I could hear the roar all night.

I realised that I hadn't erased yesterdays photos from my camera, something I always do otherwise. So some of the photos I show today are from yesterday.

I realised that I hadn’t erased yesterdays photos from my camera, something I always do otherwise. So some of the photos I show today are from yesterday.

It has been storms here all winter but last night was the strongest one I think. My neighbors said their cottage trembled all night until the wind changed direction. My cottage was sheltered by his and when the wind changed the forest took over. I did hear the roar from it though and that sound only really heavy showers can make. The mixed in snow however was quiet, the only thing that was out there last night🙂 I don’t like things that go bump in the night and I had one such bump and it turned out to be the ladder I had put up for the chimney sweeper. It missed my window by less than three centimeters (a bit more than an inch). I had totally forgotten it stood there🙂

DSC_0015

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

It has kept on blowing almost as much all day until now around 4pm. The sun has been shining all day and as long as we could find shelter from the wind it was quite nice. So we walked in the forest today and it was perhaps not the wisest of decisions, I could hear how a tree snapped with a loud bang, like a shot from a gun, when we were out there. So I’ve mostly stayed indoors but we have been in the garden several times too. I’ve cleaned up after my dogs and I’ve taken cuttings from a few bushes, not because I needed to but to just see if I will be successful with it🙂

DSC_0027

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

I watched that second movie from the Hunger Games series yesterday, Catching Fire. I almost regretted I did it because now I don’t have that really great movie to look forward to🙂 If You like this genre this is a must. The first film was really good but this one was even better and I do look forward to the next one. I’ll buy the books as soon as the last movie is made because if the movies are this good how great aren’t the books then? I usually like the books better than the movies so I feel I have plenty to look forward to!

DSC_0044

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

I’ve decided I won’t get any more tv channels now, if I will it’s better to get them in the autumn just when it is getting dark again and the dark winter will make it impossible to do anything outside. Spring and summer when it is light almost all hours of the day is no good time to watch tv, I will most likely be outdoors anyway. 

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

DSC_0007

It’s time to feed all the animals and to make a pot of tea for me. I haven’t checked if there’s anything worth watching on tv but I doubt that, so I’ll most likely see the last episodes of Big Bang Theory tonight. As soon as they release the latest season on dvd I’ll buy it🙂

DSC_0011

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

Have a great day!

Why get a tractor when the only thing You need to do is to invite som wild hogs to plow Your fields :-)

Why get a tractor when the only thing You need to do is to invite som wild hogs to plow Your fields🙂

12 thoughts on “I could hear the roar all night.

  1. I like windy weather but not when it could damage my home!
    I’m so glad I had that weeping willow cut down! I would have surely fallen on the house by now otherwise.
    It’s supposed to get into the 50’s today but so far it’s only in the 30’s.
    I think I will stay inside and relax today. I was very busy at work yesterday and tomorrow (on Sunday) I have to work a double shift. So I need to rest up a bit.
    I think I will rent the Hunger Games DVD for next weekend!
    That’s something to look forward to!
    I think I would rather have a tractor than to worry about wild hogs! LOL!

    • Hi Cindi!

      I do like storms and the sound from them since they rarely reach my home🙂 Normally I only hear it so I totally forgot that ladder until a gust threw it towards my kitchen door🙂

      Yes it was a good thing You got rid of that willow, it was big so the damage it could have done would be big!

      Double shifts! I try to stay away from that now days, I just feel too old🙂🙂 Nice to read that You acyually rest for once🙂

      If You liked the first hunger games You’ll most likely love this one. It’s so much darker and ominous. They just started to sell the dvd’s here but since I’ve been waiting for it I bought it that same day🙂

      I never worry about those wild hogs, I wouldn’t be able to live here if I did🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! it was crazy windy here last night and today. a couple of my shutters got loose and were banging against my house. we were supposed to get a big storm but now they are saying it will go south of us. today is the big st. patty’s day parade and all day tons of people have been walking past my house dressed in green. there are going to be lots of drunks out tonight! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      So strong winds on Your side too! Houses here don’t have shutters, some have decorative ones but they are nailed to the walls. I’ve always wondered if anyone actually shut them during storms?

      I wondered if it was St. Patricks day today because I saw some comments on fb. I hope they don’t feel like tossing lots of garbage over Your fence, people tends to do things like that when being drunk.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    The books of the Hunger Games were great. I read them before there were movies which I prefer to do because often the movies leave out stuff which are important to the story and the books let your memory fill in the gaps as you watch.

    Everything looks as it survived the wind, and the crocus are lovely. You are definitely way ahead of us this spring. That seems so strange to me.

    Enjoy your day!

    • Hi Kat!

      I’m the other way round, I hate it when they leave out things from the books so I rarely like the movies if I’ve read the books first. I can’t wait till I buy all the books🙂

      I think some trees broke in the forest but my garden wasn’t hit by the winds, my neigbors cottage stopped all the wind so only a few gusts hit here. My garden is way behind others in the area, they are usually two weeks ahead to mine. I agree, it is strange! and I love it🙂

      Have a great day!

  4. beautiful photos , wow, I love a good storm but not the ddamage, you certainly must have a great dvd collection, we are still in winter mode here,

    • Hi Laurie!

      Yes as long as we don’t have any damages I love storms🙂 I was lucky this time with that ladder.

      I do have loads of dvd’s🙂 and the fun thing is that I often see them several times and not only that one time when I’ve bought them.

      It looks like we’ll miss the return of winter but nights might be nasty cold🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    I love how little trees grow out of old, dead stumps of former trees.

    Wild hogs might be a bit too enthusiastic in their plowing and they are also somewhat haphazard as well. Besides, I expect that once they have dug up a field they pretty much consider it theirs to dig up anytime they want. Maybe domestic pigs that are easier to move around would be a better idea?

    It was lovely here on Saturday. A real spring day. In the morning I took Rocky to doggie daycare because I was going to be out with friends all day. On the way back I went by the lake and saw a guy walking his dog. It was 9:30AM, about 45ºF and this man was dressed in Bermuda shorts, sneakers with no socks and a sweat shirt. He was carrying a large iced coffee. In other words, a typical New Englander.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I too and almost all older tree stumps have a couple of small trees growing on them.

      Yes they are a bit enthuiastic and haphazard but they tend to work the entire field if one just let them continue🙂 But wildhogs see any surface of grass as theirs so lots of gardens are destroyed here in southern Sweden. I’m thinking of putting up a higher fence around my garden because they are comming closer and closer by the day now. They fear very few things and dogs aren’t one of those things🙂 They are using domestic pigs in areas where they have cut down all the trees now days, works much better than any machine.

      We would call thet guy a Stockholmare, only people in the capital would be dressed that way in those temperatures🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Lots of wind here at the end of Winter..but I love wind as long as it doesn’t damage the house. Just listening to it puts me to sleep..it’s a wonderful sound. Sometimes a bit of a lonely sound but I don’t mind. Any kind of weather except that blazing heat that brings life to a near stand still, is fine with me.
    I’ve heard of tree’s falling on folks so it’s good you stayed indoors. It would be a long time before anyone found you out in the forest.
    Some of the most forests I’ve ever seen. So pretty…odd growing things though. Probably from the dampness where you live.

    • Hi Mona!

      I would love the wind if it ever blew when the fly and mosquito season was at its worst but it never seems to blow that time of year🙂🙂 Nothing beats falling asleep to the sound of a big storm!

      Yes every time we’re having a big storm here someone always die. Why can’t they ever understand that it is a bad idea to be close to trees when it blows that hard?

      Yes I guess it is the dampness that gives the right conditions for many of the mosses, lichens and mushrooms here. I’m used to it so I never think of it though🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

