My right foot.

Taken today when I came home. Teodor is watching the deers.

Taken today when I came home. Teodor is watching the deers.

Almost as warm today as it was yesterday and I had actually sunshine in my eyes on my way home. Normally I would have taken a walk with my dogs as soon as I came home but two things stopped me. Longhorn and his lady stood just outside the fence waiting for food and they didn’t even care that Nova stood close on the other side of the fence looking at them. She could easily jumped over if she wanted to but after deciding they weren’t any hares she lost interest in them🙂

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

DSC_0006

The other thing that stopped me from taking that walk is my right foot. It aches some and is a bit swollen. I sort of placed my right foot in front of a slowly rolling forklift. It didn’t roll over my foot but sort of squeezed it firmly🙂 The kid (well he’s over twenty but I’m almost fifty so I feel free to call him a kid🙂 ) that drove the forklift reacted even faster than I, he had already backed away when I started shouting🙂🙂🙂 It was entirely my own fault, I had no business putting my right foot there at all and of course the hard wheel missed that toe cap protection and squeezed my foot right behind it🙂🙂🙂

DSC_0004

DSC_0005

DSC_0040

Nothing is broken and I can wiggle my toes without it hurting but at the moment it’s impossible to wear a shoe on that foot and to be honest, it is a bit hard to wiggle my toes at all right now. The foot is taking a blueish color and it looks like it’s dying🙂 I think and hope the swelling will go down by tomorrow so I can go to work but if I can’t use a shoe I must stay at home even if I can walk pretty good even if the foot is swollen.

DSC_0055

DSC_0060

DSC_0061

It’s time for that pot of tea I always have around now and I need something to eat as well. Too bad I don’t have any chocolat at home because this would be a perfect moment to comfort eat some🙂 Sune has alrady jumped on my foot three times so I better keep that foot high🙂

DSC_0063

DSC_0064

DSC_0065

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “My right foot.

    • Hi Joyce!

      I did think of a bloody mess when it happened but it isn’t that bad to be honest. I can’t put on a shoe and it is a bit difficult to wiggle my toes at the moment🙂 If Only Sune could stay away from it my life would be better though🙂🙂🙂

      The air is nasty raw outside at the moment and I just heard a fox barking but still, it’s rather nice for being thistime of year.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Hi Christer! I think that is so typical when you are hurt – something always happens to the hurt bit afterward. Like Sune stepping on your foot! I hope it feels better but I suspect it is very badly bruised! We are again in the midst of bitter temperatures. With the wind tonight and over night will feel like -43 celcius again. So tired of this weather! Have a great day!

    • Hi Dianna!

      It is and on top of it all he lay down just over the foot and that I could feel very well🙂🙂🙂

      If feels like when you squeeze a finger in a car door right now, could be worse🙂 But the swelling doesn’t seem to calm down yet.

      -43!!! That’s just nasty! I hope warmer weather will come to You very soon!

      Have a great day despite the cold weather!
      Christer.

  2. Lovely pictures of the woods. I always enjoy your walk through the forrest …it’s the only forrest I will ever walk through. I am sorry our foot was injured. That sort of thing has been known to cause blood clots (I know, I know, I shouldn’t send out anything negitive..but it’s true) You might want to have it checked…just in case. Did you ice it to stop the swelling? Be careful, for heavens sakes!!
    Tons of sun and warm weather here but rain is finally being predicted. I hope they are not just pulling our leg!! It wouldn’t be funny if no rain comes this time. It’s getting serious.

    • Hi Mona!

      I do love walking around in the forest here, despite hogs and moose🙂

      It’s so typical me. We were more or less on our way home when I suddenly put one foot forward :-)But I think You’re thinking of when a foot is crushed, this is more like when You get a finger squeezed in a door. But of course I’ll be careful and if I should feel any difdferent kind of pain in the leg I will go to the hospital. A clogg is nothing to be sloppy with.

      I didn’t have any ice at work, we don’t have a freezer and I really wantyed to go home🙂

      I do hope You’ll get rain now, it’s never a good thing when it is too dry!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Of course you have put ice on the foot to help bring the swelling down, haven’t you? If you were here, you could just stick it out the door and into a pile of snow. Frigid air and frigid snow would do the trick.🙂
    Good thing the kid was faster on the ball than you or you would have been flat floated.

    I have to ask if that deer in the first photo is Longhorn? He looks like he has the same crappy eye as Rune.

    Bertil looks very filled.🙂

    It’s cold here. Yesterday we had snow squalls while the sun was shining. Today the sun shines now and then and the wind is blowing pretty steadily but not hard. It’s blowing against the side of the house where I spend most of my time and it makes that part of the house colder than usual. There’s no nice wood stove here to offset it but I sure wish there were.

    Remember: RICE for your foot! Rest. Ice. Compression. Elevation. No Sune jumping on it. That doesn’t help.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      We have no ice at work and I just wanted to go home, after all we were just on our way anyway🙂 I did get some cold water on it when I was home though and that pain was much worse than what I felt so far🙂 Perhaps I should have kept the shoe on because that held down the swelling. But how nice is it to sleep with one shoe on🙂

      Yes it is Longhorn but the eye doesn’t look bad when seeing him from the side. I thought just the same when I looked at that photo but then I looked at another photo of him from the side and the eye loks just fine.

      Teodor is pretty fat now and I suspect he gets food from all around here🙂

      I have that problem when the wind blows from east north east, the only directon where the wind can reach my cottage. Those times not even a wood stove helps.

      No Sune jumping on it doesn’t help at all, not sleeping on it either🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. OW! So sorry about your foot! Good thing that the forklift didn’t go over your foot. You should keep it up as much as possible. How does it work there, if you can’t go to work, do you still get paid? Do you get penalized for not going in? I sure hope it gets better quickly.

    Beautiful lichens in the tree, reminds me of the Spanish moss I’ve seen down in the southern US. Is each clump a separate bunch growing there? Kind of a parasitic plant like mistletoe?

    Take care of that foot, ice, elevation, and Dr. if it doesn’t get better very soon! Your following has spoken!

    • Hi Wendy!

      I wouldn’t have any foot left if it had run over my foot🙂 I can’t even imagine how much that had hurt🙂🙂

      If I’m sick, like a cold, we have one day unpaid and 80% of the pay for four days. If we should be sick longfer than five working days we must go to the doctor and if he gives us a longer sick leave we’ll get 80% until we’re back again. Work injuries however gives us 80% (or is it 100%?) from day one. If we should be sick for more than three weeks there are insurances we have via the union that gives us those 20% we don’t get from work and the insurance company. We all belong to one big insurance comapny that takes over the pay after two weeks from the employer.

      I think the first lichen is a close relative to the Spanish moss, we call it Beard lichen.

      Not a parasite, it just grow on the bark of the tree and I think it’s one individual in each separate bunch.

      I’ll see tomorrow morning how the foot looks🙂 It has a nice kind of blue purple tone at the moment🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • That seems like a pretty good deal with the insurance, how does it work when you stick your foot in front of a forklift? LOL! 😉

        Very interesting lichen, I’ll have to look it up and see if it grows over here.

        I think we all need to see a picture of that colorful foot!!! 🙂

      • Well I’m not quite sure about the forklift thing🙂🙂🙂 But since I did it during working hours I should be completely covered🙂 Thankfully they don’t have any restrictions for clumsyness🙂

        I have photo in my mobile phone. I’ll post it if I can find the thingy that lets me transfer photos from it to my caomputer🙂
        Christer.

  5. Christer,
    Gracie would have jumped right over that fence. She sees other dogs and goes crazy. I can’t imagine what seeing a deer would do to her.

    Stay off that foot! Your accident sounds like something I’d do

    Have a great evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      Thankfully no one of them is interested in deers, just hares and squirrels🙂

      Yes I think this sould be something You would be able to do too🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. A blue foot is definitely not a good thing, Christer. Hope the swelling goes down and you can get to work, although maybe not going is a better thing?

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It’s like a big bruise but I took a photo of it and messaged it to my work friend so now I’ve called my doctors office🙂 I don’t think it is anything but a swollen bruise.

      I’m at home today, my foot doesn’t fit in any shoe🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Stackare – jag vet precis hur en ond fot känns!😦 Har en själv just nu, fast det enda som kramat den är en trång stövel som gjort att jag är alldeles öm på ovansidan av foten så det känns lite larvigt att gnälla över det! :- (😦
    Här på Gotland har det varit runt +2 grader i ett par dagar, även så idag, TROTS att vi blivit lovade +5-7 av SMHI.😦 Men det vet ju alla att dom kan man inte lita på!😦😦😦

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det kunde vara mycket värre, jag är rejält svullen men det gör inte speciellt ont och tårna kan jag rlöra dessutom. Fast jag är hemma från jobbet för jag får inte in foten i någon sko🙂

      Rena vårvärmen här men det lär väl inte hålla speciellt länge tyvärr.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes Lucky me because if he hadn’t reacted that fast the truck would have gone over my foot, not onlu squeezed it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

