It’s strange that something that big can be so hard to see sometimes.

DSC_0003

I woke up last night with cramps in both thighs and that’s not a good way to wake up. I was so tired that I didn’t know my name and certainly not to get rid of the cramps in both legs at the same time either🙂 I managed to get rid of it in one leg and when I tried to get rid of it in the other it started again in the first one🙂 I don’t know for how long I was up but I do have sore thighs now :-) 

 

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

DSC_0010

 

But the day has passed fairly fast and even though it was nasty cold in the morning the day got rather warm with sunshine and no wind. I drove to Falköping to get some fire logs because the little fire wood I had wasn’t quite dry and showed no interest in burning after a few minutes in the stove🙂 I also bought some red onion sets to have in my vegetable garden. I think it still is a bit too cold during nights so I won’t plant them yet. I also have lots of Dahlia’s this year so I guess I might be needing to dig a new flower bed later on.

 

DSC_0011

DSC_0012

DSC_0015

 

We walked upstream’s the creek today and on our way back I decided to follow one of the side roads that leads in to the forest and later on I think out to the bog. I only had a fleece jacket on but since there was no wind it almost got too warm anyway, that is until we walked in to the forest. We walked mostly in shade and the road was still frozen after last nights frost and a good thing that was otherwise it would have been impossible to walk some parts of the road because it was mostly frozen mud🙂

 

I'm always hoping I'll see some wild life when I reach this place but so far no luck.

I’m always hoping I’ll see some wild life when I reach this place but so far no luck.

DSC_0017

DSC_0019

 

I was talking all the time just in case there were any wild hogs around so guess if I got surprised when I suddenly saw a moose🙂 To be honest, it wasn’t her I was looking at but a big uprooted tree and it was just when she moved slightly that I saw her, just beside the tree🙂 She looked at us for a while and then she slowly walked away further in to the forest. I’m glad as long as they walk the other way, a moose can kill a human and do so almost every year. I guess however that four dogs and a human is a bit too much at the same time🙂

 

In to the forest we went. That ant stack is almost 1,5 meters high (much the same in yards) but I've seen some twice as high.

In to the forest we went. That ant stack is almost 1,5 meters high (much the same in yards) but I’ve seen some twice as high.

DSC_0022

DSC_0024

 

It’s time to start a fire in the stove, I can already now feel that it will be a cold night. Tomorrow clouds will arrive and later next week we might get some rain. I am hoping for a dry spring so all insect larvae dies like they did last year, one gets spoiled by having one summer without zillions of horse flies, deer flies, mosquitoes and midges🙂

 

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

It's amazing that one even can have a hard time seeing an animal as big as a moose.

It’s amazing that one even can have a hard time seeing an animal as big as a moose.

 

Have a great day!

 

 

14 thoughts on “It’s strange that something that big can be so hard to see sometimes.

  1. hi christer! i’m glad you outnumbered the moose! how is bertil doing? i just ordered some climbing roses to plant by my dead maple hoping they will climb up the tree and fill in the space. this is the time of year i get myself into trouble. i start ordering things online and then forget about them. then i am surprised when they show up! i want to plant some hollyhocks and the like throughout the garden. it’s a bit too early for some stuff but i am getting ready to plant carrots and beets. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it’s always nice to outnumber them🙂 Usually they just run away but sometimes they get insanely angry and just attacks. I’ve been lucky to stay away from the angry ones so far🙂

      We have one climbing rose here that would fill any tree within two years🙂 It’s called Poltsjärnan (Polar star) and grows like a weed🙂 But I think it is way to warm climate where You live to have that one. It covered the entire front side of the previous cottage I lived in after two years 🙂

      I’ve calmed down with my ordering, well some at least🙂 But I see them as pleasant surprises🙂 I’m about to make a final seed order this weekend so I know what You mean🙂

      It’s way to early to plant perennials or annuals here yet but if this warm weather continues it might just be two weeks away. I have too much pebbles in my ground to grow carrots but I’m thinking of doing it anyway together with the onions, that usualkly fools some pests from attacking both of them.

      Bertil seems to be doing just fine, he’s back to his nasty self again and I’m not welcome close to him any more🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • HI Laurie!

      And now I can’t stop thinking of what Your question was🙂🙂🙂

      I guess it will be gone by tomorrow or at least I hope so🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    It is amazing how large animals can become invisible. It’s amazing how brightly colored birds can disappear as well. The deer are really good at it. There were six of them bedding down in my back woods. Even though I knew where each one was lying down, I still had to work to see them. When the turkeys were down there, I only saw them because there were different lumps in the snow than I was used to seeing. The new lumps were the turkeys.🙂

    Keep an eye on Bertil even though he is back to his nasty self. One of my cats died because an abscess that looked as if it had healed cleanly with no swelling or pain had actually worked back into his system and became a general infection.

    My favorite ice cream place is opening for the season today. Rocky and I will go there and also check out the beaver pond. It’s cold but a little sunny. Perfect for ice cream.😀

    I have two flowers now. The little yellow crocus opened up. Nothing else is growing, though, and I think most of my lawn is dead, dead, dead. I guess I won’t have to mow. Not grass anyway.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      With that size it should be impossible but still they manage to just blend in with the trees and stones. Yes especially red birds can be impossible to see sometimes🙂

      I will keep an eye on him, I know how bad it can be if it works its way inwards instead. But I have to say that cats usually manages almost anything diseasewise, if it had beeb me having what he had I most likely would have been in intensive care long ago🙂

      WE have no such ice cream place around here, the closest one is 60km away and it just isn’t worth going so far I’m afraid. But they sell packages of ice cream made from my favorite ice cream maker close to here so I’ll fill my coolbox with freeze packs and buy lots of it as soon as it is a bit warmer. I need to fill up my freezer with ice cream now after the winter🙂

      The lawn never dies, it just tries to fool You🙂 Mine is filled mostkly with weeds and moss and they are welcome as long as they are green and soft to walk on so thistles shall not bother to grow here🙂

      Have a great day with ice cream and beaver ponds🙂

      Christer.

      • My lawn is brown and filled with weeds among which are tiny juniper bushes and a crapton of thistle. Thistle has always been in the lawn since I was a little child. In fact, until I was in my 30’s I thought the flat rosettes of 1st year thistle were what people meant when they said crabgrass. Hey, it was green, it grew in the lawn and it bit when you stepped on it. Close enough for me.😀

      • I would most likelöy have believed the same if we’ve had crabb grass here🙂 it does sound as something that would bite you in the feet🙂

  3. sorry to hear about the cramps in your thighs. Are you wearing different shoes? When I change shoes, sometimes that happens.
    It was very cold here today. I’m tired of this weather!!!!
    I came home to an unwelcomed surprise today. I knew something was very wrong as soon as I opened my front door.
    It smelled SO BAD.
    Blue had watery diarrhea all over the place! I had run out of his food that morning and given him what I feed the little dogs…yeah, I will NEVER do THAT again.
    Luckily I had medicine here for that and I had brought home his proper food.
    It was awful to clean up. In all his 8 years, he’s only had one other accident ,so I know he couldn’t hold it.
    I felt bad for him.
    and bad for me too.😦

    • Hi Cindi!

      I have no idea whay this happens because it happens a lot. Usually it’s one leg at a time though or all my toes on both feet, that almost always happens every evening🙂

      Nights are nasty cold here yet but days are just wonderful but it will change already tonight, clouds will come and the sun won’t shine for almost a week and we’ll have plenty of rain if the predictions are right BUT nights will be warm again🙂

      Oh that’s nasty! It’s strange that dogs that can eat anything disgusting just can’t switch foor for a day. Happens to all my dogs too and that’s why I’m so happy to have a dog yard🙂 It does happen that Orvar get a bad stomach during nights and thenn he sits by the front door waiting for it to be opened, it never happens since I’m asleep and instead I wake up to the odor later on. I can only hope he has been sitting somewhere where it’s easy to clean up and nothing takes away that smell evenb when I’ve cleaned it all up.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    The cramps are weird. Did you ever figure out why they happened? I find cramps can be quite painful depending upon where they are.

    That moose is one huge animal. If Gracie were there, she’d have run right after it. She tries to capture whatever animals wander intro my yard. She is relentless.

    It was cold here again today. I just wish for one warm day!!

    Have a great evening!!

    • Hi Kat!

      I often get cramps but it’s usually my toes, almost every night, or feet. I never know why this happens. The toe and feet cramps usually don’t hurt especially bad but when it happens in my legs or back it does!

      They are huge🙂 I’m glad my dogs don’t chase them because a moose can decide to take the fight and a dog seems to be an easy target when they hit, a skilled hunting dog knows how to keep a distance but the rest usually get kicked and kicked hard by the moose. Not even Nova wants to go after them, I think she just concier them too big, hares and squirrels are different though and they must be hunted doiwn no matter what🙂

      We’ll get clouds and rain this coming week but it will stay around the same temperatures, nights however will be warm again and it would be nice to to have to scrape the car windows every morning🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. When I see the pictures you take of the forest..I remember the tales in story books that I read as a child. Some were read to me and later I read them myself. Stories of forests and dark bogs that one could disappear in. All of them were enough to give children nightmares. We used to have a wood burning stove..and I remember there were coals in it all the time..smoldering. We would start it with kindling and a bit of paper if we had it.
    Would you believe we actually had rain..LOTS of rain? 🙂 Pretty bad when one can get that excited about some rain. It was lovely.
    Have a nice weekend, Christer.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      I loved those stories and can’t remember ever getting scared by them, I especially loved the Grimm stories and never could understand why the villan had to die in the end, I mean the wolf in Red Riding hood ate them in one piece why didn’t they just climb out again🙂

      I always start with paper too but I’m lazy now days and also use paraffin pads that I put beneath the fire log and it always works🙂

      Rain finally🙂🙂 But You do need it and lots of it before summer arrives which should be any minute now, shouldn’t it?

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

