It should be nice!

DSC_0003

It’s 11C (52F) outside and now You think I’ll tell You how wonderful it feels but it doesn’t. It’s actually nasty cold because the wind is so strong that it’s impossible to enjoy it. Even here indoors it’s cold because it’s actually warm enough for the radiators to shut down and then the wind sort of cools down the cottage and the heat from the stove has problems reaching anywhere.

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

DSC_0007_redigerad-1

Like all windy days, as it seems all days this year has been, we went in to the forest on our walk. In there it was calm enough so I could walk with an open jacket but when we passed the open fields I wished I had brought my long scarf Joyce gave me. They say it will calm down until tomorrow though and we might even get some sunshine.

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

My latest neighbor came out when we were going home and we talked about all the ruins after old cottages we have seen here and all the old tombs. His cat Salmiak were outside and Bertil, that had followed us on our walk hurried away at first. Suddenly he started patrolling the road as if he owned it and Salmiak ran inside. Last time those two met it ended with Salmiak having nasty wounds and Bertil staying indoors for a few weeks🙂 I guess, since Bertil was patrolling, that Bertil won that fight but I could see that this wasn’t over at all🙂

DSC_0014

There are plenty of old roads in the forest and I was thinking I should follow some of them one day. But I didn't today because of Bertil's warnings.

There are plenty of old roads in the forest and I was thinking I should follow some of them one day. But I didn’t today because of Bertil’s warnings.

DSC_0018

There is a place in the Forbidden Forest (can be seen from the other side of the creek) where there’s lots of big stones. I wonder if this might be a burial ground?

Bertil warned us for wild hogs all the way we were out walking but we never saw any. But we did see tracks from several piglets in the mud when we were walking back again. I talked as loud as I could in the noise from the wind and thankfully they could hear me. I really don’t want to look a big boar in the eyes again, especially not if there are piglets around🙂

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

It’s time to make a pot of tea and after that I think I’ll go upstairs and hide behind a warm blanket. I am a bit tired today because I woke up last night with cramps in both thighs and I had huge problems getting rid of it. After that I slept like a baby again but I can’t say I felt especially peppy when I woke up this morning🙂

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

DSC_0035

Have a great day!

Salmiak, not happy to see any of us :-)

Salmiak, not happy to see any of us🙂

16 thoughts on “It should be nice!

  1. haha…i think salmiak is giving you all the stink eye. it is warming up here today and the sun is shining. teddy is loving it! i go to people’s blogs that are good knitters and i am so ashamed of my knitting abilities! but, i guess as long as my scarf is out in the woods where no one can see it but it keeps you warm, it’s a good thing!

    • Hi Joyce!

      He sure is🙂

      It should be really nice here but it isn’t! Tomorrow will be a bit cooler but at least the wind will calm down conciderable. I so understand Teddy🙂

      There is absolutely nothing wrong with those twop scarfs I’ve gotten from You and I wear them everywhere when it’s cold. It’s impossible to feel cold wearing them🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Salmiak looks like my old cat Monster Man. He was a Main Coon Cat and mean as Bertil.

    It’s really disappointing when a 52ºF day in winter turns out to be more uncomfortable than those sub-freezing days. We’re right about freezing at the moment and the sun is out so it’s rather nice comparatively speaking. It should be warmer tomorrow, they say but just in case we get too comfortable, they’re eyeing a winter storm for later in the week. I guess we can’t win.:/

    The English sparrows are hauling nesting materials into their arbor vitae castle like there was no tomorrow. It looks like one of them has outfitted the place with lots of pine cones, too.

    Enjoy the rest of the evening and stay warm.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think that Salmiak actually is a rather nice cat but when Bertil’s around and my dogs come a bit too close he gets a bit unhappy🙂

      Yes it should be really nice outside so I get a bit annoyed when I can be outside🙂 Tomorrow will be a bit cooler but the storm should have passed by then, they say🙂 We might even get sunshine with a bit of luck. At the moment it’s raining and it sounds like metal pellets hits the windows in the hard wind🙂

      Very few birds by the feeders so I guess they do the same as Your English sparrows but I doubt that any of them use pine cones🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Those cats are a riot! Like having naughty children. That Salmiak is definitely giving somebody the old stink eye! Probably Bertil!

    Can’t believe you have to dodge wild hogs to take a walk! You wouldn’t catch ME out in those woods. But those old roads and big stones surely are calling for someone to explore them…

    Why do you call it the forbidden forest? Is that it’s name? Or is it that someone forbids people to go there? If that is it’s name, how did it come to be called that?

    We are having a heat wave here in central NY state, all the way up to 20 degrees F. I thought it was supposed to be warmer, but not so far. Real tired of all this extended cold and so much frozen snow on the ground. Our dog thinks she can walk on top of it, but when she gets silly and starts running around, she breaks through it and really looks put out! What a face! We can’t WAIT for it to warm up! Show more pictures of your plants popping up out of the ground! How’s that rhubarb coming along?😉

    • Hi Wendy!

      That poor cat got bad injuries when fighting with Bertil so I don’t blame him for giving us the stink eye🙂🙂

      As long as they can hear us from a good distance hogs aren’t any problems. To be honest I almost never see them, only the tracks they leave. Only one time I’ve come close and I guess they were just as surprised as I was🙂

      I call it the forbidden forest because I feel that I’m not welcome there. I actually feel sick if I try waklking in to that area and one time is enough. Sometimes it’s enough to just come close to it. Something in there really don’t want me around and I won’t argue with it🙂

      We have a law here in Sweden called All Mans Right or The Right of Public Acsess law that gives us the right to walk where ever we want, well except for gardens of course. We are allowed to camp one night without asking the land owner for permission. We are allowed to pick berries and mushrooms and use dry sticks and twigs to make camp fires but we are of course not allowed to pick endangered flowers or hunt as we wish or harm any living plants and animals. That’s why I can walk around as I wish here and no one can forbid anyone to walk anywhere, unless it’s a garden of course🙂

      20! almost summer🙂 It’s amazing how cold it is on Your side and how warm it is over here. Poor dog, I so understand her🙂

      I’ll take some photos tomorrow if I remember it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Good that those hogs avoid you. Very strange about that forbidden forest, I would be more compelled to go in there! Can you just imagine being stuck in there overnight? Creepy! Do you know who owns it?

        Oh my gosh! I cannot believe that such a law exists as your Right of Public Access! That would be so badly abused here, it wouldn’t last long enough for the ink to dry on the papers it was written on! How nice that you do have the ability to go everywhere like that.

      • Hi Wendy!

        We’ve had that law for centuries here. Sweden and Finland were the same country back then so they have a similar law. We know how to handle it but tourists and tourist companies don’t so they are thinking of restricting the law to people living in Sweden but not tourists unless they are accompanied by swedes or something like that. We don’t like politicians touching that law because if they start, even with good intentions, we know they won’t stop until the law is so destroyed that it no longer works. We all know they way to hell is paved with good intentions.

        All animals know that the risk of attacks are too big unless it is really necessary. A small wound can become deadly so they always try to avoid us or other predators. But it is fun to see them from a safe distance though🙂

        I’m not sure You would be more compelled because it’s rather nasty🙂 I can walk around everywhere in the forest or bog and wouldn’t mind spending the night but never even close to that place🙂 It’s one of the two big landowners around here that owns that part of the forest and I think I know who it is but the borders between them are no straight lines🙂

        Christer.

  4. ahhhhh, the politics of cats, what would you do without your protective scout Bertril, he is a courageous foe, where is your snow, oh I know where it is, WE HAVE IT!!! We have been buried all winter, take care of your painful bones,,

    • Hi Laurie!

      I have wondered what have happened to You! I’m so glad to see You here again🙂 Is Your blog up and running again?

      It’s actually rather nice to have him around even though he started to warn about those hogs as soon as we entered the forest🙂 I knew they are in my parts of the forest at the moment but I guess there are several herds around at the moment.

      I’m so happy that we don’t have any snow and actually have real spring here now, can’t remember that ever happening this early before🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    The wind can be so nasty and I’m sorry yours spoiled what could have been a lovely day. I can’t imagine it that warm after the winter we’ve had and still seem to have. It got to 37˚ today. Last year it was 60˚ on the same day as this. Quite a difference.

    The furnace needed a new blower motor. It was pretty cold by the time the furnace got going, but now the house is warm and cozy.

    Tomorrow is supposed to be warm. I won’t believe it until I’m outside and feeling the 45˚.

    Have a great weekend!

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes it can and it totally destroyed what could have been a wonderfgul day. This morning however seems to be totally still. Having these temperatures in early March is so unusual that I don’t think I’ve ever heard of it before🙂 Not even down by thge ocean thgis happened in early March🙂

      I’m glad You have the heat back on again! It is bad when we have to freeze indoors too🙂

      They say it will be a bit cooler here today but the wind will be gone and we might even get some sunshine🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. The last cat in the photo doesn’t look like Bertil? Is it him? If so he doesn’t look like himself.
    Of course I’ve never seen Bertil dozing.
    I think I would listen to Bertil if he did any warning!🙂 He seems very street wise..so to speak.
    Great pictures as always, Christer. Sounds cold. Still very nice here in California.

    • Hi Mona!

      No it doesn’t and that’s because it is Salmiak, the neighbor cat🙂

      It is hard to listen to a cat that starts warning as soon as we enter the forest and just keeps on doing it🙂 I looked at it more like a general warning so I should keep my eyes open🙂

      We haven’t had it thgis warm in early March since I don’t know when. I don’t think it has happened for as long as I have lived🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Wow, now I will be thinking about the Forbidden Forest…I wonder what happened to make it have that bad energy?
    I once went to an Open House with my sister. The house was one that I always thought was so cool and I was excited about going. As we walked through it, my sister was ahead of me pointing out stuff when I suddenly stopped her and said that we needed to get out of there. NOW! she asked why and I said there’s something BAD in here and so she said OK! and we left immediately. She trusts my feelings for that kinda bad stuff.

    I’m glad you have Bertil to scout the area for you!

    • Hi Cindi!

      I have no idea but I’ll see if I can find any info about historical events around here and about burial sites too. There was almost no forests around here before so this could have been a very different place back in the days. One should never go against feelings like that or cats warning for wild hogs🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

