It does need some rest.

DSC_0017

My right foot is rather tired right now, I can feel an entire days work in it but at least it doesn’t hurt. No problem with having in a shoe because of pain anyway and that’s a good thing. I’ll soon go upstairs and just rest it in front of the tv, well I don’t think it cares if it is in front of the tv or not but I would like to watch the news🙂

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

It was enough of daylight when I came home today, even if I had stopped by the grocery store to bur some very needed food, so I could take a few photos on our walk. Nova was very frisky today and ran around like crazy in the cottage and tore down so many things that I had to push her out again🙂 She has had problems with her ear again and now it’s getting better again and I guess the pain is gone. Who wouldn’t be extremely happy then🙂 She also tried to chew her way in to the un opened sack with deer food. It’s amazing how guilty a dog can look when caught in the action🙂🙂🙂

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

The day has been warm and nice again and I can’t stop enjoying it🙂 I know this most likely won’t happen again in many, many years but I can’t but hope this will be how the coming hundred winters will be like🙂 I have a feeling that You on the American continent wouldn’t like it though because it seems that when we have a warm winter You have a cold. Well now You know how I feel every year when winter starts and never seems to stop🙂 I do feel sorry for You but refuse to switch back, at least this year🙂

DSC_0027

DSC_0029

DSC_0001

Scilla sibirica.

One eyed Rune and his lady, I now call her Tova, are less afraid of my dogs than ever. Now they run to the fence as soon as they hear I pour out the food and don’t care that all dogs stand just a few meters away(much the same in yards) behind a fence even a puppy can jump over🙂 I guess there must be little natural food for them but shouldn’t there be more of them around if that was the fact? Most of the deers know they get food here.

DSC_0004

My hand-held fan-shaped apple tree. It is almost totally flat towards the field and my garden. Needs pruning to keep that shape.

DSC_0005

Rhododendron dauricum. I sowed it for almost ten years ago and every winter the deers eat most of the buds. This year however they haven’t touched it. Yet that is.

DSC_0015

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. As soon that is done I’ll walk upstairs and rest my foot for the rest of the evening.

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “It does need some rest.

  1. hi christer! i hope you keep the warm winters and we keep getting the snowy ones! the big storm missed us. we only got about 3 inches. just south of us, they got a foot. now we are going to warm up again. i wonder if we will get anymore snow? the workmen are here right now and they are installing my new ovens. it sounds like they are ripping my house apart. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      No one would be happier than I if we could have it this way🙂

      If You follow our winters, like You’ve done so far the chance of snow will last until late April🙂 It even snowed for a short while when I gradutaed from Highscool, June sixth🙂

      They do have a gift of making lots of noise those guys🙂 I hope they leave Your home in one piece🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I am north of Jaz, in central NY state and we got no snow from this latest blast, yay! I would dearly love to have your winter. I love driving around on my four-wheeler over fields and through woods with my great lummox of a dog galloping alongside, but am now relegated to the driveway because of all the snow we have on the ground. Except for these past few weeks when it has been toooo cold, when I turn into the wind, my forehead freezes through to my brain and is excruciating! =0

    That apple tree, is that one you planted, or is it a volunteer of some sort? I can’t believe you have bulbs coming up, we have over a foot of frozen snow and will not see ground for some time to come.😦

    It never fails to amaze me to see plants there, so far away, that are identical to what we have here. I have been known to tear the bottom out of those cheap plastic Wal-Mart bags, and tie them by their handles to shrubs and trees to keep those pesky deer from eating them… not clear on whether it works or not, but makes me feel better to have done SOMETHING! 😉 I am looking forward to seeing pictures of that rhododendron this spring…

    Hope your foot enjoys the news program!

    • Hi Wendy!

      The only thing I’m not that happy about when it comes tothis winter is the wind, Now it blows like mad out there again after jus two days without any wind. It has kept on blowing for almost two months now. Normally it’s cold and wind free this time of year and after all, I don’t mind that wind too much to be honest🙂

      That apple tree is actually an apple seeds I sowed ten years ago. It almost died one year but after that it has grown just like it should. It has the most delicious apples too🙂

      I only have a few bulbs so far but not far away it’s much milder and there loads of them shows now.

      Most of the plants You see in my blog that are identical to Yours grow in my garden, they are plants I once sowed. Many in nature look much the same though but are most likely different species. Our trees would slowly die so far south as You live, they need this long winter and our long summer days to survive. It’s actually easier to make a plant from Your area survive here than the opposite🙂

      I’ve done just that around my little walnut tree. I didn’t need it because of the deers though, all walnut trees are toxic to most animals (just the nuts are edible) but I did it for my dogs🙂 They tend to run over everything when they are playing🙂🙂

      Cross Your fingers so the deers leave it alone🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Tuffing – att du går och jobbar fast du har ont!? Fast är man en ordentlig och skötsam person – vilket det verkar som om du är – så kan man ju inte ligga och lata sig i onödan eller…..?🙂
    Fast det blir kanske inte heller bättre för att man inte jobbar, men tiden att bli frisk går så mycket saktare om man går hemma och segar.🙂🙂
    Här är det inte så varmt. Det har varit runt +2/+4 grader i evigheter. Och när det sen också blåser så är det riktigt ruggigt. Fast idag var det vindstilla och +3, men det regnade lite svagt i morse så det var inte att tänka på att gå ut i trädgården och sätta igång.😦
    Jag har börjat lida av trädgårdsabstinens och tänkte att jag åtminstone kunde börja med att plocka upp alla torra blad som mina två 4-meters ruggar med elefantgräs spritt över hela trädgården. Man får ju inte klippa ner dom på hösten för då kan rotsystemet ruttna…..😦😦
    Å andra sidan så klipper jag inte ner sånt som man kan klippa, tycker att det är bra skydd för växterna om det blir barfrost t.ex. Alltså, jag skyller på det! Sanningen är att jag inte gillar att jobba i trädgården på senhösten när det både är kallt och blött och fruktansvärt trist! *fniss*🙂🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag har faktiskt inte speciellt ont, bara i lilltån. Så nu när svullnaden är nästan borta och jag fick in foten i skon kunde jag lika gärna åka till jobbet igen.

      7 grader här idag och nu har vinden satt igång ordentligt igen och nu är jag inte så lite trött på den!

      Till och med jag har kapat ned lite dött här men intresset dog rätt fort🙂 Det blir mer när dagarna blir ännu längre. Jag rör ingenting på hösten, det finns oftast så lite kvar till våren så då tar jag det istället🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Some weather guru said recently that we in the northeast USA were getting weather like Philadelphia had 50 years ago. I’m doubtful that Philadelphia had winters with sub-zero temps and piles of snow measurable in multiple yards. I think we are getting summers like Philadelphia used to have and winters like you are supposed to have. Too extreme in both directions.🙂

    Shouldn’t the fan-shaped tree be up against a wall to help protect it?
    I was looking at that photo and thinking that the trees in the background almost look like they have been shaped to spell out something but that we are on the wrong side of the hill to see what it is.🙂

    It’s here but not as bad as it could be. Some places to the west are in the -40’s with a windchill. At that temperature it doesn’t matter if it’s F or C. It’s effing cold.🙂 No snow fell here. Always a plus.
    I just came in from a short walk with Rocky and I did see a weak shadow of myself. The sun is trying to shine through the overcast and I can see it reflecting in my laptop screen as a bright circle in a field of leaden grey. It’s not having much success.

    I’m glad your day back at work was not too awful for the foot. It will enjoy being rested in front of the news. I hope it does not have relapse and refuse to go into the work boot tomorrow.
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It looks like we got Your summer and winter this time🙂 Our summers are normally cool and rainy, last year was just the opposite🙂

      The appletrees that are trellised towards a wall are grafted on weak roots so they do need that protection the wall gives. This is a tree coming fromn an apple seeds I planted ten years ago (it gives delicious and big apples🙂 ) has its own root system so it doesn’t need anything to lean towards. It will most likely become over 10 yards high in the end and it will be a challange to keep on pruning it then🙂

      Those trees belong to the WOW trees🙂 Do You remember that photo I took some years ago? In the background some pines grew so they showed the word WOW🙂🙂🙂

      I’m glad You didn’t get any snow! and I’m very glad You don’t have those temperatures! Thankfully it rarely blows when we have that klow temperatures here. I wouldn’t go outside no matter what if it did🙂

      So far the foot look and feel ok. It’ll be interesting to see if it does tomorrow morning🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I am happy to hear that your foot is well on it’s way to being back to normal! That was quite a bruise you got from it being crushed. It could have been a lot worse..so you really ARE lucky. Our Winters in Portland Oregon used to be like what they are now getting on the East Coast and like the Winters you are used to having. No more. Perhaps this year they got more but it used to be extreme Winters. It seems our weather on this planet could be changing rather rapidly.
    Do you ever wander off the paths you know well when you walk through the woods? Do you ever explore or would that be dangerous? I would think it dangerous. Especially when it is getting dark.
    Do you pretty much stick to the familiar?

    • Hi Mona!

      It’s only my little toe that still is a bit of a problem but it’s getting better too. I was lucky this time so I’ll stay away from moving forklifts from now on🙂🙂

      I remember learning in school about how bad and cold winter were on the north American continent but when I started rwading blogs from there it showed winters were quite pleasant🙂 Yes our wether can turn pretty quickly now when the globe is warming up. Unfortunately that doesn’t mean winters will be warmer, just perhaps shorter and fiercly cold in some places and longer but rainier in other.

      I do wonder off every now and again. But I tend to stay on paths made by deers and moose (well now hogs too) It’s easy to get lost on the bog but it’s never far to any houses and raods so one won’t be lost for ever🙂 But I never wander off when it is getting dark, I love it out there but I really don’t want to spend a night there, especially in winter🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer, today we got the snow Nd cole weather you do not miss. And, it seems other states that have been hard hit this winter escaped this latest wintry blast. Our snow totals are not that high at about 4 inches, but it will remain below freezing and everything will be frozen. Schools have already announced closings for tommorrow. Glad your foot is feeling better although the news watching could be upsetting, so might be better to avoid those shows.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      So You got some too! Yes I understand that some places got hit hard by it.Schools rarely close here but every now and again they don’t drive the school busses so only the children living close goes to school those days🙂

      It’s only my little toe that still is a bit of a problem but it likes watching the news🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Yes, please enjoy your winter. :p
    no seriously, I’m glad that someone has had nice weather.
    My water pipes froze upstairs yesterday but thankfully the water is running today.
    The temp is supposed to warm up a bit and bring us more snow….
    and I’m daydreaming about my garden.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I do, don’t You worry about that🙂🙂🙂

      Frozen water pipes can be a horror! I’m glad they work today! I’m so glad I only have water on the bottom floor and in the cellar, I never have to worry about broken pipes and water coming from above. But on the other hand I won’t notice if any pipe starts to leak now since the pipes go beneath the floors🙂🙂
      F here today, no snow in sight but fairly cold nights. I have too many small plants in my windows now but don’t dare placing them outside yet, winter can come any day yet.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Christer,
    I am sorry for you if my winter is yours every other year. We have come to accept days in the 20’s and nights in the teens or even single digits. As soon as the snow disappears, new snow falls. The birds are many, and even the bog feeder goes empty quickly.

    No fence would keep Gracie from those deer. Remember when she was younger she jumped a sox foot fence. Now she wants out and uses her paw to try and open the gate. So far she hasn’t been able to but I worry.

    Glad your foot is getting better. It is nice to have an excuse to keep your feet up!

    Have a great day!

    • Hi Kat!

      One could think I should be used to our winters by now, but no🙂 I should have been born in a tropical climate. The stork must have made a misstake🙂
      That’s the worst kind of winter, when the snow melts away and hope starts to rise and then new snow start falling again! The birds don’t eat that much here now, I have even seen some flies flying around on our walks. So now I only fill them every second day.

      Gracie’s a smart girl🙂 She will soon figure out how to open up that gate🙂 All my dogs can jump my low fence, even Hector with his bad legs. So I’m so glad theyt don’t care about deers or moose. Nove wouldn’t hesitate for a second if she saw a hare though🙂🙂

      You’re so right🙂

      Have a great day too!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

