I got a bit surprised this morning too.

I wish I had brought my camera with me to Falköping. I walked where I haven't walked before and the fog around the mountain did give lots of good photo opportunities.

I wish I had brought my camera with me to Falköping. I walked where I haven’t walked before and the fog around the mountain did give lots of good photo opportunities.

I got almost as surprised this morning when I opened the door as I got yesterday morning, all snow was gone🙂 It was fairly warm but I doubt that it was enough to melt all the snow so my only guess is that it must have rained quite a lot during the night.  So no snowy photos to show and that sort of makes me happy🙂

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

Mushrooms are showing again in the forest! This has been a very unusual winter.

DSC_0004

So I drove to the garage and bought the SAAB. He had said that he would fix a small problem that made the engine warning light shine on the panel and so he had. I then drove Piglet to the junkyard and was lucky to catch the bus back just when I arrived to the bust station. I then drove my SAAB back to Falköping and filled it with petrol and the first thing I see when I start it again is the warning light shining again.

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

So I called back and he sounded a bit surprised that it had happened again but he told me it was no problem keeping on driving and that I should go to him when I got the time so he could fix it for me. That’s never fun when it happens but at least I know it’s nothing serious so I don’t have to feel worried while driving it. So I’ll probably go there some time next week to get it fixed, again🙂

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

DSC_0017

The car is however wonderful to drive, very quiet and pot hopes barely noticeable when driving over them🙂 The heat came directly when I didn’t change it from automatic and the radio sounds good.  It turns out it didn’t cost me anything more when I called to insure it either, I guess spare parts for the SAAB is les expensive than they were for the Mazda. As I said, SAAB is a very common car here in Sweden.

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

I’ve done my shopping and both vacuumed and scrubbed the floors in my little cottage so I feel it might be time for a small nap. I’ll have a cup of tea first of course and it is time for something to eat as well. I’ll show photos of the SAAB tomorrow, I forgot to take any today🙂

DSC_0043

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “I got a bit surprised this morning too.

  1. Ser fram mot att få se underverket på foto i morgon! Har du döpt den/hen ännu!? *fniss*🙂
    Just nu tar jag en liten paus i förberedelserna för en liten middag ikväll. (Det låter så tjusigt när man skriver “middag”, fast det bara är fyra vänner som kommer för att få sig lite till livs.)
    Det blir sandwich med tonfiskröra till förrätt, så blir det ugnstekt klyftpotatis (utan skal – dom gillar inte gubben min) och fläskkarré som just nu puttrar i sin lergryta med massor av grönsaker och vin och soja och….. Sen blir jag tvungen (en av vännerna är väldigt traditionell när det gäller mat) att göra en gräddsås också – och efter allt detta blir det äppeltarte med mandelmassa och vispad grädde. Vitt eller rosévin, röttvin eller öl. Inget mer starkt, inte ens portvin till efterrätten – glömde det!😦
    Själv ska jag äta en mager röra utan majonnäs, ingen gräddsås och ingen äppeltarte utan en liten med päron istället så gallan håller sig lugn.
    TREVLIG HELG
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Den middagen låter allt bra smarrig🙂 Men nog går det lika bra med päron som äpple! Just i efterrätter tycker jag päron verkligen når sin höjdpunkt. Klyftpotatis går lika bra med som utan skal tycker jag, anledningen till att skalet finns kvar när jag gör det är att jag är för lat för att skala bort det🙂

      Inget namn på bilen än, måste nog känna efter att tag till innan det värker fram.

      Ha en riktigt trevlig middag!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! it is always fun to have a new car! i still can’t get over how mild your winter has been. today here it is blowing hard and pouring rain. soon the temps will drop down to the single digits.i am watching sweden playing finland this morning. canadian women beat the usa in overtime yesterday. the usa men play canada at noon here today and i can’t wait to watch. sweden is losing to finland right now. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I don’t think I’ll enjoy it fully until next week some time. I don’t know why but that’s the way it always is with me🙂

      This winter is unusually warm and even though I like it a lot I’m not sure nature think it is that great. Everything here are used to rest during a long winter. But at the moment I don’t care what nature thinks, I love it🙂

      The problem with Finland is that they can play like crap until they meet us, then suddenly they play like gods🙂 I wish I could see USA-Canada though, I’m pretty sure it’ll be a fantastic match!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. HI Christer! Can’t wait to see pictures of your new car! SAAB is not common here in Canada, but it is expensive to buy here. Volvo is common, but still expensive. We are still in a deepfreeze here so seeing your forest pictures put a smile on my face! Have a lovely weekend!

    • HI Dianna!

      I guess Volvo is more common since they once had a factory in Halifax.

      This winter is just like I want it🙂 Very unusually warm and who can’t love that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    Congratulations on your new car!

    Your winter has made me envious. All we seem to have is snow, sleet or rain. It will rain again this afternoon. Such an ugly gray day today!

    I’ll take my camera today so you can see how dismal it really is.

    Have a great evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      Thank You🙂

      This is a winter to envy and I guess I never will experience another one for the rest of my life🙂 We’re all hoping thatthis will just go on until spring arrives but noine of us believes it will🙂 Not much sunshine though but I’m quite happy as long as it is warm. We reached 42 today and it will be even warmer in a few days.

      I’ll check later then!

      Have a great day despite the weather!

      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Love the first few drives in a new-ish car. It’s different and fun figuring out where stuff is and what the quirks will be. As far as the light, if the car has over 90,000 miles or so on it there is a computer chip that triggers the Check Engine light to come on. It goes back to the late 80’s too so don’t think yours might not have one.
    Anyway, it’s there to remind you to bring it in to the dealer so they can do some silly check of basic things and charge you a bunch of money for it. If you know nothing is wrong with the car, ignore it until you have to “disappear” it for the inspection.🙂 I put a Post-It note over the space where the light is.

    Today is grey and drippy. Yesterday was beautiful, sunny, warm and then it was grey and raining and cold.

    Mushrooms in February? Hah. Only in the produce section of the grocery store.😀

    I note that the color is up in the willows. I expect that the skunk cabbage hoods have peaked up above the ground but since the ground is under 2 feet of snow, I can’t test that theory.
    I smelled a skunk yesterday, too.
    These are signs and portents. I shall go to the shop and see if the Cadbury Mini Eggs have showed up yet. Then I shall know for sure that spring approaches. Slowly, reluctantly and coldly but it approaches.🙂

    Enjoy the new car and the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I never really like those first drives but will after a few days🙂

      I was thinking in those lines too because I’ve heard that many people have problems with those service lights as we call them and he sounded so calm when he said that happens sometimes🙂 So if I only know it’s because of that I can start to ignore it🙂 Unfortunately a post-it note would cover too many other things I need to see otherwise that is a good advice🙂🙂🙂

      Very odd with mushrooms this time of year🙂 They are toxic too typical enough🙂

      Snowdrops flower in my garden, around month too early and my Ussurian redberried elderberrybush has big flower buds now. That one is usuaklly rather early normally but this is surprising even for that one🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Looking forward to seeing the car photos this weekend, Christer. Regarding the engine light coming on, here’s a suggestion…check that the gas cap is on properly since you said you put fuel in. The same thing happened to us on our Jeep and the problem was a loose gas cap. This easy check could solve your problem too!
    No snow here today but nasty thunderstorms with downpours so a very gray day. Hope your weekend is a food one.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      You are most likely right! I didn’t turn on that gas cap as hard as I should have🙂 I went outside to turn it on harder and then I saw the text on it., It said to turn until I heard at least three klicks otherwise the service engine light most likely should shine. I can honestkly say I didn’t do that at all. But I guess the light must be turned of by a garage so I’ll call the garage next week say as it is and perhaps wait to do anything about it until this summer🙂 Thanks for the tip!

      Some rain, some sunshine and lots of wind here at the moment.

      Have a great day!

  7. Hey Christer…I am so pleased you got your car. I have a Toyota, as I told you, and I have the same problem. That same light keeps coming on..and they told me also not to worry about it. But…then again..I am not driving mine daily. Just read Beatrice P. Boyd’s remark about the gas cap…so..now I am worried even less than I was. I’m sure it’s some small thing. Pictures of your new car?? 🙂 Hmmmmm?? 🙂
    Your photo’s are so wonderful and exactly what I think “country” means.

    • Hi Mona!

      I think Beatrice is right about the light this time, I didn’t turn that lid on especially hard and it started to shine after I had put petrol in it🙂 I’ll call the garage and perhaps not do anything about the light until the vehicle inspection🙂

      Pictures will come later today🙂

      If I would have lived even further north I could have shown You real wilderness🙂
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. You really have me thinking about a different car but sadly I have 20 months more of payments.
    But it has me thinking, maybe I will keep my van when it’s paid off because I replaced almost everything on it since I’ve had it so it’s kinda like having a new vehicle…right? LOL!
    But maybe i will keep it because it’s so good hauling stuff and maybe in 20 months get something with better gas mileage to drive most of the time also. Hmm?
    anyway, I need to go clean and vacuum my home too.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I hate changing cars and only do it when it will cost too much to repaire. But twenty months pass by so fast so You’ll soon be able to change to what You want to have instead. But perhaps it is a good thing to keep it since all parts are more or less new🙂🙂🙂

      The petrol prices ovber here in Europe are so high that almost all cars use very little petrol. This SAAb use only a little more than my MNazda did, still it must be twice as big and the engine sooo much stronger.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

