What a wonderful day!

DSC_0001

Today has been and still is one of those first spring days when You think, this is like summer. Of course it isn’t unless You live in Sweden because we’ve had summers when almost no day passed C (F)🙂 But since we had almost no wind it did feel like summer, or as I imagine summer after a long winter. It was a bit chilly in the morning though, -4 C (24,8 F). 

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0006

DSC_0009

DSC_0011 - kopia

 

We went up the creek this morning and Bertil followed us as always. He stayed quiet all the way so I guess the wild hogs were elsewhere today. As soon as we came home I cleaned up the garden after my dogs and then I started to expand my tiny vegetable garden. I call it a vegetable garden but to be honest, very few vegetables has ever grown in it🙂 Chives and squash mostly when it comes to vegetables but I have a gooseberry bush there, two edible honeysuckles (well the berries are, not the bush🙂 ) and three kiwis, not the big kind we all can buy in the stores but smaller ones we call mini kiwis. I think one might have died this winter and I do hope it’s one of the female plants because one need plants of both sexes.

 

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

 

Have You ever been in contact with stinging nettles? I was today. Some people make soup from it and say it’s delicious, they also say the tiny new shoots doesn’t hurt and they are lying in both cases🙂 It is edible but not delicious and if I had nothing else to eat I would eat it because it is very nutritional and they do sting really bad no matter how small they are! The skin is over sensitive hours after a close encounter and it hurts to touch anything. Still I know they are nothing compared to the fun things You have on the American continent, like poison Ivy . 

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

DSC_0027

 

Even though it looks like a very little expansion of my vegetable garden it still was lots of work and my joints weren’t too happy, so I made myself waffles today. We had the Waffle day last Tuesday but I didn’t want to make them when I came home after work so I decided to make them yesterday but then I didn’t feel like it so I made them today instead. I have an old electric waffle iron that must be almost as old as I am but it works ok but it does take some time before it is hot enough. I also have one made in cast iron but then I would have to start a fire in the stove and to be honest, it weighs tons🙂 I didn’t think I made especially much batter but it never seemed to end🙂 So my dogs got more than one each and still I had so many that I most likely won’t eat waffles again for a year or so  :-)

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0032

DSC_0034

DSC_0038

 

I haven’t spoken to any neighbor that knows anything about the explosion yesterday but I read that they had moved the cows and calves before the explosion. It seems they had understood that things would go bad and thankfully thought of the animals early on. The remains of the building is almost gone now, I guess they didn’t want nosy people there to take photographs🙂

 

DSC_0039

DSC_0041

DSC_0042

DSC_0051

 

It’s time to give all the animals their food and I’ll make myself a pot of tea, I sat in my patio today and had a pot of coffee, no wind, sunshine and a pot of coffee do make life rather nice🙂

 

This is the first round of turfs during the expansion.

This is the first round of turfs during the expansion.

This is how much I made it bigger at first, You can see the iols corner posts where the border was before.

This is how much I made it bigger at first, You can see the iols corner posts where the border was before.

But I decided I wanted yet more space so I removed some extra lawn. It is not formed as a square because I always shape flowerbeds and other things after how the dogs move around in my garden. It is after all their space even if I plant thing in it :-)

But I decided I wanted yet more space so I removed some extra lawn. It is not formed as a square because I always shape flowerbeds and other things after how the dogs move around in my garden. It is after all their space even if I plant thing in it🙂

morgon (9)

 

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “What a wonderful day!

  1. Ja, det har verkligen varit en helt underbar dag!🙂
    Efter allt tråkigt med träd som fallit och förstört staket och allt jobb det medför samt en bonde som är rent ut sagt är elak, så tog vi en dag “ledigt” från trädgårdsjobben. Vi behövde det!!😦
    Vi gjorde en liten utflykt ända upp till Slite (c:a 10 mil härifrån) för att gå på en bakluckeloppis. Visserligen hittade vi bara en stor snygg metallskål och ett par salladsbestick för 20:-. Alltså egentligen ingenting vi behövde – men vi tog en underbar prommis vid Sju Strömmar.
    Det är alltså ett antal små strömmar från en sjö som ligger på ena sidan vägen vid infarten till Slite, som rinner ut i havet på andra sidan vägen – mycket vackert och väldigt annorlunda. Vi gick på en liten stig med broar mellan dom två vattnen.🙂🙂
    Sen åkte vi hemåt igen och passerade Hemse där vi också var på en loppis och hittade en TV-serie (Cold Blood) i sex delar på en alldeles ny DVD samt 4 deckare för 30:-. Sen direkt hem och åt lunch och samtidigt glo på Formula One-kvalet – alltså en mycket lyckad dag…..😦 😦 😦
    TREVLIG HELG
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Låter som en härlig dag! Men är inte det meningen med att åka på loppis att man skall köpa saker man inte behöver🙂

      Det låter ju bra med båpde tv serien och deckarna, men varför de sura gubbarna ocm ni haft en bra dag🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    You needed some wild boars to come to your yard for 15 minutes or so and do that excavating for you.🙂

    Good Feng Shui to shape the garden according to how the dogs move around in it. I saw a gardening program where the woman had decided she didn’t need her swimming pool anymore because no one used it so she decided to make it a pond. She paid attention to how her dogs moved around the yard and set up the pond so that their pathways were included. They had a shallow end for themselves and a little bridge to run across and jump over and off. The dogs loved it.

    I have been stung by nettles. Nasty. Fortunately there was dock nearby so I could take care of some of the discomfort.

    It’s warmer and cloudy and damp here today. It’s supposed to rain a lot this weekend. That will take care of the remaining snow as long as the rain doesn’t turn into snow, of course.🙂 I checked out the yard this morning. The vicious roses are starting to swell buds. Doesn’t take much for them. The mint may (and I emphasize may) have survived the winter. I see some green leaves way down inside the brown mat of dead stuff.

    You can freeze waffes, you know. You don’t have to eat all the ones you make.🙂
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      The problem with hogs is that they most likely would have missed my vegetable garden and reshaped the rest of it instead🙂

      It’ so much easier to follow the tracks of my dogs when making new beds instead of trying them to change route🙂 I’m pretty sure my dogs would have loved that too, especially the bridge🙂

      Yes nasty plants! But I only stung two fingers so I didn’t bother to do anything about it, something I regret right now🙂

      My vicious roses have just started too but unlike Yours these are late compared to other plants🙂 I really hope the rain won’t turn in to snow, I think You’ve had enough of that now. I wouldn’t be surprised if it is the mint showing up, they rarely give up just because there’s a winter passing by🙂

      But they are never as good again and I really don’t like soft waffles🙂 But now I’ve had some and won’t long for thgem in a long time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • True, they never are as good again but since they are just a conveyance for good butter and maple syrup, it doesn’t really matter. 🙂
        If you put them in the toaster (or against the fire), they get crispy and are better able to hold butter and syrup.
        Now I want waffles. Damn.😀

      • I’ll save some next time so I can try them in the toaster🙂 but I think I’ll have syrup and jam instead🙂

  3. I love how Bertil looks to be on an angry mission! LOL! love that cat.
    So glad that your neighbors thought to move the animals first!
    I hope that I soon can be outside doing stuff. Right now I’m cleaning and organizing inside.
    How do I keep accumulating so much stuff!?!?! (ok, I do know how but…)
    I’m so glad to read you have a waffle iron. I got rid of mine but my friend posted on FB how she puts those cinnamon rolls that come in a tube (Pillsbury is the brand and you unwrapped the foil and rap the side of the tube on the counter and it opens up) and you usually put these cinnamon rolls/biscuits on a cookie sheet and bake them. Well, my friend posted putting these things in the waffle iron! she said it was perfect.
    anyway, just an idea.🙂

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes my angry cat, always on a mission. To bad he actually is angry all the time🙂

      Yes it is easy to foget anything when panic strikes but all the animals are safe. They also have two dogs and I wonder if they have become afraid of shootings and fireworks now, I know I would be🙂

      I’ve only seen those rolls in tv shows from the US and I have never heard of anyone ever buying those here so I actually think they don’t excist over here🙂 But I can’t see how they would fit in the waffle iron, they are so thick compared towaffles🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    It is still raining and has been most of the day. They are warning of flooding in places as the rain melts the snow to add more water.

    It was warmer than it has been but it felt more like early spring than your summer-like day. We got as high as 49˚ but Boston got into the 50’s. They will always be warmer up there during this time of the year.

    I have an old waffle iron much like yours but I haven’t used it in years. It was a gift, and I am not a big waffle fan so I never used it too much. I use my panini sandwich maker more.

    Your pictures are just so sunny today-of that I am envious!

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes floodings, the resulkt of spring arriving. We had floodings here too but not because of snow melting, just because it rained so much allthe time here for a while. It looks like the flooding up north will be less than usual this year, much of the snow has already melted🙂 This is an odd winter and earkly spring this year.

      It’s always the east coast that is warmer and dryer here, we on the other side gets al the rain and cool air for some reason. I mean Sweden isn’t that wide to be homnest🙂 Rather cold outside at the moment but the day will be much the same as yesterday🙂

      I can’t remember when I made waffles the last time, I ate however a couple two years ago. I have one of those sandwich makers too, the smaller kind but it is too small and I rarely use it. I prefer to put the sandwiches in the oven instead.

      It was a lovely day🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

