A positive change.

DSC_0001

They say spring will explode and say wawaboom this weekend, well I’m not sure about the wawaboom but we’ll have sunshine and fairly warm. Compared to normal winters this feels like tropical heat for us🙂 It does feel more and more sure that winter won’t return again and I can’t but wonder about what summer we’ll have after a spring like this. It sort of build up hope for a summer much like the last one, warm and dry. But my guess is that it will be cold and rainy, even more so than a normal summer🙂

DSC_0005

DSC_0008

DSC_0010

Nothing much has happened these last two days, geese and swans arrive all the time but I haven’t heard anything about any more cranes. I guess there are several here now but those nesting around the village haven’t shown up yet. The deers are still coming to feed in my garden but the birds seems to be occupied with other things, I don’t need to fill the feeders every day any more.

DSC_0011

DSC_0015

DSC_0019

I was a bit worried for a while that time slowly was ending for Hector. He did want to follow us on walks but he walked very slowly and often was far behind us. But suddenly he’s jumping around like a puppy again when I come home from work and is often far ahead of me when we’re out walking🙂 I guess the warmer weather help him with his joints so they don’t hurt as much any longer.

DSC_0020

DSC_0024

DSC_0026

It’s time to make that pot of tea again and go upstairs to watch the news. My little toe need to rest as well so I won’t be moving at all until it’s time for bed🙂

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

DSC_0009

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “A positive change.

  1. hi christer! do you give hector glucosamine? it might really help him. teddy has been limping badly and holding her front paw up. i tried to check it out but couldn’t find anything. i am hoping it is just sprained and will heal on it’s own. you sure did luck out with your winter. i wonder if you might have a really hot summer? i sure hope we don’t! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      The glucosamin we can buy without any prescription is too weak to help. Many people started eastmg it like candy so they got other bad health issues🙂 He and Orvar gets a madicine called metacam that helps a lot but Hector’s joints are badly affected by this so I can only hope for the best.

      Poor Teddy! Yes lets hope it’s just sprained and that it heals fast!

      Yes what a winter we’ve had🙂 I’m hoping for a hot summer this year too but with my luck it will all rain and blow away🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I don’t like to think of Hector having to take the big sleep. I’m glad the warmth has helped his joints to feel less painful.

    Rocky and I went out the door this morning and I had a yard full of turkeys. I grabbed Rocky’s leash fast because he doesn’t like turkeys. They all moved off a bit while I put Rocky in the car and then got out the bag of wildlife food I have in there. As I was throwing it down on the ground for them, the younger ones came running up like a flock of domestic chickens at feeding time. It was a little scary because they are very large birds with large spurs. Finally the tom and the older females came up, too. I was rather close to them all and they weren’t too worried though they did keep an eye on me.
    Of course, my cameras were in the house so I used Crappy Cellphone Camera again.

    It’s cold but sunny here today. Tomorrow and Saturday are supposed to be much warmer. Almost spring-like. We shall see.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I feel it’s way to early too and by the looks of it today he will stay around for quite some time🙂

      I saw those photos in fb and they look good for a crappy cellphone camera🙂 They are big birds and I think they are nastty enough when standing on the other side of a high fence🙂 but I do like them anyway🙂 I guess they thought that eatinmg food was better than attacking the one feeding them🙂 Over here they have panic because they found a dead raccoon on a beach at the most south we can come in this country. They fear the raccoons might be able to swim from Germany to Sweden.

      I don’t understand why they worry about that when the raccoons in Denmark don’t have any problems at all doing that🙂 They were trying to take phgotos at night to see how many raccoon dogs they have outside Kopenhagen last summer and it turned out they didn’t find any but to their big surprise they got loads of photos showing raccoons. They didn’t know they had any🙂🙂🙂

      Besides we already have raccoons in southern Sweden so the worrying is sort of useless🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • It’s probably rabies that worries them. Raccoons are excellent vectors and if they don’t know for sure where the raccoons came from, they don’t know for sure that rabies is not involved.
        Besides, raccoons are nasty mean which might be why there aren’t any raccoon dogs around Copenhagen anymore.🙂

        The cellphone camera gives everything that weird digital pixel blend. It can zoom but since it’s impossible to see what’s on the screen when out in the sun, I can’t see if it’s in focus and I’m not sure if it can be focused anyway.
        It’s not point and shoot; it’s point, pray, shoot a bunch of frames and hope there’s something usable.🙂

      • Rabies is one factor but what we fear more is a kind of tapeworm that they can spread, does nothing to them or dogs, foxes and voles but tends tio kill us humans. We don’t understand that we have it until the liver is destroyed and we’re dying. They also know that raccoons will kil every animal they can since our animals aren’t used to them.

        I know raccoons are cute in photos but I really don’t want them around🙂

        My mobile phone camera focus really good but like Yours zooming with it is useless🙂

  3. Good grief! Where did my comment go. I was here bright and early this morning..hopped over from Joyce’s blog as always..and then your blog showed up in my email..so…came to see what happened. I must not have clicked on something. Can’t even remember what I said. I think part of it was in reference to Hector. Mele did the same thing and after a $500 Vet bill..exrays etc. the following day she was completely back to normal. She is going to be ten years old this October. Every little thing she does that is not normal, I fall apart.
    Probably dogs a something like us. Feel horrible one day and then suddenly we are feel in top shape. Whatever the case..he sounds like he has some quality time left. I hope so.
    It’s going to kill me when I lose Mele. She is like my child almost. Been with me through a lot of heartache.

    Weather wise, Southern California is prettty predictable. In my entire life I have never known a summer not to be blisteringly hot. I imagine this summer will be no different even if we did have a rather warm Winter. We desperately need more rain. California would be a bit of heaven if we had more rain. It would be an amazing place to live.
    Take care of that toe, Christer!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Just imagine how many comments that’s out there in cyberspace🙂🙂🙂

      I do understand how You feel but Mele is a small dog and will go on for ages yet🙂 big dogs usually don’t but so far so good🙂 It never gets easier does it. I dread the day I need to say good bye for the last time.

      I don’t mind getting surprised by the weather as long as it is a nice surprise🙂 I don’t think I would like that heat You always get but last summer and this winter was just what I like🙂 I do hope You’ll get more rain before summer starts, that should be in a week or so shouldn’t it🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hoppas Hectors uppignande håller i sig, det är bra att vädret blivit varmare så han inte har så ont!🙂 Igår jobbade vi i trädgården, jag klippte ner vissna perenner (har en del) och Rolle fick ta motorsågen och ta ner stora prydnasgräs. Dom är alldeles för jobbiga att klippa för hand!🙂
    Idag – när dimman lättat – ska jag rensa upp alla mina pallkragar från perennskräp, samt gräva ner lite anemonlökar i en av dom. Sen har jag en massa olika vallmofrön att kasta ut någonstans, så det är inga som helst problem med sysselsättning! *fniss*🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Ja, jag hoppas att det varmare vädret hjälper honom.

      Har nog aldrig hör att någon tar ned prydnadsgräs med motorsåg förr🙂🙂🙂

      Det blåser något skamligt här idag så skulle jag sprida fröer skulle hela byn täckas av dem🙂 Jag hoppas på lugnare väder imorgon!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

