Four dogs and a human, nothing to worry about.

DSC_0004

The weather men said the wind would calm down today and how wrong they were🙂 It kept on blowing with the same strength and persistence it has for the last few months🙂 There is one big difference today though, the wind is warm so for once it was quite nice being outdoors. Well not in the early morning when we were out the first time because I had shaved my head (and face) and it takes some time until one get used to how much the hair actually insulates the head but after noon it turned towards pleasant.

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

DSC_0017

It’s easy to see that this is a tomb (or many, I’m not sure) by the shape of it

So we’ve been outside for the bigger part of the day. I’ve been weeding my flower beds and the vegetable patch. So far it’s mostly grass that needs to be removed but there were a few other weeds too, like mallows and geraniums. They love the sand I have instead of soil in my garden and tends to take over totally. Lots of perennials show signs of being alive and some trees now have swelling buds. I di hope we won’t get any serious setbacks this year because most plants will get so damaged that they might die when they start this early. Most trees and bushes reacts to how long our days are but when we reach 14C (57,2F) even they have problems resisting an early spring.

DSC_0018

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

All dogs are now wobbly in their stomachs and it is their own fault! I caught Hector in the action yesterday when he ate his way through the garbage bag, the things he didn’t like he threw out on the floor for the others to have and I caught Nova chewing her way in to the unopened sack of deer food. They all seems to love that and their stomachs just can’t take it🙂 So I have boiled lots of rice for two days now and it looks like I’ll have to do it a few more days🙂

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

DSC_0026

They had the big finale of the Eurovision Song Contest yesterday evening, the Swedish part of it that is. This is a very big thing in Sweden and over 30 000 people were at the arena to see and hear it live. This year was exceptional bad when it comes to quality of both the artists and the music itself. Most artists couldn’t sing clean at all but they had ego’s bigger than the country🙂 Three songs stood out from the rest with artists that could sing and reasonable good songs. Today this is a complicated thing to go through. In the final they have eleven international jury groups and they have half the power when they place their votes.

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

DSC_0016

The other half is the Swedish people by tele voting. They get votes from how many percentages of the votes they get from the people so the end result can be very surprising. Yesterdays voting actually got exiting for once. The winning song won with only two points. The winner was voted as the second most liked song from the international jury groups but got more tele votes from the viewers. Did the right song win? I actually can’t say🙂 The woman who won has the best voice and she makes this ballad powerful but the woman coming second had a more fun song with some speed in it. I’ll post videos from both songs so You can decide for Yourself. The big big finale goes later in spring down in Copenhagen.

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

DSC_0024

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat. No fire in the stove tonight because if there is I won’t be able to sleep because of the heat in my bedroom🙂

Have a great day!

Do You remember last years kittens? This is one of them and it's not afraid of anything :-) It looked at us for a few seconds and then it came running. Four dogs and a human is nothing to worry about :-)

Do You remember last years kittens? This is one of them and it’s not afraid of anything🙂 It looked at us for a few seconds and then it came running. Four dogs and a human is nothing to worry about🙂

DSC_0045

DSC_0047

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

24 thoughts on “Four dogs and a human, nothing to worry about.

  1. Love the pics, I save a lot of them and use them as wallpaper on my computer, changing it often. I had to have a second look at the one of the goat, then I finally saw the second, much taller goat! Such beautiful, fuzzy ponies. I would have been hard pressed not to bring that kitten home, what a cutie!

    I am so envious of your incredible weather, we are finally above freezing, but still have a long time to go before all this snow will melt. I am very done with winter now.

    I looked at the videos, I really like the first one, Sanna Nielsen the best! My vote is for her!

    • Hi Wendy!

      I’m glad You like that that much🙂

      I think that second goat actually is a bit smaller than the white one but it is standing on something behind the opening🙂 I do like the white one and I think it is a very old almost extinkt Swedish breed.

      I can just imagine how both Bertil and Teodor would react if I brought home that kitten🙂 I doubt it would survive. But its mother is feared by all cats in the neighborhood so it’s quite safe as long as it stays at the farm🙂

      It will cool down some from now on but I’m so glad I didn’t work on a day like this🙂

      I like both songs but Sanna really make that song alive.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • I think that at least half of all songs (or even more) written here in Sweden is written in English. It has been that way for as long as I can remember. Most Swedes speak english rather well but since many don’t like our accent they rather not. I know that many from abroad that moves here have problems learning Swedish because we all know English so well that they rarely get the chance of speaking Swedish🙂
      Christer.

      • That’s very interesting! I had neighbors, as a child, who were Swedish, that spoke perfect English, but I loved their accent!

      • Hi Wendy!

        I don’t know why people don’t like the accent but I must admit that I worked hard to get rid of mine🙂 I talked to a man originally from Manchester in England (but grew up in Australia) and he said that I have a BBC accent with a touch of upper class🙂🙂🙂 I had BBC when I lived in Gothenburg and I thank Miss Anne Diamond and Nick something on the BBC morning show for giving me my british accent🙂 I listened to them every morning and tried to say exactly like them and it seems I was successful🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I think that kitten has a bit of Bertil’s look in her eyes in that last photo.

    What is in that deer food that the dogs all love? Suet?

    When I was driving around yesterday I stopped at the farmers market and bought some things. Apparently I tore a bag when I was taking them out of the jeep because when I went out this morning there was my loaf of English toasting bread sitting at the end of the driveway. The critters had been chewing on it so I broke it up and scattered it around the side yard. I was looking forward to some English toasting bread for breakfast today. Oh, well. The crows were happy.

    The second place song was better and more interesting. The guys in prison suits are an odd bit, though. Why?
    The winner is more acceptable to the general audience, I suppose, but it’s a bit boring.

    It’s cooler here. The sun is shining but the wind is blowing and making it feel colder. There is snow in the forecast for tomorrow and Wednesday and Thursday. Or maybe rain. Or a little of both. They aren’t sure.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I have no idea what it is that they like in it. There’s nothing like suet but there is some kind of molasses. Perhaps it’s that sweet thing they want?

      Isn’t it typical! Just the thing one wants is the thing one drops. Long time since I bought that but I have been feeling for some toasted bread for some time now, foe me it’s summer breakfast🙂

      I think both were the songs that were the best ones and the songs on third and fourth place was also the best of what was competing this year. I can honestly not chose between those two. I have no idea how the winning song wilkl make it in the big finale later in spring. Could be the winner but also the one with least votes🙂🙂 and I agree, the winner is a bit slow and boring🙂

      It was supposed to be rather chilly here today but 50 is rather good this time of year🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. your Euro song competition is like the American Voice competition I think, we watch it all the time, Canada has nothing like that, that is such a pretty cat, I like that its brave!!!!Would you like some snow? I have lots to spare, I have returned to blogging with a new computer for the visually impaired, a new blog but the same name, I have missed everyone, I’m still learning, slooooowly how to use this,

    • Hi Laurie!

      This competition has been around for over 50 years now. I haven’t seen The Voice even if they had a Swedish version too but on a channel I don’t watch. No one liked it so it only went for one season.

      It is a very pretty cat and I like when they show no fear despite the fact that even Sune could eat it in one part sizewise🙂

      No I’m quite happy without any snow but thanks for asking🙂🙂🙂

      I’ll see if I can find Your blog again, I tried clicking on the address You’ve written down but it didn’t work.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer –
    I think Spring has truly arrived. We finally got the rain we desperately needed, but 4 inches in one day was a bit too much for my taste. Our temps have turned a balmy 62 degrees. The reason I know this is not a fake Spring is because all the frogs at the pond across the street were heard for the 1st time a few nights ago. The frogs never appear unless all threat of Winter weather is over. Their loud choroius of singing as they search for a mate was so thunderous,even through closed windows it woke me up a few times the first night it happened. They sound so happy to be out of the cold muddy bottom of the pond & out in the Spring nighttime air. I hope they eat tons of mosquito larva, so I do not get bitten as much this Summer.
    So the dogs have been into the garbage again. Nice of Hector to give the things he dislikes to the others. It may be time to get some dog-proof trash cans with locking lids. One for the deer food too. What a mess. I hope none of them throw up. I have been cleaning up cat messes the past couple of days as Toby tried to get up a big fur ball (another sign of Spring is the massive amounts of shedding fur). I comb her 2X a day and still manages to swallow so much. Never on the wood floor I could easily clean. Always on the carpet or under a piece of furniture that is impossible to get to.
    The photos too were wonderful as always. I especially love the goats staring out at you. At first, I didn’t see the brown goat standing on hay bales or something high up. The white goat is beautiful (for a goat) & looks like the kind of goats you see in old fairy tale illustrations. He has an amazing long beard that makes him look like a mystical beast. I always like seeing the brown horses with the red house & barn in the background. Poor horses, look like they really need a hair trim. Their hair & manes hanging so far over their eyes they cannot see. Does the owner ever groom them & give them a trim?
    The kitten is gorgeous.I could not have resisted taking him home with me when he was a tiny kitten. He has turned into a great looking cat. Is there a chance he gets his boldness from Bertil?
    Thank you for sharing the video of the song competition. While the singing was fine with both, I preferred the 2nd group because it had more energy & was less boring, but the costumes were awful. They remind me of an old Elvis Presley movie “Jail House Rock” where all the prisoners are dancing & singing. I don’t watch shows like American Idol or The Voice anymore. I think you could pick people off the street with more talent than the mediocre talent the “professional judges” select for these kinds of competitions; Of course, they are good material, for you & your Sister trading mean texts. If I had someone to do that with, I might pay a little attention.
    I have been in the hospital for a week and so I just caught up on past posts. I’m glad you are enjoying the new car.Hopefully the mechanic fixed all the things you found not working. I love the blue color – very sharp looking. I hope you foot is getting better. As bad as the soft tissue injury was, at least you did not get any broken bones. I hope the guy who did it watches where he is going from now on. It was good to see that all the little trees you planted are doing well with the mild weather. I hope that with a good start they will grow into the trees you have been wanting. You should plant a couple of fast growing trees in the yard, so that by the time you retire you can have a perfect place to hang a hammock, so you can take a nap under all the trees in your yard in Summer..
    Have a good week at work. – Ellen

    • Hi Ellen!

      I’ll start with my foot, it was nobody elses fault that this happened than my own and I can only thank the kid (he’s over twenty but I’ll be fifty this year so I call him kid🙂 ) that drove the truck that nothing worse happened. He understood that I was about to do something stupid and managed to stop in time to just hit my toe🙂 The rest was probably my shoe twisting and making my foot hurt and swell.

      No frogs here yet, I have at least heard none yet. But it is so warm now that they should show up any day. We all fear that winter will return since we normally have winter until late April but at the same time we all hope for an unusually earlu spring. The migrating birds however have decided it is spring but we all know we can’t trust them at all🙂 I’m hoping for a dry spring, that’s the only thing that will stop the mosquitoes and all the other biting flies.

      I once had a dog that broke through everything and it was more work to repair the damages she did during the act of stealing food than it was a pain to clean up after her, so I usually just hang any garbage bag with thinbgs they like to eat outside the front door. I must tell You all about Viran, she was absolutely crazy but never boring, not for a second🙂 She destroyed three refridgerators in her life and one garage door🙂

      Thos horses are outside all winter, they refuse to go inside even in snow storms so they just let their fur grow all winter, soon they will all be groomed and look very beautiful again. They always let the mane hang like that because of all the biting flies we have here. No flies in winter of course but during summer. It seems that it’s more effective than buying those other things that they hang in front of their eyes otherwise.
      That white goat is beautiful, I think it is an old Swedish breed that almost got extinct. But I can’t say I’m fond of goats otherwise.

      No canse what so ever that he gets his boldness from Bertil. Bertil was neautered when he was eight months old. I think this cat gets it from its mother, she is feared amongst all cats in the village but she’s a sweet heart towards humans.

      I got tired of Swedish Idol after one season🙂 This competition has been around for over fifty years now and every country have different ways of getting the soing that will compete for their country. Some have loads of competitions like we other just order a song from a song writer. Normally we have really good artists in this competition but not this year. I would say that only the top four could sing properly this year.

      So far everything is ok with my car and I enjoy driving it every day. I even keep it clean🙂

      No trees grow fast up here, the summer is too short and cool for that. It takes 70 years for a pine or spruce to reach the size they need when they’ll make timber from it. Those trees that grows fast are usually the ones falling in storms. So the trees I have sown this winter won’t be of any bigger size until they are around twenty five years old or so🙂

      So how are You after the hospital visit?
      Have a great day!

      Christer.

  5. hi christer! this is a short post because i am really tired. i was gone all day but i think you will enjoy what i post tomorrow. i just have to say that kitty sure is cute! joyce

  6. I tried to find the “tomb” you spoke of but couldn’t see it. I enlarged the picture but lately when I do that the pictures get so large that you cannot make out anything. It was better today..still I could not make out what the white thing is when I saw it. It didn’t look like tomb to me so you must have been speaking of something else.🙂 the deer food. Lesson learned? Put stuff where it’s impossible for the dogs to get to it. Where ever that might be? 🙂 I should not laugh because I know it wasn’t pleasant.
    The kitten..or now a cat, just just beautiful. I would love a cat like that. So friendly. I liked that.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      It’s actually the entire earth mound that You can see in that photo. The tomb was covered in soil and if You look at it it has a too regulat shape to just be a pile of soil.

      No lesson learned, those dogs tries to get some of it as soon as they think I don’t notice it🙂 The problem is that I have almost no storage space, it’s in the garage in that case and the I’ll only feed the mice instead🙂

      I was surprised that it just came running to us🙂 That’s a cat in my taste🙂

      Have a greatd ay!
      Christer.

  7. Gillade bilden på geten, så fint komponerad! Och så gillar jag Ace Wilders låt…och hennes framträdande…och hennes kläder. Inte fullt så överdrivna som dom andras utan ungt och piggt. Kul med ett nytt fräscht ansikte som dessutom kan sin sak!!

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Visst är den fin geten! Kan inte påstå att jag gillar getter annars.

      Jag känner att båda var värdiga vinnare, Sanna har en röst som kan bära en ballad som denna men Ace hade en roligare låt.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer! That cat sure does have a lovely long tail! And straight up and at attention! So very cute. We are melting but still have 8 foot tall snow banks everywhere. Makes the driving so dangerous. But I hope this is a good sign for us Canadians on the prairies! I love your pictures!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I do like that cat and I hope it will stay around for a long time. I don’t know if it is a he or she but the he’s usually walks away when they get older and un neutered.

      8 foot of snow is just too much! I do hope it’ll melt away fast!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Hi Christer,
    The once kitten, now cat is beautiful. I loved the animal pictures. For some reason the goat is my favorite.

    Dogs will sometimes eat anything. Gracie gets an upset stomach and usually I can hear it gurgling. Digesting grass always helps. This time of year I give her fronds from my spider plant and she’s fine in a short while. In the summer she eats the gras in the yard. I tell people Gracie is grazing.

    I agree with you about that mound. It does resemble a tomb.

    Hope your day was a good one.

    • Hi Kat!

      I can’t even pretend I like goats especially much but I do like that photo too. I posted another one in my NG album and it looks like people liked it.

      They do have the oddest taste sometimes our dogs🙂 My dogs also graze grass🙂 and this winter has been perfect since we’ve had so little snow.

      Yes they haven’t managed to hide that it is a tomb especially well🙂 I’ll try to see if I cvan find any info about it, if it is one or several people in it.

      Casn’t complain too much🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. that kitten is so cute.
    I liked the second singer better.
    (I think I had those same pants as what she’s wearing…but that was in the 80’s! LOL!)

    • HI Cindi!

      It is and so bold too🙂

      I like the two just as much I think even though the winner is a bit slow. But the betting businesses here think she might have a chance to win the hole thing!

      She has grown up in the US, perhaps she found Your old pants on second hand🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

