idea to run out to say hi to them🙂

      It was a nice day listening to the Olympics! We won a gold medal again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi! I was lucky to see them🙂 They stood absolutely still and I wouldn’t have noticed them if I hadn’t been alert that something was running around out there just in front of us🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

