It’s a sort of running anyway.

DSC_0002

The winter they had predicted would return seems to have gone elsewhere. I don’t mind though and I hope that the ones that got it are happy getting it. It will be a bit cooler and the snow we were supposed to get will come as rain instead. Spring is my favorite season so I don’t mind if it will stay a bit longer than usual.

DSC_0003

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

I think that even Hector likes that it is warmer than usual, this weather helps him with his arthritis and he even ran when we were out walking after work today, well sort of running because it was more like some kind of jumping thing🙂 Perhaps a slow kind of gallopingish running style but at least he did it and he was so happy🙂 Long time since he managed to do something like that.

I put net around my Rhododendron dauricum just in case the deers would understand that they have missed the buds this winter.

I put net around my Rhododendron dauricum just in case the deers would understand that they have missed the buds this winter.

If You even wondered how the male flowers look on a Sea Buckthorn thiis it.

If You even wondered how the male flowers look on a Sea Buckthorn this is it.

These are the female ones. >Not the fanciest of them all but the berries are delicious.

These are the female ones. >Not the fanciest of them all but the berries are delicious.

I didn’t know what to eat yesterday evening so I looked in my freezer and found som soft tortillas lying there, I had however nothing else to fill them with. So I tried a new way (for me at least) to make some warm sandwiches with them. They are rather big so I put lots of ham and different sausages on it and on top of it all I had cheese. I took another one and placed on top of it all and then I fried it directly on my wood stove. It worked amazingly well, the hotter the stove is the better it works. I have baked thin bread on that stove before so I knew it could work. I was however a bit worried that the filling would fall out when I turned over the bread but by then the cheese had melted and worked like a glue. This I’ll do again.

DSC_0013

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

DSC_0019

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat. I would do that tortilla thing again but I have very little to put between the breads today so I think I only will have normal sandwiches with cheese this time.

Salmiak guards his territory.

Salmiak guards his territory.

Bertil wants it.

Bertil wants it.

Magpie this morning.

Magpie this morning.

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “It’s a sort of running anyway.

    • Hi Laurie!

      It wasn’t bad at all🙂 sort of a pizza without any sauce or tomatoes. I think I’ll have tomatoes in it next time though🙂

      I’m afraid it is and both comes home with bad injuries every time they’ve had a fight.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Wow! That Salmiak is one GRUMPY looking cat! I think he could scare away one of those wild boars with that face!

    I can’t believe you have all those plants budding out. Is that first one some kind of elderberry? The crocuses look good enough to eat!

    Magpies are beautiful birds, I wish we had them here. Are they related to crows and ravens?

    Your tortilla quesadilla sounds delish! Especially cooked on the stove. You are pretty creative!

    We are not even up to 20 degrees F. Very painfully cold. The sunlight looks as though it would be warmer, but when you go outside, brrrrrrr! Can’t wait for spring!😉

    • Hi Wendy!

      He’s actually quite nice but he hates Bertil and they fight every now and again. They are equally strong so both always comes home with bad injuries.

      This is so unusually early that it is hard to believe it even if I see it myself! This shouldn’t happen for a month yet🙂 It is a redberried elderberry bush from southern Siberia. It always start early and every year it freeze down badly, for once it looks like it started at the right time🙂 The berries is said to be free from the poison that the redberried elderberry bush always have otherwise but I’m not brave enough to try them myself🙂

      They are beautiful and very funny birds but can be nasty as well. They are relatives to the crows and ravens.

      I had to do something so why not try the stove🙂

      Only 20! That sounds like normal temperatures for us this time of year🙂 I’m so glad we got an early spring this year🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. you made swedish quesadillas! they are very good with roasted chicken and cheese too. those are two very unhappy looking cats! i hope they don’t hurt each other too badly. spring has arrived at your cottage. i need to go on a walkabout in my gardens to check things out. it was still very cold here this morning but it will be warming tomorrow.

    • Hi Joyce1

      I need to roast some chicken and try that too🙂

      They truly are and none will give up🙂 So far itä’s just deep scratches but last time it was a bit too close to Bertils eye.

      Yes spring has aarived🙂 Normally it’s You that can show photos of spring this time of year. But I guess more have started to grow in Your garden than what one might think.

      Chilly nights but warm days here and I really don’t mind if nights are chilly🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    You have discovered quesadillas!

    Salmiak looks very determined to stand his ground.

    I think the winter that missed you went south to Washington DC and dumped 6 inches of snow on it. The government is closed because of snow. They aren’t used to this kind of weather.

    The turkeys were back in the yard this morning. I grabbed some cracked corn and walked down back to feed them. They all came running like tame chickens. Except for the one guy that was in the neighbor’s dog pen. He was 6 feet from the open gate and couldn’t figure out how to get out. He kept running along the fence looking worried because the other turkeys were getting all the food. Finally it occurred to him that he had wings and could maybe fly over the fence like three of his friends had already done.
    There I was covered in corn dust, surrounded by allegedly wild turkeys and as usual I had no camera. It would have been difficult to snap photos and toss cracked corn at the same time anyway. The camera noise would have spooked the turkeys and they were awfully big to have spooked so close to me.

    Today was sunny, windy and cold. Again. Spring needs to be here.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I guessed I wasn’t the first one to do this🙂 but I have to say it was a nice discovery.

      Yes Salmiak won’t stand down easily🙂

      So it was to Washington it went, it must have heard that Washington is nice this time of year🙂 But I have to say that inches is a lot when it all comes at once and especially if they aren’t used to it🙂

      Our cameras are never close when things like that happens or if that for once are we never remember to use them anyway, like me and that wild hog herd🙂 But it is cool that they came running! I guess they are used to spring and plenty to eat this time of year so theyaccepted a human that close. I’m not sure how I would feel having them around me like that, after all they are pretty big🙂

      So not the smartest of birds then🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • They’re supposed to be quite wary in the wild and difficult to get close to. You see turkey hunters in head to toe camo including camp mesh masks for their faces because the birds are so skittish. Suburban turkeys apparently are not that way.

        I forgot to tell you that I love that 4th photo. They look like tiny lights on the branches. Good shot.

      • Suburban animals are always much braver, we see it over here when it comes to deers, wild hods and foxes. They really don’t care if a person walks just inches away from them.

        I do like that photo!

    • Hi Mona!
      🙂
      I think that it so far is a tiny lead in Bertils favour, but they seems to be equally strong so it can turn any day.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I’m so happy to read about Hector. It’s so great that he’s enjoying life.
    My Ruby seems happy today, she just growled as one of the other dogs tried to share her bed.
    But last night she fell over 3 times in a row as she tried to stand and drink water. I had to set she up straight each time. Then my dog Button (the blind one) was all confused this morning and couldn’t find her way back inside from the patio. I had to go get her and carry her in. I hate this getting old stuff. Makes me sad.
    I love those photos of the cats, I might need to “save” them for inspiration for some future cat book! LOL!
    I eat something similar but with cut up chicken (because I don’t eat pigs) but I also add some salsa and cheese and sometimes I even add sour cream. Then I sit there afterwards and wonder if I’m going to have a heart attack from all the fattening food.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Me too and it looks like he’ll be with us one more summer at least🙂

      It is hard to see how old age slowly destroyes our friends. But as long as they are happy they should stay. Hector is thankfully always happy, even on bad days🙂

      Pigs over here have a much better life than chickens so I have no problems eating pork. We have the strichtest animal protection laws in the woirld wich makes it hard for farmers to make end meet since we can import so much cheaper meat from abroad where they really don’t care how the animals have it before they die.

      It is sugar that kills, not fat! So as long as there’s no added sugar You’ll be fine🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

