A bit too chilly.

DSC_0003

I usually like when nights are a bit cool, especially during summer if the days are hot. Night temperatures usually are around 10C up to 15C (50F-59F) even in hot summers. I don’t expect anything else than cold nights during winter and I know that spring nights can be rather cold too but I didn’t expect it to be -7,4C (18,7 F) this morning! But as the sun rose and since there was no wind it still felt rather nice to be honest.

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0004

DSC_0006

 

The sun shone a big part of the day but clouds came in and the wind started to blow hard again. I didn’t have long left of my work day when I suddenly got a call from my mother, very unusual that she calls me at work so I thought something must have happened. As soon as I answered she shouted “It’s snowing”! So I said, did You call me during work to tell me it is snowing in Småland 270 km (168 miles) away from where I live🙂 She had forgotten that I now have different working hours🙂 We got a good laugh at work about that🙂

 

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

DSC_0014

 

So the wind is howling and it feels colder now than it did this morning even though the temperature not even will come close to that now when the storm blows and the sky is clouded.  Tomorrow will be much the same but then a high pressure will come and calm down the wind and temperatures will rise again. I’m not sure I’ll believe that until it happens🙂

 

DSC_0005

DSC_0011

DSC_0012

 

I’ve paid all my bills and there was an awful lot of them this month. Normally the bills spread out evenly during the year but every fifth or sixth month they all come at the same time and I just hate those months. Not that I have any problems paying them, thankfully but it is those months I realise how much I spend on things🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat. tonight I’ll sleep like a baby, I always do when the storm is roaring outside. Just as long as the cottage don’t tremble too much like it did right now, then I’ll start thinking about the tiles and if they’ll be there tomorrow too🙂

 

This photo was way too dark so I played some with my editing program.

This photo was way too dark so I played some with my editing program.

 

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “A bit too chilly.

  1. I sleep well when it storms, too, I suppose its because I have never known to fear one, we have never felt the strength of a hurricane or tornado, Knock on wood! That is an intriguing photo with the crown like object, it has me stumped!

    • Hi Laurie!

      I have been through a few really nasty storms here with hurricane strength but thge wind came from the right direction so I could just hear the sound from it and my garden was almost completely calm🙂 But I’ve always slept well in storms.

      That crown thing is a fruit picker, the bag is missing but it works fine. It’s for picking fruit on hights one doesn’t reach and where it is too dangerous to use a ladder.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Christer, it LOOKS cold! Oh, and what is my cat doing outside on the porch when it’s so cold out! :):)
    We mother’s do forget from time to time. Keeps our children on their toes!🙂

    • Hi Mona!

      It was and still is even if it is above 33 at the moment.

      None of those cats wants to stay indoors unless it rains or snows, a bit of cold weather doesn’t keep them inside :-9
      🙂 I thought something had happened but I’m always happy to get a call at work🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    It looks so cold in the early morning pictures. I want to welcome you to our winter which has been colder than normal most of the season. Today was 37 at its highest. We’re almost into April, and it is way too cold. The snow will start after midnight!

    Enjoy your evening!!

    • Hi Kat!

      It looks as cold as it was🙂 Today will be bad and a bit of tomorrow but after that it’ll turn towards warmer again, so it’s just a short visit🙂 Our winter has been much warmer than usual and I can only hope for more like this one🙂 You really have our winter this year! I hope they predicted wrong and that You won’t get that much snow!

      Have a great day anyway!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      It does look beautiful with the frost on it🙂

      I don’t like those blue photographs but I had to have something to show🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer, after seeing recent posts where you showed all the lush green colors, these blues were quite a contrast. We also have a very windy morning after a snowy afternoon on Tuesday. The snow will be gone when the sun comes out, but was beautiful on the trees. Hopefully, I can get some last snow photos before it’s gone. Funny about your mother calling with the weather update.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I don’t like them but I had to show something🙂 It did get much warmer after that but today is cold again, still over 33 though. The snow seems to have missed us thankfully🙂

      She also screamed it in the phone🙂 I have to admit that I was glad it wasn’t worse because I thought something had happened🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Blue photographs! Not many of those this winter.
    I love the fruit picker thing. It doesn’t look like it would actually do anything. :):
    The frosty bud is lovely, too.

    The snow did not materialize here but Kat is getting pounded down her way. She’s not that far south of me but the storm is just clipping the shoreline and they are getting very bad winds. I hope everything stays safe.

    Bertil looks like an antique cat.🙂
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Thankfully those blue have been rare this winter🙂

      The fruit picker miss a bag that is supposed to be attached to it. So one just aims so the twig the fruit is attached to the tree gets caught between those thingys and then one pulls. The fruit is then taken down unharmed.

      I’m glad the snow missed You and I can imagine how Kat feels🙂 I’m pretty sure she’s fine as long as the heat still works, I remember how bad it was last year when the power went out and her house got nasty cold!

      This is actually Teodor but it’s hard to see in that photo🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Ah, I thought it looked a bit chubby for Bertil but then decided it was because he was hunched up against the cold.🙂

Leave a Reply

