I do like this warm weather.

The bog, or swamp is perhaps a better word for it, behind my garage.

The bog, or swamp is perhaps a better word for it, behind my garage.

The morning was a bit on the cool side but as they day pass the temperature rise and now it’s just as warm as it was yesterday. Still it isn’t staying outdoors weather because a drizzle that eats its way through the clothes pass by every now and again. Someone of the dogs had eaten what was left in one bag of deer food last night and by how Orvar was in the stomach this morning I guess it was him🙂 I wonder what it is in that deer food that makes dogs love it?

DSC_0051

DSC_0053

We were walking down to the creek when this guy, I think it is Longhorn, jumped out on the road. We had seen a fox before that but not even I could see what it was in the photos I took🙂

DSC_0054

My foot is surprisingly good today. It fitted rather well in my summer shoes (guess if I’m glad we have these high temperatures, wouldn’t be fun walking around in snow in those shoes🙂 ). But as soon as there’s any pressure on the two smallest toes it still hurts. So walking down a slope is painful or walking on a leaning road too since my toes then slides towards the side and the shoe side press towards those toes. But considering how bad it could have been I think this is great.

DSC_0059

DSC_0060

DSC_0062

The villagers have been rather busy today. Tractors and four-wheeled motorcycles have been driving around on the fields and in the forest all day. I guess they all are preparing for the real spring (well when it is supposed to come anyway) and summer now when the weather is as good as it is. Someone somewhere near has spread manure in the fields and more will come I guess. Soon the smell of chicken manure will fill the air close to work, not the nicest of smells but in my opinion much better than how it smells when they spread pig manure🙂

DSC_0065

The entire field is plowed by wild hogs now.

DSC_0066

DSC_0067

Stones have fallen down into the creek now and stops lots of the water, so the beavers don’t have to do a lot to make the water lever
l rise again.

I’m not sure what I want to do next. I was thinking of making pancakes but a nap wouldn’t be totally wrong either. we’ve just come in from a walk but it would be nice to do something outdoors anyway, despite the drizzle. At the moment it feels like a nap will be the decision I’ll take and making pancakes after that. The days are so long now that I think there will be time enough to take a walk in daylight after the other things.

DSC_0085

DSC_0088

DSC_0089

But first I’ll finish that pot of tea I’ve made and perhaps take a look in the freezer to see what I might have for dinner tomorrow. 

DSC_0011

DSC_0014

DSC_0016

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “I do like this warm weather.

  1. What great pictures, Christer! You dogs are gorgeous! I have to go back and see if I left a comment on the close-up photo’s of Bertil! I think I got interupted in the middle of doing it…. He is outside so much and living so close to the forest, it’s a wonder he has survived all this time. Which…🙂 goes to show you what a great Tom Cat he is. That he tends to try and give warning when danger is nearby, shows he is “street smart”! That’s what we say about people here that grow up in a big city like Los Angeles!🙂
    We lived right in the middle of the farming area and the breeze would carry that same scent that you get right through our home. I now live on the other side of town and even there, now and then, that faint “perfume is carried on a breeze.
    Take care, Christer..
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      I do think they look beautiful but I would do that even if they looked like trash too🙂

      Bertil is a survivor and knows how to take care of himself. Tedor however knows it is best to stay close to home🙂 We have the same expression over here, gatusmart in Swedish.

      Around here it’s only manure from cattle thankfully🙂 Hen and pig does smell rather nasty even if pig is worse🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Welcome to the first day of meteorological spring for everywhere but Sweden. Sweden has it’s own rules.🙂

    Sune is such a lovely dog. Nice portraits of all the dogs today. They are all very noble.

    The smell of cow manure used to be much more common around here than it is now. I hadn’t smelled it in such a long time that I forgot how pungent it was. Not like horse manure at all. It was easy to tell when someone had sheet composted his fields. Worse was getting caught behind a truck carrying a load of cow manure out to the fields. Pah! And in a no-passing zone, too.😀

    Today is mostly sunny and just about at the freezing point. I sent Rocky off to play with his friends at day care since it would probably be the nicest day for the next week or so. I was going to do a bunch of errands but I only did some of them and then I got sidetracked by the internet. The jeep got a bath and groceries got purchased. I didn’t do dishes or laundry. They can wait.🙂

    Enjoy the nap and the pancakes.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Spring! old news🙂 But welcome to those of us already there🙂 I do think our way works better here since it usually is winter for at least one and a half month more up here. This is the exeption to the rule and I love it🙂

      Still cow manure is like perfume compared to both pig and hen🙂 But I have to admit that horse is even better. I hate when that happens and one day I got caught after a sewer cleaning truck and that was so awful I turned around and drove the other directio for many miles jut to get away from it🙂🙂

      I don’t think we have any kind of day care center for dogs here. I know there is if You’ll have Your dog there at least half the week during working hours but it isn’t open for other dogs to spend time there. Perhaps in the three big cities but not in small town areas like this.

      yes the danger of the internet🙂 but dishes and laundry always stay around so I fully understand that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Around these parts it’s rhe smell of chicken manure that lets you know the fields are being readied for spring and planting. And, I can’t say that I enjiy that odor, but suppose it is necessary for growing. Glad to read that your foot is doing better. Pancakes sound like a good choice and that’s what Grenville is making for Sunday breakfast with bananas in them! Enjiy the rest of the weekend, Christer.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Not a nice smellat all but still I prefer that before pig :-)Chicken manure is like a nutrience bomb for the ground so it is necessary.

      Yes my foot is much better and later tonight I’ll try my working shoe🙂

      Never came around to making pancakes so I’ll do that today instead🙂 I’ve never heard of bananas in them though! Love bananas so I think I’ll buy some on Monday and try it.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

