I’m not sick, just clumsy.

The tasty rhubarbs have started to grow. The ones with the bitter stalks still sleep and will be removed to grow somewhere else.

The tasty rhubarb have started to grow. The one with the bitter stalks still sleep and will be removed to grow somewhere else.

So far the day seems to be a bit cooler than the three previous days have been. Cloudy and hazy but it’s still very nice outdoors. So I decided to try to take a short walk with my dogs even though my foot has had better days🙂 Well it doesn’t ache especially much unless Sune doesn’t step or jump on it or I hit something with it wich I seem to do every five minutes or so🙂 The big problem is that it doesn’t fit in any shoe.

DSC_0017

The redberried elderberry bushes have big buds now.

DSC_0018

Snowdrops.

DSC_0019

Tulips on their way.

DSC_0020

Tree peony.

It would fit in my rubber boots but the way down is a bit too slim to reach the bottom of the boot. It’s no use in even trying my normal shoes or boots but it did almost get all the way in to my summer shoes, the ones without laces but some kind of elastic string instead. So off we went in a pace Hector must have loved since his joints have been arguing this winter and he has become a bit slow. They have been better lately though, spring temperatures does that to cranky old joints🙂

DSC_0001

These are not the best of photos but shows Jackdaws looking for good places to nest at. I better tell my neighbor it is time to start a fire in ´his fireplace every morning now.

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

DSC_0049

It worked fine as long as the road was smooth without any bigger pebbles on it or the road leaning towards one or the other way🙂 The morning was quite wonderful and since there was almost no traffic the only sounds that could be heard was singing birds, Black Grouse’s and the weak wind blowing in the trees. Bertil followed us this morning and stayed quiet for most of the time. I did see some fresh prints of hog cloves on the ground and when we reached the bog he did start to complain some. But I couldn’t see any and he calmed down as soon as we turned homewards again.

DSC_0022

Best of friends. This was taken early in the morning and I had to brighten it up some.

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0029

Well being out on a walk with a squeezed foot is perhaps not the best thing to do but I was getting rather bored staying indoors all the time. After all I’m not sick, I’m just clumsy🙂 So from now on and for the rest of the day my foot will be placed high. At least both me and my dogs have done something other that just being still. It’s time for tea and then perhaps looking at some reruns on tv🙂

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0040

DSC_0042

I suddenly saw that white spot out in the bog. I guessed it must be some kind of bird but it doesn’t fit anything I know live out there. A Black Grouse hen has no white and the rooster is black and white. Not even when I enlarged the original photo as much as I could, could I see what bird it is. This is just a small part of that photo and this is when that bird shows at its best.

Have a great day!

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

DSC_0015

This looks like a Hazelnut bush. I didn’t know we had those here and that gives me hope that I can have some in my garden too🙂

DSC_0048

DSC_0051

12 thoughts on “I’m not sick, just clumsy.

  1. hi christer! how bad is your foot? are you sure nothing is broken? when can you go back to work? it sure looks like spring at your place. it is frigid here still with another big weekend storm on the way. it is going to get even colder here tomorrow. rest that foot! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      It is actually quite ok if not looking at the swelling, nothing hurts unless I walk too much and they said at the doctors office that if the little toe should be broken they wouldn’t do anything about it anyway, they would only do anything if it pointed in the wrong direction🙂 So I’m sure I’ll be back to work on Monday if the swelling goes down.

      Strangely enough it got rather warm here today and the sun shone for a little while too. So I’ve spent some time in the garden today just enjoying life🙂 So odd that You’re having that cold winter we usually have!

      I will rest that foot of mine most of the time anyway🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Feet can be such a pain. You still have to use them when they hurt. Too bad we can’t levitate.
    And why is that the most energetic, bounciest living thing in the household always knows what spot is going to hurt most to bounce off of?🙂

    So what kind of bird was it? I can’t tell and when I grow the photo it’s just pixels. It looks grouse-like but you said it was not.

    Your hazelnut looks like a birch to me.
    And a Wikipedia search of maze-like proportions tells me it is in the birch family so that’s why it looks like birch.🙂 I also found out that the nut that I used to call pignuts as a child was really a hickory. I might have to plant one just for the memory. Maybe I will plant some hazel, too, although the spawns and deer will probably get any nuts.

    It’s going to be sunny but very cold here today until the cold front comes through with some cloud cover at which time it will warm up and snow. Can’t win.:/ Spring! Please come soon!

    Enjoy the day off as best you can. Keep that foot elevated and if it doesn’t improve, see the doctor.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It would be nice to just float around🙂
      I think it is something genetic with dogs🙂 They want to make sure we know we’re still alive🙂

      I have absolutely no idea what kind of bird it is. It could be a wrong colored grouse hen, it happens sometimes even if it is rare. Predators tend to see them pretty fast.

      I’m pretty sure it is a hazelnut bush, because it is a bush and the bark is wrong for a birch. I also found a photo looking just like mine on the net saying hazelnut bush🙂 But I have to admit that I had to look closely to be sure.

      We don’t have Hickory over here, they might survive by the coast though. But I think the one You call pignuts could have a chance here in my garden but I’m not sure. I’ve heard those pignuts are quite tasty. I think I could have hazelnuts for myself for a few years until the Jay’s would find them🙂

      It got surprisingly warm here today and we even got some sunshine. So odd that we have spring here and You have winter but I’m not complaining, not at all🙂

      I’m resting my foot most of the time but I have to admit I’m getting bored now🙂 Well it doesn’t hurt so it’s just the swelling that needs to calm down🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Sweet Pignuts are delicious. There used to be several of them growing around my house when I was a kid. We would pick them up off the ground and eat them.
    The ones here were most probably Carya glabra as it is native to my area. There’s at least one still around somewhere because sometimes I see the nuts on the road. It’s a mystery where, though, as I’ve not seen it.
    It’s like the phantom horse chestnut tree. The closest one I’ve found is 2 miles away but there must be one closer. The spawns bring the nuts to my yard and leave the spiky coverings in my driveway. It makes no sense. Why wouldn’t they remove the spiky thing at the tree instead of lugging it a long distance just to sit in an exposed place (next to the street where cats and hawks can see them) in order to remove it and then carry it somewhere else to eat?
    I think some hickories will grow where you are. One of Wikipedia pages gave lots of information on average daylight hours in January, strength of sun in January, average low temperatures that hickories could endure. It looked as though you might be okay.

    • The problem here isn’t the winter in itself, it’s actually our summers. They are too short and cool for trees in the Carya family. If all our summers were like the one we just had I doubt we would have any problems but mostly they are short, cool and rather rainy. Carya (and lots of other trees from more southern areas like the USA) trees need longer and warmer summers to save enough energy to last the winter here. It’s not because it’s especially cold here, it’s just because the winter is too long. Well this year spring sprang early, normally it doesn’t show until late April and autumn comes in late August early September. But I think it would work in Skåne, the most southern part of Sweden.

      Yes why do they behave like that🙂 Perhaps they are out of their territory when picking thgose horse chestnut trees and feel safer closer to home even if all kinds of predators can take them there?

      It’s much the same with oaks here, there is no big oak growing even remotely close. Still we have lots of small oaks growing in the forest here and my guess is that it’s Jay’s flying to the big oaks and bury the acorns closer to where they live.
      Christer.

  4. if you can’t squeeze into a regular shoe, how about Crocs?
    They are god awful ugly but I change into them at work so that the concrete floors don’t hurt me as much.
    Or do they require you to wear steel toes?
    well, anyway..hope the swelling goes down and that you are back to walking normal soon.

    I can NOT believe all the green and budding things in your photos.
    I just dumped another bag of rock salt in the frozen dog play/poop area here at work and it did nothing.
    I swear, the ice is probably 4 inches deep.
    It’s like a skating rink out there.😦

    • Hi Cindi!

      Salt only works down to around 17F so I’m not surprised that nothing happened. Not even sugar works when it is that cold outside as it was over at Yours today.

      I don’t have clogs and if I had I tend to strain my ancles when using them🙂 That would be a wonderful combination, a squeezed foot and a strained ancle🙂🙂 I think sandals would work but I think my last pair is long gone. We have by the way clogs with steel toes at work if we want it. Many has but I prefer normal shoes.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer, you don’t mention if they xrayed your foot or not. You should probably stay off it, one way or the other. No xrays?? Really?
    Both cats are just beautiful! So healthy looking. Bertil IS my favorite..for one thing..he was trying to warn you not to go further when you took your walk. I’ve heard not so good things about wild hogs..or even domestic ones for that matter. Sounds like an awful lot of swelling to me.
    Take care…
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      No xrays since it doesn’t hurt anywhere than in my little toe and if that would be broken they won’t do anything anyway. It’s sort of too small to put plaster around🙂

      Wildhogs are mostly very shy and run away as soon as they hear humans but they have attacked people especially if they have had dogs with them. The ones here have shown no aggressivness towards humans, I mean I was only 30 yards from them and they waklked away in the iother direction.

      The swelling is slowly going down and today my fott fited rather well in my summer shoe. Notin any other shoe though🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer, add our well wishes to the others who commented. Yes, staying inside with your foot elevated can get boring, especially when there is nothing good to read or watch…and hard to stay put when certain dogs need to be walked, I am sure. Hope the weekend does your foot good and that you will able to wear your shoes soon. Your outside shots are like here, no show and lots of daffodils starting to pop up up in the yard.
    Have a restful weekend as much as possible.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      The swelling is much better now and my foot fitted rather gfood in my summer shoes, not in any other shoe yet though🙂

      It’s easy to sit still when being sick but not now. All I want to do is to go outside and do things🙂 But I’lltake it easy so I can go to work on Monday again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

