9000 at the moment.

DSC_0004

We’ve just had a short nap and when looking out the windows it looks rather nice, sunshine with some clouds floating by. If I look at the thermometer it looks rather nice too but by opening the door it feels anything but nice and You know why, the wind. It was very different when we got out this morning, it didn’t look especially nice because clouds were covering the sky, the temperature was below 0C (32F) but there was no wind so it was rather nice outdoors.

DSC_0006

They come running to the fence as soon as they see us now🙂

DSC_0008

El Diabolo, he’s just getting bigger and bigger.

+DSC_0009

We walked up to the small lake in the forest and I’m not quite sure we actually are allowed to go there right now, the entire village and the surrounding areas are now a bird protection area and will stay so until the last of April I think. Visitors are more or less only allowed to go to the house they intend to visit but we villagers are of course allowed to walk around as long as we don’t disturb the birds. So a walk to this lake sort of gets in the grey zone I guess🙂 By the way, we have 9000 cranes here now and more will come.

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

They tried to take out peat from the ground long ago but this bog isn’t that kind of bog. So here and there holes like this can be found in the area. These are usually perfect places for water voles.

DSC_0023

But there were very few birds to disturb today, I heard a few ducks and I saw only one crane couple, I guess it’s the couple that nests there every year. I did however see loads of signs that wild hogs walk there frequently so I wonder how many we have around now. I also heard the Black grouse by the bog this morning, they are rather many this year by the sound of it and “our” nesting cranes have arrived too. Soon they’ll walk around just outside in the fields too🙂

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

There is forest on one side and bog/lake on the other.

DSC_0036

Easter is on its way and all stores are filled with easter decorations and easter eggs. I’m thinking of making a traditional påskris, sorry that word doesn’t exist in English it seems. A traditional påskris is made from lots of twigs, usually birch ones, put in a big vase or urn and dressed with colorful feathers, eggs (either real ones that are blown out or plastic ones always brightly colored), chickens and easter witches. The easter witches are usually something we made in school from flirt balls, pipe cleaners, sticks and a little fabric skirt and head scarf but I have seen ready-made in stores too usually rather expensive if they are good ones.

DSC_0039

DSC_0041

DSC_0048

The easter bunny has never been a big thing here, we have him as chocolate figures usually made in Germany but that is more or less it. Our biggest symbol for easter is, besides the chickens of course, the easter witch but I’ll tell You more about that when easter arrives. Now it’s time to finnish that pot of coffee by my side and then out into the garden for a while. I doubt I’ll do anything but clean up after my dogs but that’s something that needs to be done too.

DSC_0055

DSC_0059

DSC_0063

Have a great day!

I've never seen this window this colorful before.

I’ve never seen this window this colorful before.

30 thoughts on “9000 at the moment.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I love that window. Another argument in favor of not cleaning them all that often except for the ones you actually want to look out of.🙂
    You were rather far away from El Diabolo. I don’t blame you. He is one big guy. How old is he? Is he a meat bull or a breeding bull?

    • And this thing sent my comment before I was done.
      Anyway, GoogleTranslate led me a merry chase over påskris. Kris = crisis. Påsk = Easter. Påskrist got me nothing. Fiddling about with different ideas like Easter basket and Easter bush etc got me nothing. Finally I tried branch and got kvist but putting it together with påsk got me nowhere until I remembered that GoogleTranslate does not do combinative nouns.
      So, Påsk kvist = Easter Branch. Yeay! Take that, GoogleTranslate!🙂🙂🙂
      I think I want to make one, too.

      The Scottish Highland cattle actually look kind of cuddly in those photos. I almost want to sit down and lean back against one. Almost.
      And the shaggy ponies are, of course, always beautiful.
      You had a lovely walk this morning.
      Enjoy the rest of the day.

      • Isn’t it fun when that happens🙂

        But it’s a bit wrong even if it is close. I think it is better if You use the word twigs, so Easter twigs is more close to the right name for it. I did laugh when reading it like pås kris, that would be bag crisis🙂🙂 But I think one could call it Easter tree or Easter bush too.

        Yes they do look cuddly don’t they🙂 They actually hire a man that used to be a cowboy in both the USA and Canada when they have to put those yellow plastic markings in their ears (all cattle must have that here) He’s the only one fast enough to do it because those mothers do their best to kill anyone coming close to their calves🙂

        Yes it was a wonderful walk, too bad the wind started to blow again.

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It’s actually possible to see through it, it’s just in a certain angle it looks like this. But it does help not to clean it ever🙂

      Yes El Diabolo was standing in the middle pf the field but I suspect he’s just as calm and kind as all the other bulls in that pasture. I think he’s around three years old and he’s a breeding bull.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • The first thing I try is to separate the word into parts because Google Translate doesn’t get that piece of grammar.
        Bag crises made me chuckle. I got Easter crisis, too, which for me would be a Cadbury Mini Egg and cheap jelly bean famine.🙂
        I assumed that the k in påsk got dropped when it was joined to the kris. Kvist seemed very close to kris and the two together made more sense than anything else it had thrown up so that’s what I chose.
        I tried Easter Tree, Easter Bush and Easter Shrub but it came up with a completely different words from what you had. It’s only a Win if I get the same word or something one or two letters different.
        Twigs would be a better translation for what you described. A branch could be used for the same kind of thing. It would have to be a very sturdy and many-branched branch to hold all the things.🙂

      • A bag crisis only occurs in stores when they’re out of bags I guess🙂

        Everyone over here are so familiar with English now so it is beginning to destroy Swedish🙂 We rarely separate words in two if they are possible to cobien in to one and many tend to separate words now days. One of my favorite ones is when they were selling blacl labrador puppies, in swedish that’s two words black and labrador puppies (svarta labradorvalpar in Swedish) but if you separate labrador and puppies You suddenly have three individual words so they were in fact selling blacks, labradors and puppies🙂🙂🙂 Sooo wrong but so funny to read🙂 There are plenty more but they are hard to translate without lots of explaining.

        One could of course chop of a big branch and put it in a huge urn but it would be tricky to bring it indoors🙂

        Christer.

      • I’ve already deleted the original but I’ll pass there again so if the light is right I might be able to get itagain🙂

  2. I LOVE that breed of goat! I have had a couple of pet goats over the years, wish I had known about that breed. I am surprised they are not more popular.

    El Diablo cuts one very scary figure! I’m not sure any fence would hold him if he chose to leave. I would walk by him slowly and quietly, always with one eye on him!

    An Easter egg tree! I sometimes make one also. You should make one, I’m sure everyone would love to see a picture of it. Can’t wait to hear more about Easter witches. Yes, the USA sure has commercialized all the holidays. Easter bunny indeed. Gotta spend the big bucks!

    So those holes in the ground are test holes dug from looking for peat? I wonder why they never covered them over…

    The cranes are beautiful birds, do you ever get to see the chicks?

    Enjoy your time in the garden, we still have a foot of frozen, uneven, dog-trodden snow on mine…:(

    • Hi Wendy!

      Goats aren’t that popular or should I say used not to be popular to have but it looks like tghings are changing now. More and more people have found out that they can make delicious cheese from the milk and they always sell all of it, there’s a big demand in the big cities.

      Thankfully all the bulls in that pasture are quite nice, he isn’t the biggest believe it or not🙂 I usually start talking to them when we pass and to be honest, they really don’t care about me and my dogs🙂

      Easter is just as commericialized over here but the bunny never made it here🙂 It’s all about food and candy now days🙂

      I guess they just didn’t care, those holes bother none and why put in energy in covering them when they might just vanish by themselves after a hundred years or so🙂

      No I never go close enough to the nests, I don’t want to disturb them. But I see them all when they are old enough to fly by themselves.

      The wind has changed directions some so it is rather nice out there now🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer! I cannot believe you took the time to comment on my bunny cookie jar! 🙂 Thank you! Yes, I know you don’t especially care for “bunnies” but since this one is filled with chocolate chip cookies…that should earn her some bunny points!🙂
    Everytime we take a walk through your forests I understand how so many spooky stories could work their way into your folklore! Even the word “bog” brings back memories of childhood stories that made me sleep with my head under the covers. And no, I haven’t really outgrown my intrigue for such stories. Appears I will take my intrigue to the grave with me! I LOVE Halloween! Stories of Trolls, etc. A bog with holes in it?? Yikes!! 🙂
    The photo’s of the animals are really interesting because they are different than when we see here.. What an interesting place Sweden is!
    How we ever arrived at Easter stories where bunnies lay eggs is beyond me! 🙂 No, WAIT! The bunny “delivers” the eggs..right?
    G’night, Christer!

    • Hi Mona!

      I would comment more if the updater I have actually updated anything🙂 Knowing that the bunny is filled with chocolate chip cookies makes me even love it🙂🙂🙂

      Yes all those spooky stories were made in even deeper forests than this one🙂 I love tghose old Grimm stories but since I grew up in the big city it never stuck to me. Instead I love those bogs and forests and always hope to see a troll or wood nymph🙂 I think just the same about California🙂

      Thankfully the bunny never lays eggs🙂 That thought would be sort of disturbing🙂🙂🙂 I guess hge just steals them from hen that lays chocolate eggs🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! i wonder when those winds will calm down? that is one big bull! i am surprised it doesn’t scare your dogs. if you make an easter branch, will you take picks of it? when my kids were little, i decorated for easter a lot. now i just have 2 bunnies sitting out. it sure is cold here! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I do too, they never seem to end🙂 But I rather have winds and warm weather than no winds and winter🙂

      He is big but not the biggest by far, there are a few that are huge and thankfully they all seems to be rather nice fellows. I’m pretty sure they all would allow me to pat them on their heads if I dared🙂 Oh my dogs are afraid of them, They all walk on the other side of the road when we pass them🙂

      Of course I’ll photograph it! I haven’t decorated for easter in years and years. I have this hen that is supposed to be filled with boiled aggs and a pepper and salt shakers going with it. I bring her out when easter arrives but that’s it I’m afraid.

      I think it is time for You to have spring now too! It’s actually quite nice to have it hanging around🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. that Diablo is one huge beast!!!! I like the sound of the Easter witch, I also like the sound of the vase of birch twigs with the feathers,, yes thats lovely!!!

    • Hi Laurie!

      Be he isn’t the biggest one, far from it🙂 El Magnifico as I call him is much larger.

      We always had påskris when I grew up but I sort of forgot it after a while. I’ll see if I have one this year🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. That’s a beautiful shot of the rainbow window and weathered frame & siding! I was happy to spot a few cranes, too. I’m looking forward to hearing about the Easter witch. I learned about Italian kitchen witches when my husband and I bought a beautiful glass one at a Christmas bazaar in New York City.

    • Hi worldsosweet!

      I’m so glad I saw that window at the right time, I’ve never seen those colors before so I guess it needs the right light and perhaps humidity to show.

      Even though cranes are nosiy birds I still love hearing them in spring, perhaps not that much when they walk outside my bedroom window at nights during summer🙂 They are so loud that they scare the sh.. out of me when they start🙂🙂🙂

      I’ve never heard of kitchen witches before so now I need to check that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I think the Italian witch that I have is a Christmas witch called la befana, or something like that. She’s a nice witch who brings presents.🙂

  7. Christer,
    I love that window and the red.

    We have small ponds all over like your bog holes, but they are leftovers from when the large rocky glaciers moved. They are called kettle ponds.

    Plovers are protective birds here, and they nest on the beaches at the start of the summer. The beaches are then closed to vehicles and people until the baby plovers hatch and grow enough to leave. People complain all the time. They don’t get it!

    El Diablo is one huge animal!

    Have a wonderful evening!!

    • Hi Kat!

      I thought You would like it🙂

      We have those too but only in mountains, we call them Giants pots here🙂

      We have a bird called Northern Lapwing here and it behaves much like Your Plovers but the lapwing prefers the fields where the cattle walks. No in the village however but instead we have the cranes and they are easily scared instead. I think all villagers love this bird protection period, we love our cranes but we truly dislike those crane tourists🙂

      He is a big boy but not the biggest. I’ll see if I can photograph El Magnifico because he is really big🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Dessa är mer vilda än tama så det är inte särskilt snälla alls🙂 De föds upp för att bliu naturvårdare, slaktas altså aldrig och har väldigt lite kontakt med människor. Tror nog jag litar mer på tjurarna faktiskt🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  8. Easter witches does sound rather unusual, Christer, but I am sure you will tell us the full story as the time gets closer. Of course, here the Easter bunny is dominant for this celebration. It is amazing how when I was a child, the baskets contained only candies. Now, they seem to have toys as well. It does seem that the holidays have gotten way out of hand here.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I guess they are🙂
      I wonder why the easter bunny never really made it here, we take over any tradition the germans have otherwise🙂

      We don’t have any baskets though, we have rather big easter eggs instead, filled with all kind of goodies. I’ve never heard anyone put toys in them.

      It’s much the same here but perhaps in other ways.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Well, life isn’t that easy for an easter witch, we do try to shoot them down from the sky🙂🙂

      Still a long way from the record with over 20 000 of them by the lake.

      Those horses have had a good winter🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

