My entire cottage started to shake!

DSC_0003

Finally Friday and that’s the day I stop work early, already at twelve. Normally I then drive to the super market and to the store that sells deer food and fire logs. But as soon as I sat down in my car I felt that I really didn’t want to drive all the way to Falköping for fire logs, so I bought my groceries at the store in the village where I work and drove home instead. I looked at the watch and saw that I was home twenty minutes earlier than normal.

 

 

This is the only photo You'll see from the explosion today. Here it has calmed down conciderable.

This is the only photo You’ll see from the explosion today. Here it has calmed down considerable.

DSC_0004

DSC_0005

 

I picked in my groceries and after around twenty minutes I stood in the shower when suddenly the entire cottage started to shake. It felt like something very big hit my home and the sound sort of indicated something actually did. At first I thought it might be the bulls that hade broken out and stampeded straight in to my cottage. I looked out the window and saw that something was burning and burning bad.

 

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

Beaver tracks.

Beaver tracks.

 

From my angle it looked like it was somewhere just across the field outside my garden so I dressed and went out just to see if I perhaps could help with anything. But when I came up to the mailboxes I saw that it was at the beginning of the village and I also saw a couple of cars driving very fast towards my direction. It turned out that it was a fire in one farmers garage (around  meters (much the same in yards) from my home) and that at least one maybe more gas tubes had exploded. I could hear several smaller explosions for over thirty minutes after the first big one.

 

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

DSC_0015

 

The wind, that for once wasn’t that hard, had however the direction towards their barn where they have lots of milking cows and the risk of it also catching fire was very big. The fire trucks were here fairly quick, it is a long distance from n anywhere here, and I’ve later read that the barn had caught fire but they had managed to put out that fire and all the animals have survived.  

 

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

 

I won’t go there to take any photos to show here I think they have enough as it is and someone would perhaps use it to sell to a newspaper and I know I wouldn’t like that if something like this happened to me. So in the end the worst that happened was a building doesn’t exist any longer but no one died. Buildings can always be rebuilt after all.

 

Scilla sibirica.

Scilla sibirica.

My tree peony.

My tree peony.

This one is new to me and it must have self sown. It's a pink Blue anemone (hepatica).

This one is new to me and it must have self-sown. It’s a pink Blue anemone (hepatica).

 

It’s time for that pot of tea and perhaps some raspberry flavored quark. I was planning on making waffles since it was the Waffle day last Tuesday. I didn’t feel like making any that day so I planned it for today but ,I guess it won’t hurt to wait another day. Tomorrow will be at least as warm as it was today,14C ( 57,2F), sunny and with very little wind🙂

 

I thought that those white stripes on the petals were injuries from, perhaps, dog paws but they show even on those smaller not fully open flowers too.

I thought that those white stripes on the petals were injuries from, perhaps, dog paws but they show even on those smaller not fully open flowers too.

DSC_0033

This is how the Blue anemone usually looks.

This is how the Blue anemone usually looks.

 

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “My entire cottage started to shake!

  1. What a horrible thing, those explosions and fire. So sorry for those people. Very nice of you to think of helping. I wonder what those cows thought, if you could feel that explosion so far away, they must have been shocked!

    We have hepatica in our woods also, or will as soon as the snow melts. Do you have trillium there? Beautiful pictures, SUN! Not used to seeing that in your pictures. I love the flowers, a sight for sore eyes.

    Enjoy your weekend, get out in the garden!

    • Hi Wendy!

      It must have been terrible for them! Their house is just beside it all too but the wind blew in the right direction thankfully. We were a group of neighbors on this side of the village that decided not to go there after all since we already had heard one gas tube explode, we would only be in the way and most probably be the ones getting injured🙂

      I once had an american hepatica in my garden byt I haven’t seen it in two years now. I have Trillium in my garden but we don’t have them in the nature here. The ones I have seems to like it here because they self-sown rather well. Last year a pink one flowered🙂

      Yes sun🙂 and we’ll have it all weekend they say🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. those poor people and animals. i bet it really scared the animals. i hope that guy has insurance! it is warm and windy here. the rain missed us.

    • Hi Joyce!

      I do feel sorry for them but from what I know they managed to stop the fire in time and no bigger injuries on anyone either but I’ll know more in a day or two and perhaps in the news tonight. I too hope they have an insurance!

      Do You need rain now after all snow? I guess You might since You live on the top of a mountain.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    I’m glad no people or cows were hurt in that explosion. Barns can be rebuilt as you said.

    The flowers are lovely and make me yearn for warmer days and a garden filled with flowers. The snow has melted enough to uncover a few of my flowers, mostly crocus. I’m glad to see them again.

    No rain yet here. They’re saying tomorrow, but why is the sky cloudy today?

    Have a great evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes barns can be rebuilt and they were lucky the wind had the direction it had, a bit more towards east and their home would have been in danger of burning up too. I wonder if they have a single window left now?

      I love this first time of spring🙂 but it looks like lots of my crocus have died, I used to have lots of them but now only a few show up. I guess the voles might have had them for dinner.

      The sky is cloudy just to make You feel depressed, that’s the way of nature🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    By gas pipe do you mean natural gas or petrol?
    That must have been awful for the animals and the neighbors as well. Good that the wind decided to stop.
    There was a big fire in the city near my home the other day. Two firefighters were killed when they became trapped in the basement of the apartment house. There were a lot of injuries to other firefighters as well. That was the same day as the big storm that Kat got but I didn’t. The wind was very strong and added to the danger.

    I love the photo of the creek with the light shining down through the birches.
    It’s the second one after the lone eagle. They look like they are either doing a mating dance or fighting. Funny how those two things often look the same.🙂

    Nice to see the beaver feet. I saw that there was a new dam being built as well.

    It was cloudy and it rained here. I was having lunch with a friend at a restaurant so I didn’t mind.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It was gas tubes for welding, so not petrol.

      Yes if the winds had been as strong as they were just the day before the firw could have spread over the entire village. That actually happeneed not far from here some thirty, fourty years ago during a practice for fire fighters, I think I’ve written about that in my blog once.
      What a horrible wasy to die!

      It is a nice photo and I think the birds are Common Buzzards and they are a couple so no fight🙂 But You are right, it looks just the same to be honest🙂

      It was fun to see those foot prints in the forest, it is rather far from the new place they have plöaced the wall. If they’ll manage to fill up the new space all the way up here it won’t be a beacer dam any mor, it will be a lake instead🙂

      I guess thgat as long as it isn’t freezing with lots of snow any weather will be fine🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Glad to read that only a building was lost and not lives of people or animals, Christer, as that blast must have been scary. And,I agree with your not wanting to take photos of the destruction to show. There are much nucer things to show like the nature and animal photos you post. The eagle shit was imoressive and U.S. Bloggers have oisted eagle sightings this week as well in Maine, CT and Iowa.
    Enjoy the weekend off from work.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I just wondered what had run in to my home🙂 But the huge black cloud that rose from that building was awful to see. But they had already moved away the cows before the explosion it seems. They must have understood that they had lost controll of the fire.

      They have already torn down what was left of that building and I guess they did so because too many nosy people were there wanting to take photographs.

      The eagles we have stay all winter and I think these birds are Common Buzzards, not the vulture You have though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer! That explosion sounded and looked pretty bad! I am glad to hear that no human or animal was hurt in this. That must have been terrifying to see and feel it, especially if you were in the shower and not knowing what was going on. We are still under lots and lots of snow, but we are supposed to warm up starting next week. I can’t wait! Have a good day!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I thought it was the bulls stampeeding straight into my cottage🙂🙂 But thankfully nothing worse than one building was destroyed and no one got injured or killed. I read that they already had moved the cows and calves from the barn when the gas tubes exploded.

      I hope spring finally comes Your way! It’s very nice here today🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. How scary!
    I’m so glad to read that everyone, including the animals, are safe.
    I remember when my neighbors garage that only sits like six feet from my fence and another 6 from my house, caught on fire. Her brand new car turned into a roaring inferno. I was so shaken that it could take my house and possibly some off my pets with it. That really snapped me into reality how quickly life could change.
    So I ‘m so glad that everyone was fine.
    Yes, a building can be replaced.

    Today it’s supposed to be VERY windy here and warmer. I’m hoping that it’s true.
    It’s still too early to tell.
    Have a good weekend.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I can’t even imagine how they were feeling knowing that all hell could break lose any second. But they had already moved the cows and calves before the explosion just in case the fire would spread.

      I know how it is to just sit there and hope for the best when a fire starts. It happened a lot in the neighborhood where I grew up and all appartment buildings were made of wood🙂

      No wind at all here and rather warm too, they day has been just wonderful🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Seems things are shaking everywhere…OR snow is falling.. I am happy that no one was injured in the explosion.
    EXTREMELY happy. We seem to be losing a lot of people in tragedies.
    I am glad there was no risk to your home.

    • Hi Mona!

      Yes we’ve had one huge explosion here and one earth quake and You’ve several quakes. Well we aren’t bored anyway🙂

      It could have gone so much worse and I could feel kt bad here so I wonder how it was for the closests neighbors🙂

      Yes too many go away because of tragedies that could have been prevented!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

