The decision.

DSC_0001

So I drove to work in the Saab and it was so nice and quiet, a bit cold though and that was my fault, I should have left the climate control on automatic and not turned on the fan at highest speed. I turned it back to automatic half way to work and suddenly the heat flow from the right places in the car, at the front where I was sitting🙂 I could hardly feel all the pot holes and bumps on the road and to be honest I think Saab has the most comfortable seats there are in any car, even more comfortable than Citroen has and that says a lot🙂

DSC_0002 - kopia

DSC_0002

A fox has marked its territory.

DSC_0003 - kopia

I did think the engine made a lot of noise though but then I heard several other Saab’s engines and they sound just the same🙂 I drove back to the garage this afternoon and I have to admit that I didn’t miss my wonderful little Mazda at all🙂 Suddenly a big black wild hog ran out in front of my car and the first thing I thought was that if I would have hit it with my Mazda it would most likely destroyed the entire car and perhaps go through the window since the Mazda is so low. That would most likely not happen if I hit it with a Saab. So I’m buying it as soon as he has fixed some things that needs to be taken care of.

DSC_0013

DSC_0007

DSC_0009

It was snowing on my way home but the guy in the grocery store said it was much worse in the town Falköping because it was cold enough for the snow to stay on the ground there. The mountain is between Falköping and my village and here it’s still too warm for it to stay thankfully. The ten day prognosis says it will stay above 0C (32F) for at least ten days and I do hope they are right this time🙂

Longhorn.

Longhorn.

DSC_0016

DSC_0017 - kopia

It’s time to make that pot of tea and something to eat again. The fire is burning in the stove so the humid air outside stays outside, well I thgink it would stay outside anyway but I like having that fire burning🙂

DSC_0043

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “The decision.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Wow! Longhorn sure does have long horns. Antlers, that is.

    New car! Well, new to you car! Good luck with it. Now you will have to find what it’s name is just like The Piglet.
    My jeep is named Slick. The last jeep was named Pookah. I have no idea why.🙂

    Earlier this morning I went to the big box hardware store to get some ice melt crystals for the walkways. They were sold out of everything. The grocery store where I usually buy them was out, too. I remembered that I had seen some at the local pet shop so I went there and was able to get some pet friendly ones. Then I stopped for coffee and breakfast and went home. Just in time, too. The snow is falling thick and fast.

    Time to curl up on the couch with my coffee, my book and my dog.
    Enjoy the new car and the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes his antlers are much longer than the otrher buks are, I wonder how long they’ll be at the end. But he’s a skittish one and as soon as one eyed Rune arrives Longhorn runs away.

      I prefer to say another car, not much new about it to be honest🙂 I guess it’ll take a few days before I feel what name it has. I always have names on my cars and I’ve had the swedish names of Winnie the Pooh, Eeyeor, Piglet, Emma, Bettan and so many more🙂

      If Youcan’t find that ice melt that is kind for paws use sugar, works just as fine but is perhaps a bit expensive to use as a defrost🙂 I never use anything else here and the dogs don’t seem to lick the ground where I’ve poured it🙂

      It looks like the night will be cold here because now the snow stays on the ground. It’s time for me to go to bed now and I’m so tired that I think I’ll fall asleep directly🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I didn’t know that about sugar but it wouldn’t matter because I have only a couple of cupsful in the house. It might do two steps.
        Usually when I run out of ice melt I throw down peat moss because I have one or two bags of that stuff around. It’s a bit dirty and gets tracked into the porch but it works and the grass likes it better than chemicals.
        Unfortunately, I left the bags out in the side yard and they are now under several feet of snow.

      • Hi Caryn!

        It’s just as good as salt but a bit more expensive. They actually mix in sugar with the road salt here now days because the salt tenbds to destroy the ground water.

        Peat moss is great but as You say a bit dirty. I have it all over my cottage after a while🙂 I sometimes use the ashes from the stove too but that’s even worse🙂

  2. Glad you decided to get the Saab, I hope the beast doesn’t cost a fortune in repairs! Life is too short to be over cautious all the time!

    I wonder what that is the fox pooped on? I guess a lid of some sort…? Looks like a mill stone though.

    If I could be so bold to ask, how is it that you know English so well?

    Good luck with the “other” car!

    • Hi Wendy!

      Lets sure hope so🙂 because I don’t have a fortune🙂

      That is the concrete lid to a well that the fox pooped on🙂 It never dries out no matter how dry the summer is but the water is so full of iron that it’s disgusting🙂 It can of course be removed with a good filter so it will be drinkable again.

      Now days kids learn English already from second grade but I learned it from third grade. After that I had the good help of having BBC Prime as a channel when I lived in Gothenburg. I can thank Miss Anne Diamond and Nick something for my very brittish accent🙂 I just said the words after they had said them until I heard it sounded the same🙂

      Thank You, I might be needing that luck🙂

      Have a great day!

  3. I was hoping for pictures of your Saab. A new car (new to you) is always an exciting thing and this one sounds wonderful..and warm. Most important in cold damp weather. I’m glad you didn’t hit the pig. NOT a good thing.
    Stay warm, Christer. 🙂 That little place the fox marked looks like a vent to me. I thought it was the “roof” of something. Not a good thing for a fox to be marking..IF that were the case. Never thought about it’s just being a wheel.

    • Hi Mona!

      I haven’t bought it yet🙂 But I will on Friday morning so there will be photos either on Friday or Saturday.

      I’m so glad too, an injured hog is quite dangerous and I wouldn’t even walked out of the car until a police and a hunter had arrived🙂🙂

      It’s actually a concrete lid to a well that never dries out, no matter how dry the summer might be. But the water is so full of iron that it’s disgusting to drink. Could be fixed with a good filter though but the owners wants municipal water instead but not the ones that rent that cottage.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer, after reading this post about your decision on the Saab, I had to read the previous one. Will your beloved Piglet be used as a partial payment for this “new” car or will you leave it at the garage to be sold? And, you are right that after time it does become less wise to keep putting money into an old(er) car. My Jeep is 7 years old now and my plan is to keep it as long as possible. And, the next car will not be a new one as they are way too costly these days. A nice used one that someone else has “broken in” is a good find. Good luck with yours and will be looking forward to the photos and its name as well.
    I call my Jeep “Libby.”

    • Hi Beatrice!

      No it won’t, I’ll drive Piglet to the junkyard tomorrow morning. It must go through ther asnnual vehicle inspection at the end of this month and it just costs too much to fix it to be honest. I do try to keep my cars for as long as it’s possible. But when it will cost more than buying another older car it’s time to say good bye. I do get attached to my cars so it’ll be a sad moment tomorrow, especially since this little one has been great.

      I doubt I’ll ever buy a new car, as You say they just cost too much.

      I have no ideas what this car will be called🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    I love buying a new car, even a used car. I’m glad you decided to buy it. I bet you won’t be sorry.

    We finally have a nice day today. The sun is melting all the snow. No leaks are coming from my ceiling. It is a good day!

    Gracie was looking under the deck table cover and wagging her tail. I knew something was under there. It was the red squirrel which took off with Gracie chasing it. The spawn went up the tree. Gracie was quite disappointed.

    • Hi Kat!

      I won’t say I hate it but clearly dislikes it🙂 But t was the best decision since it would cost just as much or more to fix the little Mazda.

      No sun here, You just missed my new post that shows snow🙂 But it could be worse because this will soon melt away thankfully.

      What is it with squirrels that make dogs more or less insane🙂 My old dogs and Sune never chase anything but as soon as they see a squirrel they go tiotally insane🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I do like him but he’s a bit skittish so as soon as he hears any sound he run away🙂

      I hope it’s a good decision🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

