I’m thinking pancakes.

DSC_0032

Another day that could have been truly wonderful if it hadn’t been for the wind. It is still an ok day but the wind does its best to make us go inside again. It’s only reasonable calm in the forest and in my garden so there’s where we have been mostly today when we’ve been outdoors. Well we were down by the creek and out in to the fields there early this morning and I took two photos I liked enough to publish in my NG album, this one : http://yourshot.nationalgeographic.com/photos/3258816/  and this one: http://yourshot.nationalgeographic.com/photos/3258839/

DSC_0001

DSC_0003

DSC_0006

So mostly I’ve been napping today, looking for some tomato seeds I can’t remember where I’ve placed and watering plants both in the cool cellar and up here in the rest of the cottage. It’s Grimm on channel six at 6pm but besides that I don’t think there’s anything to watch today, besides the news that is. Yesterday I bought two dvd’s the both Thor movies. I watched the first one yesterday and besides being a bit pompous it was quite ok, it wouldn’t have hurt to have a bit more humorous parts in it. So I might watch the second one today, I’ve heard it’s rather good.

DSC_0008

DSC_0010

DSC_0013

It’s fun that they use our old gods in movies now days. The Norse gods (or Asagudarna as we call them) were the gods we had here until Christianity came. They didn’t disappear over a night though and many of their symbols survives still today. Like Thor’s goats, they are important Christmas (or Jul as we say) symbols yet. More and more people are converting back to the old religion too but look at the gods in a different way. They don’t see Thor riding his carriage after his goats making thunder any longer, they see them more like parts of nature and its forces instead.

DSC_0016

DSC_0024

DSC_0017

It’s time to make something to eat and I’m thinking pancakes. I have lots of jam left (and lots of berries in the freezer that I need to do something with) and over here we make thin pancakes and have lots of jam on them. Some also have whipped cream but I’m not a big fan of whipped cream to be honest. We quite often also have some vanilla sugar in the batter and that just makes the pancakes delicious🙂 I don’t have that so I’ll pour in some honey instead. But I’ll also have maple syrup on my pancakes, I got a bottle from Joyce this Christmas and I have some left still🙂

DSC_0001

DSC_0013

DSC_0035

Have a great day!

DSC_0033

14 thoughts on “I’m thinking pancakes.

  1. Christer,
    It seems strange to see so little snow for your this year. In New Hampshire my friends still have 3 feet of snow on the ground. Here it will be 11˚ tomorrow night. Spring comes slowly.

    I love seeing the circus. I figure they know more than I do about the seasons so they give me hope.

    Enjoy your pancakes!!

    • Hi Kat!

      It feels strange too but I do like it🙂 You have gotten our winter this year and it is very odd since You live that much further south! Nights can be a bit chilly though but who cares, I’m asleep anyway🙂

      Can’t say I’m a fan of Circus myself and I never knew they understood anything about spring🙂🙂🙂 I guess spell check jumped in there🙂🙂🙂 I do like the crocus but I don’t trust it as a spring knower🙂 It usually turns up way before the last snow has fallen but still they are pretty wonderful🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Your first link is borked and goes nowhere. You have to remove the # sign at the end. I saw those photos yesterday. Wild hogs are certainly thorough.🙂

    What is that woodpecker in the last photo? It looks like a negative of our Downy and Hairy woodpeckers. They have a lot of black where this bird is mostly white.

    It is strange to see flowers and green stuff in your photos at this time of year and then to look out my window and see piles of dirty snow.😦 Even the skunk cabbages and vicious roses have not started to leaf out and they are always way ahead of the game. And it’s going back down in the deep freeze next week. Maybe more snow, too. The polar vortex can go back polarwise any time now.🙂

    I like the striped crocus. Very delicate.

    Enjoy the pancakes. The only thing that belongs on them, in my opinion, is melted butter and maple syrup.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!

      Thank You! It is removed. But You must have seen them very early today since I posted them late enough for You to see them today🙂

      It is a Great Spotted Woodpecker (Dendrocopos major), the only one that is rather common here. We have a few others too but this one can be seen everywhere.

      It is odd that You have our winter, especially since You are living so much more south than I do. As long as the polar vortex doesn’t vcome here I don’t mind if it leaves You🙂 But the vicious rose are usually late here, how odd🙂

      Your pancakes are more like dinner while ours are more like dessert. I’ve never had melted butter on my pancakes. Perhaps I’ll try that sometime since I do have maple syrup🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Actually, the way to do it is hot pancakes, warmed maple syrup and a pat of butter. The butter gets melted by the syrup and pancake. I am impatient though and nuke my butter a bit in the microwave.🙂

  3. hi christer! wow…you managed to save some maple syrup? i have tons of it right now and still have one more festival to go to. it is bright and sunny here today but a cold front is about to arrive and the temps will plummet. i am heading out in a bit to buy some of the supplies i need for the new garden project for this spring. enjoy your pancakes! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes I’m very careful when it comes to my maple syrup🙂 Not a drip comes outside what it is meant to hit🙂

      I hope this will be the last really cold cold front for You and that spring finally will arrive. But then again I feel summer hits very fast after that for You, here spring can last for quite some time.

      I’m looking forward to see what project You’ll start!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      Many here in Sweden have pancakes on Thursdays. First they have yellow pea soup and after that pancakes with jam and whipped cream. I love yellow pea soup but my stomach gets a bit too worried🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer, i looked at the crocus in this post and then commented on them in an older post😮 anyway still liked them. Here we usually have pancakes on the weekend as Grenville is the pancake maker. We use butter and maple syrup, but have had them very thin with cherries and whipped cream. They were called crepes then and more a dessert treat.

    • HI Beatrice!

      We call the thin pancakes that we have jam and whipped cream for pancakes but if we fill them with other stuff, like meat or chicken and so on we call them crepes🙂 It’s actually a slightly different recipe for crepes since they shouldn’t have any sugar or honey in them. But as You say, our thin pancakes are more seen like dessert here,m we even make birthday cakes with them🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I had little mini pancakes for breakfast yesterday.
    They come in a box and they are frozen so they need to be microwaved.
    It only takes 1 minute and they are ready.
    I put syrup on them or sometimes even peanut butter.
    Not very healthy but they are fast and taste good.
    Love your photoS!

    • Hi Cindi!

      Long time since I had mini pancakes, we call them plättar🙂 I don’t have one of those special skillets to make nice plättar. But I must admit that I ever never would buy them ready made🙂🙂🙂 but to be honest, I have eaten them and they are pretty darn good🙂

      I always have jam on my plättar, preferable raspberry but I always take my own made first if I have any even if I don’t think it might taste that great sometimes🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

